We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Ranked #48 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great Hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We returned from our holiday a few weeks ago, its totally all
inclusive, and great value for money... The rooms are spacious,
cleaned daily, thebeds, pillows, and bedding are of the highest
standard, free soft drinks in a nice little fridge.
The choice of food could not be faulted with all the meals,even
the local wine was ok.
The red sea was unbelievable , we have snorkelled in the Carribbean and the Great Barrier Reef, but the private beach
with its own pontoon was just amazing, just amazing, its was like
swimming in your tropical fish tank, I rate it best of the lot, so dont bother with the boat
trip to Raz Mohammed reef, its not worth the effort or the cost ,the day we went it was very choppy, and sea sickness
was areal problem for a few unfortunate people.

The entertainment was a bit Butlinesque with the animation
team, but a few local acts were very good..
The staff and reception were really friendly, nothing was a
problem, and Che the thomsons rep is a nice chap too.
All in all, a terrific hotel and a holiday too, we would go back
for sure...

Blue Peter from Ormskirk

Helpful?
11 Thank ORMYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,285
    1,183
    382
    121
    52
See reviews for
1,761
3,060
104
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Spent a week here through Portland Holidays. Pleasant enough resort, staff excellent, evening buffet a bit disappointing. There's several a la carte restaurants on site but they are booked up way ahead. Arrived on a Sunday...next available table was the following Sunday!

Wife and 11 year old boy both stricken by the local tummy bug but I suppose it can happen anywhere. red Sea boat trip worth doing as is the Desert Jeep trip.

Portland messed up our room booking. We booked a room with a separate room for the child as described in the brochure, but when we arrived the hotel had received the wrong room booking and these rooms were sold out. Portland did refund the additional room charges.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank berkoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I stayed here based on the reviews and glad I did. The staff are excellent - very friendly despite the fact that being all inclusive means you rarley give tips. Just learn a few pleasantries in Arabic and they will appreciate it immensely.

I was hesitant about food being included. I figured I would head into Ne'ama bay to eat if I didn't like the food, but every meal I ate there. The lunch had a bit of a Las Vegas all you can eat buffet about it, but did the job. Dinners were restaurant quality and offered great choice. You can upgrade some meals and pay a supplement. Good idea to do this for the wine. The house wine is terrible, but the beer is good.

The room was massive and looked better in real life than the pics on the web site.

The sun sets here were amazing and an opportunity to get some alone time as everyone dispersed to their rooms. It also has a brilliant beach front that drops you right into the tropical reef. No need to book a snorkelling day trip as it is all right there.

I am over the whole European tendency to reserve pools side / beach side chairs which certainly happens here. But with so many of this things around, it wasn't a problem. The main pool in the centre was enormous. At least 50m. It also didn't allow kids which was brilliant. It made such a difference.

Smoking is a problem as it is anywhere else in Egypt. While I don't care if the Russians (actually, mostly Lithuanians and Estonians) were miserable and unfriendly, the lack of courtesy when it came to their smoking was a big downside. Not the resorts fault though.

The Egyptian staff are great and will go out of their way. Anyone who found otherwise, as was the case in some reviews, has probably themselves to blame.

Make sure you head into Ne'ama bay which is just a E£50 (£5) cab ride away. Getting from the airport will cost you if you don't bargain hard. But really, even if you don't, their starting price is GBP£15. It's just a really cheap place.

  • Liked — Room size and quality. Restaurant choice. Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank E_Hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Stayed for a week in mid-April. Weather hot 35-40 degrees with some wind most days. Previous reviews detail everything about the hotel and we would agree with all said. Staff brilliant but very busy at peak times. We ate breakfast and evening meals soon after restaurant opening times and they were not busy then. Also when in main restaurants sat in same area and then were recognised and looked after by specific waiters. Italian restaurant was good.

Went to Egypt last year and had no problem with biting insects, however this year we were bitten so take sprays etc. The hotel drive around with a spraying system around 6pm which fills the air with a horrible smell, but we imagine they are just trying to rid the place of insects etc. Best to go the opposite direction if you can hear it coming.

We were a bit disappointed to find that the 'relax' pool, which looked really nice, is adults only. Other pools are nice though.

Travelled with Thomson and went on the 'Red Sea Cruise' trip. Nice day out but a lot of waiting around each end of the day and LOADS of people and boats leaving and coming back at the same time - very chaotic. The boat stops at 3 places for snorkelling where you follow an experienced diver in a group at the first 2 stops. This is because it is way out in the ocean and not in a bay. Quite daunting, but our 10 year old joined the adults twice and loved it. However there were more varieties and numbers of fish to see off the hotel jetty !

For what you pay to stay here it's fantastic and very clean. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not being able to use the relax pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BarneyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Overall a lovely hotel and I agree with most of the recent postings re this hotel. The following are the main observations I have:
The staff are very friendly and are not at all pushy for tips - but are delighted if you give them one!
The evening entertainment is much better than I expected but the new amphitheatre does not have a bar and therefore people tend to drift away after a while which spoils the atmosphere.
The snorkelling trip from the hotel is not worth it. You are lead to believe that you will see dolphins and turtles but in fact you won't see much that you can't see from the hotel's reef.
The hotel's reef is great but beware of the jellyfish. My daughter got badly stung several times and wouldn't go in the sea at all after a while.
The attention to detail of the hotel is excellent - gardens, bars, restaurants and pools all very good. What struck me was the amount of space - apart from the buffet restaurant it never felt busy in fact many areas of the hotel seemed almost deserted at times especially the roof top bar and the relax pool.

  • Liked — space and friendliness
  • Disliked — jellyfish
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LUFC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

A brilliant stay for all the family. We (two adults and two kids 6 & 9) loved this place. Aside from the excellent climate, snorkling/scuba diving and warm waters - this resort was ace.

The food was brilliant - there were lots of restaurants, but the best was the Ocean View and Le Petit Main - great selection of local and western dishes.
The pools were awesome - we spent most of our time at the leisure pool because of the slides. But the other pools are great. Make sure you get one of the oyster shell style beds near the infinity pool - very luxurious.
The staff were brilliant - very friendly to the kids and always had a smile. Sometimes they were a little slow - but excusable.
Rooms were unbelievable - the family rooms were two adjoining rooms which were really luxurious. Proper 5 star rooms.

For us, the summer temperature would be too much, but if you want a pre/post summer getaway, for a good price - get this place booked.

Also, we did the dolphin excursion - really good value for money obviously once in a lifetime experience.

If you don't like getting hassled in shops/markets - do not go to Naama. We actually found it a little scary - we got pounced on as soon as we got out of our taxi.

  • Liked — Entire resort
  • Disliked — Service was sometime slow - but don't let this put you off
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank FourPotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Most has been written already so I will write a view bullet points:
- prepare yourself for Egypt and some Eastern Europeans and you will have a fantastic stay
- if you are not being helped, help yourself
- no need to get the "Farao" sickness, this hotel is very clean with very good food and drinks
- diving is great. Onsite dive school is www.divydive.com
- it is all-you-can-eat and drink and that is what you can do, 24 hours a day.

Just relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Liked — The size and options for you to go to
  • Disliked — Eastern Europeans
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank markell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#12 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,066 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
#50 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#59 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,636 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Property: Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Address: El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#38 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa is one of the most beautiful resorts of Sharm El Sheikh with the magnificent views of the Sinai Mountains hidden amongst the colorful shades of the desert. The Hotel is overlooking the famous Red Sea with clear crystal blue waters and beautiful corals with the most amazing colored tropical fish. Our highly experienced trained staff and Management Team are available 24 hrs with extended knowledge of the resort and qualified to provide our Guests with the most professional and exceptional service. Our Priority is you at all times during the day and night to help make the most of an excellent and enjoyable holiday. We have a wide range of facilities including a 24hr bar serving drinks and snacks, a beautiful Panorama Terrace to capture the most amazing sunset views for those perfect kodak moments to save a lifetime of memories. We have many Swimming pools to meet everyone's tastes, have fun in the sun with the family's at the leisure pool or relax reading a book chilling by our adults pool at the Relax we have it for all ages. Teens hangout room including play stations, games machines, air hockey and billiards or join in the activities with the Animation Team. Treat your self with one of our Royal Tents with complete privacy, waiter service, direct access to the sea for relax time including drinks, fruit for a small additional charge or lounge on your sun bed at the beach at your leisure with 350 m of sand and try our snorkeling from the jetty to spot little Nemo with a trained instructor the choice is yours. If you would like to make your stay extra special we have many other room types to upgrade, our Honeymoon Suite being the most popular choice and highest category. This option is by far the best choice and we can guarantee you won't be disappointed, pure luxury with direct sea view, the moon the stars the sunset all in one. Your very on private double jacuzzi, separate living room, walk in wardrobe, marble bathroom, DVD player with surround sound and wifi with many other benefits included. All for a small supplement. Easy access to the other resort areas to visit during your stay by taxi or shuttle you will be anywhere in a short time to grab your bargains shop till you drop or chill in one of the famous shisha cafes we can direct you. Upload your memorable photos on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram whilst enjoying your holiday with our new extended wifi or Skype your friends at home to show them the wonderful Hotel your staying in now available in various areas of the Hotel free of charge. If you fell active during your stay why not try a discover scuba dive or complete your padi and become a certified diver with our very own dive centre on the beach or get active in our amazing gym and learn all the exercises with a trained and qualified fitness instructor ,. If you prefer to pamper your self relax in our steam room or sauna free of charge. Don't forget to reserve your Ala Carte Restaurants with our Guest Relation Team who are available in the lobby to make your dining experience the most enjoyable one, sample our tasty delicious 4. Course meal with complete tranquility in our La Romantique Restaurant special offers apply. We are truly confident by choosing the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa you will not be disappointed. If you have any further questions or queries we would love to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming our Guests soon. Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing