We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divers Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
Ranked #99 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Divers Paradise!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My first time in Sharm and I find this incredible place!
I and my family wanted to have a diving adventure after having taken our open water certificate. We hade a wonderful time at Sharks Bay Umbi.
We had a 1 week boat safari around the Red Sea and 1 week at the Bedouin village with daily diving excisions. Nothing particularly fancy but very nice atmosphere and superb staff, starting from the guides to the cooking personnel. Prices are very human and one can chose different solutions according to the budget.
The Restaurant and Beduin Tent offers good food at very good prices.
Beduin rooms at the are all different with AC and balcony.
The staff at the reception can help you with everything you need. Just this service minded attitude makes this place excellent.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Svevanena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    107
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
101
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is my first time to Umbi, and the first to that kind of simple-looking hotels, not a luxuries 5 stars with all inclusive package. I loved it! And that's why:
-Decent staff
-Clean Rooms
-snorkelling direct from their nice beach
-very reasonable price
-Food quality is very good, although the variety isn't much. They also have a nice restaurant with a nice view and bedouin area.
-Rooms have stunning views!

Umbi is.built on levels, so you might go for lower level chalets/rooms to avoid more stairs (if stairs might be a problem in your case).

I recommend the place and would be going again soon.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Mahmoud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

A quite, clean, and simple place with a very nice beach .. food and beverags are very good for reasonabe prices. Also it has a very professional diving center with the most experienced dive instructor "Adel Emara"
Rooms: clean
Beach: Excellent
Staff: friendly
Food: very good
A good choice for diving and relaxing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank K_Ahmed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived at Umbi in the early hours of the morning following a flight from Cairo. By this time reception was closed, but there was a porter waiting for us to whisk our bags up to our Bedouin room.

We had pre-arranged with the resort one of the lower rooms (still 37 steps up from ground level!) as I had injured my knee shortly before our holiday. It was very spacious, with a mosquito net over the bed, which we didn't use as the a/c kept any potential biters away. The balcony was quite small but had stunning views of the bay and jetty and was a great place to dry wet costumes etc overnight. However, don't expect luxury, as there were no comfortable chairs in the room and overall it was somewhat on the basic side.

The reason to stay in Umbi is the location and the excellent dive shop. Umbi is located right on the beach at Sharks Bay, and has numerous sunbeds, watersports rental and a massage tent right in front of the dive shop and restaurant. A beach bar is also right on hand.

The dive operation is probably the best that I have encountered. Umbi owns the jetty, so its just a 2 minute walk to and from the dive boat every day, and your dive gear is crated up and put on the boat for you, and washed overnight when you leave the boat. The boat itself is well equipped with 2 loos, a comfortable cabin serving a nice buffet lunch and sun mattresses on the top deck.
There is also a mini-market, souvenir shop and internet café, but the internet was often not working!

The dive guides ( Adal and Hany) could not have been more helpful. Because of my injured knee I had to have help in and out of the boat (or jetty, for shore dives) and the guys really took care of me. I always felt confident that they were looking after me without making me feel like any kind of a burden.

The restaurant served a nice breakfast and we also had lunch and dinner there from time to time. The only downside for us was the lack of a bar in the evening. A Bedouin chillout area served coffee, soft drinks or beer and had shisha available if you're into that kind of thing, but we would have like the beach bar to have stayed open, although in fairness there were very few guests while we were visiting, so maybe that isn't the norm.

The only alternative for us was to go to either Soho Square (very close) or to Naama Bay or Old Sharm if we wanted a different restaurant or to have a couple of drinks, which was a bit expensive because of the taxi fares involved.

Would we go back? Yes we would, we absolutely loved our time there and would consider having a few days on Umbi's livaboard (Freedom III) added on as well.

Room Tip: We had room 307 which was one of the lower rooms which are built into a cliff face. The higher ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLass_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Sharks Bay Umbi Village is a great value hotel in Sharks Bay. It is a good choice for those who dont want the resort type holiday and who dont want to be bothered by animation teams! Its a real gem and one of the few places in Sharm where you can meet and talk to South Sinai Bedouins.

This hotel is probably the only locally owned hotel in Sharm El Sheikh and offers three types of accommodation for all budgets. I stayed in a beach cabin which was well equipped, clean and functional. The breakfast at the hotel is excellent and the restaurant is great value for lunch and dinner with an italian type menu.

Whilst the hotel is very popular with divers, it is also great for snorkelers and for simply relaxing. It is all fairly hassle free which makes it a good choice for singles also. All in all a good place to stay, good value and about the only place in Sharm El Sheikh where you can really support the local community of the region.

The only thing to note is that their is no swimming pool at the hotel but its not a problem the sea is right in front of you and you have easy access via a pontoon.

Room Tip: The Bedouin Village Rooms and the View Huts are probably quieter as they are further up the cliff fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sheikhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I dived with Sharks Bay Umbi diving last year and had no doubts about returning again this year. We were warmly welcomed back by Nahla and Hosna who run the operation on a day to day basis.

We were then introduced to Nour who took us for our first 2 dives in the house reef in Sharks Bay. Nice easy dives, very relaxed and Nour guided us at a very leisurely pace, but pointing out interesting sea life.

For the next 5 days we were out on the boat diving with Adel. Adel has many many year’s experience, is very well known and respected in Sharm. He wasn’t imposing, but kept us very well informed during dive briefings and surface intervals etc.

We were extremely lucky to that due to Egyptian unrest, there were not many divers in Sharm we so most days it was just Adel and my wife and diving. Not so good for the dive center economics but we got A1 service.

The boat crew were always on hand to assist as required. Lunch on the boat was very good. Fresh and well cooked, especially the fish.

At the end of each day, the ladies at the dive center arranged transport back to our hotel to suit us.

It was a great weeks holiday and that mostly due to the staff, boat crew and dive guides from the dive center. Special thanks to Adel pointing out so many wonderful things. Highlights being large stone fish, 2 white tip sharks, turtles and even some dolphins during a trip back to base, but more importantly for keeping us fully informed and safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hi there,

I spent five nights at Umbi Diving Village, right before and after my liveaboard trip to the Northern Red Sea with their diving centre between 4 and 11 August 2013. I find Umbi Diving Centre a perfect choice for divers.

The Diving Village and diving centre staff are kind and helpful, with no distinction between administrative assistants and dive instructors. Great people, really.

The live aboard on Freedom III was a sublime experience, diving in Tiran, Ras Mohammed and Gobal three or four times per day, and usually at a time in which the sites were not crowded by divers coming by day boats. The crew of Freedom III was also very competent, friendly, and helpful. Well done, guys.

Umbi is rather basic, but very affordable, clean, and nice. If you're looking for a fancy place, you should head somewhere else.

I had a great experience at Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village and with their live aboard. This is why I can strongly recommend this place, should you consider diving in Sharm El Sheikh.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Grocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.9 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#85 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
397 reviews
4.7 mi away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#74 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#23 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Domina King's Lake Resort
Domina King's Lake Resort
#125 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
#66 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#104 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village

Property: Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
Address: PO Box 275, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the area, Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village is a friendly, relaxing place that still maintains the feel of how Sharm used to be before the arrival of large scale tourism. The Diving Village has a well-equipped dive centre, its own private jetty and a fleet of five boats. There is also a seafood restaurant, beach bar and a full range of water sports. The accommodation ranges from budget View Huts and Beach Cabins to the individually styled Bedouin Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing