We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Ranked #79 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed here for a week with our 3 daughters aged 13, 11 & 4. We booked the hotel through Thomson, but flights separately as we wanted to fly from Edinburgh. This meant we had to book our own transfers which turned out to be a disaster.

We booked through Alpha rooms, but the taxi wasn't at the airport as promised. After several phonecalls & an hour later we were picked up & dropped at the wrong hotel (the reef oasis beach resort - which doesn't look nearly as nice).

Anyway.... once we got to the reef oasis blue bay, eventually, we were pleased to be allocated a family room - only meant for 4. We got it on the condition that our 4 year old would sleep in a cot! (she's small anyway and thought it was fun!) Its 2 adjoining rooms each with a bathroom. We had originally booked 2 separate rooms but it would have meant splitting us all up anyway, so we were pleased.

The lobby area is really beautiful, and everywhere was constantly being cleaned.

The hotel has its own kids club, which we used the first day, however, after putting 4 year old in, luckily we spotted her paddling in the pool 20 mins later!! She wasn't put back in there again. Also they had a pool within the kids club which I didn't think was a good idea.

Luckily we then found the Thomson's kids club and it was an entirely different story there - security was their priority and both 4 year old & 11 year old enjoyed it greatly. even although there were only a couple of other kids.

We found we were in the minority being English speakers. Most of the guests were eastern European and the entertainment was definately geared towards them. We found it pretty dire really though the kids enjoyed it.

meals were fine and we did use the a la carte restaurants. The French one served great steaks, though we were shocked at the bill - it was almost £100 for me, hubby & 14 year old!!

The snorkelling is fabulous on the beach and we didn't actually leave the hotel the entire week. There are several shops (though overpriced) within the hotel. It was worth it to keep an eye on our girls who have a habit of wandering off in shops and didn't want to risk it here.

The only bad thing about the whole week was when my husband was in the loos near the pool on the 2nd last night and there was a spaced out Russian snorting cocaine - you could get that anywhere I suppose. They were a pretty weird bunch!

We didn't use the spa, so cant comment on that.

We drank from luchtime til night time and didn't feel much effect, so I am guessing the drinks were watered down!

We used all the pools apart from the adult only one. Our favourite was the infinity pool. There were great sunsets to be seen from here about 5-6pm each night.

I could go on & on, but I can recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,076)
There are newer reviews for Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,584 - 4,590 of 6,076 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2009

From the moment we entered the hotel grounds, we knew this was going to be an amazing holiday. The paths were gently lit with lanterns, and the views were amazing. We had golf buggies take us to our room, as the resort is quite big (but spacious). The staff were amazing, and could not do enough for you.

The food was superb, everything was washed in bottled water, no problems what so ever. The Al A Carte restaurants are a must.

The beach was great, and perfect for snorkling/scuba diving. I would not recommend it for little ones, as there is very small sandy space to paddle. There are available water sports from the private beach, eg. banana boats, and duo floats, these are fab.

We booked our holiday through Thomson, and the rep, Che was very helpful.

The rooms were amazingly clean, and kept nice through out our stay.

Gentlemen watch out, they love the ladies! Especially if you go into town. We did not go and see many sites, as only there for a week. We enjoyed ourselves so much, and the time just flew by. The complex has alot to offer, and the shops are very useful, and nice to have.

We will definatly go back, as we were looked after so well. We have recommend this hotel to friends, and will carry on doing so.I have been to some amazing hotels, all over, and this was one of the best!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Amiedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I agree with Jimmypeas review below
The Hotel is run very efficiently.There is an abundance of staff.
We arrived at night . Our bags were taken off the coach and placed in a holding area.
We went to check in and a lot of prep work had already been done-We were handed our keys and returned to our bags and then we were whisked off to our rooms on a golf buggy,
Time from getting off the coach to being in our rooms? 10 minutes. I was very impressed with that.
Our room was oversized comfortable and spotlessly clean.
The food in the Oceano Beach restaurant is exceptional It is just a few steps off the beach a nice way to spend lunch after a strenuos morning sunbathing/snorkelling.
There was always something different and appetising - delicious pizzas made a nice suprise. Refreshing salads and delicious breads baked in a variety of ways.The food is not served piping hot-Mediterranean/Middle Eastern food rarely is but it is help yourself from heated servers.


There are one or two poolside/beachside snack bars where there is readily available burgers and chips .

The buffet evening meal in the Petite Restaurant was fine-always a varied choice well cooked and some of the cakes pastries and desserts were top class.
For anyone traveling with young children I would say that there would be something suitable for them at every meal time.
The standard of hygiene is high with the Head Chef making himself visible most meal times. There were three of us in our party and we ate a wide variety of dishes and didn't experience any upset stomachs and we didn't hear of any reports from other guests either.
Sky Sports available in the Bistro Bar and also in your room( Channel 29)
So it should be possible to see most televised Premier League Football matches

Like other reviewers below I too am mystified at booking an 'all inclusive holiday' and finding that other facilities are available for a 'nominal charge'.
In a five star hotel it is normal for fresh orange juice to be available at breakfast and is 2 Euros for a freshly squeezed glass of orange juice a 'nominal charge'?

Likewise in the Italian and Fish Restaurants there is a hefty supplement for certain dishes. Most All inclusives that I have been to have the more intimate a la carte restaurants on site but limit you to say one visit per week/stay but I don't recall having to pay extra.
The local drinks are of a very poor quality. The beer is acceptable but the spirits are not.
Whilst I don't expect that Egyptian distillers have yet to reach the same level of skill as their Scottish colleagues I don't think that whisky with coconut overtones is going to make a big impact any time soon.
The cocktail list for a five star hotel was unimaginative and limited and relied upon the use of syrupy flavourings

Yes international spirits are available but at 5-7 pounds a nip!

Some spirits are priced by the bottle e.g Martini= 160 Euros and Scotch Whisky 230 Euros.

However that is the only area where significant improvement needs to be made and soon.


The snorkelling is fantastic-as good as it could possibly be.
You go down to the beach to find a floating pontoon which overreaches the coral reef. You enter the water and you are immediately into a multicoloured array of fish-brilliant.

Baggage allowance permitting, take your own mask and snorkel
You don't really need fins unless you intend to go in twice a day.
Scuba diving is available at the hotel which has it's own dive club.
There is a free introductory dive off the pontoon
The two day PADI course is available -about 280 Euros as well as other more advanced courses/open water dives with guides.

The Reef Oasis Blue Bay is located a short drive out from the activity of Nama Bay and it is no problem getting in and out of Nama Bay as the Hotel lay on a shuttle bus several times a day for about 3 pounds for a return trip. There is a trip at lunchtime which goes for free.

The complex is spread over a large area but there is a beach bus which makes regular circuits and the drivers are very accommodating and will stop and insist that you get aboard and take you down to the beach. They will take you to your room on the way back from the beach too-they are great.
There are several pools located throughout the complex and such is the size of the place that during our week's stay there were places that we never visited-we went on the beach swimming snorkelling everyday and loved it.

It is a great place to sit read and chill out getting a tan for a week.
If you want more than that then there are trips out to Cairo, Luxor. Petra and quad biking etc,

I would return to this hotel most definitely for a no hassle relaxing weeks break .

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank leuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Travelled here on the 4th January for two weeks with wife and three children (4, 2 and 7 months).

Travelled on a First Choice plane in both directions although we booked through Thomson as this was the only UK agent we could find for this hotel. Leg room was cramped. We booked our seats together and had three on one side of the aisle and a single seat on the other - as there were no spare emergency masks on the aisle side with the single seat I could not have any of the children with me and therefore for most of the flight my seat was empty and five of us were crammed into three seats to try and keep the children amused. Would have been better to have two sets of two seats.

Hotel check in was ok. Rooms are similar to rooms we have stayed in at 4* Hiltons in the UK so were perfectly adequate but not The Ritz (anyway thinking they would be is being unrealistic I think). Rooms very clean and were cleaned thoroughly daily.

The complex is large and would take about 20 mins to walk from the beach to the furthest rooms at a reasonable pace although there is a bus that goes around - the lift down to the beach still does not work.

We were there at a quiet time I would think but walking around during the day you would see more staff than guests. The grounds are beautiful.

The reef and sea life is awesome. The private beach is watched over throughout the day and anyone standing on or touching the coral is immediately directed away. I believe some hotels with private beaches have allowed the coral to be stood on and destroyed and hence there is no fish.

The toddler and the infinity main pool were hot enough to use but the other pools (including the leisure pools with slides) we condsidered to be too cold although others used them. This was the only real dissapointment of the holiday.

There is a mixed clientele with Russians (who make the Germans appear warm and cuddly), Germans, Dutch (who are lovely), Spanish, Italian, UK and people from the middle east with no nationality having anywhere near a majority.

The animation team team are also multi-national although all speak English. They made a real fuss of our children.

The staff were by and large exceptional. Very friendly and warm. All the waiters tend to stick in designated areas, when you find one that you get on with if you always sit in his area then they will treat you really well. I also left a small (£1/£2) tip every other day wether this helped I am unsure but having worked in the service industry myself I know I always looked after those who tipped first!

The food did not make any of us sick - which I would have settled for before we arrived! However, the food in the main restaurant was good in our experience with always a varied selection - although always buffet. The Italian was very limited in choice and what we did eat was nothing exceptional with the Tiramisu being a particular disappoint for me (especially as it was something that had to be paid for). The fish restaurant was good. The French restaurant was closed.

Will be returning in 14 months subject to recession - would probably try to book direct with the hotel and arrange flights ourselves.

Geezer / Valentina - if you read this, the kids miss you!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at the Reef Oasis Blue Bay for the first 2 weeks in December, and we were really disappointed.
The food in the La petite and the Oceano was always cold, whatever time of day we ate, and the service in the La petite was awful, at times it was a challenge to get served with a second cup of coffee at breakfast time. The only decent food served in these two restaraunts were the bread and cakes. All the pool bars served greasy burgers or hot dogs at lunch time, hardly 5*. To give credit were its due, the food and service in the Italian and Fish restaraunts was a whole lot better.
Our room was comfortable, but some days it wasnt cleaned until after 5pm, the water in the shower didnt drain away, and sometimes we only got one big towel to share.
The snorkelling from the jetty on the beach was really good, and the heated pool was okay, but the other pools were empty because they were freezing.
The gardens at this hotel are stunning and really well kept.
Remember to pack all your toilitries because the Chemist charges four times UK prices for basics.
We were also charged £90.00 for 3 short phone calls to the UK, when we checked out.
This was the first time we visited Egypt, and we wont be going again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamespaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Reef Oasis for a relaxing week in Jan.

The Hotel and rooms were lovely and kept to an excellent standard of cleanliness. Always lots of people around cleaning the grounds though out the day.

Out of peak season is probably the best time to go and not too busy at the restaurants etc. The temp was lovely at around 24 most days. However it was quite chilly at night.

As it was slightly quieter in the Hotel the waiters came round the loungers frequently offering drinks and did not expect any tips for this(however beware the beer seemed to be alcohol free!)

There was an issue on the last day with the late check out where we were told conflicting info on the charge for this and our key card was re programmed meaning we had to go all the way back to the reception to chase this up (some of the rooms are a 10min or more walk away from the reception)

There was an extra charge in some of the restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed the Italian and did not let the extra charges put us off.

I dont think the entertainment was up to much but a lot of people seemed to be playing cards in the bars at nights to keep them occupied.

The snorkelling at the beach was amazing! Lovely colourful fish and the fish were even better than going out on a boat trip.

We met some lovely people (Oscar and florist) you know who you are!

We went to Nama Bay on hotel bus, cost 3 Euros for a return, took you in at 9pm and picked back up at 11pm. 1 word TACKY.
SLEAZY men but you have to go . See for yourself.

Overall a lovely relaxing holiday. Would definetly recommend the Reef Oasis. However the only thing to watch out for is the upset tummys. But it didnt spoil the holiday.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JamesEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Firstly I must say that the Hotel itself it really lovely, couldnt fault the rooms, food (apart from the Oceana a couple of days when everything was cold) and surroundings. My mine gripes is that the entertainment was dire. One night it was a guy with a blanket and cushion over him pretending to be a camel while another guy shouted "Applause Applause". The other thing is the prices of stuff in the Hotel. I made a couple of calls from the room as my mobile broke, each lasting just over 1 minute, the price was £90 !!. They dont tell you that if you spend one minute on the phone they will charge you for 3. if you spend 3 minutes and 1 second on the phone, they charge you for 6. If you complain that they should inform you of this, you just get fobbed off. 4 of us decided to have a drink in the Piano bar one night, a baileys, tia maria, scotch and a brandy (all minute measures) £70 !!. The most annoying thing is that whatever currency you pay in at reception, they will always give you change in a different currency so they can stiff you on the exchange rate. Had it not been for the fact that they rip you off, I would go again, but unfortunately not now.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pammothershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,426 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#43 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,420 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
#51 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#58 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Address: El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $83 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa is one of the most beautiful resorts of Sharm El Sheikh with the magnificent views of the Sinai Mountains hidden amongst the colorful shades of the desert. The Hotel is overlooking the famous Red Sea with clear crystal blue waters and beautiful corals with the most amazing colored tropical fish. Our highly experienced trained staff and Management Team are available 24 hrs with extended knowledge of the resort and qualified to provide our Guests with the most professional and exceptional service. Our Priority is you at all times during the day and night to help make the most of an excellent and enjoyable holiday. We have a wide range of facilities including a 24hr bar serving drinks and snacks, a beautiful Panorama Terrace to capture the most amazing sunset views for those perfect kodak moments to save a lifetime of memories. We have many Swimming pools to meet everyone's tastes, have fun in the sun with the family's at the leisure pool or relax reading a book chilling by our adults pool at the Relax we have it for all ages. Teens hangout room including play stations, games machines, air hockey and billiards or join in the activities with the Animation Team. Treat your self with one of our Royal Tents with complete privacy, waiter service, direct access to the sea for relax time including drinks, fruit for a small additional charge or lounge on your sun bed at the beach at your leisure with 350 m of sand and try our snorkeling from the jetty to spot little Nemo with a trained instructor the choice is yours. If you would like to make your stay extra special we have many other room types to upgrade, our Honeymoon Suite being the most popular choice and highest category. This option is by far the best choice and we can guarantee you won't be disappointed, pure luxury with direct sea view, the moon the stars the sunset all in one. Your very on private double jacuzzi, separate living room, walk in wardrobe, marble bathroom, DVD player with surround sound and wifi with many other benefits included. All for a small supplement. Easy access to the other resort areas to visit during your stay by taxi or shuttle you will be anywhere in a short time to grab your bargains shop till you drop or chill in one of the famous shisha cafes we can direct you. Upload your memorable photos on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram whilst enjoying your holiday with our new extended wifi or Skype your friends at home to show them the wonderful Hotel your staying in now available in various areas of the Hotel free of charge. If you fell active during your stay why not try a discover scuba dive or complete your padi and become a certified diver with our very own dive centre on the beach or get active in our amazing gym and learn all the exercises with a trained and qualified fitness instructor ,. If you prefer to pamper your self relax in our steam room or sauna free of charge. Don't forget to reserve your Ala Carte Restaurants with our Guest Relation Team who are available in the lobby to make your dining experience the most enjoyable one, sample our tasty delicious 4. Course meal with complete tranquility in our La Romantique Restaurant special offers apply. We are truly confident by choosing the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa you will not be disappointed. If you have any further questions or queries we would love to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming our Guests soon. Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing