We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,375)
Filter reviews
2,375 results
Traveler rating
1,309
626
253
100
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,309
626
253
100
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt lake taba heights pool bar other hotels fish bay view golf course salad relaxing holiday animation team beauty salon ice cream main restaurant hotel management all inclusive package lunch and dinner food was fine
Filter
Updating list...
1,265 - 1,270 of 2,375 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Hi Tripper's.
Just returned back from a long earned holiday from the Inter(CON)tinental Hotel in Taba Heights. This is supposed to be (5* PLATINIUM) with Thomson (What a joke). This is NOT anywere near a Five Star Platinium. Let me just start by saying that Myself & my Partner have been to Egypt 6 times & stayed in (5*All Inclusive Hotels) & in Our opinion this is (4* at best). We have been 5 times to Sharm El Sheikh 1 time & (1 time Only) to this hotel so we can compare this to other hotels in Egypt. We like Egypt for the SUN & BEACHES & for the SNORKELING, we know that the food is only basic, but can be nice in some hotels. We are not (MOANERS) but feel that we should put our points over about this hotel so that people know what to expect, about all of the little hidden extras. I will try & keep it as short as i can, & after this review if anyone wants to Mail me through Tripadviser i would be happy to Help & i will give you the Truth.

FLIGHT; Fine no problems.

TABA AIRPORT; No problems, very quick. But funny because they were tuning out the light's in the Airport as we were leaving. It is a Militery Airport so it is very small, only one case carousell but ok.

HOTEL CHECK IN; Not a problem very quick & easy. Shown straight to our room.

GUEST RELATIONS; I would advise anyone not to use these in perticularly (CLAIRE) who all she is interested in is making money from you ie;
1) Booking A-LA-CARTE r'raunt's for you at a price as you do not get any of these FREE. These will cost you on average £70.
2) We feel because you are BRITISH you are given poor room's with Little or No View of anything, & unless you pay £200 Up grade you will not get a better room choice. So if your room is Sub Standard as ours was, DO-NOT speak to (CLAIRE) ask to speak to the (MANAGER). Hopefully i will be able to upload my (photo's) so you can see what we mean.

ROOM; We had Room (2309) which overlooked the Crazy Golf & you could see some off the Main Golf Course. This was at the Back of the Complex. The Room itself was Spacious but FILTHY. It had Marked Sheets Dirty Towels & we had FREE Bathroabs which looked like they had come of the back of a Camel they were that Dirty. We put them out to be WASHED & they were just hung back up along with the Dirty Sheet's & Dirty Valance (Photo). Also the Drinks in the Room Fridge & the Crisp's & Nut's are at a Charge they are not FREE.

FOOD/DRINK; Let me start with the R'RAUNT'S or should i say R'RAUNT. Because this is all you get for your ALL-INCLUSIVE every were else you have to PAY. Including the SNACK BAR at the BEACH were if you want (BURGER/PIZZA or SANDWICH) it will cost you No less than £7 for each one. This was totally Disgusting i have never stayed in an ALL INCLUSIVE 5* were you have to pay for your SNACKS.

MAIN R'RAUNT; If you are (ALL INCLUSIVE) this is the only one that you can use, unless you are willing to pay. This is for (B'FAST/DINNER/TEA.) So you can imagine that with this Massive Hotel it can become a (Cattle Market) if you do not get in at (12-30) for Lunch & (6-30) for Evening Meal. When it becomes Busy you will wait about Half Hr for a Drink, & in some case's you will have Finnished your meal before your Drink's arrive, also be prepared for tables to be full of Empty Plates not been removed, & PLEASE CHECK your seats b'fore you sit down as some of the Seats are Soiled & Very Dirty as is the Carpet in the Dining Area as you will see what i mean from the (Photo's). So my advice would be if you want a Drink with your Meal & a Clean Seat get in Early!!!!!.

POOL; There is (4 POOL'S) 2, large Pools 1 Suppose to be Heated but everyone we spoke to said it was always Cold. It was always Very, Very, Very, crowded around the Pool's. So we spent most of our time around the Lagoon or on the Beach.

LAGOON; Were we spent most of our Hol, which is Very Quiet & only has a few Sun Beds which suited us Fine. But beware they have (2, Kyaks & a 1,Pedlo) which they charge £15 for the Pedlo & £7 per person for the Kyak Hire. This is yet another total disgrace as in most Hotels Non Motrized Sports are FREE. The Lagoon is not very big & it would only take you about 5mins to get round it. (Not Werth The Money).

BEACH; Lovely & Spacious but you do need a Windbreaker as it is nearly always very windy, also i would Recommend you take Sea Shoes as very Stoney in the Sea.

SPA/INDOOR POOL; Indoor pool lovely but not heated & it is suposse to be. You cannot go into the SAUN/STEAM ROOM/JACUZZI unless you pay £6 Per Person Per Day (which is a joke) once again i have never stayed in a 5* All Inclusive were you have to pay to use these Facilities. In all the other hotels we have stayed in these have always been FREE, not just in Egypt but all over the world. Also to make sure that you do-not go into the SAUNA/STEAM ROOM/JACUZZI there is usually a man who stands guard.

GROUNDS; Beautifully kept done every day. But BEWARE they RE-CYCLE the Sewage water to water the Plant's so at least 3xwk you are treated to the beautifull smell of this & trust me it STINK'S. They do this on an afternoon instead of the middle of the night when everyone is asleep.

TRIPS; There was lot's to do but we just went to CHILL & that is what we did.

MINI GOLF/POOL/TABLE TENNIS; These are not FREE there is a charge for them.

TIP'S; Please do-not take Pound coins as the people you tip cannot change them take Egyptian or $.

Finally one last thing if you want the ICE-CREAM which is in the REEF BAR for only 1HR a day at (4 till 5) you will have to QUE & when you finnaly get to the Front you are asked for your Room Num & given 1 Scoop of Ice-Cream (YUM,YUM LOL) how lucky to be 5* All Inclusive & get such a magnificent treat lol. That just about sum's up this hotel it look's Beautiful from the outside but beware Big is Not Beautiful in this case.
THANK YOU to (Ahmed Rahman) who we spoke to & he looked after us all the time around the Lagoon. Also Thank You to all the Beach Lad's who we used to have a grt laugh with. These people work the harde'st for the least pay & do a grt job.

I hope this review is Helpful to anyone thinking of booking a holiday at this hotel, i only wish i had the same help & advice & i would have never booked the Inter(CON)tinental, it is a complete Rip Off from Start to Finish. Hope this is a help GOOD LUCK.

BOROCHICK XX

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank borochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We normally don’t write reviews but this time we just had to, we booked through Thomson All Inclusive from their Platinum range and this is our 4th 5* Hotel in Egypt but never here again!
Being in the Platinum range Thomson state luxury / quality service and a good experience which we have experienced before BUT NOT at this hotel. The whole area around the outside restaurant was plagued with flies and we also spotted a cockroach in our room on the day before leaving but the rooms were reasonable, large, good bathroom and large bed but dated and in need of a renovation. All the floors in the hotel other than the reception area were dirty and the carpet inside the restaurant was filthy and stained. The sun beds around the pool areas are crammed together and if someone puts up a brolly for shade 6 beds away you will be in the shade.
The restaurant service is disgusting and the staff are Rude complain and you will then be waiting forever, in the outside part drinks can take 30mins to be delivered even though there is a bar (for the staff to collect your drinks) 30 meters from the furthest table, tables are crammed as close as they can get them to each other and resembles a school canteen at meal times. The wines can vary glass to glass sometimes being barely drinkable Food, breakfast was good but other meals varied from passable to bad, tough beef, chicken served just about every day. Believe it or not the chef can portion up a chicken of approximately 1kg into portions to serve 8 people and burgers are cut in half to be served, smallest slices of beef and a filthy look if you ask for another portion. The restaurant is supposed to be open until 1030pm but if you want to eat outside (only smoking area) you have to get there before 9pm as they clear any unused tables and set them up for breakfast at anywhere between 9.15 and 9.30 and they are adamant you cannot use them from then on. Over the 2 week holiday we never saw one of the staff so much as check the temperature of the food in any of the warming trays The food is definitely not 5* quality we have had much better in Turkey and Tunisia and that’s saying something.
The rude Pool bar service was just as bad and they served you a quick splash of alcohol in your drinks just enough to colour the lemonade and just about taste and the only time you got a smile or anything civilised out of them was the day before leaving as usual they are looking for their tips.
The all Inclusive does not include anything snack wise or ice creams from the kiosk near the pool bar and a burger would cost you £61 LE, which at their exchange rate works out at about £7.90. Ice creams and cakes are served free between 4pm and 5pm at a bar on the promenade where you have to queue and give your room number for about 2 desert spoons of ice cream.
Good points the sun beds on the beach and around the lagoon are pretty well spaced and the weather was good and can’t comment on the entertainment as we only called in twice and the resident trio were on (one drink and we were off).

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We had had good reports from relations and others who had been to the hotel 2 years earlier but clearly things have gone downhill since then. The worst aspect was the poor service in the main bar and restaurant. We had the impression that the hotel was understaffed but even when the staff did not appear overworked, it was still difficult to attract attention to get any service. Typically, a wait of 15 minutes for a drink was not unusual, and a meal could be half finished before there was any table service. The staff no longer show guest to tables at meal times.
Standard of food was mixed. There was an unusually good selection of fresh fruit for breakfast and the salad bar for lunch and dinner was excellent. On the other hand, we and others we spoke to often found it difficult to find a decent main course, and desserts were mainly of the cake variety
The only other whinge was that the floors (apart from in and around the reception area) were not kept clean. In other hotels with less stars it is usual to have someone working on this full time in each accommodation block.
On the plus side, the room was good (room service less so, but again individual room staff seemed to have a considerable number of rooms to deal with each day), it was great to have one heated outdoor pool, there was no trouble finding pool loungers, and the general facilites were good

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We booked this Hotel for the peaceful location and were prepared for the lack of /poor entertainment which never bothered us as a stroll before our evening meal is our usual holiday routine, but this was spoiled by the very poorly lit grounds followed by the deplorable food. The whole dining experience could best be described as a bun flight, in a particularly unpleasant dining room with tables on top of each other. and truly awful food.

The differing opinions of the food reviews I can only put down to staff changeover as things did improve slightly for the last few days of the holiday. The quality did not improve particularly but at least there was some semblance of presentation other than a white cabbage wrapped in clingfilm!

That said, the Hotel was quite pretty ,if a bit tired in places. I thought it a strange layout and not at all suitable for those with walking difficulties as there are lots of stairs and zig Zaggy corridors. The balconies were also of a non traditional layout. Very enclosed and dark so the sea view up grade was not worth the money and not suitable for sun bathing.

The rooms were spacious and clean but the beds unforgiving and the bedding very tired and the pillows hard. The tea and coffee making facilities were a nice touch.

We did enjoy our days by the pool and the beach but I would not go back to this hotel, or indeed to Taba because of the food issues.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Just returned from two weeks at the Intercontinental; what a fab two weeks it was! We travelled with our young daughter and the staff at the hotel could not have been nicer to her, or more welcoming to us.

The food at the buffet restaurant was good, it was always hot and we throughly enjoyed what we had every meal time.

The hotel has really made a effort to try and cater for small children; they have a separate dining area in the main buffet restaurant with a TV /DVD player set up, a selection of kiddie friendly food items and small tables and chairs to dine at for the kids. The kids pool area is also well shaded. There is also a lovely play area on the beach, with a playhouse, swings, slides etc. Our daughter absoutely loved it there and is still asking to go back!

The rooms were huge as was the shower; there were cleaned to such a high standard every day. Overall, we found that the staff could not be more helpful or friendly.

The spa area is wonderful, I enjoyed a wonderful massage there and enjoyed having the use of the indoor pool all to myself!

The only negative comment I would make, is that the other restaurants on site are pretty expensive to dine at (you'll be looking at English prices), and at most of them, you need to pay for your drinks (except the Lagoon Bar). Also, if you fancy a snack, again the prices are like back home for a pizza, burger, sandwich etc.

If the hotel could improve one thing in the rooms, it would be to have a couple of beers / soft drinks available for free in your mini bar - 2 small beers from it cost 50 LE.

Saying that, I'd certainly recommend this hotel to; in fact, I have my sister has just booked to go later in the year and I would love to return in the future.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sibs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews