We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Ranked #23 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited here for 10 nights in October, with 2 kids aged 5 & 6. We booked a kids den room, which was in block 6. This overlooked the gardens, was near the main pool and we had the kids playground outside our door. This is our 3rd holiday village holiday (been to Lanzorote and Cyprus) and this is our favourite overall.

Room:

Huge room, with huge bathroom. The kids den was a room inside the room (with 3 high windows letting in light) with bunkbeds. There was a also a superking+ size bed, which I have to say was rock hard (and I like a hrad bed but this was a bit too much). The bathroom had a shower over bath, and although was OK, was a bit tired and needed regrouting as a minimum. The room itself was good. Some of the finishing was not so good. Air con was fine, although a little noisy. The balcony/terrace was roomy, with 2 small chairs and a table. We were on the ground floor. The first week we had a family above us, waking me up with what sounded like a herd of elephants running up and down the room for an hour at 6am (so ask for a first floor room if that would bother you). Also, there was an open-air nightclub in a close-by hotel, which blasted away until 2am so that also kep me awake.

Food

The choice of food was great. We only had 2 sittings where we were not that impressed. The rest of the time is was great. Fussy child 1 lived on pasta, french fries, cucumber and bread for the 10 days but we didn't push it. Child 2 ate most things. The a la carte restaurants are great - mediterranean, chinese and indian. There is also a payable stonegrill restaurant, which was absolutely great and I really recommend a visit. In the day time there is a snack bar by the main pool, that served fries, burgers, chicken and salad, which was OK. There was also a BBQ/cakes snack bar by the main entrance/restaurant. Ice cream was only available 11 - 4, and was small ice cream lollys. The kids enjoyed them despite the lack of choice.

Pools

Pools were very clean, warm, spacious with plenty of sunbeds and shade. Of course there was the usual issue of reserving beds at silly hours, but we never had a problem of getting beds somewhere. The sunbeds were really comfortable, and the pool areas an absolute delight visually. There were 2 slides in to the main pool, a shallow beach area and a swim-up bar. We didn't visit the quiet pool so cannot comment on that. The splash pool for the kids is OK (not as good as Cyprus) but our kids have gone pas that kind of thing anyway. There was waiter service around the pool but it was quicker to go yourself.

Activities

There are vaious activities all day if you are in to that kind of thing. The First Choice team - whether they be entertainers, kid's club or reps - are great. Special kudos to Shep and Smithy on the entertainment team. Shep puts so much energy in his work, and Smithy is just a good laugh, especially in the adults only bar. Our kids went to Kids Club once or twice a day, and loved it. Nicky and Annie were their favourites. We first met Nicky last year in Cyprus, and she remembered the kids. The sign-in/sign-out process is really secure, and we felt totally relaxed leaving them there. They had a different activity at each session, and also had various 'parties' which were payeble (£5 each) where the kids got additional sweets and stuff.

Spa

The Spa people pester you around the ppol so be warned! I went for 3 massages. Once was excellant, the other 2 were mediocre. It might just be me, but I really do not like sharing a room with someone I don't know for a massage, and find it difficult to relax when people are coming and going.

Cleanliness & hygiene

The whole hotel and grounds were spotless. The hotel has recently had a huge kick thanks to the TV program watchdog - and all credit to them, they have sorted it all out. There was no evidence of the issues highlighted on the program. We did hear of a few tummy upsets, but it all seemed to be over in 24 hours.

Trips

We did the quad biking (amazing fun) and all day cruise/snorkeling (with Fun 'N Sun), both booked through Falcon. These trips were almost half the price of the First Choice trips and I recommend them both. The guys at Falcon were helpful, but not over pushy (they rely on Trip Advisor for their reputation, and understand the Brits don't like hassling) - definitely visit these guys before you book any trips. They have a little shop - turn right out of the hotel and it is 2 minutes walk away. Ask for Maximus!

Sharm El Sheik

If you like getting out of the hotel for a walk and few drinks, Sharm may not be the place for you. It is not a pretty resort. Every other 'hotel' is an abandoned building site. All equipment and materials have been taken away, leaving many ugly, concrete shells of buildings which are waiting for the economic situation to get better. Also, even though they are friendly, the traders pester the life out of you. We also found it a bit discncerting that security on the gate of the hotel asked your room number and where you were going.....!
Summary

Excellent family holiday. Great, friendly staff. Right on the beach. Clean, beautiful grounds and hotel. Holiday Village as a concept is brilliant too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,046
    1,478
    492
    188
    104
See reviews for
3,523
1,675
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,834)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our 2nd visit and had a wonderful time again. Oct is better for heat wise especially for children. Our last visit was June and the perspiration rolled off you in the pool. The resort is clean and well looked after and the staff excellent- kind and friendly. The rooms are spacious with a huge walk in shower. cleaned everyday with 2 large bottles of water on each visit. You can request more - just ring reception and its there. Any problems then reception are really efficient and soon have it sorted.
We were in Block 5 between dining room and pools and it was great.Play area right outside but beware of mozzies later in the evening.
Entertainment great and kids were made to feel special by all.
The kids clubs and staff are tremendous and my daughters made lots of friends and tried many new things.(they are 9 and 5)
Carolyn the swim teacher is the best-my 5 year old can now swim without armbands ,dive in and swim on her back-amazing to say she was scared of jumping in even with armbands on before our holiday.
We loved the setting for this holiday village and had no problems with sunbeds ever. The beach is corally sand and shoes for wading into sea a must-but cheap to buy there. Snorkles cheap and sometimes you can find these in First Choice customer room. They have many things left by holiday makers so check there before buying.
The staff are really worth there weight in gold and if you tip them once they never forget 10 EP equal to £1.
The food was varied and tasty. We had no stomach upsets either on our last visit or this.
We will definately be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We returned on 21st October I want to say that this was our first holiday abroad. I only have good things to say about our holiday. It was spotless. The pools were tested throughout the day. The food was varied and the staff amazing. They put up with so much. I was ashamed of how some people behaved. One family stood out with even the kids clicking their fingers at the restaurant staff. If I could point out several staff. sayed the waiter what a worker. wahid our housekeeper what a star. Our room was spotless and he made the most beautiful towell art. If we needed anything it was only a phone call away. I would recommend this holiday village to anyone.

Room Tip: Up grade your rooms block 8 is the best air con is noisy but after a while you tune it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a week in two rooms. One was a kids den which is more like a cupboard and had none of the facilities specified when booking. The bathrooms were dirty and there were cockroaches along the corridors. Three out of five of us had sickness and diarrhoea and one has come back with an ear infection. The hotel is full of chavvy Brits and the entertainment provided is terrible. All in all not a four star hotel in the slightest. On the positive side the Egyptians were friendly and helpful and the Mediterranean restaurant was worth paying for to avoid the scrum of the main restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cazzarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was there with my Mum and Dad, we arrived at the hotel with a glass of fresh orange juice and a smile which made us just rite at home. The staff were the stars of this Holiday village, they were all so helpful and could do anything for you and this is ever so helpful when your on holidays. The bedroom we were in had a double bed and a door which led you into my single bed with coach, the beds were really comfy and clean. The bathroom was immaculate with a shower/bath, which was fitted out with marble tiles. The food at the village was beautiful with a wide variety, if you got bored of the main buffet you could of eat at the Seafood, Grill, oriental or Indian restraints which had really tasty meals. The was a wide verity of pools to select from which suited all age groups, old and young.There is a linkage to the beach which takes you two minutes away from the village (basically the village and beach is one) Overall the village was really enjoyable and as i said before and will say again the staff were A*.

Thank you ever so much

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms with the swim up pool not needed but it means you have your own pool ! No figh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wackyoworld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights here and had seen the Watchdog programme. I must have been on Trip Adviser twice a day after that seeing what people had to say! We went as a family of four (2 kids 12 & 8) and my dad who has mobility issues. Had 2 rooms in block 14 which is furthest away but for us was fine. Quiet of a night and no-one walking past on their way to from the restaurants or bars. Apparently they are having a refurb this year. We all had a lovely time. We found most of the staff to be extremely friendly and they always said "hello and how are you?" (That doesn't mean the rest of them are miserable it's just the way people are - some are more outgoing then others!. We did tip our cleaner and the bar staff as they work so hard and the bar staff always knew our drinks and if he saw my husband making his way to the bar would come over and tell him to sit down and he would bring the drinks.

The food was brilliant. I cannot believe people have found it difficult to find things they like. From breakfast with cereals, croissants all sorts of pastries to buffet items and an egg station, lunch with grilled meats and lovely salads and then the evening it was all delicious. In the main restaurant (which we tended to go to after the main rush as our kids are now older) there was always plainer foods like pasta (plus a pasta station) chips, things like shepherds pie, cauliflower cheese etc etc. Somewhere you can get omelettes every night as well as specials such as pizza, fajitas, egyptian buffet etc etc. I never had anything that was undercooked and when I had the chicken one night you could see all of it had been tested to make sure it was cooked through. We tried most things and it was all piping hot. I loved the fresh grilled prawns they were huge and cooked in front of you and were amazing. As for desserts - well I've never seen so many cakes etc. The Rep had said at the welcome meeting that all the salads/fruits are washed in mineral water and that all the ice and the water stations are mineral water. My husband suffered a bad tummy for a couple of days but the rest of us were all fine. I've had friends go to different hotels and still have "Egyptian tummy" so I really don't think the fault is with the hotel. There are plenty of hand sanitizers around (plus we took our own) and I didn't have a problem with the cleanliness. I agree some of the other guests don't help with hygiene (and this wasn't necessarily the type of people that others have commented on - although we did see plenty of them!). Kids helping themselves and spilling food on the floors, one woman trying the soup from the ladle and a man picking up all the different loaves of bread using his hands (when there are tongs and napkins to use) made me cringe. I tended to get my son's dinner for him or went with him to make sure he used the tongs or didn't pick things up and put them back down. At the end of the day kids are kids and if you let them they will do it. We tried all the ala carte restaurants and enjoyed them all. We also paid and used the Stonegrill which was a nice experience not overpriced and we also went to the beach fish restaurant where you just pay for your fish. Nice to have waiter service at these instead of getting it yourself but you see how hard the staff work as the person that serves drinks during the day at the beach is still working in the restaurant that evening.

We used the pools but mainly went to the beach as my son loved looking for crabs and the water was shallow so he could splash about. No issues with the pools, they were clean and we always managed to get 5 sunbeds and weren't up at the crack of dawn to put towels down. Loved Bobby the camel and all the beach staff. The sunbeds on the beach were great - swinging double sunbeds. Said adults only but it was so quiet on the beach it wasn't an issue.

Met some lovely people and both the kids made friends. The 8yr old went to kids club a couple of times but mainly he was happy with us on the beach or at the splash pool.

The only thing I wasn't prepared for was the sun sets early and it's dark by 5.30pm. But it meant you got a nice period before dinner where we would either sit on the terraces and have a coffee/drink or go back to our room and watch a film that was on whilst getting ready for dinner.

If we had to look for negatives it would be:

beer wasn't up to much
evening entertainment was a bit "Butlins" but thought the girls were ok (plus our son loved i5Live)
places to get ice cream or a decent coffee from are a bit few and far between
didn't like it outside much when it was dark and didn't feel that comfortable

All in all I would go back - some people we met said it was their 3rd or 4th time and they wouldn't go back again now. We've never been to the same hotel twice but would definitely consider going here again if we were to come back to Sharm. It's got everything we need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

arrived on 10th october for 1 week. This was our 3rd time and wont be the last! we had a swim up room in block 9 for the 2nd time and i would say block 9 is far the best out of all the swim up rooms. We have never been ill once out of 3 visits and think the illnesses are either a bug caught off someone or slight exaggeration as i was told by one person that they had been really ill the previous day and yet was sitting eating a huge plate of food anf drinking beer, an amazing recovery! The staff are amazing and the resort is kept so clean. The food is very hot and fresh and plenty of choice. Im not a fan of going back to places for a holiday bit this place is an exception.met some fab people, best holiday so far

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon197240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
11.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#20 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#52 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,958 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Holiday Village

Property: Coral Sea Holiday Village
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#16 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the unsurpassed panoramic views of the Red Sea, Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort presents a comprehensive under-one-roof concept that meets the need of every discerning leisure traveler. This 5-star resort houses: 484 elegant guest rooms with modern amenities, superbly-designed facilities and 13 exciting dining and lifestyle choices for a multi-dimensional experience. It is our privilege to enchant our guests with courteous and attentive service that is the hallmark of Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort; we deliver only the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Holiday Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing