We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort
Ranked #80 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I already left a review after my stay but I am now seeing reviews complaining that only one bottle of water was in the room? We did get 2 per day when we stayed last year and we have just booked again to come this June and if we weren't given any bottled water at all I wouldn't be complaining. The price it costs to stay here for 2 weeks all inclusive, I don't think you could stay in England somewhere for that price so how people can complain about a bottle of water I do not know! If the price of the stay significantly drops then things have to give! Looking forward to my stay in June after my stay last year, staff were exceedingly friendly and I did not find the entertainment staff annoying and persistent like some reviews have stated, when they were trying to get people in the pool for aerobics no one wanted to at first, then at the end pretty much everyone around the pool was in joining in, such a great holiday! I am also a very fussy eater so I thought food would be a problem but they really do cater for everyone! Couldn't have picked a better place to stay, see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPeninsula_Hotel, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula for your vacation and thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review.

Your support to our resort is highly appreciated we are looking forward visiting us again in june.

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    590
    228
    92
    72
See reviews for
493
928
50
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went from 13-20 march, perfect weather, staff are so lovely especially the housekeeper in block 55 he was so atentive an nothing was too much trouble:-) food was good, entertainment staff really nice,took hotels taxi service into soho for £5 a few times, we asked for the same driver muhhamed he was so friendly and we felt very safe, the only downside were mosquitoe bites and a bad stomach which isn't the hotels fault, i would recommend this hotel to anyone! Just pack ur insect spray and a jacket for the night time :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missjennab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPeninsula_Hotel, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula for your vacation and thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review and for your recommandation.

Your comment about the mosquitoes will be into consideration and will be addressed to the concerned to overcome this problem although it a big problem in all over Sharm El Sheikh but we will do our best to overcome it

Your praises to the housekeeper will be shared with him and he will be happy with it.

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again at our hotel

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Gave this hotel 5 stars 2 years ago, so decided to return for a week of winter sun.
This is a good medium class hotel (this is not Burj Al Arab level, its 3-4 star western standard hotel) lovely grounds, large rooms (stayed in executive suite again) and a good standard and choice of food bearing in mind they have to cater for many nationalities.
Pool is large, plenty of sun loungers and space - so all in all its a fairly decent hotel for Sharm....
Reception staff were just as miserable and unhelpful as last time, default answer is always a NO and they really are the weak link in this hotel.
Bottled water was free in the rooms last time and given every day, now only 1 small bottle in the room, not replenished daily and you are expected to fill it up through out your stay from not so cool water coolers, if more than 1 guest in the room your expected to pay for extra bottles.
Pool side they used to give out bottled water, now the smallest cups Ive ever seen and you have to use the water coolers. Also the alcohol is now served in these very small plastic cups, used to be plastic good sized tumblers.
There is nothing in the mini fridge in the rooms, you can buy a drinks package.
WIFI is now no longer available at the pool area, only in the lobby and sadly was terrible, really really slow and most of the time couldn't connect or get on line.
One free meal last time was given in the italian restaurant - thats gone, italian now an extra charge.
Thai restaurant you had a discount voucher, thats gone too and the Thai restaurant is really expensive now.
I was a bit disappointed that some of what was available last time has gone and cost cutting was quite obvious, that said still a good hotel and would recommend it for week of sun.
A couple of things
Coffee in the restaurant is crap - I bring my own instant stuff.
Take a couple of water bottles with you.
I get the taxi driver to stop off at the petrol station on the way from the airport to the hotel - if your having a drink in your room, good to get your 2l coke/lemonade etc from here.
Bring a can of fly killer with you, I spray the sheets before I go for dinner and round light fittings etc, never get bitten and yes the mozzies where bad this time round.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0mme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPeninsula_Hotel, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula for your vacation for the second time

I’m sorry to know that you found some negative points all what you had mentioned will be discussed specially reception staff attitude to get where improvement can be done

And also I want to inform you that now there is a 25 % discount on weekly basis (Thai res.) on Thursday for all our valuable guests.

Looking forward to your third visit

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Trip advisor review

Come expecting a 5* luxury retreat! then make no bones about it, you'll be coming home disappointed. Come expecting a good 3-4* all inclusive hotel and you'll be generally happy with what you find.

On first impressions, the hotel can't be faulted. Like most other reviewers on here have mentioned, the rooms are huge with two large double beds, a bathroom bigger than most flats in London, along with great AC, TV, mini fridge, safe and plenty of storage.

The swimming pool takes centre stage of the hotel- and again is huge probably one of the biggest hotel pools I have come across. Great you think, until you wonder why it looks so calm and serene and has no one in it. It is simply freezing. No exaggeration, no word of a lie. When you hear a round of applause from your fellow holiday makers when someone actually gets into this ice pool you know something isn't quite right! Don't worry though, there is plenty to keep you busy out of the pool with regular visits the form of the massage man, the henna tattoo man, the excursion man, the beauty salon man and not forgetting the waiter from the Italian restaurant trying to book you in for dinner. First time fine, but this whole process is so so tedious on a daily basis.

Also joining the poolside fun are the animation team. Now to their credit, they are some of the most hard working animation people I have come across working through until about midnight most days, running about 7-8 daytime activities by the pool. Personal opinion, far too many as they struggled massively to wedge people off of the sun beds and join in. They again were also far too persistent- and just wouldn't take no for an answer- it really did take about 5 different ways of saying no for them to move on for each activity they were recruiting for..

Evening entertainment was was mediocre at best. Again, lots of enthusiasm from the animation team but the whole thing just felt overly amateur and at times quite embarrassing to watch. The hotel only operates one AI bar in the evening which is for me another downfall. If you want to sit in the lobby bar of elsewhere away from the entertainment then you pay for your drinks.

The choice of drinks on the AI were also very restricted. A choice of just 4 cocktails (2 of those being tequila and 7up and vodka and orange?!), local spirits and a few juices. Now if you walk around the resort and notice guests with litre bottles of vodka in beach bags, on tables, in the bar, don't worry you aren't sharing your holiday with a bunch of a alcoholics but once you taste the vodka served on the all inclusive you will realise why. (Distinct rum taste, lethal, avoid!)

Food at the peninsula was another area of great discussion amongst the Brits on a daily basis (who all seemed to colonise to the right hand side of the swimming pool- Russians in the middle, Arabic on the left) The food was little more than 'fine'. It was always well cooked (but massively massively over salted and always luke warm) and I did not hear one guest moan of sickness/ illness from the food.
The buffet was what I would call just lazy food. Generally always something to eat but very very repetitive. Given the hotel displayed that each night the food is themed from different parts of the world, you would be very very hard pushed to know which country the food represented!

The hotel has two other pay-for restaurants, an Italian and a Thai, both had great reviews from people we spoke too, but really for a '5 star' AI a visit to each should really be included as part of the deal.

The food however, was of a much higher quality down at the hotel's private beach which is part of your AI package for lunch. The beach itself is well worth a visit, and for me one of the nicest parts of the hotel offering. The hotel runs a free shuttle their and back (but be prepared to be very un-brit like if you have any chance of getting on the bus, as some of our Russian friends haven't mastered the idea of queuing). The beach itself is great. Lots of sunbeds, chilled music and no hassle of the massage, henna and excursion man!

Another great positive for the hotel was the gym- this for me was the best equipped hotel gym I have come across with up to date techno gym equipment and a free weight and bench area.

The staff at the peninsula are also great. Extremely attentive, helpful and all really friendly. Overall, this hotel has all of the foundations to be a really really great hotel in Sharm (rooms, setting, beach, facilities) but given the importance of quality food and drink in an all inclusive package- the two other '4 star' hotels I have stayed in in sharm trump this hotel in that area no end.

Being a '5 star' sets an initial president and a level of guest expectation which unfortunately for this hotel is far higher than what is delivered. I will be going back to sharm again for more winter sun, but would not stay at the peninsula.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPeninsula_Hotel, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula and thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review

Your comment about the pool temperature will be into consideration and the concern already informed, sorry that you found some negatives points during your stay all the shops staff will be informed with your comment also to be more careful with our valuable guests

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again at our hotel

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very late review.. but thought it was time i got here and shared my thought on places as i use this site so much when planning a trip.

Me and 5 girl friends stayed in September 2012.. weather slightly un-bareble at time but can;t really complain when your from London!

This hotel is lovely. The rooms are a great size the bathrooms are GORGEOUS! ( a big thing for me a horrible bathroom really is make or break )

The food isn't so great! we lived mainly off omelets, fried eggs and buns! McDonald delivery so that as well! The drinks are not very nice at the bar!!! but we made do with drinks we had bought in duty free and drank in our rooms before heading out.

Not really a girls holiday hotel but the best of both worlds, get to relax at the hotel and off to narma bay at night for the nightlight! DONT DIRNK THE TAP WATER. we all have wobbly bellies at one point but nothing terrible!

The quad biking is a MUST do excursions ... was a great day out!

we took a trip to the spa and had massaged (theres a guy that comes round and gives 10-15 min massages by the pool hes amazing!!!) great value for money and left us feeling like we were walking on clouds

Overall a gerat trip - would be back!

Room Tip: Don't dirnk the tap water.. venture out for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPeninsula_Hotel, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula and thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay and considering visit us once again

Your satisfaction with our quality of service makes us more concern to be always at our valuable guests’ expectations

Waiting for your next visit

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here early Feb and had a great week. The food was brilliant, lots of choice and varied each night - I don't know why so many people have moaned about the food on here before! The room we had was huge, great big bed,and clean throughout.
Yes there are a few things the management could look at improving such as complimentary bottled water in your room each day, not just one on arrival day. The entertainment is also a little lacking in ideas but understand its got to cater for all. The beach area was very good and the pool is awesome, it's massive and heated too which was ideal as it can get a little chilli at times with the breeze.
They could serve wine in the main bar as it is all inclusive but you can get plenty at meal times so not that bad really. There are Mosquitos around in the evening and that is not really the hotels fault so you need to be careful if you sit outside your apartment at night, that's where they get you!
Best thing about the hotel is the friendly staff, in particular Ahmed in the pool and main restaurant, little Ahmed in the restaurant, Omar and Flavio in the pool bar - all great assets to the hotel, you guys made our stay that much better.
Be prepared to barter for everything, best tactic is so no to almost everything then you might get a good price at the end of your stay!
Good tip - go and visit the old town market for authentic Egypt and there are some good trips if you bargain for a good deal - don't pay more than £20 per person for the boat trip with snorkelling! It's well worth getting out and about in Sharm - think we'll be back pretty soon!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet block 46 & 47 are pretty good. 44 is near the pool, but they all see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPeninsula_Hotel, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula and thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay and considering visit us once again

Your satisfaction with our quality of service makes us more concern to be always at our valuable guests’ expectations

Waiting for your next visit

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

No refreshing drink on arrival this time? This was our fourth stay at this hotel in the last 2 years. Our room as usual was large and very nice, but one thing we did notice was only 1 small bottle of water in fridge compared to the usual 2! Being just the 2 of us this was no problem but if a family of 4 arrived thirsty this would be a major concern. Please Maritim reinstate the 2 bottles at least. Refilling these are no problem in the bars and resturants. We had a walk down to the main bar on arrival and found that we could not have a glass of wine! Unlike our last visit wine was served in the main bar. What made things worse a lady wearing a red band on her wrist managed to order wine while we were sitting there?????? This upgrade of some kind was not offered to us and apparently if you have a red band you can also eat in the Italian????? This was free once weekly with all inclusive in September last year. That's our negative view over! The food at this hotel is fantastic and if you have a problem tell someone the chefs are all very approachable and will accommodate any requests. Our favourites were the beach bar and the Thai. Lovely food. A big thank you to Ala and The hilarious Mostafa. The service in the main resturant was brilliant we must mention Mohamed he was a gem. The main bar was efficient as usual and although we missed Samir this time Mina was fantastic and a big thank you to him. We were glad to see Ola in the animation team back she works so hard and is a lovely young woman also Yankee and will I am. wakey wakey Sharm el shakey ! The staff are a real credit to this hotel the two outstanding staff on our latest trip were asmil who seems to be dotting about everywhere, and Ahmed hagras, their hospitality is second to none. We will be back in September and cannot wait!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank senni_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
2.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,075 reviews
6.4 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resort
Maritim Jolie Ville Golf & Resor...
#37 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Cas...
#118 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#9 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#22 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort

Property: Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort
Address: Peace Road at Um Marikha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#58 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, modern designed Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula is a gorgeous 5 star resort comfortably spread over 200,000 sqm of lush, landscaped gardens. The hotel's oversized rooms are only some of the extravagant luxuries that make this the perfect place for relaxation for you and your family. Neighboring the Jolie Ville International Congress Center, the resort takes pride in its ability to welcome both business and leisure travellers with top service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel And Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Peninsula
Peninsula Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing