We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Taba Red Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Taba Red Sea
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“An Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked the hotel directly without using a tour operator. Mohammed Abrahim was the reservations person that we dealt with. He was able to give us the best room available at the time of check-in. Our room was Fantastic with an amazing sea view. The grounds were lovely and the staff was really super in all regards. It was always a pleasure to pass by the reception on the way to the restaurant and see Michaels' s smiling face and friendly wave! The restaurant staff was fabulous and the lunch by the pool was outstanding! We had a few special requests and they were always very accommodating! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sol Taba Red Sea, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Monica H

Thank you for recommending our hotel , we are happy you liked our staff and resort and hope to have you as a regular guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    129
    64
    54
    41
See reviews for
117
148
39
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi , India
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fantastic property ..... but not maintained properly ... lack of experienced staff ...
No customer focus ...
Very arrogant attitude ...
Food quality is below average ...
Synthetic fruit juice ...
Under staffed .....
nobody seems to be there on the beach in the evening to ask for even beverages...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibikthomas2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sol Taba Red Sea, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sibikthomas2001,

Thank you for your feedback , I just talked to the food and beverage manager and he mentioned that most of the outlets are open at night except the Oasis bar on the beach as they close after sunset so you can hang around there but no service , instead you can be served in Farfasha or the discotheque . As for the juice , we do have fresh juice that you can order for a little extra money if you do not like the machine juice . Also if you are on HB basis the drinks are not included in your accommodation. As for the staff not paying attention to the guests , this is not a common complain that I receive from the hotel , they usually are very attentive and friendly , but of course your comment will be taken seriously and I will make sure that the management has a word with the staff . I hope the situation is clear now and that we can host you again soon for a better experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The place is nice, all rooms can see the beach and sun rise.
Rooms are clean.
Staff are friendly and helpful
Restaurant staff and food quality are bad
Entertainment is poor
It has one swimming pool
HiFi in the lobby only, inside the room with charge

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UsamaAbuYousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sol Taba Red Sea, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear UsamaAbuYousef,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review , we will report the food issue to the food and beverage section , as for the pool the resort has one pool on the beach and another one in the back at the cliff top area , i hope we can have the chance to host you again so you can enjoy a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good things:
- Very competitive prices
- Nice Hotel View, most of rooms are seeing the sea.
- Clean rooms and very comfortable
- Staff are helpful and fast (except restaurant staff)
- Animation team are trying their best specially Elissa and Sam....so thank you.
- Chef Mohamed (Omlete chef) is perfect, thank you.
- Special Thank for Mr. Naeem, he was very active.

Bad things:
- Food Quality is bad, Food varieties very poor.
- Restaurant staff are very slow, restaurant was not that clean and cosy
- Small beach
- There is no Pharmacy at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeshamAtsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sol Taba Red Sea, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear HeshamAtsh,

Thank you for your review and for both your positive and negative comments , be sure it will be taken into consideration . hope to see you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is with a sad heart that i have to write this review, as you can see from my previous reviews, this hotel has long been a favourite of mine with excellent reviews, but unfortunatly the sonesta chain have appointed a new manager called mr zackaria, from what the staff tell me, he comes from a hotel in cairo, so he has no idea about running a beach resort.
When i have previously visited this hotel i have noticed that over the years the hotel has been in need of a little tlc, but all of this has never mattered to me, as the reason we visit this hotel is for the freindship and care that we get from the staff,this was my 27th visit and i was so unhappy to see all my freinds working under extreme pressure, the hotel was very short staffed because some of them had left due to the treatment they were getting from the new manager, some of them had told me stories of ridiculous petty things they had been punished for, like a spoon missing from an inventory, and a knife under the dishwasher, and for this the food and beverage manager was demoted to serving rice and beans to the staff,this man in my mind was the heart and soul of this hotel and all the staff called him their best freind, he had so much respect from all his staff, and when this happened to him they were outraged because they new it was petty and personal, i think the manager was jealous of the respect this man has.they were also told to make sure that they have black socks on, (what difference does this make to how they do their job, these people stand behind a desk, who cares what colour their socks are.)
We was invited to a party while we were there, to another hotel, in the Marriot, the lady from the spa was opening a new spa there and said she had organised a bus for us to go with some of the staff so we accepted and had a realy lovely evening, unfortunatly it was spoilt the next day when the manager told the staff that they were forbidden to see guests outside of the hotel, even though they had finished their shifts and their time was their own, i was angry that he tried to spoil my fun on holiday, we always go out with the staff when we are there, you dont go to a hotel 27 times and not make freinds, the staff in this hotel work 7 days a week and very long shifts, they spend up to 3 months away from their own families, so they all become very close freinds, they are more like a family than freinds, and every one of them are proud to tell you this.the new manager needs to respect this and stop treating them like slaves,they look after their guests very well, as you can see from all the other reviews, most people talk about how special the staff are, he needs to see this and start to look after the staff he has. unfortunatly one day later the staff could take no more and tried to have a meeting and tell the owners that he must go or they will, and guess what? 22 of our freinds lost their jobs that day, it was one of the most emotional days of my life saying goodbye to them all, and seeing all the staff crying while they were also trying to keep the hotel going, because they left, the rest of the staff had to work even longer hours, food went downhill rapidly, the cleaning was left, one day some guests turned up and their rooms were not ready, they were only staying for 1 night and were left in reception till early hours of the morning, as they were leaving at 6am they told the hotel they no longer wanted the rooms, i saw security waiting on tables, managers making up beds and acting as bell captains, the beach became a mess with only 2 of the recreation team to look after the pool and beach, was this any wonder, one day a load of rubbish washed up on the beach, a decent manager would have had this cleaned, but it was left and many people complained, infact guests were helping to clear this up as the staff were already trying to make sure people had enough beach towels and loungers, the situation only got worse when it was the egyptian easter feast weekend, and another 300 rooms decended on the hotel, it was so sad to see all my freinds left in the hotel becoming more stressed and tired and hungry as they had no time for breaks.one day we came out of our room to find that a guest had dumped plates and rubbish outside our room, it stayed there for 24 hours before it was cleaned.
The hotel has fallen into disarray and and is in need of a big renovation, previously this didnt bother me as the staff more than made up for the hotels state, but if this manager has been brought in to make things better, they have definatly sent the wrong man, he has no idea how to look after his staff, who utimatly are the people who look after the guests, i think i even heard someone asking the guests to write a good report on tripadvisor to make himself look good to the manager, because he was frightened of losing his job, which he desperatly needs to look after his family, and this makes me very sad. i hope the owners of the sonesta group rethink this matter of changing the manager, because i see things will only get worse. i will no longer go back to this hotel while this horrible manager is in charge, if he leaves and the old staff come back, then i will return.but untill this happens i will stay at the radisson.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queenmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sol Taba Red Sea, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear queenmandy

Let me tell you that this is the first time I get such an emotional review , and I can really feel how loyal you are to our resort and staff . Thank you so much for this care and be sure a proper action will be taken but of course after some investigations and we also have to hear the other parts involved .. Again thank you for writing this review and hope we can see you again in our resort and you can also meet your old friends there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed 4 days in this hotel and I was so excited, rooms are beautiful and most of them have a sea view , the staff are amazing ,very helpful,very friendly , always smiling , Garrah , Mohamed (omlet chef) , A.samea and Mr. zakaria the restaurant manager you find him everywhere to make sure everything is perfect, the animation team is funny and friendly as well.
food was nice and variable.
my only negative comment on this hotel is the delay of the reception team , you keep asking for something for 3 or 4 times until they respond.
but the overall experience was wonderful and I would definitely visit this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaymaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sol Taba Red Sea, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Shaymaa

Thank you for this lovely review , it is always a pleasure when we get such compliments on our service and staff , I will make sure to pass your nice words to them and waiting to host you soon again at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

i have just returned from a short vacation in Taba Sonesta resort , the resort has excellent design as most of the rooms as well as the main resturant are sea view , the staff are very friendly and welcoming all the time special thanks to garrah(who was very helpfull & friendly ) , A .samee , essam ,mohamed (omlette chef). and the very active man Mr zakria naiem , alissa & sam (animation team )you all really make our holiday wonderful , food was very good , rooms are wide,views are wonderful , the only shortage in this resort is the rooms cleaning we got the room not perfectely clean and people who clean the rooms dont clean it well they just arrange bed,but as a whole the hotel is great with its great stuff who make it always special warm place for holidays

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghada_saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
26.2 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
9.1 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
12.5 mi away
Nuweiba Coral Resort
Nuweiba Coral Resort
#3 of 16 in Nuweiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
17.5 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
16.8 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Taba Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Taba Red Sea

Property: Sol Taba Red Sea
Address: 14 KM Taba | Nuweiba Intl. Road, Taba 46618, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Taba
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Taba Red Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 440-room Sol Taba Red Sea overlooks the legendary beauty of the Red Sea on Egypt's famed "Riviera," the Gulf of Aqaba. The five-star Sol Taba Red Sea is known for its spectacular views of dramatic sunsets and colorful mountainscapes as well as the beautiful Red Sea corals. Taba is one of Sinai’s treasured highlights with panoramic views of beaches and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sol Taba Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort Taba Hotel Taba
Sonesta Beach Hotel Taba
Sonesta Taba
Taba Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing