We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip from hell..”
Review of Noria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Noria Resort
Ranked #74 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip from hell..”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago when it was one of the best hotels in Sharm. So coming back to Naama bay, i believed there was only one hotel to return to; Noria Resort even though other well-known hotels were cheaper.

Everything that could have went wrong did. Everything in the hotel doesn't function which even the staff complain about. Covered in mosquito bites as there is no procedure in place to control this issue, Swimming pool is freezing, telephones don't work, AC doesn't work, there is only cold water, the hotel hasn't been refurbished for quite some time to the point where even the rooms stink. If you tell reception about this they will tell you okay 5 minutes but no one ever comes..There is no sense of management except for when 'big boss' would walk around.

Although the staff are deep down really nice people, they literally work a average 16 hours a day so when we interact with them (at dinner) they are already knackered which I don't blame them but it put a damper on the trip which we were so excited about. Staff will only provide decent customer service if you tip them!! Although i must say thanks to Chef Ahmed, Mohamed from reception, Ahmed from housekeeping and the security guard who made the stay a little bit bearable.

In terms of the entertainment, you will only be approached by the team if your Russian! Noria is no longer the hotel it used to be. It has become a failure. Would never return again nor recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on the second floor who suffer the pain of been covered in mosquito bites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunirahK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear MunirahK69 ,

I would like to thank you for your time taken to review us.

Your feedback means a lot to us in developing our performance and service quality.

However, I am sorry to know that you haven't enjoyed our room & service although our housekeeping staff ensures that the room and all facilities in the room are fully functional before your check in. However, if you experience any mishaps, our team is always accessible around the resort to fix any problems or assist you with anything.

Moreover, we have our animation team who always keen to entertain our guests everyday with an amusing program so I'm completely surprised about what you have kindly mentioned.

However, I assure you that we are always doing our best to please all our guests from worldwide so we will always have the pleasure to ask you to visit us next time so we can make it up again for you.

I look forward to welcoming you once again the soonest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    194
    83
    62
    57
See reviews for
190
256
61
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

1st time in Sharm and wasn't sure what to expect so thought would go no lower than 4 star.
Noria Resort Hotel was very clean everywhere, all staff very polite and friendly, large room always spotlessly cleaned every day with clean towels. Special thank you to Moamen our waiter who was very attentive and funny and also to our cleaner and the bar man who made us lovely coffees.

Nice surroundings with two large pool areas, free pool towels, nice greenery, although some of the steps in need of attention as tiles were cracked and needed replacing. Some tlc required in places.
Air con would be useful in main reception/indoor bar area as very warm day and night.

Only criticism was the food was a bit basic and not very warm, but after we explained to our waiter, they used the warmers under the serving containers, so was a bit better.
No full English breakfast (no pork served), although omelettes cooked to your choice. We could always find something to eat, luckily we weren't' t fussy eaters.
Have been to various other all inclusive hotels in Canaries, Turkey, cruises but this hotel/food did not live up to them, perhaps because it was Egypt?
Lack of fresh fruit, just odd pieces cut up in one bowl, so I missed having the options of whole apples, oranges, bananas, melon slices that I have had elsewhere.
You could also only have wine on all inc package in the restaurant and not round the pool or indoor bar area at night, which was a bit poor as I am not a spirit drinker.

All in all a good hotel, lovely pools, but all paying restaurants on complex were closed except one which may have been due to it being low season and lack of tourists.

An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure u ask for a double room as beds huge, but make sure not too far away from main swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Jules1964_13,

Greetings from Noria Resort – Sharm El Sheikh!

First of all, We would like to thank you very much for having been our guest and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience in Egypt specially that it's the first time & hope to welcome you again and again.

About the food we will take your kind comments into our consideration to be always beyond your expectation.

Looking forward to welcoming you soonest to enjoy once more our hospitality.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our first time in Egypt and at the Noria. Our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted something special, somewhere we had not been to. We got it. Thanks to the staff of the Noria, from reception, Bar staff, Restaurant staff but especially to Yasser and Tarek for the cleanliness and attention to detail in the rooms. The towel sculptures are thing to behold.

Did some things go wrong with the room, yes. A failed bathroom fan was reported before evening meal and was fixed by the time we got back to the room. That was typical, if you reported it, it was sorted quickly. Again reported a failed socket in the room to Yasser and Tarek and they took hold of the situation and made a point of being there to show us it was fixed when we got back.

Walleed is the engineer on site, spent some time talking with him. A man with a lot of knowledge. A credit to the hotel. Hope he found the engineering magazines useful.

It was very quiet in the hotel due to the security situation which happened just as we arrived. However the amount of security around the resort was impressive. The pool bar staff could not help enough with poolside service. I am sure if the hotel had been full they would still have found a way.

We booked half board, which is unusual, I know. We wanted to try the local cuisine in the restaurants. The hotel reception and the manager fixed it so we could have lunch instead of evening meal. Brilliant. Hotel food good but caters for the international traveller. Some local delicacies but, for us more local content, would have been good.

The restaurants down town are great with good variety and really keen for your custom. El Sid on top of hard rock café, try it. The last restaurant on the strip, on the corner, before you get to hard rock café ate there 2 -3 times great service and food each time.

Went down to the old market (its not old). Talk to your rep about places to eat. but listen to the guy behind reception. El Mazarin, gate two, stand with your back to the gate facing to the market and point right at 45 degrees. you can't miss it. One of the places where you will be eating alongside more Egyptians than tourists. Try the layered beef, spectacular.

Taxis, great experience. talk to the hotel reception should cost about 20 Egyptian pounds to get to the old town. Negotiate and agree a price with taxi driver first. You might not get this price from the first driver you speak to. shop around. The guy at the back of the rank is more likely to give you a good price. Good experience going to the old town. Driver offered to wait to bring us back. Should have gone with that.

Coming back we had a bit of a rogue. Agreed price. but he drove us to the last big hotel on the edge of town. said this was Naama bay. Then tried to put us on the meter as an extra. Told us if the meter is not on the checkpoint would not let him through. carried on a lot. Threatened him with tourist police and he backed down. As per other trip advisor entries (good advice). Got us there, but could have been better. Everyone else we met was charming.

Would we go back, yes, and to the Noria, yes and it is not often we have gone back to places but I have a feeling about the Noria. Its something a bit more special. Hope the security situation will allow more visitors soon.

Room Tip: Talk to the reception staff, ask them what sort of rooms they have got. Choose from the selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IandABrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear IandABrown,

Greetings from Noria Resort – Sharm El Sheikh!

Thanks a lot for the time taken to write us your review.

We would like to thank you very much for having been our guest and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience specially that it's your anniversary & also the first time in our Resort.

Furthermore, we highly appreciate your impression about our hotel in addition to the hotel location & our staff, and that you had a real enjoyable stay plus you felt very welcomed as we always starve to gain your satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you soonest to enjoy once more our hospitality.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our third time staying at Noria and have never been disappointed. A great hotel with excellent location and service. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Mr Kamal and Tamer, who made it a pleasurable stay. The fabulous pool view room was really nice and clean, thanks to Yasser (the cleaner). The food was nice and fresh everyday, with a delicious range of dessert selection. Great drinks were served by really lovely staff, Sam, Hossam and Mohamed. The hotel has a enthusiastic animation team, Katia and Sam, who livened up the entertainment, including playing great music everyday. Noria beach was the best place to go to chill and relax. Noria is located within the heart of Naama bay, with many fun activities to do and nice, cheap local restaurants and Cafes if you fancy eating out. I highly recommend Noria Resort!

Room Tip: First floor pool view rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Yasmin,

Thank you so much for visiting us for the third time and for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.
It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.
We are also happy that you appreciate the food offers.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Sharm El Sheikh and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Although this is my 5th time to Egypt it was our first time in noria, didn't no what to expect because of some negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised as this is a lovely hotel, yes could do with some updating but everythink you need was available. Food was nice though repetitive but was never cold as had previously been complained about in reviews, moanam our waiter who we called mo for short was excellent, nothink was too much for any of the staff. Our room was kept very clean with clean sheets and towels daily. Mossam the pool bar guy kept our beers coming and was very friendly. Hotel was pretty quiet as brits seem to have stopped coming, believe me there is no danger in sharm. I even had a cake brought to my room on my birthday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shasteLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear ShasteLancs,

I would like to thank for your time taken to inform us about your experience at Noria Resort.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed spending your time with fun and joy with our team members & all our assets.

Wishing you all the best & hope to see & welcome you again the soonest!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The is the summary of my holiday -

Bad things in the room -
ROOM
Air con breaks three times
Fridge leaks
Flooded room
No hot water
Broken hair dryer
Broken lock on door
No clean towels
Plug sparking
No spare toilet roll
Telephone not working
Curtain broken
One key and they would not give us another key
Old and tired looking room
Broken draw
Poor lighting
Broken towel rail
No drinking water in the room
Kept getting an electric shock off the big lamp in the bedroom
Water never stayed the same temperature hot and cold throughout the shower

FURTHER 3 ROOMS OFFERED WHEN COMPLAINED
All as bad as above
Heath & Safety issues
Electrics hanging from walls
Throw back from the 70's
Dirty and unkept
Enamel off the bath tub
Would not pay for Suite even Rep pointed out issues to Mgt

FOOD
Same thing everyday - beef, chicken and fish (often on the bone)
No variation from lunch to dinner
Food cling filmed so uninviting
Nothing to first night
No fruit with breakfast
Deserts horrible always looked a mess
Self service only drinking in small plastic cups
Food - breakfast till 9.30 then no food till 1pm - 2.30pm then no food till 7pm on All Inclusive
No atmosphere in restaurant, no music, often felt uncomfortable like you are being watched

POOL
Freezing swimming pool
Limited sun space for avid sun goers in peak
Poor service at the pool bar
Beds broken
Towels old and faded should have been replaced years ago
No food offer at pool bar

REST OF THE HOTEL
Completely flooded when it rained (dealt with flooding really badly)
Billiards room unkept and dirty again no atmosphere

ANIMATION
Activities - darts, belly dancing, yoga, water polo and stretching
Evening entertainment very minimal possibly time of year
Outside hotel clubbing if requested support by Animation Supervisor which was very good

TEAM
Animation team very friendly
Supervisor seems experienced and knows his job
Restaurant floor team and chefs friendly tried to accommodate requests
Housekeeping polite and took interest in our names and normal towel creatures on the beds
Reception were ok one gent very helpful one not and it always felt like he was causing problems and making us feel uncomfortable for no reason
GM - rude and aggressive - even told us that we had to adapt to suit him as he has it hard, I could have sworn I had paid to stay in his hotel.

I have now been to Egypt 7 time across the different parts and this is the worse hotel and even worse GM i have ever met, the team tried but he was just rude.

Room Tip: Tip - don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookable Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thanks for your time taken to write us your review.

I would like to thank you for your comments and I regret that you did not enjoy your stay as we would have wished.

We have investigated the complaints fully and wish to reply to you to confirm that serving you the best way is our main aim.

Regarding our rooms, our housekeeping staff ensures that the room and all facilities in the room are fully functional before your check in . However, if you experience any mishaps, our team is always accessible around the resort to fix any problems or assist you with anything.

Also about the food, we have a set meny changing daily as we are keen to serve a wide selection of food varieties for our guests to make sure that any guest finds what he/she likes to eat.

Concerning the pool temprarure and the limited sun space, unfortunately, the weather was so windy, rainy and cold all over the country, which leads to loss of temperature from the pool and less fun around the pool.

We would have appreciated receiving your comments during your stay so we can work on them instantly and make sure that your experience with us was flawless.

We hope that you could give us a chance to welcome you again at our resort, so we can make up for your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Well I'm sat here in the shade at the Noria waiting to be picked up to go to the Airport. This was our 3rd visit and once again we had a great holiday. Staff are really nice and attentive and we'll do anything to make your stay comfortable. The food was very varied and of good quality, if you require anything different you only need to ask the chef and he'll be happy to accommodate you. It's very quiet here with only English and Russians but it's perfectly safe in Sharm, I don't know why everyone else is frightened to come it's a lovely place and the people are friendly and look after you. The hotel beach is now double the size it was. Special thanks must go to the General Manager, Momed the best waiter in Sharm and Yasser who really made our room comfortable every day. Remember to drink plenty of water as this is the main cause of a tummy upset. Thanks also to the Camel Dive Club who organized some superb diving for us. Grab yourself a bargain and have a lovely time at the Noria Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with a 2 are quieter and by the upper pool area, but it isn't too noisy anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmanawy, Public Relations Manager at Noria Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Geoff S,

Thank you so much for visiting us for the third time and giving your feedback here
It is always a great pleasure to receive feedback from satisfied guests.
Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity; such comments are very valuable for our team as they represent a very important tool of measuring our performance and improving our level of services where necessary.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again the soonest.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.1 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#161 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#108 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,413 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#197 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#98 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
583 reviews
3.2 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#59 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noria Resort

Property: Noria Resort
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Noria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the traditional Roman architecture, Noria Resort is conveniently located at the center of Naama Bay, only 14 km from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. Warm sun, azure sea and clean, white sands with the luxury of a four star deluxe hotel, the property offers water sports, entertainment, the finest recreational facilities, exquisite dinning, and comfortable accommodation. Noria Resort is a total resort experience whether you want to relax or be adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Noria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noria Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Noria Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing