We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday October 2012”
Review of Otium Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Otium Hotel Golden
Ranked #142 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday with my son, daughter and sister. I feel it is only right to let people know what I thought of this hotel and it's staff. When we first arrived and saw the hotel frontage, I thought it looked small and comfortable. The outside was quite plain compared to some hotels that we had passed en route from the airport. Once we entered the reception, it was spotlessly clean and well appointed. Even though our flight was delayed and it was quite late, we were welcomed warmly and the staff were helpful and polite. We were then led out to the pool areas and it pretty much left me speechless. It was so much bigger than we first thought. The rooms we were given looked out onto beautifully manicured garden areas, they were clean, large and very comfortable. Our cleaner, Ahmed, was very polite and friendly and kept our rooms spotless. In the morning we had our first introduction to the food.......it was fantastic! There was plenty of choice and there was a fresh egg and crepe station where omelettes, fried eggs and crepes were cooked to order. Throughout our stay we couldn't find any fault with the food and the staff were helpful, polite and made us feel like VIP guests. The pool areas were lovely. The pool bar, run by Mohammed, was terrific. We didn't even have to order drinks on most occasions as they were brought over to us regularly with a smile. The animation team, Ash, Simon, Zoja and Analia, were great fun and managed to get my kids involved in most activities. I can't wait to return to Shores Golden with my family and hope to do so every year if at all possible. A wonderful hotel, fantastic staff and terrific atmosphere. Thanks go to everyone for making our holiday the best one ever.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the gardens were spacious and very comfortable. Ground floors had larger patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yvonne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Our Dear Valued Guest,

We are very honored and proud from your review and on Behalf of Shores Golden staff & Management We do thank you and We are looking forward to welcoming you again and again in our Shores Golden.
In your next vacation to Shores Golden you will be a member in our Loyalty Program and you will enjoy too many surprises prepared only for our repeaters.
Once again thank you and please accept our Sincere Regards

Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 429 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ihave just returned from a 2 week holiday with my sister, niece and nephew and felt strongly that i must write a review for this hotel. The Shores Golden was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The food was excellent every day and the rooms were clean and spacious. The gardeners keep the grounds of the hotel beautiful with stunning flowers and well cut lawns.
The staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and extremely friendly and between them all, they gave us the best holiday ever. I want to mention a few people in particular as they were so good to us: Mohammed in the pool bar, Simon, Ash and Zoja from the animation team and George and Mustapha from the massage and beauty team. Thankyou to you all and we will definately be returning to the Shores Golden in the very near future.

Room Tip: garden rooms near the volleyball court are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clattie2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Our Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Shores Golden Management & all the Staff specially the mentioned ones We thank you for your review which we are honored with, furthermore We are looking forward to welcoming you & your family again in our Shores Golden where we will secure for you as Loyal & Repeater Guest many surprises to make your Holiday enjoyable as much as possible.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

great hotel. very good food, friendly (except for some receptionist and pool side towel service staff) service, a large swimming pool. the hotel beach and coral reef just 100m away from main building. close to the city center with full of Egyptian turmoil. do not buy anything at the pool or on the beach (quads, henna tattoos, portraits, Souvenirs). everything you can buy in the city center at least for half the price :)

Room Tip: Do not tip reception staff when you ask for room with better standard or view. Money will be gone an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gryzback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review , your stay as mentioned in the review was during November 2011& there are too many changes happened & upgrade made in general in our Resort to meet the guests comments and satisfaction as much as possible include staff training & more controlling the activities .
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to see by your self the different made & the upgrade to achieve guest satisfaction.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I went in Aug 2010 with friends. We had 2 rooms of 3. Our rooms were cleaned & tidied every single day & were left spotless with clean towels.

Entertainment was aimed more for the Russian, Italian & Polish guests (English were outnumbered) who were extremely rude. Some of the hotel staff were not polite including the male manager on the reception desk. However, the guy who takes pictures by the pool & the pool staff were very nice.

Our group went for a friends 21st. It would never have been my choice but I enjoyed it all the same but wouldn't go back. Weather was absolutely fantastic. Locals like to try & buy young girls for camels & the taxi drivers are abit dodgy.

Not much nearby the hotel. About 10-15mins to Naama Bay in a taxi. Definately have a walk around, there's a massive shopping centre with lots of restaurants 10min walk away. Come out of the hotel & turn left. Keep walking & you'll see it on the right hand side. Once u enter, it's huge.

We did the trip to the Pyramids which was an experience. You need a separate Visa to get into Cairo for this & have to give your passport to whoever provides the trip; either your travel agent rep or whoever books it. If you do no trust this; you can do this at the airport yourself for an additional £10-£12.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinaRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Our Dear Valued Guest,
it's almost one year since you visit our Resort & We assure you that things are positively changed.
Our Animation is an international team covering all nationalities as well as all our staff, in addition to the free transfer we are arranging to all our guests from/to Naama Bay free of charge according to the Resort schedule. the Limo Service is available as well from the Resort to where ever.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in our Shores Hotels to enjoy and not to miss the facilities & the surprises we are offering to our Loyal Guests & Repeaters.
Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. The staff seemed genuinely friendly. Our apartment was large, clean, slightly basic but fine for our week's stay. Also had a nice verandah, although the outside light didn't work. The only downside was the offensive sewage/drains smell every evening just before dinner. I enjoyed all my meals, mainly buffet style salads, pastas and ok selection of desserts however the men in our group weren't impressed with the (very) small offerings of meat, especially from the bbq sections. There wasn't much to do in the evenings. We visited Naama Bay two nights (one using the free hotel shuttle bus and the other by taxi) which was pretty wild by comparison (shops, bars, eateries and a Pascha club!). The shuttle bus also picks up at a specific time from a main square. The hotel is part of 3 which are all nearby and we were allowed to use the beach and pools of one of them (but not the 5 star!) which had a cabaret night with the kids' entertainers putting on a rock themed show in the "amphitheatre". Certainly not my usual kind of evening entertainment, but as there was nothing else to do, this was the best option on offer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brahanseeker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Our Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and We are assuring you that all your notes taken into our consideration for the benefits of all our guests and to our selves of course; but if I may highlight that the smell was from the recycled water for the greenery areas which we did treated already to prevent this smell. As for the BBQ which we do serve daily in our Dinner Buffet our clients can take as much as they want every time they go & returns with our pleasure during the buffet hours ; Yes our Golden Guests can use Aloha Beach ; meanwhile they do enjoy our Dine Around Program in Amphoras (05*) as per the company policy.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Shores Hotels to enjoy our Loyalty Programs which offers many surprises for all our Repeaters.

Please accept my sincere regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Shores Golden Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at shores golden in november for 14 nights.From the moment we arrived at reception the staff made our holiday.Every were was lovely and clean.And srayed everynight for mozzies.Plenty of choice of food in the restraunt and lots of lovely breads.The pool would have been great if it had been heated.plenty of sunbeds.we were all inclusive the only let down was the spirts they dont taste like they should.we were the only english at one point of our holiday but every 1 made us welcome.Thank you to all at shores golden for making our holiday and to monty and the animation team volley ball volley ball we will never forget this holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear M/M Dave,
We are very pleased to receive your comments and you did enjoy your two weeks vacation and we are looking forward to welcome you again & again in Our Shores Hotels where we have surprises for our Repeaters through out our Loyalty program which we are planning to apply the coming Summer . the local spirits got it's own taste and the All Inclusive is covering the Local spirits only as a system in Egypt in General but the local wine & beer are quite good.
thank you once again & please accept our sincere regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights Jan 9-16th. Over all stay was good for what we paid. Food was okay, usual pasta, rice, potatos. One meat dish and on the bbq outside they did meat. Pools looked nice but never went in due to being unheated and was like melted ice. Watched the pooled get cleaned every day. Bars were abit all over the place. Only soft drinks from one bar. You had to walk all the way downt to the other for beer or spirits. Coffee and tea at another bar. Wine only in the main restaurant and as soon as it closed that was it no wine!! The staff were pleasant and the hotel was clean. I will add we were the only English other than one other couple who came towards the endof our holiday. Hotel was mainly Italian and Russian based.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stace24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fathy E, General Manager at Otium Hotel Golden, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear valued guest,
Many thanks for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Shores Hotels. in our two fresh water pools we have two areas for kids and one area heated water where is the water pool activities taken place.
We are considering of course all your points & we'll be honored to welcoming you again in our Resort as repeated valued guest.

Sincere Regards
Fathy El Mougy
Resident Manager
Shores Aloha & Golden Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#101 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#81 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#43 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Desert View Sharm Hotel
Desert View Sharm Hotel
#151 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Sharm Hotel
Viva Sharm Hotel
#215 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Golden

Address: Om El Seid Cliff | 110 South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh 45625, Egypt (Formerly Shores Golden)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#88 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#123 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $23 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Otium Hotel Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Otium Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Golden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Shores Golden Sharm El Sheikh
Golden Sharm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing