We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a disgrace don't go near it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams Vacation Resort
Ranked #132 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This hotel is a disgrace don't go near it!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is an absolute disgrace that Thomsons are still advertising this hotel not only this but advertising it as 4 star they are having a laugh! My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in September and could not wait to get home it was a hurrendous experience for us, when we arrived at reception I was instantly dissapointed with the look of the hotel as someone quoted earlier "tacky" this was spot on, our room had 2 tiny single beds, the safe was ripped off the wall, the fridge was warm and the air con was blowing out hot air .. Not a great start to our holiday! , we got our room changed the next day which was much better but not for long our toilet would not work so we called reception for them to send down 2 "plumbers" they didnt have a clue what they were doing told us it was fixed, walked out and the bathroom floor was flooded with water from one of the pipes. The main buffet restaurant was not in use as it was being renovated this was an inconvenience considering we stayed in the dreams vacation and had to yoyo back and forth to and from the dreams beach just for food! , the food was a disgrace I had egg shells in my omlette, a pancake thst was uncooked, no waiter service what so ever in the dining area the whole holiday, the alchohol tasted like paint stripper, soft drinks were like syrup, the sales reps were the most irritating people I have ever came across constantly trying to sell you massages after telling them no thankyou 100 million times!! , you had to pay for bottled water which was a complete joke its a basic necessity, the buffet restaurant was dirty, chefs were rude and just didnt care what they were serving you, witnessed lots of people on drips due to illness from the food, entertainment was terrible a man with a mike and laptop singing sweet caroline is what they called entertainment, you had to pay to eat in the al a carte restaurants so what is the point in being all inclusive ? ,we payed £3.50 for a starter in the mexican restaurant which consisted of 4 crisps on a plate with cheese on the top really ? You would get a full bag of crisps for that price. We have nothing positive to say about this place as it was a total rip off and sheer dissapointment, I will be putting in a formal complaint to Thomsons as they should romove this hotel from their brochures its a dump! My advice is go somewhere else, also the location is even worse its in the middle of nowhere, the list is endless!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 33590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    253
    136
    59
    62
See reviews for
241
349
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Previous Review Sept 4th
My wife and I are still here until 11 September and are planning to come back ASAP staff are so courteous and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. This is by far the best holiday we have had regard value for money. I'll write a longer review upon return to UK.

Here as promised is my “Full review” of Dreams Vacation Resort.
Upon arrival after booking in, very painless, we were escorted to our room and our luggage taken for us. The room was large enough and very clean complete with fridge, two bottles of water and two Cokes restocked each day if required. Safe deposit box, FREE. Shower, bath, toilet, bidet and wash basin. Air conditioning. Bedding and towels are replaced every day, and room cleaned.

The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful and will always say hello, the staffs command of English is far better than most Europeans command of Arabic. Waleed our Thomson rep was especially helpful, and, unlike some reps not overly pushy selling excursions, he let you make your choice and gave sound advice, one of the best reps I’ve come across.

The restaurant is buffet style as is usual with AI accommodation there is enough variety to suit all, and if there is nothing you like you can ask for something to be cooked for you if available. For those who like bacon or pork, forget it, it isn’t available, the fresh salad and fruits are wonderful as is the yoghurt at breakfast. The after dinner sweets are to die for.

The hotel grounds are vast as you have the choice of Dreams Vacation and Dreams Beach amenities and can get the Taf-Taf between the two and book the restaurants at either, we tried them all and by far the best was the “Bedouin Tent” which was traditional Egyptian foods, and entertainment. Also book the “Love Boat/Fish Market” where you pick your own fish, cooked as you want it.

The beach is well worth the effort (137 steps) of going to as there is always a pleasant breeze and it is several degrees cooler than the hotel grounds, and if you can swim you must try snorkelling it’s like swimming in a tropical fish tank, AMAZING, and remember the Red Sea is the warmest sea in the world.

Trips that we enjoyed were to Soho Square expensive shopping but no hassling, and a musical fountain. Old market cheapest shopping area but plenty of hassle and be prepared to haggle offer 1/3 of asking price and be prepared to walk away if he says NO, you’ll eventually get a mutually agreed price. Neema Bay, loud brash and fun, hassle and bargains if you haggle. Sand buggies great fun and into the desert wear long sleeved shirt if you drive

The whole time we were there we never saw or heard a Mosquito, but we did get bitten by little black flies we took insect repellent none of which worked, try the herb man by the shops but be prepared to haggle for a local repellent.

If you get an upset stomach there are excellent clinics at both hotels if you can’t manage your own medication. There is a chemist about 400 meters if you turn left outside the hotel, ANTINAL is the tablet that worked for me 80egp per box. There is also a supermarket cigarettes 155egp for 200.

The whole complex was very quiet as there were only UK and Egyptian guests due to other countries getting cold feet. We felt safer here than we have in many other resorts throughout the world, so have no worries about your safety.

It was our first time in Egypt but it most certainly will not be our last, can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Blocks 50, 51,52 and 54 are quietest, but furthest away from facilities. 2 min walk to main part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good hotel; but cannot give realistic impression as was very quiet. Service was great and the resort was beautiful. Food was OK but was scaled down as the resort was so quiet. You could ask for steak/ burgers if you did not see anything you like. The pergola restaurant was great and we tried the Asian and Mexican(which you had to pay for) Lobby bar was great and had good atmosphere. You could get any sunbed around the pool as there were no Russians. Only concern is the amount of people who had upset stomachs and were put on drips by the clinic. Maybe need to look at increasing sanitary control, by using anti bacterial hand gel before entering the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at! First trip to Egypt, so was amazed by it's beauty and culture anyway, but the hotel was just amazing. What really made the hotel was the staff, so so SO friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, we were treated like royalty throughout the whole week. Everyone was so polite and attentive, we honestly couldn't fault them at all. If anything, it was the managers who could perhaps be faulted...one evening we caught a restaurant manager shouting at and 'telling off' a member of the bar staff, who was really doing a very good job and had been rushed off their feet from the start, they may just be doing their job but it must have been embarrassing for the bar staff. Wa-El and Androw are excellent members of bar staff, and made us feel very welcome. Wiseem and Thomas who paint at the hotel are also exceptionally welcoming and friendly, as is Aiman who makes the sand ornaments.

The resort and facilities are also excellent, with everything you could possible require.
The entertainment throughout the day is superb, however at evenings a little disappointing.
Drinks and food selections are good, with lots of variety and different themes each night.
Weather was absolutely incredible from 29th August-5th September, 40 degrees+ everyday without fail.

I never write reviews for anything, but simply had to just to emphasise the exceptional staff here at Dreams Vacation. They really make the hotel. Will definetly be returning asap.

Jenna x

Room Tip: We had pool view balcony, which meant we were right in the centre of the hotel, i think those that d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a fantastic holiday as always 14 times stay here going back in September ,we have travelled to a lot of places in Egypt , Desert trips cruised up the nile ,travelled on the Red Sea , Cairo , even to Jordon, we love Egypt ..but we still keep coming back to Dreams Vacation so friendly ,so welcoming ,great people great friends .

Room Tip: whatever room you choose you will enjoy ,either view the pool or the lovely gardens .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calstu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Was an amazing experience for our first time in Egypt! Nothing but praise for the staff, were Very friendly and alway helped us to get to places. It was a bit too quiet of the night but we use to go into the town which is about a 5 minute drive. Rooms were very clean and cosy, the sister hotel was also very nice and so was the food! Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel12345travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, Middlesex United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Staff were fabulous, which seems to be the norm in Egypt. From our collection at the airport to our return to it, we were treated like visiting royalty.
Rooms were cleaned each day to a good standard, I can see why some may think some areas are a bit tired but they are so clean you don't notice. Coke and water put in fridge daily and for a few extra pounds, coffee/tea replenished daily. Clean towels and bedding daily.
Clean pool/beach towel daily on a card system. The pools are clean spacious and there are plenty of sunbeds.
Huge selection of food, they will also cook individual meals if you don't see anything that you like. Thomson guests had a separate dining area (if you want it) that was quieter and where the waiters bring you drinks etc. Guests are entitled to both lunch and dinner at the Italian restaurant and the Grill House which we used and enjoyed but you are expected to dine in the Mexican restaurant which does cost but is very reasonable and the food is terrific.
There is a shuttle service to the beach every 5-10 minutes, however, the short stroll through beautiful gardens (especially lit up at night) is enjoyable. If fit there is a climb down to the beach, if not so fit, there is a lift. The beach is not the usual sand then water covered in sunbeds but a 2 minute walk alongside the cliffs, dotted with sunbeds here and there. A jetty takes you out over the rocky shallows where you just plop into the water, instantly surrounded by the most amazing fish. You do need a snorkel or goggles to see them.
The animation team were fabulous, friendly but not pushy, constant low key activities if you want.
The staff really did make the holiday. If you do feel hassled by 'salesmen', a polite 'no thank you' does the trick, however, some of these extras you may enjoy.
Our only gripe was with Thomsons (who haven't published my review on their site). On our flight out we were told how lucky we were to be travelling in a long haul plane and the wonderful facilities we would have if we were on a long haul flight, however, we would have none of them, including a film. Over 5 hours is a long time to sit in a seat with not a lot to do and I don't think it would trouble them too much to put on a film or two for their passengers who pay plenty for tea/coffee and snacks. On our return flight we were asked to donate to a Thomson charity, via the screen that didn't show films...I don't think so, might have if they had shown us a film. I will never travel again without some type of computerised entertainment which I thought interfered with flight equipment
Overall, great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#133 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#47 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#95 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#107 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#74 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Labranda Tower Bay
Labranda Tower Bay
#28 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Vacation Resort

Property: Dreams Vacation Resort
Address: Um El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#118 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dreams Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Vacation Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Dreams Vacation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing