We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
30
20
4
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
20
4
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunky smellspring lakelocation is fantasticspacious porchbeach badgesenjoyed our stayother gueststhe cottagescolumnstowels
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 68 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2007

This inn was a REAL disappointment. Yes, it was located one block from the beach, and it had a wonderful verandah. After that, it was all downhill. I found our suite VERY uncomfortable, with nowhere to really sit down, and not even a lamp in the "livingroom", only a very bright overhead light. We had to bring in a lamp from the bedroom. Rooms were so teeny that in our party of 3 one of us had to sit on the flooor at all times as there was nowhere else in the livingroom to sit. The only decent room in the suite was the bathroom. The venetian blinds were filthy, the air conditioners were very very loud. The futon in the livingroom was SO cheap and uncomfortable that my poor cousin could hardly sleep. The ashtrays on the porch were never emptied, there were boxes that had been delivered that sat on the front porch for 3 days right in front of the entrance that were never taken in the house. In the dining area for snackers there were jars with a lonely pretzel or 2, a lone Oreo, and a few soggy animal crackers that were never refreshed. The carpets were dirty and everything had just a run-down look to it. The inn has upscale pretentions and we certainly paid top dollar, but the experience was not a wonderful one. I have stayed at many inns that were much better run, better furnished, and just more comforatble. I was surprised at this, because it had gotten such good reviews. I know that to be near the beach in season one has to pay and I don't mind doing that, but to pay $350 for such a shoddy place seemed to be taking advantage of the location and not really caring about the accomodations at all. I will never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank sarhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We stayed in the separate cottage that is on the grounds of the B&B. It was perfect for us because we are a family with a 5 and 2 year old. The cottage was wonderful, with 3 bedrooms upstairs and a full kitchen, living and family room downstairs, 2 bathrooms, one 3/4 upstairs and one full downstairs. When you stay in the cottage, you don't get use of the B&B, for example no breakfast, but we knew our kids couldn't handle a B&B that well, so it was perfect for us.

The cottage was comfortable, gave us plenty of room to spread out. We were mostly there to visit family, but I bet it's wonderful in the summer when it's beach weather. I can't speak for staying in the B&B itself, but I would definitely recommend the cottage.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArizonaCaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

From the first converstaion with the inn keeper we should've known this was not a service oriented place. His sarcasm and curt responses were not at all what we expected. Upon arrival in the heat of the summer none of the common areas of the Inn were air conditioned, internet service is a phone line as opposed to wireless and you are encouraged to stay off the line because it is not dedicated for internet use. The rooms are smalll and the down stairs "suite" with a Jaccuzzi too small for a couple is not worth the 275.00 fee! Go to the bed and breakfast next to the columns restaurant where they are too happy to accomodate you and provide A/C too all common areas!!!

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank Cleosweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

I travel to B&B and hotels fairly frequently, and I was, overall, disappointed with the accommodations. I am almost certain that the owner of this gorgeous house is cashing in on the location and drastically keeping down expenses by not upkeeping the house. The natural charm to the house is lost with the cluttered furnishings, tacky drapes and kitschy knickknacks. The porcelain bunnies, the icicles hanging off the chandelier, the dolls all over the hallways made me feel more than the owner had once tried to provide sentimentality and charm (in probably the 1970s from style of carpet and drapes), but he fell short, both in budget and taste. The signs (in the closet, which I opened because I thought it was a bathroom, stated, "Why would you be in here. Ask the innkeeper") were unwelcoming and unnecessary. Rather than buy a high end large coffee maker, the owner bought eight cheap coffee makers, which he put side by side by side by side, in the already cluttered dining area. I felt that I was in a waiting room for parent teacher night. When I leave NYC for the weekend, I at least want to feel comfortable. The pillows in the bedroom were downright uncomfortable, the bed lumpy and I secretly wondered if they wash the linens every time. I was a little horrified that they just kept the equivalent of a large bottle of "pert" in the shower for guests. I don't know what the last guest put in the shampoo! Provide separate bottles for gosh sake! On the upside, the inn keeper (I want to say jim? who was not the owner) was very pleasant and very informative. Overall, however, I guess I felt taken advantage of financially -- like the owner would laugh in his bed that suckers would spend close to 200 dollars a night to stay in his dumpy place. If I were booking accommodations, I would look elsewhere. I have to say, however, I do think that the location is amazing which is the only thing that saves my review from "terrible."

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trail802671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2006

My husband and I loved the visit to Avon Manor. The jacuzzi was great and relaxing.The room was beautiful. The breakfast was scrumptious. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Destination707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews