We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every sense - both Taba Heights and the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Taba Heights. I thought it would be useful if we provided an overview of the resort’s four 5* hotels. We stayed at the Marriott on an ‘All Inclusive’ tariff – the Marriott has only just started to offer an AI option to British guests. Although the weather could have been better, we had a fantastic time.

Taba Heights is a beautiful resort – much quieter than Sharm or Hurghada (our friends who accompanied us have been there and they all thought Taba Heights was much more relaxing). With the Sinai Mountain Range as a backdrop, the consensus was that Taba Heights was also far more beautiful – the mountains do block out the sun in the late afternoon however – I suspect you will lose about 30mins of sun as a result. If you’re looking for a relaxing break though, put Taba on your short-list. If you’re looking for night clubs and parties – look elsewhere.

Having looked around all the 5* hotels in Taba Heights, I can honestly say that the Marriott is in our ‘TOP 2’ – the Sofitel would be the closest contender. In the Marriott’s favour, it has a superb swimming pool which a multitude of islands and swim channels, one of which passes through a cave. The Marriott’s pool, lined with blue mosaic tiles is also the prettiest in my view – it is also the only pool with a waterslide – perfect if you have kids. NB – the slide falls into the section of the pool that is not heated so if you’re travelling to Taba Heights in winter, bear this is in mind. There is also a pool bar!

The pools at the other hotels are all very nice. The Hyatt has several smaller pools plus a large lap pool – the Hyatt’s poolside areas are sheltered by beautiful gardens and consequently are much more intimate in feel – like the Marriott. By comparison the pools at the Sofitel and Intercontinental are more open plan – less private and more susceptible to the wind which can whip across the Red Sea. The Intercontinental and Marriott both have salt water lagoons – the Hyatt’s is especially nice.

Our poolside room at the Marriott was lovely – a huge Queen Size bed – super comfy. Quality furnishings, satellite television, safe, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and fluffy bath robes. If you like a bath though the bath tubs are very short here – the shower is above the bath tub. Junior Suites have separate shower cubicles.

By comparison, Sofitel standard rooms are similar in size and quality to the Marriott’s – the main difference being a flat screen TV. The balconies at the Hyatt are HUGE and most rooms have walk in showers too. The Intercontinental rooms are nice but the balconies are enclosed with heavy railings – our friends staying there found this quite oppressive – almost prison like!

Quality furniture on the Marriott's balconies add to the feeling of quality – the hotel used to have plastic chairs – now upgraded. My only real frustration about the room would be the wired internet access – which arrives at a whopping £84 for the week. Guests can use one of the hotel’s Business Centre PCs though for £4 per half hour. Failing that, the Sofitel (next door) has free Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Trust me when I say the food at the Marriott is good – yes it’s a buffet but there is always something nice on offer. After two weeks it might get a little repetitive but for a week it really is fine. The only grumble here is that there is no tea and coffee served after the evening meal (unlike the Sofitel and Intercontinental). The ‘All Inclusive drinks’ end at 10pm (11pm at the Sofitel and Intercontinental) – weigh this up when choosing which hotel to stay at.

The breakfast juices at the Marriott were not ‘juices’ as you would expect - more Sunny Delight! Real fruit juices at breakfast would be a nice touch. Hygiene throughout is excellent though – nobody we met had any form of ‘Egypt Belly’ – the restaurant at the Marriott really is spotless.

We ate at each of the other 5* hotels on the ‘Dine Around’ scheme which means you can pre-book your buffet dinner at any of the other hotels – drinks are chargeable even if you are on an ‘All Inclusive’ deal at your own hotel however. On merit, the food is probably best at the Sofitel – followed by the Marriott. The main restaurant at the Sofitel is also very nice. The Intercontinental restaurant is tiny – much smaller than the Marriott’s – it must be difficult to get a table at the Intercontinental during peak season.

Our only ‘real’ issue with the Marriott is that the Riviera Bar is a smoking bar – there isn’t even a no-smoking section. OK, this is the Middle East where smoking is still rife. However, given that 80% of the clientele hail from Europe, you would expect the hotel to have at least one bar that is smoke free – perhaps this is the case in peak season when the Grotto Bar would be open in the evenings. My husband is asthmatic so this was a real issue for us – it seemed the minority was spoiling the air quality for the majority though – incredibly selfish. The lovely main bar at the Sofitel is smoke free though… if this is important to you, consider staying there.

If spas are your thing, rest assured, the spa at the Marriott is very nice (small Jacuzzi, small steam room, small sauna). The Marriott has arguably the best of the gyms in Taba Heights – we inspected them all. The spa itself can only accommodate 8-12 people though so booking in advance is a must. By comparison the spa at the Intercontinental is much larger with a nice indoor pool, two Jacuzzis, plus a much larger sauna and steam room. The spa at the Marriott is FREE to use though – whereas guests have to pay 15USD to use the spa at the Intercontinental (even though you are staying there). The spa at the Sofitel is much larger than the Marriott’s – recently refurbished – with a lovely Hamman. The spa at the Hyatt is frankly a disappointment.

If snorkelling is your thing – the Marriott is the only hotel with easy swimming from the beach – better than at the Intercontinental. Both the Sofitel and the Hyatt have jetties. The reef and the marine life which it supports certainly improves as you walk South towards the Hyatt – the Hyatt has by far the best snorkelling on its doorstep. Be careful of the reef when you are there - please don’t copy the Russians who simply walk across it without a care in the world! The reef here is stunning and needs to be protected.

Room Tip: Block 100 pool side rooms are lovely - simply walk out from your balcony and into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sunflower_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie2908, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Annalise_Andy_UK
Wow, a really thorough review of not only the Taba Marriott but of the entire destination! A huge thank you from the team here for your wonderful comments and feedback. I will certainly be sharing your review with the hotel crew! I was delighted to read your comments and even more happy that you had a 'superb' holiday! Next time you visit us, please let us know so that we can ensure that the next visit is the best one yet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent an amazing time at the Marriott. We got what we came for :) - sun,sea, super hotel, delicious food, friendly people.
The Hotel is placed in a beautiful surrounding area in between the sea and some rocky mountains. The sea is really clean and a couple hundred meters from the shore you can snorkel in the reefs and see some wonderful marine life.
The staff in the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. The food included in the all-inclusive package was really well done, with excellent daily variety. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MayaJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie2908, Director of Sales at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear MayaJohnny
A big thank you from all the team here for your positive feedback! Its great to hear that you experienced the amazing snorkeling, and that you really appreciated the beautiful landscape that we are set in! The staff were happy to help you, and always do their best to take care of the guests! Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This resort is an excellent one of you want to enjoy the sun, sand, pool and play golf as well! Food is very good, rooms excellent, staff helpful and it is ideally situated for the golf course! Cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view other then just sea view and you should get a front line room facing the Red Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devonaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie2908, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Devoniares
Taba Heights is certainly a 'great golfing venu' and i am happy that you were able to experience the delights of the golf course. Thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback, i will certainly be sharing your review with the team! Please dont hesitate to let us know next time your coming back as we will be sure to make your next visit even more memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Last time I travel I still only in Taba Marriott Hotel... ..This hotel is wonderful and beautiful surroundings, beautiful rooms and lovely sea views from the room ..... and this hotel have the best staffs

Room Tip: all rooms is the best 453
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuzana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have just returned from Taba Heights and can honestly say i had a fantastic stay at the Marriott. The staff are both friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms are beautiful and the overall location is stunning. The food at the Resort is first class and the amount of variety was quite impressive. I was also taken back with the amount of time the senior staff took in making our stay perfect and checking everything was just right.
I can honestly say i would recommend this resort to anyone and can assure you that you will have a fantastic time there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GRIMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My daughter and I had a fabulous fortnight here. Excellent service, good food, unbelievably helpful staff. Can't understand why it's not rated higher. By far the best hotel in Taba Heights.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank telebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have visited the Taba Heights Resort area many times before but my stay at the Marriott was by far the best yet! From the moment i arrived to the day i left, i was made to feel very welcome (like a VIP!). Staff were friendly and will go out of their way to help make your stay ease free and enjoyable. Food was excellent, with different themed nights and plenty of variety. Equally, if you want to eat outside of the hotel, you can take the bus up to the tourist village (2mins bus ride) and dine at the yummy mexican, thai, indian etc. Really great food and you get great views of the sea and mountains also. The hotel was spotless and the beach stunning (the outlook of the crystal blue sea and mountains is amazing). You can go on a number of excursions, Jordan, quad biking, Cairo etc from the hotel, which are all worth the time and money to explore and get a real sense of what Egypt is all about. I will be returning again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie2908, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear janna t
A huge thank you for posting your recent trip advisor review. Your comments and feedback are extremely valuable to us and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and in the meantime, we would like to wish you all the best for the new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Taba Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Taba Heights Resort

Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: $41 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Taba Heights Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort ideal for families as well as couples, with a variety of water activities, heated pool and spas and dining options. Lush gardens and waterfalls cascading down onto swimming pools are the background to this majestic resort. Enjoy a variety of cuisines and distinctly unique restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bayview Taba Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing