We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value holiday”
Review of Sharm Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sharm Reef Resort
Ranked #117 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we spent a week here in the middle of Jan...very clean, nice room,amazing staff who never stop working...the whole hotel,grounds and pool were spotless..food was very good.. and the selection of drink at the all inclusive bar was very good we will be back...

Room Tip: have a massage from the guys at the hotel..pure bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 294 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went here on a two weeks vacation with my husband in september/october 2007. The wather was still good and the ocean was warm and perfect.
The service was excellent, nice and very serviceminded staff!
The rooms were not picture-perfect, but good enough for us. We had a huge bedroom, huge bathroom, a cozy living room and miniature kitchen.
Every day when we got back from the beach (a five minute free bus ride from the hotel) the maids had made swans or hearts from the towels and put them on our bed - nice!
The hotel is pretty big with nice landscaping and good pools.
Right outside there is a big outside mall, restaurants and a crocodile place!
Only a short (cheap) taxi ride to the town centre.
I recommend everybody to book a weekend trip to Cairo! Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajorSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

An atmosphere and ambience that takes hold of you as time proceeds and one just want to stay on. Nice and well-kept out-door area, very good and varied food (all inclusive), good bed, nice and friendly staff in restaurant and Ali who cleaned our room was extraordinary.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ViHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have just come back from a sort break at the Sharm Reef Hotel (8th visit to Egypt). On first sight we were a little disappointed at how basic the outside was compared to all the other hotels I have stayed at in Sharm, this was followed by the reception area. Again basic but clean. Mael the receptionist was brilliant throughout the stay, even when I lost my mobile (which I got back) & the Manager even came & introduced himself personally. The rooms were dated and in some serious need of a re-vamp, altough we were upgraded to a family room on arrival. They were kept clean though. The restaurant again was dated and the food wasn't something to look forward to. There was not much variety and quite often cold! Some of the tables wobbled & were steadied by pieces of paper under the legs and one of the chairs I sat on the seat wasn't attached & kept moving. There were quite a few desserts but they were mainly tasteless, dont be fooled by colour! Wine is only served during meall times, which I was initially disappointed with but after tasting it I was definately grateful,. The white was disgusting and I even added sprite! It even tasted as if it had been watered down, the red was only fractionally better! Breakfast was probably the best with fresh omelets made to order, cereals, pastries and pancakes. The local spirits were also terrible. We ordered a whiskey & coke and a vodka & coke but couldn't tell the difference, both were served in tiny platic cups and were both undrinkable. Soft drinks such as coke, fanta & sprite are the proper brands though. It was such a shame because the outside areas were beautiful and the pools kept very clean albeit very cold this time of year. This was just a last minute short break taken for the weather, which delivered as usual. The Sharm Reef has all the outside potential to be a lovely hotel but it needs some investment to keep up with the high standards of other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: If you fancy an alcoholic drink walk to the nearby shops and buy your own. Be aware that when you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a brilliant time. This is a well set out resort with pretty landscaping. The four pools are spotlessly clean. The rooms were large and clean with very comfortable beds. The staff were really friendly and helpful - well apart from one grumpy chef. The manager is very approachable, always circulating amongst the guests and he eats in the restaurant. The food is what you would expect from an all inclusive buffet although the Egyption themed buffet night was really tasty.
The beach, set on rocks above the sea, has plenty of sun beds and shade (we were there in the beginning of December). The shuttle bus runs promptly every half an hour although it only takes 20 minutes to walk to the beach. We loved how quiet this hotel was - there was only entertainment once a week - but this may not suit everyone.
If you like snorkelling, the boat trip to Tiran Island is well worth doing. The guides are brilliant and will tow you with a rubber ring if you are not a confident swimmer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Capsized360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our first time to Egypt, and the first few days were horrible!
Nothing to do with the hotel, just the taxi drivers other outsiders who bugged us when we left the hotel.
After a couple of days we had adjusted and found our feet.
It turned out to be an excellent holiday and the hotle was very basic but very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.. we didnt want to leave.
There are a couple of staff memebers there, Ramadan, Adam and the pizza making guy who made it for us.
We paid extra to have the romantic poolside meals in the veneing and they were amazing!! we have whole lobsters and HUGE prawns.. worth every penny.

We would definetly go back :0)

Room Tip: There are not many rooms there as it is not a bg hotel so all rooms are the same i would have though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMMA057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked our stay as last minute holiday not knowing a lot about Sharm el sheikh or the Sharm Reef hotel. After a quick check on Trip Advisor we booked the Sharm Reef. I can honestly say the pictures on the site don't do it justice. We stayed in October and the facilities were picture perfect. The pool was always clean and fresh and the gardens well maintained. We arrived very late and at check in we were advised that there would be some food in our room. They had made sure that there was plenty of fresh fruit and bottled water and as an extra surprise they also upgraded our room to a suite free of charge. Wi-FI options are limited to pay as you go cards and you can only get coverage in reception (worth noting if you need access to the internet) . The all inclusive package included the local beer and spirits - (wine is only available at meal times on the plan). The beer is bottled as were the soft drinks which were all premium brands (Coke, Sprite, etc). The air conditioning could have been a bit cooler but was adequate. All the public areas were very clean and the on site shops and treatments were persistent but not bothersome (make sure you haggle though). The hotel is located opposite the Il Mercato shopping district which has plenty of fast food options (McDonalds, Costa, KFC) and restaurants though we mostly made use of the all inclusive meal options which included a fresh omelette station at breakfast and a fresh pasta station at lunch and dinner. The staff were all friendly and fluent in English and very attentive. When one of my children had some difficulty in the pool they were quick to come to her aid and the manager sought us out later to make sue that everything was OK. If you do visit Il Mercato shopping opposite the hotel be mindful of the Camel rides on offer - it was the only time we felt ripped off as we didn't ask for the ride and ended up paying over the odds for a short ride.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to a suite and get a bigger room with a larger balcony. I suspect the rooms towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoodOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#81 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#34 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
498 reviews
4 mi away
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
#138 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
482 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Reef Resort

Address: Fanar St. Umm El Sid Cliff | Directly Opposite IL Mercato Mall, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $27 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharm Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharm Reef Hotel... perfect for those who want to be in the town center. Has a beautiful beach and ristorante da maria where one could enjoy the delights of Italian cuisine with unparalleled views of the red sea water and The Tiran island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sharm Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing