We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy!!”
Review of Shark's Bay Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The beach is lovely, and snorkelling/diving great fun. The downside is if you are taking a dive boat from there - manic busy first thing in the morning, which can be hard in the heat (especially with children) Take plenty of water (and insect repellent!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    382
    126
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Soho Square - worth a visit for the fountain alone”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying in Sharm el Maya Bay but decided to get a transfer which we booked through Sharm Club (sales@sharm-club.com) to go to Soho Square (Shark Bay) for the evening.

We had previously read Reviews on Trip Advisor promoting the Fountain Display and so as we had seen the one that Barcelona do (and also due to the very positive feedback on Trip Advisor), we decided to go.

We arrived at 8pm and took a complimentary map of the area. Soho Square has a lot of main stream/chain establishments as well as a few unique and eclectic ones! We did some browsing while we waited for the fountain performance to begin but we found that the main 'draw' for people appeared to be The Ice Bar and the Skating Rink (yep, they really do exist in Sharm!!).

We watched the 9pm fountain show which featured Egyptian and Spanish/Mexican themed songs with the fountain, lights, sound and fire all in sync and this went on for about 15 minutes. It was very good and an exceptional offering bearing in mind it was free for all to enjoy. As previously mentioned, there is fire featured in the performance but only briefly and infrequently so you have to pay attention so as not to miss it! The displays were shown on the hour every hour from 6pm until midnight but it would be worth emailing them (mail@soho-sharm.com) to ensure these times are the same when you want to go.

After the show we did some more browsing and thoroughly enjoyed a Movenpick icecream (there is a large Movenpick retailer right by the Fountain and it has over 10 different flavours!! You buy tokens and each token entitles you to a scoop of ice-cream) and then we watched the 10pm fountain show - which had music from Tom Jones!!

We left Soho Square (Shark Bay) at 11pm and found that we had been there long enough. We hadn't bought anything but enjoyed the experience that Soho Square offered.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KMAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Snorkel in Heaven”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wow what can I say about Sharks Bay...

We stayed in Nabq about 10mins taxi away and wanted to do some serious snorkelling in the Red Sea. All of the guided tours or hotel tours came in at around £90 for three of us; being me and my two teenage boys. We asked one of the waiters at our hotel and he suggested Sharks Bay would be the place to try..

Believe it or not you have to pay to enter the semi-self-contained area that is the bay, but being only £2.50 each, this gives entry and a sunbed for the day; not bad really.
On the beach-front you have a selection of areas to choose from, all with beds and canopies. We found five bars to eat from, and all at reasonable costs. We have a 3x large burger/chips, 1x tuna wrap/chips and 4x drinks all for £12. Toilets are also available.

Now the best bit.
With your snorkel and shoes you enter the sea beside the jetty as the main beach area is fronted by coral reefs, and you're not allowed to walk on them. As soon as you enter the water a myriad of tropical fish are on view, within arms reach.
It took us about two hours to float along the 500m reef front just breath-taken with the spectacle of what we were seeing. It's just like being on TV with fish swimming right past your eyes.

As far as depth goes, it's about 50ft deep, but because you're breathing normally through your snorkel you float without even thinking about it, and you can easily see the sea bed, with yet more fish and scuba divers having fun.

We did get involved in some tourists feeding the fish, which I'm told is not allowed but it did offer a strange experience. We floated into the shoal and actually had fish bouncing off our goggles and hands; weird feeling.
Once we'd finished watching them we swam away and the whole shoal followed us all the was along the reef; awesome.

To get out of the water, you swim up to the floating jetties to get out.

In all a truly amazing experience that will live with me for many years to come.

Fully recommend a visit to Sharks Bay to see for yourself..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RickDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“snirkling amazing”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

wonderfull place, great view nice weather , sunny and amazing colores under water corals and fishes i wish i can go there soon i miss it alot

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Speed boat trip”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

How totall awesome. Snorkelling was amazing and the dolphins were a bonus. they very much enjoyed swimming alongside us as we sped along to our next dive site. Amazing afternoon.... :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaMaria1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark's Bay Beach also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Shark's Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing