We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place, peaceful and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Zaman

Castle Zaman
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Castle hosts the only slow-food restaurant in the region, swimming pool, cocktail bar and treasure dungeon (gift shop).
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Didn't go this time but went with my husband and 4 friends in May 2013. Our Hotel, Hyatt Regency booked the transport from castle Zaman. 20mins drive there was a little nerve wrecking as the Egyptian drivers not like ours! once there you can just relax around pool, have drinks, snacks or per book a meal. Breathtaking views but not a lot to do so just enjoy rest and take a good book. A must to visit even if you only do it once

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    35
    12
    2
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Much over-rated”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The view and pool are amazing.. The place is unique, but:
- Staff are arrogant, care much about telling you rules rather than being smiling
- Paying at the gate is not understandable !
- "Non drinking on pool" rule is very awkward.. I just they are afraid from broken glass on/in pool... They can solve this with plastic cups..

Food is very tasty, some reviews say its gigantic, while we saw food quantity could be increased..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RamyEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingdude, Manager at Castle Zaman, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your effort and time in reviewing Castle Zaman.

Our swimming pool was designed to look like a natural lagoon. We did not use ceramic tiles and the floor around the pool is uneven. This adds to the beauty and ambience of the premises. Due to the repetitive and irresponsible behavior of some guests, this area was full of broken glass and unclean-able stains, hence the decision to ban any consumption of food and beverages by the pool. It is a health and safety issue, guests are made aware of all house rules upon arrival.

As you mentioned, some visitors complain about the extra food we offer. Congratulations on your healthy appetite, this is the first time someone complains of the lack of food. Please let us know next time you visit so we can prepare extra portions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't rule out perfection :)”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently spent a day with friends at Castle Zaman. The setting and the decor of this venue are exceptionally beautiful . If there could be a bit more flexibility around some of the rules then this could be an outstanding venue. Like some of the other reviewers have mentioned, many people like to be able to enjoy a drink or snack whilst lounging by the pool. I think this rule may may be to avoid broken glass which is understandable. Perhaps a plastic option could be offered - i have seen this in other similar high end venues. The food was really enjoyable and beautifully but the portions are gigantic! Maybe a sharing option could be introduced - such a shame to waste such good food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank misterbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Love spending the day here, it's so peaceful and the perfect place to relax and chill, the food is delicious and the setting is just perfect.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JV37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“To be chilled and relaxed!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A mock castle perched high on a hill overlooking the countries of Israel, Jordan and Saudi Arabia. Not well publicised but well worth a visit if you want a gorgeous view, fantastic meal and a completely relaxing break. The food order is taken on arrival to allow four hours for slow cooking. There is a small but lovely sculpted pool with sun umbrellas and bean bags. At the time of our visit there were only two other visitors so it felt like our own perfect hideaway. The staff are so discreet that you would not know there was anyone there. Not suitable for children and do not wear high heels! Taxi transfers can be arranged but take your own beach towel. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Domoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Zaman also viewed

 
Taba, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Castle Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing