We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shores golden”
Review of Otium Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Otium Hotel Golden
Ranked #133 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shores golden”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

not long come back from shores golden egypt after being there for 2 weeks. The hotel was clean and the rooms were cleaned every day. The staff in the restaurant couldnt have been more helpful. As soon as they saw you coming to the restaurant they had your drink on the table and was escorting you to it. The only set back was that there were only 8 british people there and the rest were russian and polish. The animation team were ok. All the animation was spoken in russian and polish. There were 4 russian girls who spent most their time chatting with their own and the polish and didnt even bother with the brits. One of them ( Regina was pleasant enough). The egyptian lads on the animation team on the other hand couldnt have been more pleasant. Hany the dj, islam and shareef were more than pleasant. A big hand to them. The food was a bit the same every day and bland. would like to have seen more egyptian food than food for russian and polish people..overall brilliant holiday but wouldnt go back to this hotel..unless they catered for more english.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    150
    71
    39
    32
See reviews for
75
158
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here early dec 2010. This was our 3rd all inclusive visit to Sharm El Sheik so we had a good idea what to expect, be it accomadation, food and entertainment etc. We arrived late (11pm) and were a bit perplexed to find the entire hotel complex was virtualy silent. This was when we discovered everything,bars,resturants close around that time. We were gutted as our only alternative for the week for nightlife was Naama Bay which I detest because of the constant HASSLING from the bar and resturant staff there. Dont get me wrong I think of myself as a very laid back bloke, but that carry on leaves me steaming.
Anyway our room In the Golden shores was lovely with a good sea view. Unfortunately we were plagued with the mozzies and the 2 of us were flitered with bites. The management were very helpful constantly spraying the room though.
The pool areas are very well laid out and the pool-bar with music aided in making it relaxing enough. Pity the pool was brass monkeys. The beach down the road was excellent . Its in a sister hotel of the shores about a 5-10min walk. The snorkling there is truly amazing. We were there at the time of the shark alert but we still had to try it....I told my wife " just make sure that someone else is swimming in front of you and we'll be grand" boom boom.
The food in the resort was not especially to my liking, lots of salads,rice and local meat dishes. But herself loved it any..
This resort caters mainly for Russians who can be overly enthusiastic come meal and entertainment times looking to get their moneys worth. We were the only Irish couple there but mingled well with some truly lovely English people.
The staff there are very attentive to the guests needs, but after our three visits to Egypt it does get a bit tiring watching them hustle for the attention of the best tippers etc. This is not a negative comment as I am well aware of their economic situation....
Overall for the price paid it was a lovely holiday and would reccomend this resort to anyone laid-back and not too fussy..

Room Tip: E-mail the resort direct beforehand reqesting sea view on the first floor. They will accomadate your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terryot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The hotel was fantastic overall. The rooms were nice, we didn't have much of a view but it didn't matter as we didn't spend much time in there. Both pools were great. One with a bar in so that was great. Spent most afternoons just chilling out in the pool. The weather was brilliant and even late at night it was still hot. The food was fab. They had a great choice every meal and a grill with something different every night. The puddings were all great aswell. The same waiter served us the whole time. He had drinks waiting for us and saved us a nice table at lunch. He was 5* service. I would say the only thing that let the hotel down was the entertainment they only really did stuff for the Russians. But everyone seemed to be friendly. All in all the holiday was fantastic, great value for money and would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieNorthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

It was kind of Italian style holiday. A bit noisy, a bit crazy, with lots of Italian food.
I liked this hotel's style - it was friendly and cosy. Same waiter showing me to the table and bringing wine for my dinner every day. Same barman offering coffee in the afternoon. Same pool guy providing fresh towel. Excellent world music by the front pool.

Guests are mostly Russian and Italian. Not everybody likes their style. But once you get used to somewhat noisy animation stuff, it is not bad.

Initially I got a room with a rather nasty view. But I asked reception desk clerk (Adel) to change it - and I got a room with a big balcony and a view over the sea. And the room was huge. I loved it! (Can I, please, get the same room next time?)

Foooood.... I especially enjoyed Egyptian night dinner in the hotel - we got rice with lentils, peas, and - as usual - freshly baked kind of bread. Not to mention lots of vegetables (I got crazy about zucchini) Yumm....

All staff members were kind and polite. Some guests must have seemed really annoying (eg drunk Russians and Poles) but I could see not a single sign of rudeness from the staff. Patient guys.

The beach of the hotel is located some 400m from the hotel. Which was really good - I had a chance to move a little between sessions of eating. But if you are super lazy - you can also have a lift by hotel bus (it's free). Also, free bus to Naama Bay (if you're looking for a night life).

To sum up - it was excellent. I want it again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aggie_dravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked a late holday to Egypt mainly for the Winter sun! First time All Inclusive so i was a bit concerned about the quality the of food, but it was lovely and we got 6 nights All Incluive with flights from Newcastle for only £350.00 per person. Ok so it wasn't 5 star but people forgot it's Egypt. The service was great and the hotel staff were very attentive. Looking to go back to this hotel in November this year, cheap gettaway for the beautiful sunshine!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s800phe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel almost ruined our holiday, we signed up to a second diving course so that we didn't have to spend more than 1 full day in the hotel.

Before you read the rest, we did do this on a budget and were not expecting any luxury, so not just being fussy.

The biggest issue was the room, ours was facing the main pool on the ground floor. Something stopped working everyday for the week we were there, including the toilets, lights and on many occasions, the lock on the balcony door.

Each time we had a fault we had to go to reception, who were not very friendly. About 50% of time someone turned up to fix our problems.

Also we had a problem with ants, they sprayed the room with poison most days but the ants just keep coming.

The cleaner was ok but never cleaned the shower, dirty shower curtain and hair from previous guests.

Noise is an issue, even with earplugs as you will feel the bass till about 2-3am every night from the pool. Cheesy Italian entertainment, nothing English. Italians don't have the best taste in music. (they also don't understand queuing or holding doors, but that is just a cultural difference).

All inclusive drinks are ok, just the usual. Only problem is no diet drinks so you don't want too many.

Food is average (although I did have a juicy Caterpillar in my salad), but the snacks are very poor. Do eat at the poolside restaurant (booking required) as the food is slightly better.

You can get a shuttle bus to Naama Bay but it may not bring you back. We got stranded there, and all the hotel staff said, after we managed to get a local bus then a taxi home was that, was that 'sometimes the police don't let them stop there' - would have been nice to know that before leaving.

Is in walking distance of a local shopping arcade, although most the stuff is more expensive than the uk. McDonalds is actually worth a visit though as they do a 'double big mac'. Apparently other hotel guests said they would deliver to the hotel (shows how popular the hotel food was).

If your on an Italian 18-30's then you might be ok, otherwise go elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trojo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This is a late review but a review none the less.
We stayed at the hotel in October 2010, when we arrived and were shown to our room, we discovered there was no lock on the balcony doors - we were ground floor. We asked to be moved and were told we had to wait for the manager. Staff seemed to be reluctant to let us speak to the manager. We moved rooms again - ground floor - same thing - no lock. By this time we were fed up and were told the manager wasnt here until 6 - after storing our luggage in the luggage room all day (this was now our 2nd day) we returned at 6 to speak to the manager, and were brushed off by another member of staff..again. My parter then demanded to speak to the manager and raised his voice - then out pops the manager from the room behind the counter. We went inside and sat down and the manager refused to look us in the eye. We told him after 2 days of going back and forth we were angry that no one tried to help us and kept fobbing us off, then we demanded a pool side room for the inconvenience. We got it, and could then enjoy our holiday.
Food wasnt great and i was also ill from the food - some of which was undercooked. Spirits do taste like industrial paint stripper, the wine is okay, the beer isnt bad. Apart from the odd unhelpful staff member, the barman in the outside bar and one of the bell boys in particular were very friendly and very much warmed to us.
Entertainment is zero unless you are russian or italian - animation know what nationality you are depending on the colour of your all inclusive wristband. None of the animation team spoke to us until we mentioned out loud as one walked past - then strangely - they wanted to involve us.
We met one other english couple at our hotel who we often sat with by the pool. Russians and Italians dominate the hotel as the Shores group is apparently owned by an italian. We found them rude, i would often open doors for people or hold them open out of courtesty - only to be gruned at.

Barter with everything - taxis mostly, they will rip you off. I would go to Shores Amphoras and try thier fish restaurant, (we often sneaked over to Amphoras - this hotel is lovely - animation team - excellent - they love the english and quite often favoured us as we took part in the entertainment.)

We made it quite clear to the manager that we were not goin to be taken for a ride and after this - their attitude changed, he even came to see us off and shook our hands. Overall we enjoyed our stay the weather was great and there is a lot to see, afew of the staff really made our holiday - other than that i would suggest another hotel until mangement decide to wise up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odds0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#97 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#53 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#85 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#105 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#132 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#43 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Golden

Property: Otium Hotel Golden
Address: Om El Seid Cliff | 110 South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Golden)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#82 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#116 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otium Hotel Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Otium Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Golden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Shores Golden Sharm El Sheikh
Golden Sharm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing