We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Todranisiga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Todranisiga
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We had a fantastic three nights at Todranisiga and could have stayed longer. This is not a typical resort, but two small private bures perched on a grassy bank with the most spectacular view overlooking the water. It is just a short walk down to a small private beach. This place is well located in the sleepy town of Matei close to restaurants and dive/snorkelling operations. The owner May and the staff are fantastic and very friendly (thanks for the great massage Watti!). Breakfast was delicious and a generous size with tropical fruits picked right from the garden. Todranisiga is such a wonderful find if you are looking for something private and laid back. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoshiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The key to having a fantastic time in Taveuni is to go with the flow, embrace "Fiji Time" , speak to the locals and listen to their advise.

May Goulding the owner of Todranisiga, is a fabulous host, nothing was any trouble for her and the staff. Thank you Cathy for bring me those delicious breakfasts.

I did as much or as little as possible, great place to read and chill out as there is no TV or radio. The highlight of my morning was swimming at the private beach with Lekie (May's dog) and contemplating life in the evenings watching magnificent sunsets.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirroul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We were looking for a place to stay that wasn't expensive or overun by other tourists, something low-key, simple, quiet, beautiful, back to nature and above all somewhere that you could relax and unwind and forget the crazy world we live in. Todranisiga was all of that and more! The photos we saw on the www.homeaway.com website sold us instantly. We weren't interested in a large resort but something small, with a private, and personal touch. Our first contact via email with May Goulding, the owner, was so pleasant and friendly, we could feel the Fijian charm & warmth already!

Arriving at the beautiful island of Taveuni, we were met & driven to "Todra", only a few mintues from the airport. May & her staff were there to greet us and show us to our gorgeous Bure. Which was simple but very stylish, in traditional Fijian thatch. Frangipani & hibiscus flowers covering the bed, large vase of flowers in the main bedroom, a view from the bed to absolutely die for, overlooking the gorgeous and everchanging Somosomo Strait.

The deck in front of the house was the place we spent most of our time, with beautiful touches such as the poles plaited with coconut palm fronds, and coconut plam front baskets hanging from the roof, swaying in the warm breeze. A huge bowl of fruit, which was daily refilled sat on the table of the deck, with delicious tropical delights from May's garden, bananas, pineapples, passionfruit, pawpaw & coconuts to name a few.

May's house sits a the top of a 5 acre porperty surrounded with a myriad of plants - gingers, coconut palms, frangipani & banana trees. A grassy hill drops away to 2 Bures, nestled amongst lush vegetation, sitting a the top of a cliff of more overgrown jungle. The vista beyond this is blue blue ocean. Directly opposite are the mountains of Vanua Levu, sitting on the other side of the Somosomo Strait.

Our Bure had one large bedroom, with daybed, another large room next to the bedroom with wardrobe and bathroom/kitchen and seperate toilet. A huge outdoor shower outside this with an amazing view (totally private) also overlooking the Somosomo Strait - stunning way to shower at the end of the day. Don't forget to watch out for the dolphins which swim past the bay in the mornings!

There is a private beach at the bottom of the cliff, accessed by the steps of the neighbouring property. Make sure you take goggles and a snorkel - to make the most of the amazing sealife & corals right on your doorstep!

Afternoons were spent back at the Bure, I still can't get over the view. Took several books along to read, but the view kept distracting me.. maybe read half a book in the whole 6 days we were there. This is one place that you can take off your watch, and live in the moment. No TV, no radio, just you and nature. This is as close to what i imagine Paradise to have been!

May's breakfasts were the highlight of the morning, every day something different and delicious and beautifully presented. The scrambled eggs were a taste senstation. May also provided us with a few evening meals - all part of the accommodation price, ridiculously cheap at that!

The room was tidied daily by Mays gorgeous staff, fresh flowers on the bed and new fruit in the bowl. If we needed to go anywhere, May would organize pick-up, dinners booked at local restaurants, tour guides etc...

Great Bar up the road called Tromonto, where you can hang out with the locals and other tourists. Tromonto overlooks a nearby beach, perched on top of a hill, with awesome 180 degree views out over the ocean. Great place to have a drink & something to eat, and admire the view. Make sure you take a torch with you for the walk home at night, only about 10 minutes from Todra. And make sure you look skywards, to see the beautiful fireflys flashing in the canopy of the trees - magical!

There's lots to do around Tavenui, but make sure you take a trip down West Coast to Garden Island Resort - and take a boat out to Korolevu Island - some of the most amazing snorkelling I have ever done - Somsomo Strait has some of the most fertile waters on the planet - the varities of fish, corals, and sealife was incredible - take a picnic and make a day of it, you won't be sorry!

Get a massage from Jemima, who will come to your Bure and give you the most relaxing massage you will ever have, right on the deck. I chose the "Vudi Pamper Wrap Pack", where you will be massaged with fresh grated coconut milk, followed by wrap with vudi (banana) leaves. She also does energy work, if you are into that. Highly recommended!

The last evening we were there we had a cyclone warning, not uncommon for the time of year we were there. We packed up our Bure and spent the night at May's place with her and her staff, Leki the dog and Heshe the cat. The cyclone was meant to come straight in on the property, and our Bure being at the bottom of the property wasn't the safest place to stay. We had a great afternoon and night with May, talking and having a few drinks to while away the time. Cathy (one of the staff) cooked a delicious curry for dinner which we all ate, sitting on the floor Fijian style. Had to say it was hard to sleep that night with the high winds and the anticiptation that it could turn worse. Buy luckily the storm turned at the last minute, and the next morning you would never have known that anything had happened, apart from a few extra frangapani flowers littering the grounds. Again May's hospitality created a fun evening amongst all the drama!

I cannot recommend Todranisiga enough. It is like stepping into Paradise! The Island itself permeates a tangilbe energy that is both relaxing and rejuvenating at the same time. I forgot to mention the water! OMG the water out of the tap is some of the best water I have ever drunk. Fresh, pure, alive and hydrating, filtered down through layers of volcanic rock, no chemicals added! Some of the best water on the planet! Couldn't get enought of it! This is one of the only holidays (and I have travelled the world), where I have gotten home, totally happy, relaxed, and batteries recharged. If you are looking for a holiday which is back to nature and elemental, look no further. The Fijian's are beautful people and incredibly friendly, even tho most of them are very poor. Forget the resorts, the Treasure Islands, the hords of people. Taveuni is a jewel, and one that I hope to return to this year. Once you get there you will wonder why you waited so long!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Patchouli63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Todranisiga is a private property owned and run by May Goulding. The property is about 5 acres on the water side of the road, just down the street from the Matei airport. There are currently two bures for rent. We looked at several other places to stay for our Honeymoon on Taveuni, but opted for Todranisiga for several reasons, king size bed, outdoor shower with hot water, privacy, view of the Somosomo Strait, convenience to restaurants, and price. Since we were staying for more than a week, we stayed for 11 nights, our rate was about $150USD per night. This included taxes, breakfast, transfers to and from the airport, and when we went on long excursions, May would pack us a lunch at no charge. Our final night May even cooked us a lovely dinner and invited several locals to drink kava with us and play beautiful music for us. This was again at no extra charge. We would have happily paid for the meal. We had such a great time and these little personal touches and details made our trip so special and meaningful to us.

Our bure was built in traditional fijian style with a thatched roof, large front deck, glass doors opening to our bedroom, which had many, many windows for ventillation, plus a fan to stay cool at night. We had a pantry with some kitchen supplies to use with our two burner stove, and best of all a private outdoor shower with a view of the water.

The other bure could not be seen from our bure due to plantings that kept each bure private from the other. There was also a nice distance between the two bures so you couldn't intrude on one another.

The house that is seen from the road is May's house, which sits on top of the hill overlooking the water. Each of the bures are down the hill near the edge of the cliff, with a safe distance, so you won't fall off. Each bure has an unobstructed view of the water.

There is a private path with a staircase leading down to a small secluded beach where we enjoyed the carvings in the rocks, snorkeling, and just relaxing in the water under the shade trees.

Each morning May's staff would bring us a full breakfast, usually made up of fresh fruit, muffins or toast, (loved her banana pancakes), eggs, and sausage. We would make our own tea and/or coffee and enjoy our breakfast on our deck looking at the water where you could see the coral beneath the surface. Occassionally a plane would fly into the airport or a kayak might pass by, but this is not an island for cruise ships, lots of yachts and sailboats. Here you get to enjoy the light on the water, the different shades of blue, the sound of the waves and the breeze through the trees. You can hear the birds. We even had some friendly geckos that we could hear chirping.

When we had the notion to actually do something other than relax, May would always accomodate our wishes. She would have a driver take us where we needed when we needed, along with a guide if we were going on a long excursion.

Much of the time we walked to the nearby restaurants for lunch and dinner. They would always be waiting for us because May would have called them to tell them we were on our way. You don't get that kind of personal service easily these days. May paid attention to details and always tried to make sure that we were accomodated in every way.

There's so much more I could say, but I would babble on forever, so in closing I would like to say that we were so happy with our choice and we would defintely return, that's the best recommendation you can get.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taveuni Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maravu Taveuni Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taveuni Palms Resort
0.0 mi away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 11 in Taveuni Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Todranisiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Todranisiga

Address: Matei Road | Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Taveuni Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three "bures" (cottages) located on five acres of ground filled with gardens, palms, trees and flowers, offering you all the privacy that you deserve on your honeymoon or relaxation getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing