We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm, needs a bit of work.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Ranked #79 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I’m finding it a little difficult to write this review as in my opinion there was nothing particularly good nor particularly bad about the hotel, if that makes sense?! However here we go….

The pre-arranged airport collection worked and was worth the LE195, although this mysteriously reduced to LE135 on the return journey! On arrival we had a very ‘standard’ check-in with no information given verbally – just the usual wallet with what you need to know. For a hotel professing to be in the Top 5 in Sharm I was a little surprised to receive such a mediocre welcome that was certainly well below the standard of others.

The Executive room (described as a ‘Suite’ by Thomson) was good with plenty of space and lacked nothing. Comfy bed, large wardrobe with hangers, loads of drawers, a dressing table, sofa, aircon, balcony etc etc etc. A tip when using the fridge – leave the cupboard doors open to make it work, otherwise the heat builds up making it useless.

The food in my opinion was slightly disappointing - the choice seemed quite limited and much of it a little bland. I will say however that we did NOT eat in the main Bay View with the themed nights etc, and these were very good according to others. (We chose to eat out a couple of times – avoid the Mexican Bar & Restaurant in Naama Bay – ugh!).

Of particular note was the Kababgi restaurant where we experienced possibly the driest food & worst service ever. The first visit (yes, we went back!) produced a good selection of starters that accompanied being almost completely ignored. The 2nd try resulted in a reduced number of starters and equally poor service. We did query why the food was less and was told ‘it had finished’ due to the time……..one & a half hours before closing. Another couple also complained about the service and were met with a barrage of defensive comments rather than any form of apology.

In complete contrast was our last night meal at Al Dente – the Italian restaurant. In a word, faultless. Fabulous food, great atmosphere with live music and service beyond description from the Manager/Supervisor Ahmed. Despite doing the work of 3 people he smiled throughout, chatted briefly and kept the water, wine & food coming without the merest hint of a delay. If anyone from the hotel reads this – please give this guy another member of staff and ease his workload - he really is a credit to you. Why not have these standards across the whole hotel??

The breakfast is good and the Fishermans Restaurant nice & quiet. The layout for lunch in the Sea Breeze needs attention as it’s a school-dinner-one-line system which causes delays. Individual islands would be far better.

The beach is good although the area reserved for Executive rooms is a bit too far when you need a drink or the loo. The entertainment staff do a great job and are not overbearing when asking for interaction plus their evening shows are actually pretty good!

A warning about the on-site shops: they are VERY expensive – around treble the price of those in town. The guy who sells the newspapers is particularly irritating as he charges as much as possibly can. You can see him thinking of a number as you ask the price, so be prepared to pay a fiver for your daily read. The shops are charged a high rent by the hotel so need to recoup this somehow, and this is via tourists.

Overall I don’t see why this hotel is so expensive (via Thomson) when compared to others. It really doesn’t offer anything outstanding and seems somewhat ‘rough around the edges’. The staff (as usual in Egypt) make the place whilst the plethora of ignorant Russians break the place!

My first trip to Egypt was to the Sofitel in Taba which was less expensive and far better. I cannot help but use that hotel as the benchmark and hope one day that something matches it. Sadly, I doubt the Reef Oasis Blue Bay ever will….

Room Tip: Executive rooms in block 22xx are perfectly situated....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junctiontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

Well it's seems as if the only word I can say is sorry. I deeply apologise that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you hoped to be. The main thing I would like to let you know is that we have a Duty Manager who works 24hrs and can help with any problems. We don't normally have any problems with our mini bars but hopefully this was reported and fixed for you. We also have a Food and Beverage Director who is very interested about your comments and will gladly discuss your concerns about the standard or selection of the food we offer. Unfortunately we can't comment on the shops prices as they are not part of the Hotel, I can say the newspapers are expensive in every hotel as they are imported so best to ignore the news whilst on your holidays.

Thank you once again.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,076)
There are newer reviews for Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,695 - 2,701 of 6,076 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

All in all it was good for all Inc Egypt compared to the 5 other hotels in sharm we have visited.... Absolutely no dicky tummies which is a rarety to Egypt...... Reef great and the water was very calm so average swimmers will enjoy...... Staff in general good with the 2 guys serving the area between the pub and Caribbean bar fantastic... This area along with the bay view area through the Caribbean bar made the holiday for us and was great of a night....... So all in all we were very happy but to be fair for the price we paid we could have saved £250 each and gone elsewhere and ate out the odd nights...... The food in our opinion was only fair in the buffet, the Italian was great, kebabgi outdoor grill not as good as previous reviews suggested, fishrmans was just ok.......... What I didn't find good value was in the fish and Italian restaurants you were given the option of better meat or fish, but in my opinion you weren't paying 'a bit extra' for them you were actually paying FULLY for them....... Example in fishermans mackerel, all inclusive, salmon £25-£30 as I recall, and a piece of steak in fishermans £25-£35...... Tooo expensive and hardly an upgrade..... £10-£15 extra would have been more the mark........ Fancy a cool retreat at lunch time for a buffet lunch, no chance, bay view restaurant buffet shut at dinner, so sweat away in the sea view overlooking the beach. The food at lunch was a big let down, and the burgers, beef sausage and stir fry in the beach bar below got repetitive... At night the buffet has only one carving station and whole chicken one night was the offering, but even if there is a good meat you are offered / given the smallest of pieces and on more than one occasion got a real dead eye if you dare ask for more, felt like Oliver.....:).... So back to the usual buffet tins ...... So overall we struggled all week to find any quality meat unless you paid a
fortune for it. Book the restaurants as soon as you arrive or you will struggle to get in the Italian..... Good all round service and very clean...... The gardens weren't as well kept as previous reviews suggested, looking around loadsa weeds etc..... Don't forget the mozzzy spray of a night..... The beach is good but only thin layer of sand on rock, which really told on the soles of feet, could do with a bit more sand....... Don't intend this to put people off because as
I said for Egypt it's good and with a few more touches here and there
It will be bang on..... It just felt like the hotel is scrimping a bit on quality of food and really should offer a lunch time retreat from the heat for
Lunch......... So if this review helps, that's great...... Enjoy everyone.......

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestofintensions01, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Robb and for your nice review. We are indeed delighted that your visit with us was as enjoyable as It seems. we appreciate your suggestions, for us to improve and service our guests better. We will definitely share your comments with all our team members of which I'm sure they will be equally delighted. Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future. Kind regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Four of us stayed here in early March. The hotel grounds seemed vast at first and the hotel didn't have the initial wow factor of the Sensatori - but it quickly grew on us. The heated pool was lovely, the poolside waiters were efficient and friendly and we never had to carry beach towels around. Booking restaurants was easy and the standard was good; especially the Italian and Kebabgi [no need to book the latter]. The Fisherman served great fish dishes but the buffet starter and desserts were rather disappointing. On our last day we paid extra for the French Restuarant and had an excellent meal - virtually alone!
We found the wine quite good but spirits varied - around the pool the gin tasted like gin but in other bars all the spirits seemed the same and were rather piquant to say the least.
The grounds were lovely and we reckoned no-one would be more than 10 mins walk from the reception, pools and restaurants. There was a frequent hotel bus service but we found the slatted seats so uncomfortable we prefered to walk.
Struggling to find something negative to say, we did think the shower rooms were looking a little tired and dated.
We found it very easy to relax and enjoy our holiday and loved the views from the numerous terraces.
We all agreed we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Susanne,

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you had a relaxing holiday. We are glad you found the staff were efficient and friendly.

We would like to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed at many holiday resorts in my time and this is the only time my wife and I have decided to visit a place twice. Service is excellent, food is excellent and the whole resort is luxury. The only bad things about this place:

1. Our superior room could have done with a face life by still very nice and spacious.
2. The resort has three pools, there is only one heated pool that turns out to be very popular and sometimes difficult getting a sunbed. Other pools are way too cold!
3. Wireless only available in hotel lobby, would be good if available throughout the whole resort.

That's all! Everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandeepmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are pleased you chose to stay at the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa again for your holidays. We also have the wifi in our Oriental Cafe which is also all inclusive for drinks and with comfortable sofas with a tv as well as our Reception area. We are happy overall your stay was relaxing and you rated us excellent.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Date of holiday 22 Feb 2013 14 nights.
So as the title suggests this was our 3rd visit to the ROBB in February and again we were not disappointed.

on arrival at reception we were welcomed back and immediately upgraded to a superior room which was very much appreciated.

It was good to see a number of familiar faces amongst the staff who have an amazing skill of recognising you even without the usual different coloured bands for returning customers a ploy used in the Carribean.

so what do you really want to know?
food
Fantastic choice of food in the main buffet restaurants served in the main hot which is also very varied spices if you wish and very plain if spices are not for you.
The f&b director Henry is always on hand and honestly if you need anything just ask him and he will do everything to deliver including Chicken Nuggets and jelly for our grandson Max but don't tell everyone. Head chef Yianis also deserves special mention.
When it's really busy in the restaurant sometimes the tables are not quite set up but the guys will sort it so don't worry.

Bars
Again the staff are fantastic special mention to Ismial and Mohamid. Beer is quite nice the shorts are a bit strong and local so don't expect a Bombay Saphire.

Animation low key they work very hard and if you want to join in go for it if not you won't be hassled. The entertainment is very low key and finishes outside at 10.30.

The beach is fantastic with loads of sun beds (now with comfy cushions thanks for renewing them) really big umbrellas and good access to the reef via a floating pontoon. The snorkelling is fantastic and safe.

The towel staff and pool attendants do a great job and let's not forget the gardeners and the cleaners who somehow manage to keep toilets on the beach spotless.

As you have gathered we love the place and have already booked for next year.

If you want a holiday in the winter that's only 5 hours or so from the uk with guaranteed weather, great staff, good food, great beach and management who really do care then look no further.

Steven and Maureen Boyd

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Boyd,

I would like to say I am pleased the staff remembered you and welcomed you back to your home again. I'm sorry I didn't meet you as I was in the uk but most definitely next year when you return for your fourth time. It's so nice that you appreciated the hard work from the staff even the gardeners. I will personally pass your comments to the head of departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Firstly and most importantly take mosquito spray!

This is an all inclusive hotel and the food is of good standard although can be hit and miss. The main dining/buffet area serves a wide choice of food mostly of good quality and is consistent although lacked any sort of atmosphere. If the management read this review sort out the lighting, dim the lights and put some candles on the tables!

All the other restaurants require men to wear trousers which isn't detailed in the brochure!

The fish restaurant is nothing special but OK.

The Italian restaurant was excellent the first time we visited but was poor the second time. It is important to note that we had to book 4 days in advance!
The outdoor BBQ restaurant was superb the first time we visited but was awful the second time. We got the distinct impression that a couple of the restaurants were under staffed. The BBQ restaurant served cold food the second time we visited, tables weren't being cleared fast enough and the waiters were arguing with the chefs! ( this was on the 19th March)

Couldn't fault the breakfasts or lunches especially at the Sea Breeze restaurant which had stunning views and excellent service.

IF YOU WANT GOOD SERVICE TIP THE WAITERS IF NOT BE PREPARED TO WAIT (especially by the pool) tip with US Dollars

Other than that the rooms were 4star the pools were excellent although only the infinity pool is heated (the others are cold!) water slides fun although pool cold!

The beach is really nice and the snorkelling and diving excellent.

If you want a sun bed be prepared to be up and out before 8am.

The hotel was occupied by mainly English, Russians and Germans.

The entertainment is poor to say the least.

Room Tip: Stay away from the centre of the hotel where the evening shows are. Closer to reception the better.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunburyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for the feed back. I will certainly pass onto our Food and Beverage Director your comments about the lights and see if we can arrange something, unfortunately reservations are required early and in advance for the Ala Carte Restaurants as we are limited for the number of people each night as we serve 5 course meal which takes time. I will certainly look into the problems which happened with the waiters and chefs. I would like to inform you we don't have service around the pool but of course our bar men are happy to help and assist with drinks but we don't allow them to ask or expect any tips this service is optional and a sign of appreciation. We hope you had a nice holiday and the few problems you encounter didn't stop the disappointment of your stay at the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa.

Thank you
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice BUT i have stayed in better in Sharm (Jazz Mirabelle) I did like the over 18s pool area, the staff are very hard working and very nice as in all Sharm hotels.As i booked all inclusive i expected all inclusive , if you went in the restaurants certain things on the menu you had to pay extra for i have never come across this before on all inclusive so in fact my holiday was not all inclusive.
I love Sharm but will stay at the jazz in the future as it is more grand and a smaller hotel and cheaper with no extras to pay just my personnal taste.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

It's very unfortunate your previous holiday in sharm at an alternative holiday did not match the same enjoyment. I would like to inform you the restaurants do have additional supplements for extra items and we are sorry this was a disappointment. But I would also like to add the hotel you have mentioned only allow you to eat once during your stay instead of our unlimited visits which we offer. Also we have tea and coffee facilities and all inclusive drinks vouchers to use at our beverage shop which I know they don't have. I don't like to compare but it seems as if we didn't give you what you expected. We hope you enjoy your future holidays at the hotel you mentioned.

Thank you for your constructive feed back.
From all the Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#43 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,422 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
#51 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#58 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Address: El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $83 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa is one of the most beautiful resorts of Sharm El Sheikh with the magnificent views of the Sinai Mountains hidden amongst the colorful shades of the desert. The Hotel is overlooking the famous Red Sea with clear crystal blue waters and beautiful corals with the most amazing colored tropical fish. Our highly experienced trained staff and Management Team are available 24 hrs with extended knowledge of the resort and qualified to provide our Guests with the most professional and exceptional service. Our Priority is you at all times during the day and night to help make the most of an excellent and enjoyable holiday. We have a wide range of facilities including a 24hr bar serving drinks and snacks, a beautiful Panorama Terrace to capture the most amazing sunset views for those perfect kodak moments to save a lifetime of memories. We have many Swimming pools to meet everyone's tastes, have fun in the sun with the family's at the leisure pool or relax reading a book chilling by our adults pool at the Relax we have it for all ages. Teens hangout room including play stations, games machines, air hockey and billiards or join in the activities with the Animation Team. Treat your self with one of our Royal Tents with complete privacy, waiter service, direct access to the sea for relax time including drinks, fruit for a small additional charge or lounge on your sun bed at the beach at your leisure with 350 m of sand and try our snorkeling from the jetty to spot little Nemo with a trained instructor the choice is yours. If you would like to make your stay extra special we have many other room types to upgrade, our Honeymoon Suite being the most popular choice and highest category. This option is by far the best choice and we can guarantee you won't be disappointed, pure luxury with direct sea view, the moon the stars the sunset all in one. Your very on private double jacuzzi, separate living room, walk in wardrobe, marble bathroom, DVD player with surround sound and wifi with many other benefits included. All for a small supplement. Easy access to the other resort areas to visit during your stay by taxi or shuttle you will be anywhere in a short time to grab your bargains shop till you drop or chill in one of the famous shisha cafes we can direct you. Upload your memorable photos on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram whilst enjoying your holiday with our new extended wifi or Skype your friends at home to show them the wonderful Hotel your staying in now available in various areas of the Hotel free of charge. If you fell active during your stay why not try a discover scuba dive or complete your padi and become a certified diver with our very own dive centre on the beach or get active in our amazing gym and learn all the exercises with a trained and qualified fitness instructor ,. If you prefer to pamper your self relax in our steam room or sauna free of charge. Don't forget to reserve your Ala Carte Restaurants with our Guest Relation Team who are available in the lobby to make your dining experience the most enjoyable one, sample our tasty delicious 4. Course meal with complete tranquility in our La Romantique Restaurant special offers apply. We are truly confident by choosing the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa you will not be disappointed. If you have any further questions or queries we would love to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming our Guests soon. Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing