We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Sharm Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sharm Reef Resort
Ranked #111 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

An atmosphere and ambience that takes hold of you as time proceeds and one just want to stay on. Nice and well-kept out-door area, very good and varied food (all inclusive), good bed, nice and friendly staff in restaurant and Ali who cleaned our room was extraordinary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ViHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    122
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
70
117
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have just come back from a sort break at the Sharm Reef Hotel (8th visit to Egypt). On first sight we were a little disappointed at how basic the outside was compared to all the other hotels I have stayed at in Sharm, this was followed by the reception area. Again basic but clean. Mael the receptionist was brilliant throughout the stay, even when I lost my mobile (which I got back) & the Manager even came & introduced himself personally. The rooms were dated and in some serious need of a re-vamp, altough we were upgraded to a family room on arrival. They were kept clean though. The restaurant again was dated and the food wasn't something to look forward to. There was not much variety and quite often cold! Some of the tables wobbled & were steadied by pieces of paper under the legs and one of the chairs I sat on the seat wasn't attached & kept moving. There were quite a few desserts but they were mainly tasteless, dont be fooled by colour! Wine is only served during meall times, which I was initially disappointed with but after tasting it I was definately grateful,. The white was disgusting and I even added sprite! It even tasted as if it had been watered down, the red was only fractionally better! Breakfast was probably the best with fresh omelets made to order, cereals, pastries and pancakes. The local spirits were also terrible. We ordered a whiskey & coke and a vodka & coke but couldn't tell the difference, both were served in tiny platic cups and were both undrinkable. Soft drinks such as coke, fanta & sprite are the proper brands though. It was such a shame because the outside areas were beautiful and the pools kept very clean albeit very cold this time of year. This was just a last minute short break taken for the weather, which delivered as usual. The Sharm Reef has all the outside potential to be a lovely hotel but it needs some investment to keep up with the high standards of other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: If you fancy an alcoholic drink walk to the nearby shops and buy your own. Be aware that when you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a brilliant time. This is a well set out resort with pretty landscaping. The four pools are spotlessly clean. The rooms were large and clean with very comfortable beds. The staff were really friendly and helpful - well apart from one grumpy chef. The manager is very approachable, always circulating amongst the guests and he eats in the restaurant. The food is what you would expect from an all inclusive buffet although the Egyption themed buffet night was really tasty.
The beach, set on rocks above the sea, has plenty of sun beds and shade (we were there in the beginning of December). The shuttle bus runs promptly every half an hour although it only takes 20 minutes to walk to the beach. We loved how quiet this hotel was - there was only entertainment once a week - but this may not suit everyone.
If you like snorkelling, the boat trip to Tiran Island is well worth doing. The guides are brilliant and will tow you with a rubber ring if you are not a confident swimmer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Capsized360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our first time to Egypt, and the first few days were horrible!
Nothing to do with the hotel, just the taxi drivers other outsiders who bugged us when we left the hotel.
After a couple of days we had adjusted and found our feet.
It turned out to be an excellent holiday and the hotle was very basic but very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.. we didnt want to leave.
There are a couple of staff memebers there, Ramadan, Adam and the pizza making guy who made it for us.
We paid extra to have the romantic poolside meals in the veneing and they were amazing!! we have whole lobsters and HUGE prawns.. worth every penny.

We would definetly go back :0)

Room Tip: There are not many rooms there as it is not a bg hotel so all rooms are the same i would have though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMMA057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked our stay as last minute holiday not knowing a lot about Sharm el sheikh or the Sharm Reef hotel. After a quick check on Trip Advisor we booked the Sharm Reef. I can honestly say the pictures on the site don't do it justice. We stayed in October and the facilities were picture perfect. The pool was always clean and fresh and the gardens well maintained. We arrived very late and at check in we were advised that there would be some food in our room. They had made sure that there was plenty of fresh fruit and bottled water and as an extra surprise they also upgraded our room to a suite free of charge. Wi-FI options are limited to pay as you go cards and you can only get coverage in reception (worth noting if you need access to the internet) . The all inclusive package included the local beer and spirits - (wine is only available at meal times on the plan). The beer is bottled as were the soft drinks which were all premium brands (Coke, Sprite, etc). The air conditioning could have been a bit cooler but was adequate. All the public areas were very clean and the on site shops and treatments were persistent but not bothersome (make sure you haggle though). The hotel is located opposite the Il Mercato shopping district which has plenty of fast food options (McDonalds, Costa, KFC) and restaurants though we mostly made use of the all inclusive meal options which included a fresh omelette station at breakfast and a fresh pasta station at lunch and dinner. The staff were all friendly and fluent in English and very attentive. When one of my children had some difficulty in the pool they were quick to come to her aid and the manager sought us out later to make sue that everything was OK. If you do visit Il Mercato shopping opposite the hotel be mindful of the Camel rides on offer - it was the only time we felt ripped off as we didn't ask for the ride and ended up paying over the odds for a short ride.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to a suite and get a bigger room with a larger balcony. I suspect the rooms towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoodOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Six lively seniors just back from 2 weeks at the Sharm Reef. What an excellent choice of hotel. it may not be the most luxurious we've ever stayed in but the staff made up for any shortfall in quality. From the moment we arrived at reception we were made to feel like "old" friends. Every member of staff including the manager made us feel welcome. The poolside staff (massage & hairdressing) are real characters, always smiling & joking. Restaurant staff could not do enough for us, with a special mention for Roma, one of the nicest guys you could ever meet.
The food was, as you would expect from all inclusive, repetitive but always something to tickle your taste buds. The Egyptian barbecue evening was excellent.
The pools area is superb. It is cleaned every evening, plenty of sunbeds and towels for guests.
The rooms are a good size and well enough equiped for a holiday. The beds are comfortable and large. Every room has A/C (thank god!!).
Sadly the only shortfall is the bar. Only the pool bar is used and drinks served in the type of flimsy plastic, disposable glasses used for water dispensers and never filled up. I would estimate it would take ten of these to make somewhere near a pint. The choice of spirits is extreamly limited and of poor quality. The bar staff constantly turn the music up so loud it is difficult to hold a conversation. We went to the mall oposite the hotel most nights for a drink.
Would we go back to the Sharm Reef again?, you bet we would. Had it not been for the bar we would have given it a 5 rating.
If this is read by the management of the Sharm Reef, "look after your staff" they make your hotel what it is. Our thanks to everyone of them for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had some what low expectations before coming to Sharm Reef, so we wouldn't be dissapointed, but how wrong were we :o)
We stayed for two weeks with our 2 year old daughter in august 2012, and we have almost nothing bad to say about this hotel, the staff or the food :oD

We booked all inclusive stay, and all meals are served in the restaurant, with nice and attentive staff, that played and joked with our daughter.
The food was very nice, and different menu's for lunch and dinner. Every wednesday they had Egyptian night with dancers, barbeque and the best falafel I have ever had.
Only breakfast was always the same, which after 14 days get's a bit trivial.

The room are nice, big and clean, and balcony with pool view. The pool area is quite large, and has to big children pools, however the tiles in the pool was very slippery, and it was hard to keep your balance. The pool bar served beer, soda and water, but again slippery and very warm tiles (flip flops are a must). Next to the children pool was a small pizzaria with a woodburning oven, where you could get pizza every day from 11-12.30 (2 kinds), and it was a nice little snack, and my daughter absolutly loved it.
The reception is very helpfull, but very warm, it was almost hotter in the reception than outside. Wifi access can be bought for 30-60 min, but since it is so hot inside, you don't really use it that much, they should have made it available by the pool instead ;o)

It takes 15 min to drive to Na'ama Bay (30 e. pounds), 30 min to Soho Square (100 e. pounds), and there is a hotel taxi you can hire, it's only 5-10 e. pounds more expensive than the regualr taxi's.

We loved our holiday there, and even though this is not gourmet cooking og 5 star hotel, it is very nice and friendly, and we would not hesitate to return another day :o)

Room Tip: Choose a room up, because guest's can look into the rooms on the ground level, even though they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sigge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.8 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#57 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#109 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#54 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#41 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Resort Apartments
Carlton Resort Apartments
#20 of 27 in Sharm El Sheikh
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Reef Resort

Property: Sharm Reef Resort
Address: Fanar St. Umm El Sid Cliff | Directly Opposite IL Mercato Mall, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharm Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharm Reef Hotel... perfect for those who want to be in the town center. Has a beautiful beach and ristorante da maria where one could enjoy the delights of Italian cuisine with unparalleled views of the red sea water and The Tiran island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sharm Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing