We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Choice Holiday Village Red Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Ranked #24 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First Choice Holiday Village Red Sea”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our second trip to Sharm, but the first time at Coral Sea Holiday Village, and we were not disappointed.
The complex is huge, and we were situated in Block 14 which is fair walk to the beach or main pool. The room was great, very large with one enormous super king bed (although mattress seemed to be made of concrete), and two singles for our children aged 12 and 6. Our air-conditioning unit packed up on our first night, but was fixed within two hours of reporting the fault.
The food was very good - breakfast juices a bit naff, but fresh pastries and croissants available as well as cereals and fruit salad. There was a chef available for eggs should you want that. Lunches were nice - fresh pizza and toasties made to order while you wait. The ubiquitous chips were available always, but give these a swerve and try the Egyptian food - it was lovely (our 6 year old daughter loved the beef stew!).
The staff were faultless, polite and VERY hardworking.
The negatives? The sunbed reservations at the main pool. We are early risers, and were often enjoying the early morning sun while copious amounts of sunbeds were "reserved" with no occupants...sometimes not until late morning. The hotel was filled to capacity at Easter, and there seemed to not be enough beds to cater for the clientele. There was a vague threat by First Choice to remove towels from beds not occupied at 8am, but this never came into fruition. It is a great shame that this behaviour is necessary - particularly if you have a 20 minute walk to the pool from your room.
We have read negative reports on TA regarding a holiday camp atomosphere. We never felt like the entertainment was forced upon us, it was there if you wanted it...we didn't.
We would like to return to HV, but fancied the idea of a swim up room - no scramble for sunbeds! My husband enquired on checking out, and the hotel staff said the rooms could accomodate four, however First Choice state max occupancy is three. So, what is the answer - two rooms at an inflated cost and a holiday spent apart (no guarantee of interconnecting doors)?
We cannot comment on kids clubs - our children weren't interested. Spa was lovely - we had a his n hers Cleopatra massage...would recommend! Watch out for the Spa hard sell poolside though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank welovebarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,046
    1,478
    492
    188
    104
See reviews for
3,522
1,676
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,834)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great Flight and on time with no issues

The arrival process was easy and again no issues, we got our passports stamped even though we did not want Visa's for trips we still had to get our passports stamped to say "no Visa required."

Normally when we arrive we go straight to Passport Control which is on the right hand side of the building and go straight through for the cases but this does seem to have changed, as there were people guiding you towards the right areas.

Transport again to the HV was straight forward and so was check in, there was a staff member waiting to put on your All Inclusive bracelet and he was asking if you had been before as you do get a different colour, people cottoned onto this and started saying that they had been before, thinking that they would get something out of it but when you get to the reception to check in fully it is on there system that you are a frequent guest so they are not daft, people was then sent to the back of the queue to get the right colour band which served them right.

We had payed for a swim up room which we was in Block 7 which was lovely and quiet.

If your not familiar with the HV it is worth reading lots of reviews about the rooms that people book to see what part of the HV may best suit you as some areas are nosier than others and also some blocks are a good 10 minute walk from the main pool so like my mum who is 60 years old and can get out of breath it is a long treck in the heat.

The swim up rooms that seem to have the sun all day are blocks 13, our block 7 had the sun until about 330pm then we lost it and had to move to either the beach or the quiet pool.

The room was massive with a walk in wardrobe and an equally massive clean bathroom, Tea and Coffee making facilities that was filled up every day and plenty of water left to keep us going.

The cleaner of our block was a guy called Abdul and he was very attentive and when we asked for more sugar or creamer for the hot drinks he was there straight away.

I also requested an Ironing Board for our room which was loaned to us for the week at no extra cost, this was really handy as I do like to iron my clothes properly and not have to put a towel over my case.

The food was varied and also fresh and hot, the main restaurant is busy but if you can there is the Adult only breakfast are which is in the Al A Carte building near the main pool.

The Al A Carte restaurants being the Sari (Indian) Bamboo (Chinese) the Mediterranean the La Mar (Sea Food) and the Stone Grill (Steak) are all really nice and it does get you away from the hussle and bustle of the main area.

These are all part of your all Inclusive except the La Mar
And the Stone grill which are extra.

We did not try the La Mar or the Stone Grill and you do have to book in at least 48 hours before you want to go, unless it is not busy then they may get you in the same night.

The only complaint about the Mediterranean was that at night they have the Air Conditioning on and it was cold so once we had eaten we left, the manager of the Med asked why we was not staying for our Dessert and when we explained he was fine about it and explained that it is at a set temperature but he will pass on our small complaint to the Hotel Manager.


As we was returning guests we did get a welcome back pack on checking in which entitled us to a 4th voucher for the Al A Carte’s so we did the 3 main Al A Cartes and chose to go back to the Indian (Sari) twice as this did seemed to be the nicest of the 3, well to us anyway.

Also in the Welcome Back Pack was a Free Photo with the Hotel Photographer, Free Manicure, Free Massage in the Spa, 50% discount voucher to keep the room on and a Fruit platter delivered to our room.


The weather was very warm mid 30’s every day and with a little wind to cool us down it was easy to get burnt which my son did, after buying some Aloe Vera from the Pharmacy outside the Hotel he was fine.

The Pharmacist was very helpful and was not pushy about buying anything.

The Aloe Vera was £50 Egyptian Pound which is about a fiver so not bad really.

Outside the hotel within 5 minutes walk , if you go right is MacDonald’s, KFC and a couple of restaurants and if you go left there is an English Pub called the Place To Be.

The place to be seemed to be newly opened and I did not try it but I heard people around the pool say that they had been for a drink and the English Owners was lovely.

There is also the Three Crowns further down which I have been too and does great food and a good English breaky if you want it.

The First Choice staff was great with my son who is 10 and kept him entertained if he wanted to join in.

The FC guys he met was Alicia, Charlotte, Richie among others and they are there until November working really hard in the heat all day keeping the kids entertained and at night till 11pm for some of the older clubs.

The main pool area was kept clean and we had no bother with the Towel’s running low and also never struggled to get a bed, the beach is massive so if it is busy there is the quite pool and the beach, no one will go without.

The gardens are kept immaculate and the entire hotel was clean and presentable, all in all a lovely friendly place to be.

I will return again and can’t wait.

Cheers FC and HV for our holiday. xx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cassidyclan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We returned back from the Holiday Village on the 3rd of April, having spent two fantastic weeks there. Our first visit , but certaintly not our last. I have rebooked to go back next year.
My husband and I have been to Egypt 8 times, and this hotel ticks all the boxes,excellent facilities,food, entertainment, and superb service.We travelled with our twin children, aged 18 months.Again the hotel was geared up for all their needs.
We booked a kids den in Block 10, very quiet, and near reception.Room very spacious clean and extremely comfortable.Superb housekeeper called Maumood who kept our room spotless, and kept us topped up with bottled water.Our room faced onto the Quiet Pool, this was busy at the time of our visit as it was the only heated pool, but this did not bother us,and we always managed to get a sunbed.The pool was still a little chilly, but my children could still go in for a swim.The brochure stated that under three's get free swimming lessons , but this was not the case and you have to pay, however it was only a small fee.
We spent the majority of our time on the beach, again plently of sunbeds and the service was exceptional Hermina kept our glasses topped up, and we didn't have to move!The children played on the volleyball pitch, on the beach it was like a giant sandpit and safe.We went in the sea from the pier and the water was luke warm and very clear. You could see the odd fish.
My children went to the kids club for a couple of hours a day, this enabled them to get out of the sun and play with different toys, also it gave me and my husband some quality time to recharge the batteries.I would strongly urge you to prebook your creche sessions as places get booked up quickly, as least this way you are reserved a place.They also have play time with parents in the creche everry day 5-6pm, we never went as we used to go for a swim, but some parents said it was good. They also offer night creche two nights a week,I cannot comment on this service as we never used it.
We went on Bobby the camel, and loved it. The bloke who owns him was very polite, he said hello every day and would even allow photo's for free.
We also visited Simons Herb shop, on the beach. We bought some medicines for my husband and son, and they worked a treat, we also bought some scents for the room to stop mosquitos, they worked. We never got bit once.Mohammed served us and was very helpful.
The food in the buffet restaurant was fresh and plentiful. The fresh breads and cakes were lovely.There was plently to choose from, even for the fussy eaters.They also cater for those guests with dietary and wheat free alergies.They had an Egyptian Corner which was delightful.The service was good. My only advice is that the restaurant is closed for half an hour during the evening, try to avoid this time and the period after as a queue develops.We visited all three A La Cartes and the service was excceptional. The Med was by far our favourite.We also visited La Mer, which cost £15 pp.This was also superb, the mixed seafood platter was fantastic, and they were child friendly.
We only did one trip and this was with Falcon Travel, out of the hotel, and take a right, about 2 min walk, we did a boat trip, only £10 each and no charge for the children. Excellent trip and well recommended by other guests.
We frequently went out of the hotel to go shopping everyone was pleasant no hassle if you are polite.I visited the designer hangbag shop again 4 shops down from Falcon,made a few it purchases!
I viisted the Hotel Spa ,it was superb, paid for a salt scrub, hours massage at beginning of stay and then a body oil and massage on my last day, total cost £75. Good Value, will definaitely be booking next year, fantastic relax. No point haggling with the prices, no budge. They also do a good deal l on 4 massages for the price of 3.
The entertainment was geared up for the kids and was good, a bit repetitive after 14 days. My children loved it though. A childrens disco at the beginning wouldn't have gone a miss, as the show starts fairly late.The drinks service again was excellent.
The flight was slightly cramped and there was no in flight entertainment. I would recommend you take plently of toys, crayons for the children. A number of families took dvd's which kept their children accompied.No problems in the Airport, smooth walk through customs and only 15 mins to the hotel, swift check-in and a refreshing drink on arrival.

All in all, had a fantastic holiday and would definiately recommend. Our children loved every minute and me and my husband had the refreshing break that we needed.Roll on next March!!

Room Tip: Block Ten was quiet If in a couple would book a swim up room they looked fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank helensmithLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our first and overriding impression and experience was that this is a big resort....(BTW be advised that this resort is called Red Sea Holiday Village in the First Choice brochures.....)
and unless you're very organised you can spend an awful lot of time traipsing from one part of the resort to another between kids clubs, lunches, activities etc....

The staff (as anyone who has been to Egypt) are always lovely and our kids made friends with many and are youngest was even given an honorary name "Ali" and by the end of our stay all the staff were calling him by his Egyptian name.

The hotel itself has seen better days and is need of sprucing up. The air-con in our room was deafening. And the general finish in the rooms and exterior requires maintenance. That said the level of cleaning was good.

Be advised that if your near the front of the resort towards the beach you will be kept awake by the beach clubs that blast out dance music till the early hours.

The resort is very crowded. We went when the state schools were supposed to be back after Easter so we expected it to be quieter. Clearly many people had taken their kids out of school. That meant that buffet breakfasts and lunches were often a free for all. we also found a lot of the children to be not the best behaved.

We based ourselves at the Quiet Pool which turned out to be our base for two weeks. Ayman and Yehia tended to towels and beds and became great friends with the kids. The bar guys were a mixed bunch but we found that giving them a 50 Egyptian tip meant they tended to you better.

If you are based at the Quiet Pool though you will find you have limited down time as all Kids Clubs are based by the beach so its a 15 minute round trip. The kids clubs were useful for the 4 year old (to get out of the sun and break up his day) but our 8 and 10 year olds found the activities a bit boring so didn't use them that much.

Food is very mixed. Egypt overall struggles to source good produce and the buffet meals are pretty poor. we only had dinner there once (the first night) and then proceeded to use all our al a carte vouchers and pay for dinner at LaMer (see food) and Stonegrill restaurants.

Grabbing lunch at the beach bar turned out to be useful and the lunch in the Meditarraneo was also better. It has limited choice and no alcohol so tended to be quiet.....

Trips were mixed. SCUBA DIVING WITH AQUARIUS WAS AMAZING and something we won't forget. A fantastic day and good value. Seek out Barry from Aquarius and book it up immediately. They have someone at the quiet pool giving free introduction to using the scuba equipment.

DO NOT GO ON THE SINAI BY STARLIGHT. This is billed as an opportunity t learn about the Bedouin but it is just an opportunity to be asked for money by the Bedouin! we also learnt a lot about the Bedouin form the Egyptians and they are not a pleasant people. It was a terrible day, sitting around a derelict campsite, swarmed in flies. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

DO VISIT THE TENT on site on the beach. Joe the owner and Mushti became great friends and we spent many nights smoking shishas, drinking tea and playing cards. Ask Mushti to show you some of his tricks. These are great guys and as no alcohol is served and is not part of the all-inclusive it stays quiet.

we did have a nice time, the kids loved it but this is a middle of the road hotel. Its nothing special but the staff make it a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

just had a great holiday at coral sea holiday village great place for all ages plenty to do for the kids the pools are great the food was good plenty of resturants all the staff are wonderfull and very helpfull this is our third visit and will be back again the hotel is laid out beautiful well kept gardens i cant praise it enough

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcguill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were treated really well, with a warm wellcome and smile'ing faces . check in was very quick and were shown to our room after we had a refreshing drink. the room was clean comfortable and spacous with a flat screen tv mini bar and a lovely view.we were in block 14 which was nice and quiet but was in easy reach of the pools and beach . all the a'la carte restaurants were fantastic .the stone grill was really good 1 of the best steaks i've had in a long time, the main restaurant has something for everyone . All the staff are are polite and will go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible a special thankyou to hossam the front manager for make;ing us feel so wellcome and to mamoud the waiter who never let our glasses get empty . All in all a holiday to remember . Can;t wait to go back in october .

Room Tip: Block 14 is is nice and peacefull and near toeverything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank helenjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just arrived back from the Red Sea Holiday Village and had a great time.
Very relaxing holiday (just what we wanted) but looked like the kids there were having a great time.
We would happily bring our grandchildren to this resort.
Stayed in block 10 which seemed about the best location but it is individual taste. If you want to be further out from the main reception area there is plenty of blocks a few minutes walk away.
Swim up room areas looked really nice if you want your own pool on the patio.
Food we found to be okay but not fantastic. We always found something we liked to eat. They are trying to feeding a 1000 people at once so we dont expect 5 star food, and think of the price paid. If you eat a bit later you can have a quiter time but we never had to queue (may be different at busier times) pools and beach where great.
Hotel very clean and staff very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Block 10 suited us right above reception and bars but no noise that bothered us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewhilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
11.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,797 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#34 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#53 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,023 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,394 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Holiday Village

Property: Coral Sea Holiday Village
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#16 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the unsurpassed panoramic views of the Red Sea, Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort presents a comprehensive under-one-roof concept that meets the need of every discerning leisure traveler. This 5-star resort houses: 484 elegant guest rooms with modern amenities, superbly-designed facilities and 13 exciting dining and lifestyle choices for a multi-dimensional experience. It is our privilege to enchant our guests with courteous and attentive service that is the hallmark of Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort; we deliver only the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Coral Sea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Holiday Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing