We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyrene Island Hotel
Ranked #91 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I have just come back from 2 weeks at the Sol Cyrene, Sharm el sheikh and had a great holiday. The rooms were big and clean, the pool was huge and very refreshing, and the beach was just a short shuttle ride 100m from the hotel (you can walk it but its so hot and its slightly up hill on the way back!) We were the only english couple there for the first 10 days which was great, we had totally got away from it all, it was mainly occupied with Italians and russians who were all very friendly. But the staff is what makes this hotel so lovely, they are all so friendly and will go out of there way to help you. We joined in on Aqua aerobics in the mornings or afternoons and everyday at 5 we played water polo, this is what made it so friendly as you would then speak to everyone you played with that day that night in the restaurant. As there was so many Italians, the evening entertainment was all in Italian, they tried to translate for us, but it was no good. The food was lovely but did get a bit samey after about day 8-10 and the drinks were always warm, apart from draught beer which we didn't mind! I can definatly recommend this hotel if you want a break from everything back at home and meet some new friends along the way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Cyrene Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear “SurreyHayley”;

Thank you for choosing Sol Cyrene hotel and for posting your so positive review. We appreciate your feedback and really pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations.
I’d like to express our special thanks for your positive comments concerning the hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sol Cyrene in the nearest future.

With best regards,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 603 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

Only stayed in this hotel for one night during the beginning of the volcanic ash fiasco. It was the only hotel we could find to take 18 of us (5 families holidaying together) and were grateful for a roof over our heads. Offered us an extension to stay a few more nights but we declined. Ripped us off with the price of the room, £100 (sterling) per room with 2 adults and one child and that was only half board! We didnt bother to upgrade to all inclusive for another £40 per room as only there one night, which meant dinner did not include any drinks - not even water and they charged about £3 for a can of coke!

Hotel was full of Russians, the only other English families were those that had been stranded and then there were only a few! This wouldnt normally bother me but the food catered for Russians, I am not fussy but even i didnt like it. However breakfast was nice -usual fresh omelettes, eggs cooked to order, croissants etc

Staff were ok, but nothing special. Apart from the porter who was very helpful. Lobby area was small and uninviting. Rooms were spacious and clean with lovely balcony. Late at night , till bout 1am, we could hear noise from a disco or open air bar.

Hotel is in middle of nowhere so need taxis to get anywhere. Although there is another hotel directly next door and I think you can flit between the two and use facilities but not drinks and food if all inc.

Would nt recommend it unless you enjoy Russian food and I wouldnt return. There are far nicer hotels in Sharm for a similar price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Cyrene Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear “paulandSally”;

I thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write us your constructive comments and observations. Letters such as yours are of the greatest assistance to us in identifying possible problems or misunderstandings that may exist throughout our hotel.
Regarding the main restaurant we are very sorry if the food served in our buffet did not match to your taste even though our daily shared guest questionnaires’ results show the satisfaction of the majority of our international clientele. Also take in consideration that restaurant manager was at your full disposal to support and he will be glad to follow you up by daily special food, prepared according to your request. We also acknowledge that there is always room for improvement. Please rest assured that we will take your feedback to heart and we hope to pleasantly surprise you with the food and service on a future visit.
Again, it was to our great delight to read your lines and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for a future visit.

Yours sincerely,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Arranged through Trip Advisor, pretty much went according to plan! Slight delay at Bristol, not sure if that was volcanic or just Bristol. That made for a late arrival at the hotel via our private airport/hotel transfer & with our 2 mother-in-laws in tow [one 63, the 84]! Hotel reception staff were brilliant, quick and easy transferred to our rooms/2. Our in-laws needed a change of room the next morning however purely because of steps to climb & not condition, relocated to a ground level, pool located room with ease & suitcase transfer by staff. It did become quite obvious from the first morning at breakfast that we were in fact the only English at the hotel of mainly Eastern European & Italians. This not a problem for us as we were treated by ALL members of staff with the utmost of politeness and never without a smile! The 'All Inclusive' food & drink package could not really be faulted even though very much geared toward the more prominent clientèle but lets be fair we English can be a little set in our ways, including trying out foodstuffs! For my part there are no complaints however by the last couple of days our in-laws searched for some home food & the restaurant manager Hesham, along with Chefs came up with a blinder for us all.....Fillet steak, mushrooms, toms & chips [chips could be got throughout] starting with soup [soup was always plentiful] "Happy Days". One or two, maybe all waiters took a shine to us but again you only get out what you put in, Ali was such a waiter & we nicknamed him 'Top Banana' and the work they all do is really unbelievable! If you should go AND you really should ask Ali has is he getting on with the 'Faherinet' after shave..LOL. BRITS be warned about the mosquitoes, you will really need to take the relevant steps to prevent being savaged. My mother-in-law was particularly bitten but again to the rescue came the staff with Adel Omran/General Manager coming to the rescue, getting his own doctor to visit and duly 'stab her in the cheeks of bottom' with much needed anti-biotic & cream. If being in a minority group worries you, you'll be put off but even when we visited the next door sister hotel Sol Sharm which was 65% English, I much preferred the Sol Cyrene for it's quality & relaxing environment but again that's what I was looking for! From Front of House to Cleaners, Gardeners to Waiters, Housekeeping, Pool Attendants, Bar Keepers, Hassan & Kadry & Chefs to Managers, to Adel....101% for a very great holiday. I have and will continue to recommend to friends & Family of like minded requirements. Good Luck for the future & hope we meet up again. Tony, Karen,Maureen & Betty. Oh by the way the weather was brilliant [although not in their control] However be warned, the Taxi drivers are outrageously mad when it comes to driving even so good fun....better than the speed boat trips!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonySeaBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Cyrene Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear “TonySeaBass”;

Thank you that you found our hotel and staff “brilliant”.
It is always to my great pleasure if I can read memorable and impressive lines like yours as in Sol Meliá we believe that it is only through the personalization and individual care that we can achieve constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again.

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed here as we were in Sharm only for a few nights and the rate offered seemed competitive with others in the area and from the pictures, the establishment seemed decent. It is a 3 star - at best - hotel which caters to a majority of Russian and Ukrainian package tourists on an all-inclusive stay who barely ever leave the hotel for two weeks. We were supposed to stay 3 nights, pre-paid, but left on the second day and took a loss on the room to go elsewhere in Nuweiba. Sharm itself was also dreadful, tacky. It is much better underwater than above. Diving is the only reason to go - do a live a board in that case.

The rooms are the only redeeming quality of the hotel - large and generally clean and quiet. I believe all have balconies as well.

Everything else would be negative: the lobby stunk of rose oil and greasy food - we had to go out of our way to circumvent the stench. The staff were mildly responsive but wouldn't want to tell us things like a reasonable rate to/from the airport or how much a taxi into town should reasonably cost - plus, they left you to sort all that yourself thru one of the over-priced Russian/Italian tour agencies in the lobby. The beach is very tiny and you must cross a road to get to it. Despite what the hotel may say, the HOTEL IS NOT ON THE BEACH. The breakfast and the dinner were bland and old. There is no safe in the room or hair dryer (it gets chilly at night). There is a "spa" and whilst the massage at 30euros was good, the room was noisy, you could smell people smoking outside and it was borderline "clean".

To go into Naama Bay or Sharm town centre they have a shuttle bus you have to pay for, it is relatively efficient but not frequent.

Warning: if you arrive to come here as not part of the package tour, the taxi drivers at Sharm airport will rip you off. They wanted 100 Egyptian for the 5 minute ride - outrageous. The lowest anyone would go is 70 which is still a big rip off. Arrange transport in advance thru the hotel - the real rate should be around 30 if someone is honest with you.

Unless you want a tacky, bland holiday I would say skip Sol Cyrene and skip Sharm all together. We preferred being up in Nuweiba and Dhahab - far more laid back and much less tacky. Otherwise, go to Jordan (Aqaba) which is a good option for the red sea with a number of refined hotel choices on the beach and nothing tacky to be pushed in your face.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arrivallounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Me and my partner both in our 20's stayed at the Sol Cyrene from the 20th September to the 4th October 09. I must say, we got a very good price for the excellent quality we received (£700 pp inc flights). Food - Very nice, BBQ every night of our stay, deserts are lush, yes it does get repetitive but you expect that when all inclusive. Tea - Chicken, Turkey, Beef, Lamb, Spag Bog, Lasagne, Stew, Veg, Salad, Bread, Soup - don’t expect pork etc as they are all Muslim. Breakfast - Cereals, Toast, Eggs, Beef Sausage, Fresh Omelettes, Waffles with choc sauce (yummy), Salad, Bread. Lunch - Same as tea really apart from the BBQ, we used to have the meat and put it in sandwiches, very nice! All water is served in sealed bottles; we used to get 4 at a time so that our room was always stocked up. White & Red wine is only served during eating times. The hotel it self was extremely clean. The location is a bit out of the way from Naama Bay, but if you are going to relax and have some peace & quiet then this is the hotel. A taxi would cast around 120 Egyptian Pound for a return which is about £14, this was booked through the hotel but as we discovered, if you ask the security guards at the front of the hotel they will order a taxi for you which cost about 80 Egyptian Pound return, about £10. The hotel did have a lot of Russians & Italians but in all fairness, they never bothered us at all, there was the odd 1 that pushed in the food queue but they tend to mingle with their own crowd. The sister hotel (Sol Sharm) 1 minute across the road is the English side, anyone staying at Sol Cyrene can use their facilities, you just can’t eat or drink their. We did go to Sol Sharm to see what their pool was like and to be honest Sol Cyrene was much better, alot more space. Our pool was fab, we could get up at 9.30am and still get the same sunbeds as the day before! The beach is approx 3 - 5 minute walk from the hotel but they do run a shuttle bus for those that cant be bothered to walk! The beach is very nice, beautiful sea! Staff - FANTASTIC - Atif who works in the main restaurant was brill, always had drinks waiting for us and was very polite and we never once had to tip him! Mahmoud in the Sofun Bar is just fantastic, if you’re a lover of Baileys then ask him to make it for you, taste better than the real thing, i was drunk after about 3 :) I was amazed that cocktails were part of the all inclusive but only available from this bar, lovely! Please don’t listen to the bad reviews, I am quite fussy but this has been one of our best holidays. Enjoy your stay – we certainly did!!!! If you would like anymore info, please feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayKay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My friend and I were put in the Sol Cyrene after our room at the Amarante Garden Palms was not available.We were told we were being up graded to a 5 star hotel but I wouldnt even rate it a 2 star. The room was ok but I had a bed that was so hard it didnt even dip if you sat on it and I am a large lady! The cleaner(Ahmed) was lovely and produced some spectacular towel art for us,Mohammed our waiter was great and always had our table waiting for us and barman Hassan and Sherrif were great but we found the management and some of reception very rude and unhelpful as they didnt seem to want the English there! The food is absolutely disgusting and I spent all my holiday apart from 3 days really ill with food poisoning as the food leftover from dinner appears recycled for lunch.I lived on rolls and yoghurt and for last 3 days of my holiday on just water! Everything was cold or lukewarm and either swimming in water or oil! The pool is ok but very cold and we were told that it was the Italian and Russian pool and we shouldnt be using it!! The beach was dirty and every morning we saw dead cockroaches on the paths.I wouldnt wish this place on anyone........even my worst enemy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmax51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Hotel itself looks really nice, but this is not defenitely 4,5 star hotel. Food was boring, everyday was the same menu, service not very good - they speak only Italian or Russian, very little English; sometimes we had to wait for drinks during dinner far too long. Swimming pools clean, beach quite small and busy but close to hotel.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank monsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
7.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#176 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#110 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,425 reviews
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,583 reviews
1.5 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#53 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,491 reviews
10.5 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrene Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrene Island Hotel

Address: El Montazah Area-Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh 00206, Egypt (Formerly Hotel Sol Cyrene)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $17 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cyrene Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cyrene Island Hotel enjoys a unique location at Ras Nosrani Bay, with a spectacular view overlooking the entrance of Aqaba Bay and Tiran Island. The hotel enjoys a beautiful 400-meter sandy beach with an easy access to the sea and the Coral reefs, just a 5-minute walking distance from the main building with shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cyrene Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cyrene Hotel
Sol Melia Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing