We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel for a quiet beach holiday - food is not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a quiet beach holiday - food is not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was a bit worried when I read some of the reviews on this hotel but overall we had a very nice holiday! Taba is the ideal location when you are looking for a quiet beach holiday, don't go there when you want to go out at night or like to go shopping because there is nothing in the vacinity. There are some very nice excursions though (Jerusalem, Petra), which we couldn't do because we were travelling with our 2 year-old.

When we arrived at the hotel, we had a very warm welcome at the reception and our room was just great! We stayed at one of the beach bungalows, very large, situated immediately near the beach and near the pool. There was a kingsize bed for us and a single bed for our 2 year old, staff immediately proposed to change the single bed in a baby bed when they saw our son, I appreciated their proactive approach.

The surroundings, the beach and the pools are beautiful and since we stayed there in low season, everything was very quiet and well kept. The spa is very professional and the massages we had were great.

There is one great BUT to this hotel and that is the food. Most of what you read here on tripadvisor is correct: the food is far from great, which is a pity because everything else is. Contrary to most europeans we did eat at the main restaurant because you had much more choice there than in seashell restaurant. But it is true: the main restaurant is noisy and packed with russians (few arabs however, maybe because it was low season). They didn't bother us and (once you understand the tipping system), the service in the main restaurant was excellent. The food itself is far from terrific, if the chef only tasted what came out of his kitchen, he would know for him self: undercooked or overcooked vegetables/potatoes/meat, cold dishes, watery soup. One advice: the local food is great and the pasta is ok. Breakfast on the other hand is absolutely ok!

If the food issue would be handled this could be a great hotel, so I hope management will take into account the many remarks they receive on this point.

Room Tip: Don't book a room with garden view, some of them are not well situated Tip the waiters in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your valuable comments on trip advisor.

We are very delighted that you have had a nice holiday with your family in our resort.

We appreciate your praise to the reception service, beach, pool, garden and your room.

We have appointed a new chef who has worked in the restaurant menus for the last few weeks and since his arrival our guests is giving him a positive feedback. I have forwarded him your comments in order to take the relevant action.

I would like to thank you for your detailed review and looking forward welcoming you again in Taba.

Best Regards
Mahmoud Amin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    483
    170
    95
    92
See reviews for
684
658
64
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

well I visit Taba lot of times, but in all the times I visit the Movenpick Resort, I love it because it Large, lot of space and lot of things to do there. the beach is very clean and looks great, pool and the bar on it, its simply amazing and good idea to drink and enjoy at the pool...rooms at all good and large and I like the massage machines when taking shower...
spa massage good and professional, all the workers on the Hotel are good people.
if you searching quiet place, lot of attraction, relaxing, good food rooms and atmosphere, its will be Movenpick Resort - Taba...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel was just perfect. Unfortunately we landed in Sharm El Sheikh and it was a long bus trip to Taba, but it was worth it. Just next to the Israeli border this little paradise has a very special atmosphere. Beautiful beach, great food, and really large rooms. The breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet is just unimaginable. We had a great time every time we had a meal. Overall we did have a great time in Taba Movenpick.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speedingkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your trip advisor comments.

we are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable holiday with us.

thank you for your praise on the hotel facilities.

we are looking forward welcoming you again in Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Movenpick is a Nice and good hotel, nice animation. definitely recommended. For families and couples or friends among themselves. Very friendly service,
Go not in june, its to hot.

Greetings Sofie De Maeyer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie123654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sofie,

Many thanks for your trip advisor comments.

we are very glad that you have had a nice holiday with us.

i have shared your review with the staff and they appreciated them especially the Animation.

Thank you and looking forward welcoming you again in Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Movenpick Taba is situated in a truly delightful and tranqual setting with sea and mountain views and has its own lake complete with ducks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to go back next year. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and their English is very good. The food could be better. Mealtimes in the main restaurant, were chaotic. Tables were not cleared quick enough and relaid. The Dress code for the evening meal was not adhered to despite a large notice at the dining room, obviously packing smart casual takes up more luggage weight but in a 4-5* hotel one should expect this and make the effort. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious but lack tea/coffee making facilities which hotels usually provide. Although the hotel could arrange this it was 30 euros a week and we felt that it was rather expensive. Our holiday was 'all inclusive' and therefore this should have been included. BIG disappointment - you have to BUY the ice-cream. Suggestion: why not give out vouchers for one ice cream per person per day? A special mention and our thanks to Salena, Mohammed and Arafa in the Sea Shells and also to Yassar and all the staff in the Beach Bar who made our holiday really great, Also the animation team especially Laura, Mina and Hamed..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your trip advisor review.

We are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel. It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and it is imperative for us to improve.

and especially your praise of our employees. It is a great pleasure for us to share your comment with all our team members which gives them a great motivation to deliver a high quality of services with a personal touch to all of our guests.

your comments concerning the main restaurant arrangements and the dress code has been discussed with the concerned department in order to take the correct action.


Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again to Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzur Yitzhak
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited the Movenpick beginning October 2012 with 2 kids. We took an all-inclusive package with extra pay for bungalow rooms.
Great hotel and excellent service above expectations, the entertainment team is the best I've seen
Good food, plenty of food, but you can improve it.
The staff does everything to please stay.
We will definitely come back and try with no kids.

Room Tip: The Bungalow rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your TA Review.

we are very glad that you have had an excellent holiday with us.

i have shared your comments with the staff and they appreciated them.

thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you again to Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited the Movenpick beginning October 2012. We took an all-inclusive package with extra pay for bungalow rooms (located front line to the beach). The weather was great. The rooms were spacious and worth the extra money we paid (even though were missing coffee machine). The meals tasted OK, still the Movenpick food was no difference in giving upset stomachs (Sinai desert…). We enjoyed the hotel’s yoga, salsa, and aqua aerobic classes. The hotel’s beach was above all expectations. We will definitely come back and try with no kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your trip advisor review.

We are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel. It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and it is imperative for us to improve.

and especially your praise of the rooms and the beach . It is a great pleasure for us to share your comment with all our team members which gives them a great motivation to deliver a high quality of services with a personal touch to all of our guests.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again to Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
0.1 mi away
Hilton Taba Resort & Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 24 in Taba
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aquamarine Sun Flower Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#6 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
2.1 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
#11 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Property: Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent landscapes, breathtaking mountains and the alluring turquoise waters of the Gulf of Aqaba set the stage for the Mövenpick Resort Taba. This is the place where to enjoy wonderful seaside holidays all year round. Located directly on Taba Bay overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, the meeting point of 4 countries with views of Jordan, Israel and Saudi Arabia. The resort is 38 km from Taba International Airport, 8 km from Eilat Airport and 69.5 km from Ovda Airport in Israel. Mövenpick Resort Taba offering elegantly furnished 424 guestrooms, suites and family rooms with terrace or balconies overlooking the sea , river, pool area or mountains. All rooms feature air-conditioning, wireless connection, LCD TV, hairdryer and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort Taba
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing