We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value but looks very tired in places, awful lobby and short jetty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Ranked #25 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

In a way the lobby of a hotel is not important in a place like Sharm where you rarely leave the hotel but the first impression was awful - dark, dingy and the stairs down to the main restaurant are equally depressing as is the first sight of some video games which should be tucked away in another area as its a terrible eyesore. Block 14, where we were was a long walk to anywhere. Rooms are spacious but terribly tired. Pathways are all cleaned but mottled - gardens are v. attractive but some grass areas are badly worn. too much building work.
Food in speciality restaurants better than expected. b'fasts are fine but the same every day. Salads are limited but good quality, pasta good but a lot of food is inappropriate for such hot weather and clearly has been recycled from previous day. Staff generally v. friendly and efficient.
To say there are 4-5 pools on First Choice is a bit disingenuous as there are really only 2 outdoor pools and the noisy pool is too loud for the pm.
My main issue with the hotel is that we chose Sharm because of the snorkelling and this hotel's jetty does not get you to the wall but just to a swimming area. The hotel to the right has a jetty twice as long and does reach the wall but one is never sure if you will be allowed to use it - entirely dependent upon whom is on duty as they check the bracelets. Yes, one can go on snorkelling tours from the beach or to Ras Mohamed (both excellent) but sometimes you just want a quick 20 minute snorkel and this is not possible so if this is important to you don't choose this hotel.
May well return to Sharm but not to this hotel & would rather pay a bit more to get the elements I want plus the clientele is a bit chavvy and there are too many unsmiling russians posturing in speedos.

Room Tip: if you choose the cheapest category you will end up in Block 14 facing building work and walk a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay at the Coral Sea Holiday Village. I was concerned to learn that your stay did not live to your expectation and I am sorry you were disappointed. I can assure you however that your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done.

Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 6,339 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

After visiting Coral Sea resort/Water World on our last 8 years of holidaying in Egypt we were disappointed with how the quality had dropped. We decided therefore to try Holiday Village which is now run by Mr Ali who was the Manager at Coral Sea Resort for the majority of our visits there. We were glad to find that his influence and efficiency shows here. When you arrive the driveway,reception are immaculate and clean. We were allocated a room in block 8.The room was large with an extra large bed, a single bed and a settee. It had a large built in wardrobe. The bathroom also was large consisiting of a large walk in shower, a seperate wc and a large sink set in a large top. Outside the grounds are well kept and workmen were always busy maintaining the quality.Food in the main dining hall was excellant .There was always something to your taste.If you wanted a change there were 5 other restaurants. Staff were brilliant, with many thanks to Mr Ali (always there to make sure that your holiday was ok) and Jade (Guest relations). Other staff too many to differentiate from were all brilliant. Back again later this year or same time next year/

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yklahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review; we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Coral Sea Holiday Village and were satisfied with the overall provided services. Rest assured that your compliments have been gladly shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Please feel free to let us know once you have booked your next holiday; we will do everything we can to make your stay with us even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to HV and I can't really fault as with all holidays it's what you make of it, but here you can be left alone to enjoy your holiday at your own leisure or you can get involved and have fun with the entertainment team which are fantastic, especially James and Miles. Great holiday and can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review; we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your 3rd stay at the Coral Sea Holiday Village and were satisfied with the overall provided services. Rest assured that your compliments have been gladly shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again at our resort.

Please feel free to let us know once you have booked your next holiday; we will do everything we can to make your 4th stay with us even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A bit apprehensive of traveling to Egypt but we needn't worry, hotel was great,staff excellent
we went late March 14, not many children around that suited us, but there were adults only areas on site, though they were been refurbished. Generally a good hotel,weather fantastic
We were not happy with first room block 14 top floor, but in a couple of days they changed our room to block 10 floor room. They do their best to please. Will return.

Room Tip: Try to avoid block 14 (unless your young/fit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent holiday at the Coral Sea Holiday Village on TripAdvisor.Thank you also for the reassurance about the situation in Sharm El Sheikh. It can be a worry for those who have never been to the charming Sharm: "The City of Love and Peace". I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you and your family back again. Please contact me in case I can be of help in anyway.
Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our 2nd visit in 2 years, last year was better.

We were in room 14205, no sun on balcony & overlooked a service yard with noise 24/7 compared to last year in room overlooking the sea, both years in standard rooms. No towel art left on beds in whole 10 days which really upset our 6 year old compared to last year an animal every other day. It seems if you're on your 1st visit you get the best views & treated better with nice touches like towel art as we took my parents & sister this year on their 1st trip & they had the special treatment. All we got was a fruit basket, slippers & robes that didn't fit which they sent a letter to tell us about but didn't leave anything in the room so we had to ask!

The entertainment wasn't up to last years standards either, the team put in loads of effort but they didn't have the talent to put on a really good show the likes of which we saw last year. However, our 6 yr old loved it, that's the main reason we sat there most nights & if she's happy so are we. However, nothing for older kids in evening, if your kids are 9 or above they will be bored stiff!

This is a hotel that's tired and desperately needs updating now. It's in beautiful grounds on a lovely beach but the pool surrounds are all broken with bits of chipped concrete, no one cleaned the inside of the main pool so there was always a black sun cream rim etc. The rooms need sprucing up as well.

The food is lovely, we like the all inclusive so money is not a worry. The Indian etc restaurant is a nice touch so you aren't always eating in one place.

They are trying to do bits of the hotel up, the beachside is fab, all new restaurants & toilets, it all should look like this but things are moving too slow.

We love Egypt & will return maybe in a few yrs if they do up the entire hotel. The hotel is not what it was on our 1st trip over a year ago, there are better if you're going to Sharm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback about your stay at the Coral Sea Holiday Village and I am sorry that you feel your return visit did not match the quality of your first.
Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done.
Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

we stayed here In march 2014 this was our 3rd time and it will not be the last time we had one of the rooms above the swim up pool which was fab the staff are all very helpful. the room was very clean and the views we had were of the red sea .the stone grill res is the place to try well worth the money I cannot say enough about this hotel but if you are thinking of going there then all i will say is do not think about it just go and enjoy agreat time

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anthony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review; we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your 3rd stay at the Coral Sea Holiday Village and were satisfied with the overall provided services. Rest assured that your compliments have been gladly shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon on your 4th visit to our resort.
Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here in May 2013 with out two young children. We really cannot fault anything about the hotel. We were very well looked after by all the hotel staff, and First choice staff/kids club reps.
If you have children, this is a great place for a holiday.

The family rooms with dens are a brilliant idea, and really added to the holiday for us and the children.

Room Tip: If with children get a family room with a den - Just fantastic. Block 9 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHeikal, Public Relations Manager at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review; we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your 2nd stay at the Coral Sea Holiday Village and were satisfied with the overall provided services. Rest assured that your compliments have been gladly shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon on your 3rd visit to our resort.
Warmest regards,

Hanan Heikal
Regional Director of Public Relations
Coral Sea Hotels – Resorts – Nile Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
11.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,534 reviews
10.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#56 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#32 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,603 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#4 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Holiday Village

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $68 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the unsurpassed panoramic views of the Red Sea, Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort presents a comprehensive under-one-roof concept that meets the need of every discerning leisure traveler. This 5-star resort houses: 484 elegant guest rooms with modern amenities, superbly-designed facilities and 13 exciting dining and lifestyle choices for a multi-dimensional experience. It is our privilege to enchant our guests with courteous and attentive service that is the hallmark of Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort; we deliver only the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Sea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Holiday Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing