We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, easily the best in Taba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tobya Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Taba
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, easily the best in Taba”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel (pronounced Tobb-ee-a) is 1km out of Taba, which is why it is often ignored by the tourists. When I went in January 2012 it was almost deserted because of the collapse of tourism following the Arab Spring. The Russians and Israelis who used to visit are all staying 10 minutes up the road in Eilat (some may regard this as a blessing). But the hotel is a gem. Unlike the rather bland chains in Taba itself, the Tobya Boutique Hotel is pleasing on the eye, with a faux style of Egyptian architecture. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was OK, although there was effectively no menu (ie just one fixed dish) because of the shortage of customers. The room was comfortable with a lovely view of the Red Sea. A small but very private beach with some excellent snorkelling is reached via a short tunnel. A great place to relax (which is all you can do, since there is nothing but a few shops and a rather glitzy casino in Taba itself), but PLEASE visit this hotel before any more staff are laid off (the owner Nadia told me she has had to fire 35 of her 60 staff). They deserve better.

Also, don't get ripped off by the taxis if you are coming from Israel. Not knowing where the hotel was, I paid 60 Egyptian pounds for a short 2km ride that was actually walkable. Should have cost 20 pounds. Ring Nadia and the hotel may even collect you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripAnorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Taba , Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We were traveling from Israel to Egypt for only 1 night in Taba, the hotel is very close to the Israeli border approx 2 km . The minute we entered we were surprised of how beautiful the hotel was . Walking into the lobby was like visiting a small Egyptian museum. The staff is very friendly , the rooms we had were not very big but very nicely furnished and decorated .
The food was very good, mainly Egyptian cuisine that tasted really different .
The owner , who is also the manager of the hotel showed us other rooms that are much bigger for couple with children. The time was really short but definitely if we come back to Taba , this is the place we will choose.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NadiaShalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel/resort was the most amazing find. It is family run - indeed, the owner Madam Nadia personally took care that everything was perfect for us! The hotel consists of separate buildings, nestled into the mountainous desert with its own access to the most amazing beach and coral reefs. From the beach you can see the lights of Eilat in Israel, Aqaba in Jordan and the long coastline of Saudia Arabia to the South simultaneously. How wonderful would it be if everybody could not only look at these different coasts from afar...
Tobya is a tranquil paradise that invites and treats everybody royally. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank dallasdoctor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

If you want to feel like a princess in Egypt go to Tobya!! We were in this time of the year almost alone in the hotel. The owner was so kind to take us a party because she thought it was a bit boring for us (wasn't) so few people.
The staff is very very kind. they even are learning Dutch. For my birthday I was offered a great cake and the boys sang Happy Birthday in Arabic.! The hotel is very different from Hiltonlike hotels, this hotel is very authentic and arty. Don't know how it will be in summertime.
This will be our new spot for the wintertime.

The best reef we ever saw is just 10 mts from the beach, 40 species to be seen.
Not so much to do in the surroundings, but when you want to take a rest this is theplace

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank molenpiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

As a last minute decision we went to Taba, Egypt to spend the last days of 2010. We stayed at Tobya for a week and had a wonderful time, even though it was raining 2 days. The rooms were nice the staff was more then helpful and the surroundings were beautiful. No demand was too great; we got everything we wished for. However there is one problem: their weren't enough guests. For a hotel this size about 10 guests isn't right. So visit the hotel have a nice and quiet stay and tell your friends, but not all of them, because 100 guests is nice but let's keep it tranquil as it is with just enough people

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pablito50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
(Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I've been desperately trying to think of the words which would adequately describe this resort, however I've been having difficulty in doing so, so I'll try and start from the beginning, describe our personal experience and then review the amenities etc at the end.

The Resort is an hour and a half from the airport - this is fine as we were mentally prepared after reading the trusted reviews on Tripadvisor. Our Longwood Rep, Russell was funny, informative and conveyed to you the better elements of the hotel as well as the lacklustre ones. This was refreshing to hear from a tour Rep and managed to prepare us for the problems that we encountered. If only this particular Rep was there all week! Unfortunately, Russell then went away on holiday and we were left with another one, Sayed. More on him later.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tmtmgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I booked this hotel really to just spend a night at Taba, on my way from Jordan to Sharm. I arrived farly late (it was dark), completely exhausted after the long journey and a bad customs experience in Israel. So didn't really have a chance to get a taste of the place. This was around the end of December 2008.

Overall, the grounds look nice but labeling the hotel "Boutique" is seriously misleading. The rooms are a little bit on the old side. The restaurant food was OK. we saw only a handful of guests. Yes, among those the proverbial Russians that roan the peninsula :)

Common areas and pool looked decent too. Among the other positives: value was decent. Reservations and contact with a certain Nadia were flawless. I had to change my whole itinerary after missing a connection to Jerusalem in Cairo and she was very prompt to accommodate

This hotel is a bit out of the way with regards to the rest of the town. Not that there is anything to do there. And a taxi ride was not expensive (about 20 LE?). This being said, there are clearly more beautiful/newer options available. For me it didn't make a difference since I was only overnighting. And the hotel was good enough. But somehow I felt pictures presented a nicer vision of the hotel compared with what it really was. If I were to return to Taba (and seriously can't think of a reason) I would consider first staying at one of the classier options but wouldn’t turn a blind eye to this one. It is beautiful and good value.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taba hotels
0.0 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
0.0 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquamarine Sun Flower Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobya Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobya Boutique Hotel

Property: Tobya Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 2, Taba International Road, Taba, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Hotel Class:4 star — Tobya Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tobya Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tobya Boutique Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing