We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Aqua Blu Sharm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqua Blu Sharm
Ranked #45 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at Aqua Blu, our second stay here. As with our first stay last year, the rooms are very clean, beds very comfortable and we got a lovely spot this year, 1st floor facing the garden and main building. The grounds and pools are immaculately maintained, and really fabulous water park facilities for all ages. All staff very friendly and helpful. Food is plentiful and loads of choice, all freshly cooked - though can get a bit repetitive after a week. The one downside was that this year we were pestered a lot, particularly by on-site salespeople trying to sell massages, pedicures etc. They would pester you even when you're sunbathing around the pool - particularly uncomfortable for us as a group of women. I would definitely go back to Aqua Blu again though.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a first floor room, for better balconies than ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,041)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Blu Sharm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 4,042 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

me and my partner just spent a week at this hotel,5th-12th feb to get away from the cold at home!we was in room 1501 in the block across the road from the kids pool area,we had our own unheated swimming pool and a bar with a v friendly barman,it was a little walk to asian and med restaurant but worth it for the quiet,didnt even hear the praying unless our doors were open.the grounds are massive and so very clean.the rooms are big and basic,functional and very clean and comfy.the food was great with something for everyone,theres italian,asian,mediterranean and the main buffet cave de roi,as this was right over the other side we stuck to the asian and med restaurants,they make the best curries!!for breakfast we had mainly fried eggs and toast,juice and coffee,the waiters were very friendly and helpful,always with a little joke for us english.we had no trouble with the russians!loved all the coffee bars and tried all types,our fave being latte and moccachino.all the swiimming pools were heated and the slides were fantastic,even if you didnt go on them you could spend hours watching people having fun on them,screaming,falling off at the other end etc.we caught the shuttle bus to beach or walked,its not far,got our own all inc bit to the right,we often went in the sea to the far left past police check point where the egyptian people go and the snorkelling there was AMAZING!!we felt quite safe to walk out at night to visit a few of the small shops and to near the mosque where theres lots of small bazaars,didnt get hassled at either,things are very cheap here.we did Fantasia night which was 4 course meal,arab horses,belly dancers,men skirt dancing,coloured water show,was a brill night,well worth moneym£18,but that was through hotel.we did bedouin night and my b/friend went quad biking,loved it all.the hotel is so big theres always something going on to watch when you walk round,the staff couldnt be more friendly,gave good measures of drinks with no tipping and waiters always coming round with refills.the only let down would be the lack of evening entertainment for adults,music outside stopped at 10:30 every night.the weather was great 26/27 most days with a breeze,evenings about 19,feels chilly because its been so hot in the day so you def need a fleece and jeans.overall we had a lovely time,all our needs were met and we wouldnt hesitate to come back here or recommend this hotel to anyone,it suits all ages.

Room Tip: 6000 have sun all day,1500 are very quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexMaximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Just Back from 3 weeks @ Aqua Blu, a very well run hotel. Staff & facilities are brilliant. Definitely the right choice for family holiday for those with young kids. The many pools & slides are good fun for all & very clean. Great selection of food, main restaurant can be noisy when busy if you want a quieter time use the Italian restaurant.wine a lot nicer than I expected having read reviews prior to going. Tip early on to get the best service. Coffee is really good from the 3 coffee bars but la veranda coffee bar is especially good (great barman ) didn't do it ourselves but quad trip into dessert (£25) apparently brilliant. Glass bottom boat trip which we did do was well worth it. Wi-fi in hotel v expensive & slow. Russian guests are plain rude ,accept it fast or it could spoil your stay.duty free @ airport v expensive buy your cigs etc from old market or supermarket .invest in a tin of 'off' for mozzies & a swat for the flies (most annoying) would certainly return to this hotel in the future sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheekybleeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have jut returned from a week at this hotel, we were placed in a room in section P, which is across a road from the main complex, this suited us as it was quiet and we enjoy wakling (it took 10 minutes to get to the main resturant), this block had its own pool and bar, however unlike the othere this pool was not heated and no snacks were available which meant going to the main complex for lunch, The room was large but a bit tired, the cleaner was always hanging around, no doubt after a tip. The bed was comfortable, nice firm mattress. Negative point was the calling to prayer which would wake you up early, (take ear plugs)
There were lots of Russians at the hotel, unlike other reports I did not find them a problem,
The food was a bit of a let down, very basic and everything self service, all other all inclusiive hotels I have been to have the option of paying a bit more for an al lacarte meal, this didn't. Felt like being back at school. Would recommend the Au Moka bar in the afternoon for cakes, crepes and coffee.
Would go back as the pools and water slides were great

Room Tip: get you morning coffee in the main building , just along from reception, its better that what they s...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We tried this hotel and area as part of a cruise and stay package. We would not normally have chosen this area as there is nothing outside of the hotel unless you take a taxi to Naama bay etc. The hotel grounds are huge, so it does give you room to relax. We had children with us that enjoyed the kids swimming areas and the kids entertainment at night. Unfortunately the entertainment was held outside and it was incredibly cold and couldn't sit outside,so had to watch the children through the windows in the reception area. The staff in the bars and restaurants are generally very nice and work extremely hard. The reception staff are not so friendly or helpful. If you have a complaint, speak to management who will sort your problem out! Rooms are adequate, but we have had better rooms. They are a little dated/tired, but, they are clean! Food is o.k, but,starts to get a little boring and repetitive in the end.(Pizzas in the Italian restaurant are nice). All in all a decent hotel, but there are nicer ones in Sharm!

Room Tip: Bungalows are nice. Garden view rooms are good too. Front of the hotel is noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahkev95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived in Aqua Blu on 31st January, I will try to be as honest as I can with my review and try to remember everything! Myself and my partner travelled with 2 young children (2 years and other is 11 months)

Arriving-
Don't bother with paying for a transfer through your tour operator, it is so much easier and cheaper to get a taxi from a local taxi at the airport. Transfer coaches are old, hot, tiny, uncomfortable and the drivers expect tips. Just tell them you have no money and then they cant keep on at you. Plus you will have to stop at several hotels before you get to Aqua Blu, which is quite annoying after a 5 hour flight with two young children.
You will get hassled as soon as you step foot out of the airport doors, just keep hold of your luggage and don't let any of the locals take your bags for you, they will want tipping.
Once we arrived at the hotel, everything was very straight forward, nobody hassled us and we were very quickly checked in and given our key.

Room-
Our room was number 1275 and situated facing the main disco area outside. The room itself was very spacious and clean and had everything you need. We had to ask for a cot but one was delivered right away. Beds do get a little uncomfortable towards the end of your stay.
The one problem with the room though was the noise from the disco until 11ish at night, at points it became so loud it was impossible to sleep. Our cleaner was very poor, all he did was tidy round and then would make the point of showing you what he had done (looking for a tip) he failed to clear hair from the bathroom and cups from the shelf for duration of the stay.

Pools-
The pools were top quality, we were very jealous that we did not get to go on any slides as we had the children but the pools we did use were very good for the kids and kept reasonably clean. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone and extremely comfy and clean. Kids pools were heated. Slides looked amazing.

Food-
The restaurants are all very clean and the waiters try to do a good job. The food becomes extremely repetitive, it is the same thing for breakfast every single day and is all geared towards the Russians. No eggs, bacon, sausages (Muslim country so no pork), baked beans. We found the Italian and Asian restaurants to be the best, but we were fed up of these after a week too.

Staff -
Reception and some bar staff were very miserable and dont crack a smile. Waiters and cleaners are all very friendly though. Guys from the salon do get annoying but if you politely tell them "no" they eventually get the message.

Beach -
There is a beach close by at the sister hotel which you can walk to (about 5 mins) or get a shuttle to. The beach and hotel looks very old and tired and there is no shoreline, just slippery rocks that have a drop to the sea, so not really suitable for kids. The sea is crystal clear though. You need to get in a huge lift to access the beach from the hotel. The coral is very sharp so careful you don't cut yourself. You would not believe the sister hotel is the same company as its so old and outdated and tired looking, it could really do with a big investment of money. Sunbeds are nothing like the nice comfy ones you get in Aqua Blu.

Russians -
Most ignorant race of people I have ever met anywhere I have ever travelled. When queuing for drinks or food they will push in and get there first. The parents do not teach the kids any basic manners, when queuing for doughnuts one day, two Russian kids (about 10 years old) pushed in and then helped themselves to 8, yes 8! doughnuts each, so nobody else could have any and we all had to wait again. Instead of the parents telling their kids off, they just stand there with them and help them with chocolate sauce. They all walk round with faces like smacked arses and have no consideration for anyone else, we were unfortunate enough to have a family of them next door and they would make so much noise first thing in the morning and late at night that it was impossible to sleep. Honestly, I have never witnessed anything like them, you will see what I'm on about if you stay at this hotel.

Entertainment -
Same thing every single night, it got so annoying that we went back to our room every night instead. Literally, even the songs they play are from the same playlist and in the same order. Other entertainment after the mini disco was OK, but this gets repeated every week too, so if you stayed for 2 weeks you would have to watch them twice. Entertainment team look as bored with the routine as the customers.

Egypt in general -
Weather was nice for about 5 of the 10 days we were there, the other days were cloudy and very windy but still warm. Going anywhere outside of the hotel is a bit of a headache, it's constant hassle from people trying to sell you things.
Egyptian men really take a fancy to young children, to the point that if it were in this country they would probably be arrested. Our kids were picked up, hugged and kissed, blew kisses and always made a fuss of. At first, I was really uncomfortable with it and could not relax, but eventually you just assume that this is the way they are as every single local was the same, so they can't all be weird right? Book taxis with the hotel as they are reasonably normal people and do not drive like looneys. Make sure you haggle with absolutely everything, shops do not list prices for anything so do not get ripped off.
Egypt is a very nice place but you must pick the right hotel as going out of it to look for entertainment can become a bit of a headache. Outside of hotels can be very dirty and locals drive like nutters so be careful crossing roads!

I would book with this hotel again, it is so large you do not need to leave it. If you get tired of the food, you can go to TGI Fridays, Pizza Hut or KFC in Namma Bay, just get past the hassling locals! If you are taking kids, they will have lots to do and will be sure to enjoy it. Its a lovely hotel and they do try hard, they just need to fix a few niggles to make it a really good one.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the disco area.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to aqua blu 2years ago, we returned this time with a party of 8 people, (four couples in mid 40s n 50s )this is a really truthful review, when me and my husband went on our own last time, we had the best holiday ever. So much fun, lovely staff and food....when we arrived this time, the baggage man was the same man who is really lovely and we were pleased he still recognised us from 2yr ago. Reception was very welcoming and friendly, room was 5203 very clean and spacious looking out on to garden..Mohamed our cleaner was great..where shall I start, firstly the resteraunt staff were all different this year, in my opinion they were not as good as last time, they seemed too not bothered..they spoke if you spoke but were not very welcoming, the food seemed miss matched, nice but did not go together ? Breakfast was a struggle, eggs or omelettes and everything continental you could think of to suit the Russians ! We mainly ate at Mediterranean rest, lovely currys and Asian food, then pizza rest was nice too...that was the height of our enjoyment besides the slides, we were hassled to death by beauty and massage people, who actually made my friend cry by squeezing her bad knee that she is waiting for an operation on !!! We had to be rude to him and tell him to go away, it was awful, too much pressure from people round pool selling trips, or hassling you to death every day for pedicures, the music round the whole place was too loud and awful...now I will talk about the all inclusive drink, it was undrinkable, it was the worst tasting vodka I have ever tasted in my life, so we got Bacardi instead only to find out that they give you dark rum for Bacardi !! Awfull...we ended up drinking our own duty free we had bought,then we tried the cocktails to try disguise the vodka we ended up leaving everything we tried, we were fed up after a couple of days..we even resorted to drinking latte coffee with brandy in, that was the only thing that was ok.....then on top of that the entertainment was for kids only !!! Very boring night you can only take so much of the birdie song and superman every night, there was nothing for adults, oh I forgot the karaoke one nite, if you like cats wailing and drunk men who think there Bon jovi good on ya, we didn't !! On a good note it is a beautiful hotel very clean and very family friendly, but we will not be returning to aqua blu which is a shame because we returned thinking we would have a good time, we did not expect to be hounded by beauty and massage and trip people, they really spoilt our holiday everyday and not taking a no thankyou as final they sat on your sunbed and wouldn't go away till you turned funny with them, then they got angry at you if you didn't want to let them touch you...if you like to be left alone do not go here....

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank RYTONCANDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#37 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Albatros Sharm
Beach Albatros Sharm
#103 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park Sharm
Albatros Aqua Park Sharm
#137 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
15 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,607 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sea Beach Aqua Park Resort Managed by Blue Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Sharm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Sharm

Address: Ras Um El Sid | South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $71 - $920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Blu Sharm 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Park Resort is ideally located on umm El Seed area. Only 15 minutes from downtown, 25 minutes from International Sharm El Sheikh Airport. The resort is on the area covering over 140,000 sq. m. Sport & Entertainment• Volleyball• Jacuzzi• Fitness room• Darts • Boccia • 1 Tennis court• Basketball • Children playground• Mini golf• Gondola on the Lagoon• One multi purpose court (handball, basketball and volley ball)• Water Park (62 slides, adults slides 17, 45 children slide)• Day and evening animation program• Beach parties during summer Facilities for children• Children’s pool • 45 Water slides• Children play ground Restaurants • Cave du Roi Main Restaurant (International Buffet)• L'Asiatique Restaurant (Indian & Chinese Buffet) • Mediterranean Restaurant ( Mediterranean Buffet)• Il Caminetto Restaurant (Italian Buffet)• Food Court (a la carte) against charge with 5 corners (Grill House, Italian, Chinese, Crêpe, Egyptian) Bars• Lobby Bar• Columbus Bar• La Canelle Bar• Cowboy Disco Bar• Club House Bar• Goofy Bar • Lagoon Bar • Beach Bar• Pool Bar• Kids Pool Bar•Billiard Bar• Jazz Bar• La Veranda Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aqua Blu Sharm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Aqua Blu Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing