We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Atlantic View Inn(Avon by the Sea)(Great Value!)
$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Empress Hotel(Asbury Park)
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Asbury Hotel(Asbury Park)
$395
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
30
20
4
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
20
4
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunky smellspring lakelocation is fantasticspacious porchbeach badgesenjoyed our stayother gueststhe cottagescolumnstowels
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 67 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Pros - Great location, parking was fine, breakfast was delicious! The room (#7) was cute, roomy and clean. They have plenty of beach chairs and beach towels which was a nice bonus.

The only con - our past B&B experience has been a warm welcome where the innkeeper learns your name and says hello & welcome when you walk in for the first time. Here, the man that 'greeted' us walked out and made us feel more like this was a drug deal than a B&B arrival with regards to payment. He said "so how do you want to do this" we questioned what he meant and he then stated cash or credit card. Other than that it was fine. Just a very awkward start. Not the homey feel you typically expect when walking into a B&B. It would not prevent us from coming back, just sharing the info incase the next person feels the same way.

Room Tip: top floor was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onamor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Had a great stay at the Avon Manor this past weekend. Room was as advertised ... small but comfortable, service was great, breakfast was unbelievable and you couldn't ask for a better location. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the access to the health and fitness club off location but we'll visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packiderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had a wonderful weekend here in July 2010. Our room was small but furnished well. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room, anyway.

Breakfast was delicious and made to order. We dined on the huge wrap around porch each morning.

The location is perfect. Located in a quiet, well maintained neighborhood. We walked to the beach and to dinner each time. In fact, we arrived on a Friday afternoon and left on Sunday afternoon and did not move the car once!

The B&B is unique in design and has many little 'nooks and crannies' in which to sip wine, read a book, or sit quietly...

Avon-by-the-Sea is a gem of a seaside town... no hustle and bustle here. A nice alternative to the crowds of Spring Lake and other 'shore' B&B destinations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This homey B&B is set up for relaxing. Rooms are designed to squeeze in a lot of people, if you wish to do so. The beds are comfortable. The amenities are adequate. The rooms and surroundings are quiet, even with a full house. The breakfasts are huge and delicious, with many enticing choices. While we did not use this feature, the inn offers access to a spa/health club. Access to the sea and good restaurants is easy and fast. Sitting on the huge wrap-around porch to enjoy breakfast, nightfall, and wonderful views of the surrounding Victorian houses is a great pleasure. The decor is standard American/Victorian B&B -- roses, lace and teddy bears.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldLadyinRedCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times over the years in the summer and I can honestly say if there was any other option close by I would be there instead. The Avon Inn comes off as an establishment kept up by someone who doesn't want to be in the B&B industry. The Inn itself is relatively clean which is what I would expect from a Motel, not an Inn in Avon.

Pros:
Avon beach, about a block from the inn, is very clean with plenty of places to grab a snack or sit down for lunch. Your stay includes badges that allow free access to the beach.
There are always towels and beach chairs available and don't require a deposit.
Plenty of street parking except on weekend mornings when beach goers park along the street.
Big porch where a substantial breakfast is served.

Cons:
Dated, cluttered decor from early 90's, makes the inn feel smaller inside then it is.
Rooms are small, bed was hard and pillows are old and flat.
Stay away from wicker furniture on porch, it is very uncomfortable.
Inn has a hands off approach which means that you won't see them during the day. Instead there are signs posted all over the place which are supposed to help you find what you need but instead come off snarky and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fionuelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews