We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, relaxing, chilled out place!”
Review of Lavena Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavena Lodge
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in lavena 2 times in total for a week overall and found it absolutely amazing. The place is the ideal spot for relaxing and getting away from everything whilst your travelling. The beach is directly outside the door and you have the beach all to yourself. The lavena coastal walk starts here and it's free if you stay here. Altogether this place was worth a week and we would definable return if we were ever in Fiji.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeydadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

We arrived there after a deceiving journey in Fiji. And this place gave us a great opinion about the fijians and their real authentic hospitality.
This lodge was built by the people of the village, they own it and take care of it. The money they earn goes to the village's school and is distributed on the people. This is great occasion to really meet them, eat with them and exchange. We spent a lot of time talking and describing each other's way of living.
We met some persons in Lavena, and we loved them.the place is very simple but clean and well taken care of. The villagers came oftenly to check on us and see if we need anything.
There is a nice table next to the beach where you can have lunch or dinner. Food is cooked in the village's houses, cheap and good quantity. you get to taste their real cooking, not like the restaurants. You feel safe, taken care of. You can ask them to go fishing on somebody's boat, they can arrange a lot of things for you. Just take your time to walk, swim, read, meet... They are very welcoming.
Do not hesitate to donate to the village and buy souvenirs. We will surely go back there if we go to Fiji again. This was one of our best souvenirs from our round the world trip.
Bahige and Melanie.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bahige t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting Taveuni. We came over from Savusavu in Vanua Levu by purchasing the combination boat/ferry tickets at the Country Kitchen for $15 fjd. Not a bad trip if you are planning on a long day.
Then we stayed a night in Matei (Tovu-tovu -a good place) and took the bus to Lavena (in Bouma part) for $3 following morning. I can put up with a lot if the bathrooms are clean and the toilets work properly, which they were (these two bathrooms are located at the end of the hall and shared by any of the guest occupying the 4 rooms available).
The mosquitos were not bad, but the flies were terrible and swarmed when you tried to eat at the picnic table overlooking the ocean. The manager ( I assume), Latiana, very graciously fanned them away while 5 of us ate!
The generator is broken and I would not expect a quick repair, so be prepared for no electicity and therefore no refrigeration. They did provide candles and mossy coils though. The bedrooms were clean and you could see around the eges at the baseboards. I always look to see if these areas are cluttered because thats where the cockroaches travel.
It was a bit stifling in the bedroom because of the poor ventilation and absence of fans, but for the price and the service (Latiana is a jewel), my wife and I could not complain.
It is really neat that this lodge is located in and run by the village. They use the funds for the children's school and other projects. A great idea, I think. Oh, and the breakfast ($10 fjd) is abundant and delicious - fantastic pancakes!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogermaiviti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The bus was broken and we had to walk a few miles to get here. Lots of nice streams to wade in if you get hot and random fruit to pick from the trees as you walk over, although the invasive non-native cane toad has taken over and they are smooshed all over the road, and these dead toads are pretty smelly. But ignoring the smell, you may meet lots of nice people along the way in their villages. The lodge is a simple backpackers, very basic, no air conditioning, just a room with a mattress or two, but the toilets are clean and the shower water is warm. The kitchen is a communal kitchen with all the pots and pans you would need to cook a meal. I think the New Zealand government actually built this place to help them attract tourists. It is the only place to stay in town and there are no stores or anything, so if you want to cook, make sure to bring everything with you, you can get supplies from any of the larger towns. If you go, be sure to get a guide to take you to the waterfalls, as it is a beautiful hike through the lush forest. You can also pay extra and the villagers will make you a meal. They try to make it a combination of traditional food and things they think you will want to eat, but it is fine. The villagers are very friendly and don't see many visitors, so they are happy to talk to you about the rest of the world for hours. And you can snorkel right off the beautiful beach. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtngirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Clunky public bus took us on a dirt road roughly an hour past Matei Airport for a few dollars to the very end of the road: lavena. This is as authentic a Fijian village as it gets. The older kids We spent around 60 Fijian for a room and food for four. The setting is stunning--you are feet from the beach, and hear every wave. There is a 3 hour round trip "lavena coastal walk" that extends from the village for miles along the beach, passing through a tiny settlement (no road access, only a 30 minute walk on a sandy trail to get in and out!) and further, into a park-like wild feeling area of dense forest, numerous stream crossings, waterfalls, and even some orange doves! It was jurassic-park like, and wonderful. Our 4 and 5 year olds completed the walk with us in 4 hours, including a swim at the destination.
The lodge is old, and very basic (worn foam beds for example). But I had a warm shower, clean toilet, comfortable sleep, and that's all I really need (i brought a bug net, but it wasn't mosquito season so didnt need it). Compared to camping, it was luxury. Not for someone expecting a resort style experience though. Has a shared kitchen but didnt use it as we had good Fijian meals prepared by the villagers (!) brought to us. Mostly fish and taro/ramen.
Overall, it was cheap, gorgeous, and a great chance to see the realities of remote village life in a stunning natural setting. A highlight of our Taveuni trip.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Palms Resort
0.0 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 11 in Taveuni Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavena Lodge

Address: Lavena | Bouma National Park, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Taveuni Island
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing