We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting it nearly right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Everything considered this was a very good hotel, not great but very good. The Rooms are comfortable (the beds fantastic) good size and kept clean. The soap could have been topped up abd at this level one would expect that. The Hotel is now all inclusive and the buffet meals are plentiful and there is something for everyone. The range of drinks is extremely limited and the staffs knowledge of what is avaialable is restricted. The attitude of the staff is exemplory and they can not do enough to try and help. The pool area is clean and tidy and the availability of sun beds was never a problem. The pool is irregular shape and only 1.2m deep so do not try diving in.
The resort itself is extremely sparse in that there are five top quality hotels and a little vilage built to accommodate the staff with a few shops and bars. Unless you like just sitting in the sun or watersports this is not a place for you. I went for the diving and was not disapointed with the sea life.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhelfgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Many readers may remember that my partner and I have visited this hotel many times in past years (often three times a year) and obviously very much enjoy it! Our two week visit at the end of last month was no exception. So what has motivated me to write this time? Well, I have been on a diet since Christmas and struggling, yes I mean struggling! I thought how on earth will I be able to keep it up at the Marriott? Well, I am delighted to report that I discovered numerous healthy options available at the admirable Al Andalus restaurant where for breakfast fresh fruit and plain yogurt set me up before my visit to the excellent health centre and gym. Lunch and dinner offered an excetional range of salads often with chicken (but never dull).. The biggest problem was avoiding the temtation to dig into the wonderful array of puddings, cakes and breads (The Marriott really does have exceptional bakers and cake makers) and guess what folks I managed to loose another kilo before our return home. So its not only a great holiday hotel but I think I've just adopted it as my new favourite health spar!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if given the option rooms prefixed with 9 are in our opinion the best locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonycrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

agree with lesleye 11 everything she said is true.Been to all inclusive all over the world none like this one they want to make up there mind if they are all inclusive ,misleading to holiday makers,only thing 5 star is bed and bedding.On the up side room and view great and staff friendly and helpfulfor a name like the Marriott it was disapointing it needs to deal with these issues now.

Room Tip: stay in block 400 top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear carole s
Many Thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. Although i am saddened to read your comments, i would like to stress that the All Inclusive package that you purchased from the Tour Operator is published to you prior to traveling here; we have not concealed anything or deprived you of anything that you were entitled to. We will however, continue to ensure that our information is available to all guests, making sure that future clients know exactly what is and is not included. Once again, thank you and we wish you a pleasant summer! Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wow what a hotel.
My wife and I visited Marriott Taba between April 5. - 12. 2013
Beautiful location and a great beach - windy though.
Al Andalus restaurant perfectly carried by the employees Hend, Ahmed, Mohammed, Muktar and all the other working so hard with a kind remark and a large smile. They deliver a fantastic service. Thanks guys.
To be improved:
The All inclusive afternoon snack = not acceptable. Some days I had to ask the Grotto employees to phone the cook to open and make food in the afternoon which is not acceptable. The food though I'm aware it's only snack was the same alle the days exept the first day which was only small cakes from the breakfast table.
All employees were so kind always having time for a chat.
To the future visitors: Remember to have a chat and behave politely to all employees, they are very kind.
Sure we will visit Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort

Room Tip: Remember to book near the beach - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renehasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear renehasly
Warm greetings from Taba Heights Marriott! Many thanks for taking the time to post your recent review! We were delighted to read your comments, and to read that you had a 'great experience'! Your comments regarding the restaurant team members have been passed on and we thank you for recognising these individuals, this is a great motivational tool for the team! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, and in the meantime, wish you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was really looking forward to a 5* Marriott experience in wonderful Taba Heights, what i got was 2* dissapointment. This hotel was a disgrace to the word All inclusive - first Coffee and tea facility in the room after the first day to replenish would cost, Ice cream and crisps would cost, to eat in alternate restaurant instead of Buffet style would cost, Wine served from the bottle would cost!! The food was the same every breakfast, every lunch and even the themed evening was very much the same. the drinks were cheap and nasty, eating outside was like a menagery with birds eating off your plates, and to eat inside was like a school canteen, noisy and hot. There was no night entertainment and drinks could only be got from a poorly lit bar with extremely loud music, and to sit outside you would have to wait ages for a waiter to take your order and twice as long to get your drink, hot drinks came cold and cold drinks were warm. Take your drink and some tea/coffee bags from restaurant and go sit in your room and watch a good film on the TV. Kiddies entertainment was non existant and the spa and sauna was run down and small. The beach bar looked like it had been blown over in a hurricane, didn't open till 11.00 then everyone from the pool area descends as its the only place to get drinks. The beach beds are a hazard with nails sticking out and very unstable and the mattresses are smelly. Just one thing that worked out, we were able to swap to have evening meal in either neighbouring Hotels and it was a god send as we spent our week doing just that. People Taba Heights is a lovely holiday resort and if your thinking of going stay at The Sofitel Hotel it truly is 5*.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesleye11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear lesleye11
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay, we do value all comments as we continuously strive to make improvements where necessary! As you know, we have responded to you personally by mail a few days ago before the posting of this review, so i will not address your concerns on here. Once again, thank you and we wish you a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I agree with many of the reviews in that this is not a genuine 5 star hotel but to be fair it is not charging 5 star prices. The resort is perhaps a few years past its best but the management seem to be acting on customer feedback and are embarking on an improvement programme. Even if you are not lucky enough to get a refurbished room the rooms are still fine. They could perhaps be better designed but nonetheless are spacious and were clean.

As to the food... Fully inclusive isn't for everyone and no one wants to eat in a canteen type arrangement day after day but the food was actually pretty good and when you are simply looking for fuel rather than a dining experience it is perfect. Some other reviews gripe about lack of wine etc. not sure why. All you need to do is ask or at worst help yourself. Avoid the Tuscany (Italian?) it is awful as was the service . El Fuego (Mexican!) however was great. A short trip on the Taff Taff (free bus) but the food and service made it worth the effort. Otherwise my only tip would be to go earlier rather than later. The choice tends to reduce the later you go.

My main gripe was the lack of free wifi. It has been a few years since I have experienced this. That said, they are apparently on the case. Another minor gripe is the lack of tea and coffee in the room. It is available but not topped up. Seems both stupid and stingy given that it is a fully inclusive resort and you can drink as much tea and coffee you want elsewhere.

On balance excellent value. If you are looking for a short break with pretty much guaranteed sun then go for it...

Only other comments, quiet resort, good snorkelling, diving and trips to likes of Petra and Jerusalem.

Room Tip: Don't assume you get a double. Although the twin beds are standard doubles you will need to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinMcDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear ColinMcDougall
Many thanks for taking the time to post your well balanced and constructive review. We wish to inform you that, although it doesn't help you now, we are in the process of installing new internet infrastructure, and will be able to provide free WIFI in ALL public areas in June, although we dont yet have a confirmed date. Of course we will advise and publicly announce when we do have a confirmed date.....so when you next return, the WIFI will be free, a perfect excuse to come back again! We thank you also for your kind comments regarding the team, restaurant and you general enjoyment! We look forward to welcoming you back, and in the meantime, wish you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went to this hotel several years ago, when it was not all-inclusive, and I have to say the overall quality has definitely decreased, perhaps inevitably. 5 star rating in Egypt is definitely not a European 5 star. The all-inclusive includes watered down drinks served without panache. Waiters, pool staff, room boys are not the most enthusiastic I have come across in Egypt. Nice large rooms, clean, spacious grounds. They do not get the food right. They have themed nights eg Mediterranean, Asian, Chinese, but really it is rather samey, and the food does not taste quite as it would in a proper restaurant. Highlight is probably breakfast, when you can have your own personalised omelette. Quality eg of coffee, varies hugely from day to day. Nice for a week of unadulterated sunshine and very child-friendly. Stretching, aquaerobic, bellydancing classes are fun. We found best snorkelling off Sofitel pier. You can hire masks snorkels, so don't worry about taking your own if you don't want to. Trip to Jerusalem very enjoyable, although as the rep warned 'no gain without pain'. 3am start!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear shoedocmo
Hello from a sunny Taba Heights! We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent visit; we do appreciate all comments and strive to make improvements where necessary! We were slightly surprised to read you comment regarding our staff, as generally, the staff is well praised and one of our best assets. We would however like to apologize if you felt that this was not the case! We do hope that if your travels bring you back to Egypt, you will consider visiting us again, where we will prove to you our true capabilities of providing a 5* experience! In the meantime, we wish you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 61 in Eilat
953 reviews
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Taba Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Taba Heights Resort

Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: $41 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Taba Heights Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort ideal for families as well as couples, with a variety of water activities, heated pool and spas and dining options. Lush gardens and waterfalls cascading down onto swimming pools are the background to this majestic resort. Enjoy a variety of cuisines and distinctly unique restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview Taba Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing