We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel works in the worst Russian Style "Traditions"”
Review of Club Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Reef Resort
Ranked #37 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Belarus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Hotel works in the worst Russian Style "Traditions"”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

"No Russians in the hotel" - FAKE.

And that is all to be said. Because

1. Reception exacts money - for everything: sea/garden view room, water (while 1 bottle is supposed to be free of charge), for towels if returned dirty after the beach.

2. Rooms are the same in the whole hotel. Beds are ok to sleep but old loud fridges (noise is so loud that you wake up during the night), old TVs showing 3 Arabic, 2 Italian and 2 Russian channels (no English), running pipes with "guess-when-hot-water-is-on" and old doors and windows with gaps in them (if your room is on the second floor - be ready for draughts. The cleaners were working ok, no claims to housekeeping service. Several rooms had mosquitoes and bugs.

3. Beach. Small,long walk (about 10 minutes), no tea or coffee in the beach bar. No shelters from the wind in winter. Beachboys were nice and friendly.

4. Bars. Hmm. The policy of the hotel: "want milk shake? - pay!" "want freddo coffee? - pay!" "want anything after 11 pm? - pay!". And in the beach you'll be served in plastic glasses. After 23:00 - also, in plastic.

5. Restaurant. AMAZING. Very good. Respect to the restaurant team - everyone in the hall and in the kitchen. Tasty, variable, well-cooked. Guests are unobtrusively served. I was impressed.

6. Animation. Nice team but awfully organized. In 10 days at least 3 shows were repeated. English is impossible to listen to, no Italian or German language in the show. Only Russian. Level of "jokes" - [censored]. Even Russians were leaving those "shows". No mini-club working though many kids in the hotel.

7. Trips. Divers in the hotel - ok, liked one-day sea trip with them.

Room Tip: do not agree to pay anything extra for the room - sea view will listen to the music of the animation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyBelarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud Z, Manager at Club Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all let me thank you for your kind review which is always welcomed to help us enhance the service we provide to our guests.

Meanwhile, let me clarify some points mentioned in the review:
1. All guests are welcomed at our resort regardless of their nationalities or ethnics, specially that we didn't mention in our info sheet that we are exclusive for a certain nationality.

2. After checking the mentioned attitude from our front office staff, we are sorry to inform you that water bottles are not free of charge within our FB policy, and deposit is collected in return of towel cards which is refundable upon returning them.

3. Regarding your complain about missing drinks during some certain hours or locations, I would like to note that our all inclusive concept was showed to you upon check in, listing our outlets opening and closing times and offered drinks.

4. As for the animation shows, kindly be informed that our animation team performs regular shows that are repeated on weekly basis ( which is a trend on most of Sharm resorts ). And as for the mini club; we do have a mini club open from 10:00 am till 12:00 pm and from 3:00 pm till 5:00 daily.

Finally, I would like to thank you again for your highly appreciated comments that would certainly help us push up the service we offer to our guests.


Kind Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    123
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
113
143
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have been transferred to this hotel because our hotel has been closed at the time when we arrived to Sharm El Sheikh. At the reception we have tried to get a discounted price as this hotel's room clearly looked cheaper than our booked one, but no one was willing to talk to as about any discount or refund.
Be careful with this hotel as it is full of Russians!!! They aren't problem, but service level that hotel provide for their customers is not acceptable for Europeans. Hotel staff simply refuse to talk with you in English.
There is a list on room door with room, breakfast, lunch, and dinner prices which has a stamp and hotels managers signature on it. But they do not want to follow it. We had one dinner for two and according to that list we must pay 75 Egyptian pounds p/p, but we have been asked to pay 30 USA dollars p/p (which equals around 206 Egyptian pounds p/p). All this incident ended up in the reception and we argued with them for at least 30 minutes. Finally they accepted 75 Egyptian pounds p/p, but after this no one in restaurant talked to us any more. We also have been told that we must not take any other meals in the hotel except breakfast (this one where paid when we have booked our hotel). Advice for you: -be careful with the prices at hotel and in other places as they are far, far away from reality!
Room was spacious and clean but required a renovation. Some of this can be done without any significant investment, but for some reason it is not done. Window and terrace door was facing swimming pool. This created a problem as we cannot open them in the night time as Russians have been quite noise till very late, and staff wont do anything about it even after our complains. A/C where a little bit noise, but acceptable. Have room photos but for some reason unable to upload them.
Food choice is limited and made to Russians choice.

If you are European stay away from this hotel as you will not like it!!!

Room Tip: Try to have a room windows away from pool side as Russians use to scream on pool side till very late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zliuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud Z, Manager at Club Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor for Club Reef Village. I have read your review and I am please to see you had some positive feedback for Club Reef Village. For the Negative feedback I will follow up on what I can.
I do hope you will return and if you do please could you email in advance.
All the very best for 2014.

Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, W Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were moved to this hotel as the hotel we had originally booked had closed. We were pleasantly surprised as it was beautiful! Gardens are very nicely kept and the rooms are well spaced. There's lots of walking though as everything is spread right out. Lots of steps too! We had a large room with a lovely terrace and a stunning sea view! The food was varied and tasty and there was plenty of it. Of the 3 pools to choose from we opted for the small quiet one after spending 3 noisy days down by the main bar. The music was very loud and the animation team thought it necessary to turn it up louder every time they talked on the mike. The hotel guests were predominantly Russian so the activities were aimed mostly at them. We didn't mind as it meant we were left alone. We had three wonderful massages and came home feeling nice and relaxed. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. The down side is that it's a bit out of the way so you need a taxi to get anywhere but if you don't want to leave the hotel it's perfectly located right on the coast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vickioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Club Reef Village is a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed our holiday at this hotel. Everything was beyond our expectation apart from the fact that the hotely is predominantly catered for Russian. The advertisement, TV, animation, songs are all in Russian. The animation team work hard to get every body involved in activities and the russians are least supportive. I felt really sorry for Eviata the leader of the animation team. I commend her for her effort well done Enviata. I was disappointed with out hotel representative NASH. He was not helpful all he was interested was receiving our money for excursion. We wanted to expereince a swim with the dolphins, he did not have the courtesey to advise us where we are going, health annd safety issues, how many people will be in the pool, how many dophins etc No information was provided for our trip but he wanted our money in advance. When we did not do what he wanted he got quite aggresaive and did not turn up to pick us. NASH needs training in how to deal with excursions etc

Room Tip: Sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistaston, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I repeat DO NOT book this hotel if you're British. My 13 year old son and I got back yesterday. We had a very strange week. Club Reef Village is a hotel predominantly for Russians. There were also some Danes and a few Italians. The hotel itself was beautiful and very clean. Definitely living up to it's 4 stars. It was very quiet and not the bustling atmosphere we were hoping for. The food, however, was without fault. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The drinks at the bar were very limited with no cocktails. There was only beer, vodka, whiskey and gin. These were all served in very small plastic cups. Not too bad with shorts but I did feel for the beer drinkers. There was a gym, football pitch and table tennis table. No other facilities to play with other than the 3 pools. The pools were beautiful but no slides or boards. Club Reef has it's own bit of beach but it's tiny. All in all a beautiful, clean, friendly hotel but if you want a lively, fun holiday with plenty of entertainment and other Brits to talk to this is certainly not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Dear Friends!

Before booking Club Reef hotel in Sharm el Sheikh, please note that you are NOT allowed to swim in the sea at the hotel’s beach. You will see warnings only when get to the sea.

Please also be aware that you will get a different color strap (wrist) during your check in - in accordance to your nationality (!?) and so get a different service! The owner is italian.

Russians! Please do not forget that you are paying the same price as Italians or any others! Without you those italians will go bankrupt!
You will feel a very “strange” behavior of local stuff. Staff is trained not to perform the best service, but to cheat you for a dollar or a bottle of still water. Bring them down a peg or two!
Of course not all stuff, but quite a lot! BUT! Most of staff is too talkative with a very poor knowledge of English or any other language.

Food is not bad. Various and tasty. Territory is very well kept, very nice and large.
Internet is 4 USD per 30 min and only at the reception hall.

Do not change currency or buy anything at the hotel! It is MUCH better to do it in the center of the town.

I will never choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGonzagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Dear Friends!
Before booking Club Reef hotel in Sharm el Sheikh, please note that you are NOT allowed to swim in the sea at the hotel’s beach. You will see warnings only when get to the sea.
Please also be aware that you will get a different color strap (wrist) during your check in - in accordance to your nationality (!?) and so get a different service! Russians, please do not forget that you are paying the same price as Italians or any others, but will feel a very “strange” behavior of local stuff. Bring them down a peg or two!
Staff is trained not to perform the best service, but to cheat you for a dollar or a bottle of still water. Of course not all, but quite a lot! Most of staff is too talkative, but with a very poor knowledge of English or any other language.
Food is not bad. Various and tasty. Territory is very well kept, very nice and large.
Internet is 4 USD per 30 min and only at the reception hall.
Do not change currency or buy anything at the hotel! It is MUCH better to do it in the center of the town.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
21 Thank TheGonzagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Labranda Tower Bay
Labranda Tower Bay
#28 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
663 reviews
1.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#94 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
731 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#47 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#4 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
358 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#31 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,646 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#83 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Reef Resort

Property: Club Reef Resort
Address: Tower Bay | Directly new Towar street - Passagewai, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Club Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Reef Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Village
Reef Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing