We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another execellent stay at the oriental rivoli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
Ranked #142 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed February 5, 2013

just back from our 2nd stay at the oriental rivoli , stayed in jan 2012 b+b and this time on all-inclusive basis .
having read some of the bad reviews of this hotel i cant believe we have stayed in the same hotel !!!.
if this hotel is so bad why do the scandivanians /german/dutch come to this hotel as they will not tolerate anything sub-standard !!
when i walked in to check in i was greeted by huge smiles and handshakes and welcomed back to my egyptian home , they asked my if i could remember my room number from last year and was given the same room as last yr , i had not e-mailed to ask for this they had remembered purely from my name on the booking form !!. first class reception allways helpfull nothing too much trouble for them including arabic lessons lol .
we had a superior deluxe room overlooking the small heated pool , large spacious room and the bathroom large as well with constant hot water when we needed it , the room was kept spotlessly clean by our room boy who always asked if everything was o.k for us during our stay again nothing too much trouble .
we have never been all-inc before to a hotel but after 2 yrs in luxor we found sharm quite expensive to eat out so decided to come all-inc this time , my g/f who has a very sensitive stomach was quite worried about it we knew the breakfasts where gd from our last visit but wheren't sure about lunch and dinner .
she needed have worried at all we found the food very gd always plenty of choice and plenty of it , always fresly cooked pasta at lunch time
dinner time same again usually a choice of fish and meat or 2 different types of meat with rice and a potato dish and cooked vegatable dishes , fresh salad and soup again followed by a huge choice of sweet pastries and fresh fruit , our only disappointment was that OM ALI was only served on fridays maybe just as well for our waistlines lol . even my g/f really enjoyed the food and got quite adventurous with no ill effects what so ever . at £16 a day all inc superb value for money we did say if we got bored with the food we'd eat out but we never did !!!.
the pools where kept clean and toti always puts a smile on ur face with his banter from the dry martini bar .
first morning round the pool was greeted by a huge bear hug by homada and sandman and welcomed back like a long lost relative , after 4 days mohamed came back from cairo again another great welcome from him my egyptian little brother , when i left he didnt want to take my tip as he said i am his friend not a guest .
overall fantastic stay the reception / waiters / chefs and room boys first class always up for a laugh and joke and will teach you some arabic good or bad lol .
this hotel is a budget option it doesn't pretend to be anything else , ur treated as family here not a room number if u have a problem ask in a polite and friendly manner , if u rant and rave and lose ur temper anywhere in egypt u'll get nothing done !!
location is good to just across the road down the alley is the start of the promenade walk about 15/20 mins to naama bay strip . on the same block is a fixed price supermarket very cheap and mac donalds next door as well if u fancy a change .
would reccomend this hotel for a friendly no frills stay . shokran to all at the oriental rivoli .
top tips
dont be afraid to use the service buses for 2 le less hassle than taxiswho will try and charge you 3/4 times the set rate for a journey !!
the guy with the baby camel outside the supermarket has seriously ripped off people , he'll get u on the camel for a photo they it will get up and take u for a walk then he wont let u off till u have parted with some serious money . one person had to pay £50 and another $85 us dollars !! u have been warned !!

Room Tip: superior deluxe rooms worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dranubis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 977 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a four week stay at the Rivoli over Christmas and the New Year and would happily have stayed longer.
The rooms we saw were all very large, spotless and comfortable. The pools and outdoor areas were very well maintained by an excellent staff. The food was a little bit repetitive but with so much on offer it did not matter. The all inclusive bar was ok but we agree about it being indoors during the colder evenings to make it more sociable.
This was an Egyptian hotel NOT a bland souless place to stay and the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived and were greeted by smiling receptionists and porters. A small problem with our wardrobe was fixed within 15 minutes.
The free beach was only a five minute stroll and the promenade into Naama itself a VERY pleasant 15 minutes as long as one did not stop in one of the many bars/restaurants or to chat with the shop keepers.
Cannot understand the moans we have read in other reviews. We got far more than we paid for!
Shame the problems 200 miles away shown on tv have affected business so badly.

Room Tip: Upgrading is not expensive but our allocated room was great. Rooms on the right get the afternoon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Kiri and Anita Bierens the Netherlands

My daughter and I have been here 11 days end of January 2013. The staff is very nice and the room is clean. The food is prepared with care, but is not special. Most of the time chicken, meatballs and fish, but they do everything with the means they have to prepare it so good as they can. For the price you pay it is good. Afer some days you feel that you are at home. They make jokes with you. One of the cooks talks very good English, he was actually a lawyer. We liked the hard bed and the clean towels, and the hot water. We had a suite nr 301 with view on the swimming pool and restaurant. We had to pay more for it. The have very nice cocktails.
For the price it is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the ground (standard room) have only one small window very oppressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

An 'open-minded' visit to this hotel made for a very enjoyable experience to this hotel for a 1 week stay 23-30th Jan 2013.

All 3 pools are kept immaculate and the outside areas are consistently cleaned. The Superior room that we had was large and shower water was running hot everyday. The rooms were kept clean daily and fresh towels provided.

The food is amazing... with enough choice between salad dishes and a few local dishes. A Pancake/Omelette chef was at hand most days to rustle up your own custom delight. All three meals were excellent and sufficient changes to the daily menu to make it an interesting selection. The Executive Chef actively supervised the operation and made sure all was well at food times.

The 'inclusive' eating areas are perfect and a choice between inside, outside or in a covered area.. no problems to report at all.

The inclusive FREE bar served cocktails and beers right up until 10pm every night with the exception of wines that were served at eating times only... again hardly a problem.

The staff are excellent - a small problem with the lock to our room door was resolved within a few minutes.

The Hotel Oriental Spa is excellent - The Egyptian 1Hr Massage perfect

The 24-7 Store in the parade of shops nearby is excellent - bottled water 3EP (30p) and marked fixed prices on the goods.

A private beach on the bay takes just 5mins to reach - access is via a ticket collected at reception. It is free and the beach is well located with excellent snorkeling to see the live tropical fish tank. The Glass Bottomed boats are good value and we paid 40EP per person for a 1 hour trip that ended up going right across Naama Bay.

Just 2 negative things to watch out for :

1. The Hotel Beauty Parlour is not great - the sales guys are great fun but the end product is not good and the room is likened to a dirty Gents Barber's!

2. There is a camel owner nearby that really likes to get you on the camel and then takes your for a ride that could cost you £40-£50. Be warned - this is nothing that is arranged by the hotel but the camel owner is well versed at ripping people off that admire his camel!!

Travel - Don't be frightened to flag down a Sharma Service Bus - these are Toyota Blue/White minibuses that will pick you up and take to a fair distance for 2EP (20p). For example - Old Market in Sharm El Sheikh for the hotel is 2EP. The Taxi price should be 25-30EP each way - simply don't pay more than this even if they claim it should be 70EP!!


IN SHORT - Go to Oriental Rivoli Hotel and have a great holiday :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank djr8rrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here jan 21-28 2013.

3 of us in a triple room. The beds are so hard, its like sleeping on a solid piece of wood. After 2 nights my neck and back were in so much pain. I had to ask for a soft matress topper and they only had one left so the other 2 people i stayed with, suffered.

The hotel is clean, nice pools, one is heated. The staff are very friendly and helpful

Location is good, 10 min walk to naama bay

The food was awful. Same thing everyday for lunch AND dinner
Cold, or warm. Tasteless, and felt like recycled from day before
Ended up eating macdonalds mostly as its next door

If u do decide to stay here, do room only. The food is really horrible.

Wifi is poor, hardly works

Cocktails taste horrible and watered down alcohol

Beach is across main road, 10 min walk through another resort, the beach is overcrowded with a million sunbeds so no view of beach or sea. Sand is gritty not soft

Good watersports available though

Do as many excursions as you can. Fun!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a matress topper!!!!!! The beds are hard like concrete floor Dont stay in room 22...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff was lovely, friendly and attentive. The food where lots and always fresh and of good quality. Fridays there is free oriental dancing and what a show it is. Rooms where tidy and the towel decorations after tipping the cleaner was great and very entertaining. They might be eager for tips but the amount of hours they work has to be respected. All the hotel staff is always friendly and ready to assist. What a great holiday and looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: always pay a bit extra for a balcony room. it is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aletche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

it was a very clean and well situated the food was good with a good selection the staff were so helpful getting everything that was ask for and the whole place was beautifully styled with its 5 pools 2 included its well worth a visit

Room Tip: if you like a good Swedish massage the spa is the place 2 go painful at the time but later you feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose212094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.5 mi away
Viva Sharm Hotel
Viva Sharm Hotel
#215 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,161 reviews
4.2 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#8 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA

Address: Peace Road | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 375, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#87 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#117 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $26 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Rivoli is a new 4 star hotel, recently opened in Sharm El Shiekh. It is ideally situated in a tranquil area of Naama Bay, but still only a few minutes away from the buzzing center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oriental Rivoli
Oriental Rivoli Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing