We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was enjoyable!”
Review of The Columns

The Columns
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“It was enjoyable!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch on the return drive from a wedding in southern NJ. It was Mother's Day. We were afraid it would be too crowded but since it was a pleasant (but windy) day, the front porch was also open, across from the ocean which is where we sat. The porch faces the rebuilding effort after Sandy (tho it was sunday and no one was working). Sad to see how much destruction there was in Avon due to the storm, but the boardwalk and the pavilion are well on their way to being completed.

We had Bloody Mary's to start. I had delicious crab/vegetable soup and a salad with roasted red peppers, artichoke, fresh mozzarella and other things I don't remember. It was excellent. My husband had grouper with roasted vegetables and rice which he said was better than he had expected..the fish was very well seasoned. The service was attentive and everyone was very nice. Oh, and since it was Mother's Day they gave each woman a pink rose upon arrival. Nice touch! (they ran out when we were there and one of the two grandma's didn't get one..so I gave her mine). There is HUGE bar inside, with sports on the overhead TV's and a stage where I think there is live music on weekends. I would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    70
    32
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The REAL Jersey Shore”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food is great and reasonably priced here, and you have a choice of sit-down, or a quick munching at the front/side window. The ocean view may be the best in Monmouth County, and best of all it is one of the few places left that has live bands, a stage, and a nice big dance floor. Skip Belmar - head to the Columns!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmacguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun atmosphere”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Played fooze bvall and had a bite at this fun waterfront hangout. Must go back again....had a truly excellent time. The food was casual fare in a casual environment.

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great location. Nice service. End of season so some items were out. Had a nice burger. Nice selections of beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XLU461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Oceanfront Dining”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time here for lunch. The first time was about five years go. A beautiful cool day, so we dined on the porch. H had the Wood Lands Chicken sandwich. He said it was good. I ordered the lobster roll. Good, but I've had better in Boston. The only problem was that the lobster should be in a little bit bigger pieces, and put a little more in the roll. The cole slaw served with was very good. Nice seasonings, great flavor. We didn't expect gourmet. We wanted to have a nice lunch while looking at the ocean and we did.

Helpful?
Thank Songbird811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Columns also viewed

Avon by the Sea, NJ
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing