We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks at the Sofitel Taba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Two weeks at the Sofitel Taba”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just got back on Wed 19th Oct, we had a fantastic time, hotel clean and tidy, rooms big, pools great, beach very good. Food very good, staff great, bundles of sun beds.
Fith time to Egypt, and this was the best one, be sure to do trip to Israel, Jerusalem, very good day, do not miss it.
Sadly flights next year being cut, amazes me why,it will only cut back on the british being able to visit, very sad.
If in block 3319, ask for Mr H, he will look after you and your room, great guy.

Room Tip: We went in block 33, it is quiet, and well looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariabaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,197
    815
    275
    89
    63
See reviews for
882
1,797
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Went back again after 18 months and things have only got better! The staff were so welcoming and our room in block 3 was fantastic, albeit a bit further from the centre of the hotel but this made it very quiet and with slightly better aircon and a flat screen TV.

Spent the first week around the quiet pool which was lovely and ate every meal in the Mediterranean restaurant where under 10's aren't allowed which made for a much more peaceful and enjoyable experience. Our thanks to the lovely Rashid and his team, in particular Omar and Elish who looked after us every meal, making sure we never ran out of wine and who made us feel at home on our second visit, especially for making my Dad's 60th a very special occasion and for their wedding anniversay. Their service was beyond expectation.

Our thanks as well to the General Manager, Mr Jules-Henri Edwoaurd who took a daily interest in his guests, and a special thank you for allowing us to watch the England-France debacle in his private villa when all we asked was if the rugby would be shown in the hotel, outstanding! Again, beyond expectation.

The food was excellent again, if anything there was even more choice and the chefs are to be congratulated. Thanks to the bar staff as ever with their enthusiasm and cracking sense of humour. We felt so looked after and spoiled rotten.

Will we go back again? - of course we will, this is our second home!

Room Tip: If you want a room near the quiet pool ask for Block 3 but they are slightly farther from the centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kernow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull,England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We never usually return to the same country or resort twice… the world is a big place and there is so much to see and do but the draw of the chill out ambience of the place and the friendliness of the staff at the Sofitel made us repeat guests first time in all our years of travelling! After a really hectic year we wanted some well earned rest and relaxation and that is what we got at the Sofitel.

The new additions and changes at the Sofitel really has enhanced ones stay as a guest.


We would highly recommend the Sofitel Taba Heights set within a spectacular back drop and where each morning you wake up to beautiful blue skies and are greeted by friendly staff. The Sofitel certainly has a customer service orientated ethos where nothing is too small or great and staff are always willing to help. You will regularly see the General Manager Monsieur Edouard walking around the resort and in the restaurants and he is always keen to hear what guests have to say and your views are taken on board.

Despite the size of the hotel and the number of guests you are always made to feel special. A “big shout out and thank you” goes to Dina, Ahmed and the Greatest Egg Man ever at the Aladdin Restaurant during breakfast(sorry we didn't get your name), Mr Hammady, Mr Gaber and Mr Sayed in the front of house who made our stay really exceptional. Mr Sayed it was a pleasure meeting you at the farewell cocktail gathering. And finally to Mohammed out cleaner block 2 floor 4 – thank you!

This was our first time travelling to the Sofitel/Taba with First Choice and we have no complaints about the company or the rep Stella who was efficient and if not over friendly and gave you all the necessary information and then allowed you to make your own choice about excursions which is a rarity because normally the hard sell begins from the moment you step of the plane.

We did the excursion to St Catherine’s Monastery & Dahab this time which was great. St Catherine’s is stunning. Dahab was a nice distraction and stop over for lunch and for us that was fine-shame we didn’t get a chance to take advantage the duty free shopping we were told about?!. Lunch at the Ali Baba sea front restaurant was delicious and if you get a chance try the tiger prawns sautéed in garlic and lemon and olive oil - do it! OMG!

We also attended the Friday night festival at Uptown El Wekela and ate in the Flying Carpet Restaurant as recommended by Stella the First Choice rep. The food when it finally arrives is very good but be warned you can be waiting a long time for each course. Festival night is nothing stunning but a pleasant enough way to spend a couple of hours in the evening and also gives you a chance to look around the shops and go to the supermarket.

We were very unhappy to hear from Stella about Thomsons/First Choice dropping flights to Taba from everywhere apart from Gatwick and this was confirmed by the Air Steward on the way home who advised us that the flights from Manchester to Taba end in two weeks! We live in the North of England and having to travel to Gatwick would bump up the cost of our holiday considerably and we feel that it is a shame that the tour operators feel that Gatwick is more viable than the northern airports. Sadly this may will be a deciding factor on whether we will be able to return to Taba and to the Sofitel in the future.
Finally thank you to ALL the staff at the Sofitel we really did have a wonderful relaxing time-thank you to you all and we hope that we will be able to return!

Room Tip: You will need to ask for a room in block 2 for a se view. Top floo always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We visited this hotel again this year, and were not disapointed not only is it spotless, and the food has improved, even more choice this year, The hotel and surrounds are stunning. The staff are the best that you would find anywhere, and i think this is shown by the amount of people who return, as they know they will have a sensational time . Mahmoud and his team do a stupendous job ensuring everyone gets a sun bed and putting up the shades when safe, as the wind can get quite strong so put them down for safety reasons which some people did not quite grasp. You can ask anyone for anything at the hotel from the Gerneral Manager Mr Eduard to any of the managers and down and all will ensre that you get it if humanly possible. It was Mums birthday while we were there and everyone made mum's day very special which is just another example of the care the management and staff take. People can write these reviews when everything goes well, but usually not when there is a problem. This year i needed to be hospitalized twice, and i can not express my gratitude for the assistance we recieved . Not only me but my Mother who is 87 was so well looked after while i was in hospital in Eilat it took the worry away from me so i would .like to say a heartfelt thank you to all the staff for their consideration and specifically to Jules Henri, Mohamed Hamady, Ibrahim, Mahmoud, Big Mo and Little Mo and Rashid. So God willing we will be back next year

Room Tip: Wing 1 and Wing 2 have sea views i have not stayed in wing 3 there are connecting rooms and family s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Let me start with a few positive remarks about the hotel. The hotel building was of good standard and our room was what we had expected. The grounds and garden were well maintained. The views from the hotel were outstanding especially at night. As we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary it was nice to see a cake waiting in our room - would have been great if somebody had bothered to find out the actual date as it was in 5 days time.
On the other side we have the problem of the resturant. On our first full day there I went down to dinner dressed in a linen shirt, brand new tailored shorts and an expensive pair of leather shoes and was refused entry as I had violated their dress code. I was even more annoyed that the person behind me, who was wearing cut off cargo shorts, a red football shirt and dirty trainers, was complying with the dress code and was welcomed with open arms. To be fair the hotel did offer a pair of hotel trousers which, as I was so annoyed, I declined. Both my wife and I went hungry that night as nobody had told us that there was room service available. I did complain to the Thomson Rep who was as useful as a chocolate fireguard.
The rest of are holiday was marred by the quality of the food - always served luke warm to cold and of poor quality. To be honest a lot of the guest came from Russia and Poland and I believe that the food was aimed at them.
One good thing that came out of this poor restaurant was that we discovered the Flying Carpet resturant in the village. The Flying Carpet showed that the Egyptians can cook really good food, offer excellent service and all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your comments that I have read very carefully, we take all guest comments very seriously. I noticed that, you did not like out dress code, you found our food suitable for Russian, you were not happy for the cake you did not received on the day of the wedding anniversary.
We were informed about your wedding anniversary but your agent did not specify the date and what we do in that case because it is a surprise we put it the day of the arrival .I haven’t met you during your stay but Stella the representative of Thomson told me how unhappy you were about the dress code. .It is not fair to say that she was useless .She tried hardly to help you. She cannot change Sofitel policy which is decided in our head office in Paris. We do have a dress code at Sofitel; it is posted on Thomson web site and Sofitel website. And as I believe you are familiarized with guest forum on trip advisor you know that we have this dress code I have in the past explained our position .We expect our male guest to wear trousers for diner in the restaurant and also shoes, we believe this is the minimum expected for a five star hotel .It is also the respect for some ladies coming with very elegant dresses evening in our restaurant. The majority of our guest support that, we do have to explain sometime this dress code to our new guest.
Concerning the variety of food, we have every night a different buffet theme with a large variety of food. We can have up to 12 different nationalities in the resort .We try to please everyone .We believe that a tourist visiting a foreign country would like to experience a different kind of food that the one has home. However if a guest does not want to have another dining experience and if he requests something special our executive chef is always happy to cook exactly what the guest wants. We have enough chefs for that. I always mentioned it and also Stella during the orientation meeting for the guest, if you have attended you probably did not hear it. We can do a lot if we know but if we are not informed we cannot help .We have every night a different theme night, amongst other, Asian with sushi, French night with some French specialties .The food in the hotel is generally well noted by our guest, not only the British but also the French and the western Europeans, if I refer to the comments of the French guests on trip advisor. Probably because you did not like the dress code you did not eat too often in our restaurants and could not appreciate this variety.
We are sorry for all this anger you kept however we are happy to know that you managed to find a restaurant *the flying carpet* that you liked probably more relax as far as the dress code is concerned .For us ,what is the more important is that you keep one positive souvenir of Taba .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have just returned from Sofitel and for the first time ever we are glad to be home and do not wish to be back however good the weather.

This is not in any way a 5 star hotel and is not luxury. It is huge, crowded and noisy. Not relaxing. This was our first experience of Egypt and All Inclusive. We will not be repeating either.

The sunbeds (plastic - not 5*!) have towels on them from 5.30 a.m.! They are close together and we felt packed like sardines around the pool.

The cutlery, crockery and glasses in the restaruant are utility like school dinners. In no way luxury. The buffet style meals are not very appetising with ladles slopped with sauces etc and we opted to have the food cooked before us to be on safe side. This didn't help us as we still ended up with severe diarrhoea for 5 days. This was mentioned in the welcome meeting so I guess this is par for the course here. The first time we have come hom from holiday and lost several pounds in weight.

We did not find the staff overly helpful and had to ask for our drinks several times a dinner and if you get up to select your next course you come back and drinks have gone. The manager took 3 days to sort a very minor problem with our experience of the dine around system. Not impressed.

The only meals we enjoyed were in the Tappan Grill and the a la carte restaurants at the Hyatt. Of course we had to pay for these.

The Hyatt is by far the nicest of the 3 hotels and the Marriott is much better than the Sofitel; both quieter and ticking more boxes towards 5*.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your comments , it is always disappointing to know that we were not up the expectations .The information concerning the hotel is visible on our website ,the size, the all inclusive formula ,you probably did not notice it .We are very fortunate to have a very high occupancy actually as you know Egypt is suffering a lot .However as a guest you will see that the occupancy is high only during dinner between 7h30 and 8h30 pm ,if a lot of guest decide to have dinner at the same tine .Otherwise the property is large enough with 3 buildings separated and 6 pools, a fitness ,sport and Spa area .We organized quiet areas for guest who do not wish to participate to animation and would like to stay in a quiet area .Sometime the main pool could be busy but if again a guest wants to go to another pool or even to the beach he can easily find seats. You said that you were seek for 5 days, it is unfair to blame the hotel food when you mentioned that you used the dine around formula, meaning you eat in other hotels. When you travel the food is not the only reason to be seek .I was aware of the misunderstanding about the dine around at the Hyatt ,you had to pay your dinner .I also know that our F&B manager when you informed him about it immediately arranged with his colleague at the Hyatt to invite you complementary for you but on Sofitel account a second time .I am happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at the Hyatt they effectively do not have our occupancy this month and it is as you said it is more quiet there .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I am writing this review half way into my holiday, whilst sitting in the stunning lobby at the Sofitel Taba Heights.
Where do I start?
The hotel is stunning! The service and staff are sensational! The whole experience has exceeded all of my expectations!
From the moment you arrive, you are genuinely welcomed with a huge smile and open arms.
The staff are so friendly and they go out of their way to make you feel, not only welcome, but also they make you feel like you are part of their family.
The hotel itself is so relaxed and peaceful, you can always find a quiet corner to chill out, or if you want to, join in with the poolside activities, such as Pilates or water volleyball.
The cleanliness of the hotel is second to none, whilst here, I have not seen one scrap of rubbish or a cigarette end anywhere. The team of cleaners they have are brilliant, and they leave the rooms fresh everyday.
The restaurant always have a wide variety of food to suit every taste, and also, they offer snacks during the day.
The representative for First choice/Thompson (Stella) is a really nice person, and offered a wide variety of information regarding the resort. Worth listening to for some good tips!
I would not hesitate in saying that this is probably one of the nicest hotels which I have stayed in, what makes it so brilliant is the genuine hospitality offered by ALL staff!
I will definately be coming back here again, and I would certainly reccomend this hotel to you if you are after a relaxing, peaceful and luxurious time, which is made even better by the friendly and hard working staff!
Ps, we stayed in room 3322, and it was very large, it also has a sea view which is lovely, I would reccomend this room, but I believe all rooms have something different to offer.
Anyway, I have rambled on too much, back to the pool bar for a cool glass of beer!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt_tee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
14.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#9 of 62 in Eilat
903 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing