We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best holiday of my life ever! taba's better than sharm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Godshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best holiday of my life ever! taba's better than sharm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Went here june 2011 with my boyfriends brother and his family, my boyf our son and some friends. The staff were exceptionally good so helpful and always smiling. I got a call in our room the second day about ollecting cards from reception, i thought they meant we had to collect our towel cards but it turned out mike (the boyf) had lost all his credit and debit cards and the gardener had given them to reception, we hadnt even realised we'd lost them! So big thanks to the garden guy!! Then i lost a memory card for my camera! (useless arent i!!) it hadnt been handed into reception and i figured being so small it was probably gone for good so i wrote it off, 2 days later i walked past reception to the bar next to it and the receptionist came running over yelling miss sarah, we found your camera card! Bonus!! turns out he'd had the beach atendants looking for it for 2 days for me :) they genuinely care about your happiness. food was great some people complained but its the only hotel ive been to where icecream is included for free, and theres an amazing dine around scheme so theres plenty of places to eat. only lazy people that cant be bothered to book a la carte (which is FREE) complain theres nothing to eat! we booked the mexican in the town too (a free short bus ride away) through the reception as part of dine around and got a free desert each. I had a huge steak loadsa chips a big icecream and a cocktail it was all spot on and came to less than £10! The rooms were clean and the attendants left heart shaped towels and petals on the bed one night, i had a swan too another time. they really make the effort i felt like a VIP from the minute i got there to the minute i left! i wish i could afford to go this year but now our son is over 2yrs we have to pay full price for him so going to sharm where we can get a free child place but im gutted because ive been to sharm before and its not a patch on taba heights! the snorkelling if you go from the pier at the next hotel and swim round is amazing. again if you're not lazy you'll see loads, if you just walk off the beach you wont see so much so my advice is to swim from one pier round to the next. we saw morays sand eels lion fish puffer fish a blue and yellow ray some turtles and tons more. i saw some reviews saying the snorkelling wasnt great... it so IS!!! seeing the turtle was magical! Theres a lovely spa, the staff never once hassled us, its just there if you want to use it. other places ive been people hound you all day trying to sell you massages etc but not here. we made so many friends. one of the bar staff even bought my son a toy car. they are amazing with kids. he was only 1 and a half and it was great knowing there were so many extra people looking out for him. a few times he ran past the life guard me chasing trying to stop him and the life guard caught him twice from falling and gave him a big inflatable toy to distract him. the beach guys always joined in volleyball and if we all wanted to play theyd sit at the side with conner and get him to watch us. which was great because it meant i didnt have to miss out i knew he was safe in their hands and i could see him but still play volleyball :) I Could go on but i cant big up this hotel enough!!! ITS AMAZING! SEE FOR YOURSELVES!!!

Room Tip: joining rooms by the pool on the ground floor are massive. two big rooms and a very spacious lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,162
    804
    275
    87
    63
See reviews for
864
1,787
72
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is located outside Taba and to be more specific is located in a superficial area called Taba Heights, which includes a Golf, a "Shopping area" and 6 hotels including the Sofitel Taba Heights.
The hotel is quite recent and offer excellent comfort in the room (very spacious) as well as at the pool (including a no kids pool), bars and restaurants.
Although there are two restaurants, one buffet and one "à la carte", we found the offer at the buffet restaurant a bit limited and ate few times similar food. However, the buffet restaurant organizes theme evening and this makes the changes.
Also, when checking in at the Sofitel, you're entitled to have dinner in another restaurant in the other hotels of Taba Heights. For us, it was the Sofitel, which offered the best food (quality wise), with the exception of the Interconti, which we did not try.
We chose Taba Heights because this hotel was close to some major sightseeing in Jordania. As you can easily travel to Petra.
Finally, the staff is really friendly and the hotel is perfect for a peaceful vacation. Definitely, we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zachmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire , England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The gardens are lovely , and the hotel very clean and efficiently run BUT .............on returning to my room , my handbag , and my jewellery which I had hidden in the lid of my suitcase , were missing . A member of staff came to search my room , to be sure that I had not " forgotten " where I had put it , and that was the sum total of their efforts . They searched the room of the cleaning staff and asked him if he knew anything about it , and that was it ! No personal apology , no letter of apology NO APOLOGY AT ALL - just the implication that I was lying ! What a way to treat your guests ! What other hotel or chain of hotels would have treated me like this ? Certainly not a 5* one .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leics_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

The manager on duty took very seriously when you reported to us that you have lost a bag. You told him that you were in excursion and when you came back you found the balcony door unlocked and there was a missing bag containing your jewelry .When we asked , why you did not put your jewelry in the safe deposit box in your room ,which is large enough to take a laptop you said that the bag containing the jewelry was too big to fit in the safe box and you decided to put it between your clothes in the closet .We did tell you that the safe was designed to fit a lot of items together ( Jewelry , Camera ,laptop ,Ipad,MP3 and others )in your case ,for the jewelry not for the bag. We did check your room with you because it happened frequently, guests report items stolen from their room but after one or 2 days they apologize and inform us that it was misplaced. You had the option to make a report to the tourism police and to press charges and have an investigation done ,but you refused .Therefore we cannot without a police investigation, as per law in Egypt decide who is responsible .We trust you as much as we trust our room attendant who have been working since the opening for the hotel and who previously has brought back to lost and found department so many items left by guest in room.(jewelry, I pad ,I phone jacket and others)May I remind you that you decided ,being aware that there is a safe in the room, not to put your valuable items in it ,left your balcony door unlocked and refused to make a report to the tourism police . We are certainly sorry for that but there is nothing we could have done .As you said yourself the hotel is very clean and efficiently run, and I will add has also safe deposit boxes. We regret that this incident made you forget the good time you had at Sofitel Taba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was our second visit to the Sofitel at Taba Heights- we enjoyed our first visit so much we just had to return! We were there from 24th April for seven days, and loved it!
The staff are wonderful- nothing is to much trouble!Happy and smiling- they make sure your holiday is all you want it to be! The quiet pool is just the place to relax, read your books and slid into the water when the temperature rises! Add to that a cocktail or a cold beer and the day is just perfect!
The only thing that lets this fab hotel down is the dark, characterless bar- which is comfy with the new cushions but isnt a place to settle for an evening. The aircon is a bit loud-very loud actually but if you have an upper floor room sleep with the french doors open!
The sea is amazing- fish gather around you, and the scuba is some of the best that my husband has done! If you want to fall off the world for several days and relax this is the place to go- we will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rhod and Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having read many reviews of this hotel, i really cant understand where the bad ones come from.
My fiance and i spent 14 days there this april and even if we wanted to, could not find fault.

The hotel is lovely. Well maintained with lovely gardens. The staff and management are very attentive and ensure your stay is a relaxing one. Nothing is too much trouble.As previous reviews have said they are very aware that there is competition in the area.
The hotel gardens and pool areas are very well maintained with attenton paid to detail., There are 3 main pools with more than adiquate loungers and an adult only Quiet Pool. The best of both worlds.

The food is excellent. Some reviews say its a bit boring, not at all. On any given lunch or dinner
you will find everything from Salad to exotic fish, everything is cooked to perfection. Even at breakfast you can choose from 10 different types of bread or rolls. The choice is enough for everyone. Ok, if your use to £500 a night hotels and top chefs turning potato into art, then you may find something to moan about. The rest of us, its great. They do have 2 restraunts, one adult only. Both have an outdoor seating area covered by fine netting, so no flies or birds.

Special thanks to the management who, on my fiance birthday, decorated the room with flowers from the grden and petals on the bed. She was dumbstruck when she saw it. If that wasnt enough of a suprise, 10 mins later a knock at the door, and a birthday cake covered in strawberries. What more could you want. That is the attention to detail this hotel and its staff give you.

We will definatly be going back sometime soon.

Be pre advised that they dont allow shorts, even dress shorts at your evening meal in either resraunts.

Oh Mohammad..........Cheers Big Ears!

Room Tip: Block 2 Room 2464 offers great views of the beach area and the Quiet pool and is away from daily ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PUDDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrift
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel in Taba for 7 days from the 24th April until 1st May 2012 the rooms are beautifully decorated with tasteful furnishings most overlooking the red sea and are well kept, immaculately clean and of a very good standard. Our room was cleaned everyday and was always immaculate. The Aladdin Restaurant offers a good fare with lots of variety offering a good breakfast selection to include great coffee and fresh crossaints in addition to boiled, scrambled eggs, omelletes, fresh fruit, yoghurt a real good selection. You can take lunch and dinner in the Aladdin Restaurant which does have more variety however we opted to eat in the Adults only restaurant opposite due to "little children's fingers" left free to roam and grab by their parents! The service is excellent in both restaurants all staff aim to make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one and try to go the extra mile to assure this is achieved. Having had the priviledge of staying in 5 star properties this is not a 5 star UK rating as we would know it however do not take this as a negative as it is a very good 4 star in my opinion. The things that would set it apart in terms of 5 star standard would be having your towels brought to you, waiters going around the pool area so that drinks can be brought to you and general overall service levels - the Lotus Bar does let the whole catering side down and could be better in their approach it is more of a snack bar for snack food chips, pizza etc and drinks. The security within the hotel was excellent and we felt very safe. This for us was a chill out for 7 days after not having a holiday for 6 years - I think the test of a good holiday is whether you want to go home or not - we felt we could have done with an extra 4 days and felt sad to leave. The So Spa is excellent with Thai Massages being offered by two excellent Thai Massage ladies - I often visit champneys and these massages were better than the UK top health resort, reasonably priced and if you like massages treat yourself they are excellent - I would recommend the anti stress massage. We can not recommend Alex Hair and Beauty however as my sister had some issues with them the money was refunded and dealt with by the hotel management and representative and we were very statisfied with the way in which this was handled. The Management are all excellent and this is the only hotel we have stayed with who have promised us a free upgrade on our next visit, waved us good bye and all their other guests on the coach - they genuinely care and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ThriftyThrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Firstly I agree with previous excellent reviews & this is a differant & an honest review for any new travellers

Overall a great holiday with great staff, clean facilities & attentive Management who go out of their way to ensure you have a good time & who like feedback as they know there is competition in the area.

There are a few areas that could easily be addressed to make this place perfect:

* Food was wholesome but very bland
* No All Inclusive A La Carte options in a 5 star Hotel !? Having buffet becomes a chore & not a pleasure after a few days
* Cocktails too sugary so maybe more fresh fruit juice cocktails options needed plus Slimline Tonic would be a great addition to the drinks list
* The Spa was excellent..however better package deals would be good as it was quite pricey
* The evening bar (upstairs by reception) was dark & univiting.. .(And I don't mean the staff who were lovely especially Mohammed & Team !!) ...Maybe need more outdoor bar areas with hurrican lamps to create a nice adult area for drinks & a nice ambience for pre-dinner & post-dinner drinks
* Evening entertainment was more for children...however we only went once & left after 20 minutes
* Noisy Air Con in the room

On a seperate note we went to Petra via Thomson, fantastic trip & worth it but was a very long & tiring day ...we left the hotel who kinly provided snack boxes at 02.15am & returned & 23.30pm...I am sure Thomson could do something here by cutting down the coach & boat journey we had about 3 hours at Petra the rest was travelling & rest stops....exhausting but worth it to see Petra...

I have to say it was a lovely hotel & I would recommened a stay here for a week to re-charge the batteries.....& yes i would go back for a good value short break...

Thank you for a lovely break to all the Staff & Management!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MSMSMSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
9.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing