We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15th to 22 January 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Positive
10 hours sunshine, excellent food, excellent snorkelling from jetty on beach, staff very attentive, asked for sea view when I got there and was given a suite with a sea view. local taxi charges E£30 (£3.75) one way to The Old Town Naama Bay and has local knowledge and authority to go through security check points. Hotel 30 mins walk to The Old Town, well worth a visit. Best buys were from 24/7 supermarket around the corner.
Negative
Went during Russian 3 week Christmas holiday, so 98% Russian. Makes for fantastic people watching as some nationalities drink a lot of vodka, sadly were openly drug taking on the beach. Reception area doubles up as a bar and has all the atmosphere of an airport departure lounge. Hotel taxi charges E£100 (£12.50) one way to Naama Bay but does not have the authority to go through security check points or have local knowledge

Room Tip: On arrival I asked for a sea view room and could we have a quiet room as we went to bed early, got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HazelfromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,111 of 4,443 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is an exellent place for those who like to get drunk 24/7 and pass out either by pool or at sea.
We stayed there between 15-22 of January and with two little kids and my need to responde to e-mails at evenings, it was certainly not the best place.

First; we got two vouchers to trips in envelope, left this envelope to the table near the TV and went to the pool. When we got back, the envelope was gone (probably cleaning guy took it as a garbage). I reported about it to the reception and they told that they shall sort out the problem within 30 minutes. When I returned to the reception in about 45 minutes, they told that they are still investigating the problem and they shall contact me next morning. The next morning was 18-th on January but I still not have heard from them anything. So, DO KEEP even vouchers there in safe-deposit box, as my kids are still annoyed for missing one of the trips.

Second, the food, at kids corner was all the time the same: macaroni and tomato sauce. With two small children it is quite hard to stay in these long lines for something else. Also the food made outside at grill was always good, if you had the time to stay in line, but the food inside was totally tasteless. So the chef should be hanged.

Third, kids pools. In upstairs the universal pool guy at least tried to help the families with kids to get the places next to the kids pool by taking for us and others the places in early morning, but the childrens pool next to the main pool, was surrounded by Russians and Italians in a way that it was impossible to get into the pool.

Fourth, do not believe what is told for example in www.booking.com that there is a free WiFi, it is not so. 30 minutes costs 30 local pounds (about 4EUR) and even then you shall not get 30 minutes if you are not using it in a row. When I run out of time first time, then after purchasing second card, I specifically logged out manually every time from the connection and looked for the session time. With second card I got 22 minutes instead of 30, first time it was about the same.

Fifth; some of the personnel do not even know the rules. We left the hotel on early Sunday (22.01) morning and asked for coffee at the lobby bar. There was some manager who told me that I shall be served in a moment by the barman. The last declined to serve me and told that I should pay for the coffee, so I left. It took couple minutes when the manager was after me, asking me back for the coffees and telling me that they are sorry for the confusion.

In overall, if the personell would not at least attempted to help out, then I would have rated the hotel with one point, now they got three and this was also after a long consideration.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have visited Egypt not 1 time before and I have lived not in cheap hotels, but this one.. It's adorable! Staff,animation team,food.. I still leaving with memories! The main restaurant has a huge variety of different cuisines, hotel has 1 heated and 2 cold swimming-pools. Coral riff and all underwater ''livers'' are beautiful. In hotel the main are Italian people, that was good!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xoegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just returned from a 2wk break at this hotel. Stayed from 22nd dec to 5th jan and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! A few days b4 arrival i emailed the hotel to let them know it was my sons girlfriends birthday the day we arrived, so when we got there they had a cake in their room and 'happy birthday' written in petals on the bed and also balloons! Thank you!!

We have stayed at the sunrise island view for the last 3yrs so thought we would try the diamond beach for a change and we weren't disappointed. The staff were brilliant, the food was really good, our room, spotless, cleaned every day, lovely towel art left each day! Every where is kept immaculate. The only thing we found was that not many brits were in the hotel, there was 6 of us and only 16 overall!! Its mainly italians who go here, and a few russians, ukrainians, belgians Its a shame that the brits are not using the hotel because as soon as the staff realised we were british they couldn't do enough for us and were so pleased that we were there! They were asking us why no brits were coming to sharm?

The animation team we met were absolutely brill, Lindsey or 'lindsday' as they called her, was so nice shes from holland but we thought she was american with her accent! She used to come and talk to us round the pool every day, Karika did the stretch class, aerobics, volleyball as well as dancing on the bridge every morning to the 'waka waka' shakira song! We're still singing it at home!! There was also Sasha & Lito, as well as the italian animation guys & girls! I'd like to mention Ahmed on the roof top bar, he was such a laugh and made our stay so much fun. Every night we'd go to his bar & he'd have our drinks ready and also the patio heater waiting!! It does get a bit chilly at night! Also Tamer from the pool bar during the day, as soon as he saw us in the morning our coffee was on its way! The guys from the spa would be round every day especially 'Rammy' soo funny he was! Myself & my mum did go for a facial, which we thought was really good, Abdo did this for us, I would reccommend it! Natalia from customer relations was also so good, nothing was too much trouble for her, she did everything we asked from her and more! A big thank you to all the staff.

The snorkelling was good here with plenty of fish, although its quite deep off the jetty we enjoyed it, going in most days. There was a puffer fish that would come up to the jetty every day!

The christmas party was in the main restaurant as the hotel was not too full at first, the food was gorgeous, couldn't fault any thing about it. The new years eve party was in the tent that was built by main reception, that again was absolutely brill! More people had come in for new year. There was so much food and they'd decorated the tent beautifully!

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would encourage more brits to give it a try! If you enjoy the island view then this is as good if not a little better!! The rooms are much better, maybe not as big, but newer than the island view, the complex is a bit smaller, but again its kept so spotlessly clean and everyone was just so nice & nothing was too much trouble. The managment were also very good, always asking if everything was ok? Did we need anything, I cannot fault anything about this hotel, so please give it a try!! Michelle, Andy, Brian, Chris, Alec & Lauren

Room Tip: Email the hotel b4 u go they will try to put you where u want to be, we had upper floors, the pool v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank girls2loud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is lovely and staff can't do enough for you. Although the spa team tend to bother you and it does get annoying. The food was really quite bad in the main restraunt but we found the beach restraunt and roof top restraunt (Indian) To be very good although u do have to pay around £15 pp for the Indian. The hotel was full of Russians and they were so rude . Countless times I witnessed Russians arguing with the hotel staff. The staff were always telling us how they hate the Russians. This really is a lovely hotel but is let down by the amount of Russians that stay here. We stayed in December 2011 and we were the only English couple in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mccallum90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed at by a country mile. There is really nothing we can find fault with. From the moment we arrived we had a painless check in and were taken to our suite by buggy. The room consisted of a living area with TV, sofa, mini bar and BIG bedroom, also bathroom with shower.
The beach was spotless in fact it was cleaned every morning.
The water was crystal clear and when the tide was in there were an amazing amount of fish beside the jetty.
Food. Breakfast was an extensive choice of food as good as we have ever got. Dinner & Lunch was in a Main and in Italian restaurant.
On the beach the restaurant la carte.
The staff made you feel like royalty. The whole week was beyond my expectations and I cannot wait to return. This ia a truly magnificent hotel with staff in all departments to match.
Special thanks to the animation team. GOOD FELLOWS guys!
Stretching in the morning with the Karika & Emma, volleyball with Lito & Sasha,, a different game with Bedoo, aqua-aerobics with Lindsey, children's animators Rasha & Diana ..... and show in the theater just SUPER! Presenter is animation team boss Desko.
Thank you guys!
Julia &Yuriy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Hi,
We stay here 12 nights in January. We have a nice stay.
The food was ok, a lot of grilled food.
The beach bar have a lot of drinks.
The beach don't have nice sand and the we need special shoes from the water.

Room Tip: speak nice with the reception and if they have see view room, you will receive one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,693 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,575 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,926 reviews
3.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,458 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort
Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Bea...
#63 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort

Address: 30 Salah Taher St. | Ras Om El Sid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt (Formerly SunConnect Sunrise Diamond Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#37 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#58 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $54 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the wonders of Egypt at SunConnect SUNRISE Diamond Resort! Located in the famous destination Sharm El Sheikh, the resort offers a vast range of opportunities ensuring that no one misses out during their stay. A delightful garden surrounding and the private sandy beach will make your holiday a memorable one full of relaxation. Its proximity to the charming center of Sharm El Sheikh is an additional benefit. The Resort offers a 24-hour front desk, multilingual staff, Guest Service Center desk, bell captain, limousine service, luggage room, laundry & valet service, beauty salon and barber, Spa & gym, gift & souvenir shops, babysitting, free Wi-Fi in all public areas and a 24-hour on call doctor. SunConnect SUNRISE Diamond Resort offers 438 (with partially or with some) recently renovated rooms characterized for their unique oriental style. NEW Aqua Park in 2015, 1200 m2, 8 slides, 71 water games fit for all ages! The hotel is officially part of the SunConnect family. It offers a lot of new facilities. Be Connected with the free upgraded high speed internet which is available throughout the resort. The TeenLounge is ready for teenagers for interactive fun with playstation and x-box. Charge the devices in one of the SunConnect Bars or access points distributed all over the facility. The new SunConnect website provides the guests with all necessary information. All accommodations feature modern facilities and are completely equipped to make sure our guests enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay in Egypt. Choose between a wide variety of rooms. A special benefit for families is our Family Room concept, which offers separate rooms for parents and children. To enjoy the direct sea view, try our Beach Deluxe rooms, which offer you as well extra space. A truly satisfying holiday experience - at SunConnect SUNRISE Diamond Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Diamond Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Calimera Royal Diamond Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing