We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
PL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've been to Taba Heights numerous times and this was the first time i've stayed in the Sofitel. Out of the 3 hotels i've stayed in there this is joint 1st. Rooms were spacious and clean, staff were very friendly and courteous. I thought the food was good with a reasonable choice by Egyptian standards. There are numerous pools from quiet relaxing ones to the noisier main pool with the animation/activities so something for everyone. There is a pier where you can go snorkeling from and you will see literally 100's of different species of fish which is excellent for people who don't want to go diving. I was also pleasantly surprised by the temperature - average 28 degrees at the beginning of December! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandrew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you very much for this wonderful review .We are happy to see that we achieved our goal which was for you to have a wonderful stay.
We will be happy to welcome you again.
See you soon
Best regards from Sofitel Taba Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,195
    812
    275
    89
    63
See reviews for
882
1,796
75
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this fabulous hotet between 4th and 18th of December for the 15th time.

I would like to start with thanking 3 very special people.

Hussien in reception thank you very much for everything that you have done on this holiday and every time we have stayed.every time we have seen him in reception he is laughing and helping guests from all over the world and speaks 6 languages he is a real asset to this hotel

Secondly I would like to thank Rashed for making my 40th birthday very,very special,he organised everything before he went on holiday,Rashed has just been made restaurant manager this can only be great for this hotel,nothing is to much trouble for Rashed he is helpfull,caring and loves his job so much,thank you Rashed

Lastly I would like to thank Islam from the restaurant,Rashed left him to take over my birthday and he made it very special,the tower breakfast was brilliant,thank you Islam

All the staff are fantastic at this hotel from guest relations,heba and the ever caring Ali
To the excellent bar staff Desozke,salah,hagaggy and Amgad.

If you want to no more about the hotel just read my old reviews of this fantastic hotel

Now last but not lest you may think that I am very biased towards this fantastic hotel and that I would never complain and for most of all you would probably be right,but I do have 1 complaint

Mr jules-Henri edouard we have stayed at this hotel 15 times you have been manager I think the last 4 or 5 times we have stayed,we have spent in the region of 25 thousand pound over the years and you have never spoken to us in fact if you see us coming you will turn the over way,on this last visit we turned up late at the return guest cocktail party so we would be the last ones there and still you ignore us you just walk away.mr edouard this is your job to come and see us not for us to approach you.maybe you could go for training with mr bert plas the manager before you who made sure he was there to see us when we arrived at the hotel and when he seen us just to say hi that's all we ask not to be best friends for life.

Again I would like to thank all the staff at the Sofitel taba heights for everything you have done for us over the years.

Garry and Christine room 1330 xxx

P.s thanks shaban

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank liverpool1972_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review .We are happy to see that we achieved our goal which was for you to have a wonderful stay & visit us for 15 times as you mentioned.
We will be happy to welcome you again & again.
See you soon
Best regards from Sofitel Taba Team.

Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have visited Egypt for many years and have experience in the quality of hotel on offer. We chose the Sofitel for two reasons. Firstly because of its location close to Israel as we wanted to visit Jerusalem, and secondly because of the reports on Trip Advisor claiming that the food was of a very high standard. The location and cleanliness of the hotel is first class. Right on the beach with fantastic views. The staff on the whole were very friendly and always willing to help. Our room, overlooking the main pool area was excellent, and was kept to a very high standard.
Unfortunately the food was extremely poor with the exception of breakfast. There were no fresh cooking stations at lunch or dinner except for the pasta, which was good. This meant that all the food was pre-prepared and served in what I can only describe as school meal canteen style resulting in food which was just about warm and in some cases inedible. The serving areas were scattered with bits of food from the containers, and the serving spoons were in a dreadful state. The food on offer lacked imagination, and the presentation was the worst I have seen in Egypt. I am not a fussy eater and can eat most things, but if it had not been for the pasta station there would have been at least 5 nights when I would not have eaten.
Reading the reviews on this hotel there are many people who have revisited, all I can say is that our experience was just bad luck, or some people will accept standards which fall well below of the other hotels we have stayed at in Egypt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Traveler208_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments .We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed ,the cleanliness of the hotel, the general setting of the hotel ,the attitude of our staff and the size and room amenities. However I understand that you did not like the food ,because amongst other the numbers of live station were not enough .As you rightly noticed a large majority of our guest approximately 90% if I take the internal survey is very happy with the food ,and It is difficult to say that because they accept low standard . We regret that you left the hotel unhappy because only of the food .We have several cocktails, when we meet our guests and we try to discuss with them to make sure that we know before the leave if we can make they stay more pleasant and we regret that we did not meet you .We have different buffets themes every night and we have in winter time lest barbecue or grill that in summer when we are cooking outside .We also have our restaurant Asiatic all the meals are cooked directly in front he guest ,you would have probably like it .
Again thank you for the comments which help us in our ongoing effort to improve our service.
Sincerely.
Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just back from a lovely holiday at the Sofitel, I cannot rate it highly enough. The rooms were lovely, spacious and cleaned everyday. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff from cleaners upwards greeted you with a lovely smile and made you feel at ease and comfortable. The food was nice and there was always something there you could eat, If you didnt see anything you liked you could ask them to cook you something. I highly recommend this hotel if your looking some timeout to refresh your batteries! I want to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DizzyDebbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you very much for this wonderful review .We are happy to see that we achieved our goal which was for you to have a wonderful stay.
We will be happy to welcome you again.
See you soon
Best regards from Sofitel Taba Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade on Thames
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just returned from one week at the Sofitel Taba Heights. Really enjoyed holiday. Room lovely we were in block 3, bathroom a bit tired but clean, room good and very clean. The man who cleaned our room made a lovely job, he was very conscientious. Walked along the prom and visited the other hotels nearby, we definitely chose the best hotel. Food good. Staff very friendly and can not do enough for you. Entertainment staff interesting!! Had us back for more every night they were so funny. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back again. Thompson's rep, Sayed, very informative and friendly. Beach lovely, but need beach shoes to go into sea. All in all had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DEBLechladeonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for your comment that we have read carefully.
We also would like to thank you for having chosen the city of Taba and Sofitel Taba Heights to spend your holidays. We are delighted to know that your holidays within our hotel were as high as your expectations. We appreciate your opinion on the site, the food, the whole hotel and the staff a lot; as they are sensitive to this kind of attention they will be delighted when they read your comments and once again thank you on their behalf.
We are perfectly aware that the destinations are very numerous for the holidays, but hoping you decide one day to return and join the club of numerous customers who return to Sofitel Taba Heights.
We shall wait to see you again and promise you again the Sofitel service during your stay. Please accept from all the Sofitel Taba Heights team our sincere and best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My fiancé and I were recommended this hotel and it was fantastic from start to finish. It's definitely a hotel designed for relaxation and that is exactly what it delivers, everything from check-in to food is effortless and professional and the staff are friendly and helpful.
A great deal of time and effort is put in by the managers to meet and greet their guests and reassure them that they are available should there be any queries. We found them to be welcoming and thoroughly lovely people.

If it's an adventure/active holiday you are after you may need to make plans for trips out but for relaxing and for a genuinely peaceful holiday this is perfect. The hotel is beautiful, modern and clean and the room waiting for us was welcoming and beautifully maintained. The food is fresh, tasty and varied so there is always something for everyone.

If you want a beautiful hotel that strives to make your stay as perfect as possible we would definitely recommend Sofitel, Taba.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jess_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your holidays .We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. we also thank you for this positive review, we will be pleased to see you again.

Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

For a cheap week in the Sun in mid-winter, this was great value for money - £500 pp all-inclusive.

TRAVEL: The Thomson flights were ahead of time (out) and punctual (return), but we were glad fights were not full as the seats are cramped and uncomfortable. Flight refreshments are all chargeable and somewhat over-priced.

Transfers were comfortable and efficient in both directions (about 40 mins from Taba Airport to Sofitel Taba Heights).

RESORT: It is purpose built and therefore completely artificial. There are four so-called 5 Star hotels along the beach: Hyatt, Sofitel, Marriott & InterContinental. A beach-side paved walkway links them - 2.5 kms end to end - a very pleasant walk.

The beach (same length) is man-made with imported sand. At the water's edge it is rocky/stoney, so it is difficult to step into the sea. This is disappointing, but has the benefit of protecting the adjacent reefs from irresponsible behaviour. The Sofitel and Hyatt both have jetties from where snorkellers have easy access to the coral. In my experience the snorkelling is as good or better than anywhere else I have ever been in the world.

Security around the resort is considerable - there are two police control points on the road from the airport, a security gate into the resort and further control points to enter each hotel, either from the road or along the beachside path. At the time of our visit there was a lot of political turmoil in Cairo and other large cities. However, we might as well have been a million miles away

The resort has a small commercial centre - just a collection of tourist shops and restaurants - not worth a visit really. This is not the real Egypt of course, so don't kid yourselves that this is how Egypt is! A free shuttle bus links the hotels and the 'Uptown' commercial centre. Between the beach hotels and the commercial area there is a reasonable looking golf course - another nice walk.

NEARBY COUNTRIES: Taba is at the apex of 4 countries: Egypt, Israel, Jordan and Saudi Arabia. There are tour operator transfers to Jerusalem (£109 pp) and Petra (c. £230 pp), but other than that little opportunity to visit the other countries. The Israeli frontier is just 20 kms away and the fashionable resort of Eilat is just beyond. It is reputedly hassle-ridden to taxi to/from the border crossing and negotiate the right stamps in the passport, so we didn't try. Aqaba is just 25 kms away by ferry, but again it is 'complicated' and there is no encouragement to try it. And Saudi Arabia, just 15 kms across the Gulf of Aqaba, is of course closed to tourism.

HOTEL: Local categorisation of the Sofitel is 5 Star, but compared with international standards it is certainly not. Nevertheless it is pleasing, with a bright and airy lobby, good sized rooms and large and spacious pool areas.

We had a room on the top (4th) floor of Block 1 with uninterrupted views of the pools, the sea and Jordan & Saudi Arabia. I suspect this block could be noisy in season, but with only 30% occupancy it was nice and peaceful! We had two 5 ft. beds and storage areas were generous (although coat hangers were in short supply). Our bathroom was very spacious, but needing a little deep-cleaning, whilst the lighting was not good for shaving or make-up. There is coffee/tea-making facilities. We were glad to have taken our own tea bags and wished we had taken our own coffee filters (only instant coffee in room and no decaf).

Whilst the pools are okay, the environment, compared with the other hotels, is rather arid, with insufficient greenery and flora. I appreciate it must be difficult in a desert climate, but the Hyatt and Marriott in particular have created far lovely surroundings for their guests.

The main restaurant was okay, but not great. We never get excited about buffet food, but when considering the all-inclusive price we could not complain. They produced really good Egyptian and Indian foods, demonstrating great skills in the use of spices. However, the other themed nights (Italian, French, Mexican & International) proved rather underwhelming! Lovely breads and excellent salads were always on offer and some of the desserts were very good. However, the pastas were poor and there were just too many stews in big pots! The lack of pig meats became rather tedious, but we did appreciate we were in a Moslem country.

Curiously to eat in any other restaurant seemed to require booking and deciding what to eat at least 24 hours before hand. We did try the waiter-service Mediterranean Restaurant once (no extra charge), and whilst it was nice enough the menu was very restricted. There are a couple of other premium restaurants, but the surcharge is exorbitant and we never ever saw anyone using them.

Our biggest disappointment was the main bar. It was the only option for a drink in the evening. It was a huge room, where in winter they also stage the evening entertainment. Hence noisy and there was nowhere for a quiet and relaxing drink. The poolside bar was like a canteen. The beach bars were okay for the beach!

The choice of all-inclusive alcoholic drinks was limited to locally brewed Lager, Gin, Vodka, Brandy and Whiskey. The lager was okay, whilst the first three spirits were drinkable with mixers. However, the whiskey was atrocious, no matter how it was disguised! They offered cocktails, but given the limited choice of alcohol and its dubious pedigree I would imagine them to be a recipe for Gyppy-Belly of the most acute order!!

We found the cleanliness of the hotel pretty good in all areas and there was an effort to promote personal hygiene with gel sanitizer dispensers in the main restaurant.

I commend excellent approach of all staff, without exception. They are really keen to make you feel welcome and want to come again. Mr Eduard, the General Manager, welcomed us at the Thomson Welcome Meeting and again at a cocktail party the next evening. His deputy hosted another cocktail party on the eve of departure and saw us off on the last afternoon. Other managers and staff attended these events too and all were keen to circulate and show the hotel's best sides. Our room boy was cheerful and hard-working, reception, porters, waiters and bar staff were all similarly eager to please and remember us.

Last but not least I must mention Sayed the Thomson rep - he lives on site and was always happy to talk, whether on duty or not. He was always smartly dressed remembered us by name and conducted himself in the most professional manner.

Would we come again - well for a good value winter escape to the Sun, no reason why not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments .Also thank you for coming to Egypt in this difficult time for us because of political tensions in Cairo. As you noticed the rates we are offering are very attractive to continue to bring tourist to Egypt, we are effectively not perfect but we are still trying to offer Sofitel quality. The hotel is has an international clientele with family and can be noisy in some area but we manage to offer alternative to our guest like quiet pool or restaurant for adult only.
Again thank you for the comments which help us in our ongoing effort to improve our service.
Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taba hotels
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing