We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but would not recommend it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Ranked #95 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but would not recommend it!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We arrived late at the hotel, plated continental food supplied to our room. The hotel was clean and pleasant, we had no problems at all with that, apart from the mini fridge wasn't very cold, when we reported it, nothing appeared to be done about it. The downside of this holiday was:- All inclusive, was NOT all inclusive (1st time we have every done all inclusive) ........ yes there were fizzy drinks, local alcoholic drinks and water on offer at certain times of the day free, but come to 11pm, all had to be paid for!! Also, fruitjuice is not included in the all inclusive for children, so be warned, if you don't give your little ones fizzy drinks in England, you may have to there! If you do complain alot, then you may be lucky enough to get a bottle of juice taken to the bar for your use, ask the barmen 'nicely'. Bottles of water had to be paid for all the time. Only certain food was free at the beach bar and the restaurant, certain times of the day. The food was VERY repetative, if you didn't like pasta or rice, then you had rawish potatoes to eat! There was a lot of variety, but what was out for breakfast and lunch, were simply leftovers from the dinner the previous night.
Entertainment - we didn't need to use the kids club, but I was told that when an english family approached the miniclub for their children to attend, they were told it was only for the Italian guests! This was questioned and was in fact true, as the hotel is exclusive for italians, but as they do not fill the place, then other tour operators can then sell rooms, with this in mind, they provided an International Animation team (for entertainment), they were very good, but did not provide a kids club. Also, some of the evening entertainment was held in the Layalina bar, this is not an all inclusive bar after 7pm, therefore, you need to pay for your drinks while the entertainment is on!
Every family we spoke to, someone in their party had been ill, all 3 of us in our party were ill within the first 3 days, sickness and runs. If you do feel ill, go and see the pharmacist straight away, as he gets you sorted out immediately. The grounds do tend to be quite smelly around 9ish in the evening, as they use recycled water for watering the grass and plants, so bewarned ......... we tried to be indoors around this time. Don't use the supermarket in the shopping mall in the hotel, as the prices tend to be made up (nothing has a price on) and very expensive. There is a supermarket just outside the main doors and to the right, we used this one all the time and his prices I felt were fair. If you like to go for a walk in the evening, there is nowhere to walk to near the hotel, so you may want to take a taxi somewhere. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the snorkelling. My 14 year old daughter was fairly bored, as there wasn't anything for her to do or go, luckily she met up with some girls her own age, but then they were just wandering around, nowhere to go!
In all, yes we had a good relaxing holiday, wouldn't go to Shores Amphoras again, but that is just our opinion. I have heard of other nice resorts in Egypt, where people have not been ill (we have never ever been ill on holiday before, this was the first time), and where the entertainment has been better and all inclusive means all inclusive 24 hours a day!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JueRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you for your review . all your comments will help us in the future.
As you noticed the Hotel caters for many nationalities , Russian, German, Egyptians, British Italians Polish etc and I assure you that is not only for Italians guest, they occupied about 220 rooms from the 480 in the Hotel.

Every night we have a Mini Club for kids and some activities are held during the day.

During the month of July and August the temperatures in Egypt are between 38 and 45 degrees which is too high and the human body reacts to this high temperatures, during the dates of your holidays we had more than 1.200 Guest every day and not serious health problems have been reported to the Doctors or Front Office as our Log Book do not show many entries, as I say all is due to high temperatures and body change I assure you that our Health and Safety regulations for Food are set very high by the local authorities and we do get audited by an International company once a month this include the pools.

The problem with the smell in the ground is solved as we had more comments from other Guest and we change the irrigation programme , now start at 2.00 am till 5.00 am this will help and we thank you for your comments.
Thank you.

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    654
    283
    118
    86
See reviews for
648
625
108
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Great hotel, we came late the first day, almost midnight, and they provided us with the dinner packages at reception. Whole staff handled everything promptly. Room had an amazing view, very bright and clean, it had a LCD TV and the fridge and everything worked great, air con specially.
Food was great, mainly continental food, we wouldn't mind more oriental dishes, Egyptian night was great. Coffee for breakfast and beer were above average, wine was little too sweet for our taste. 80% of the guests were Italians and we didn't had any problems with that. Mini disco entertainment was in English and it was fun, Aladdin was great. Hotel has a very interesting landscaping, pools and beach are very nice and unusual.
We didn't thought that we'll use jetty, but we did used it every day, our kids loved the clean and warm water. Beach chairs were padded, towel service was great, Mermaid restaurant was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Orlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
We care very proud to be part of your holidays, I will post your review so all staff can see it.

We are happy that your children enjoy our beach and facilities.

We thank you very much and we hope to have the pleasure to have you and your family back in Shores Amphoras.

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

- I came to this hotel this summer for two weeks, i thought it was very good!
- The staff were very friendly, especially if you were English!
the 5 star animation team were excellent, mainly Mohamed, Alla, Gamaica, Violetta and Aladdin!
- Mohamed Sobhy from the CocoLoco was really nice too us!
- Youssef from the resturant was excellent aswell!
- The food was a bit repetetive but was good.
- The food in Bella Vista was really nice!
- Mahmoud from recreation was really nice aswell
- Our favourite pool while we were there was the 'palm pool' as we found it had a lot of entertainment going on, waterpolo, aqua gym, ping pong and my favourtie club dance!
- We went snorkelling a few times off the jette, it was amazing! It's like a different world there!

The only thing we found not so good, is nothing to do with the hotel, but it was the Italians! They seemed to think they were better than everyone else and didn't seem to respect the staff at the hotel.

OVERALL = EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englandgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
We appreciated all your nice comments in reference to our Staff from Recreation, Animation, Bars and restaurant and I will post your review in the Staff Cafeteria and Social Club.

We hope to have the pleasure to have you back in Shores Amphoras ,which from know please consider "Your Home away from Home"

Thank you

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detrois, mitchigan, ohio, New York, Philladelphia, New Jersey, Salou, Alcudia, Magaluf, Santa Ponsa,
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2010

When we first arrived we had to leave our suitcase by the guards, not being to Egypt before i was worried about leaving my suitcase whilst checking in, but later realised it's because the porter will come and take you to your room by helping you with the suitcase, then of course they expect a TIP!

The hotel rooms were very clean and tidy, I thought it was pretty Modern we had a Sofa and flat screen TV, the fridge was free to use which was handy as we drank mostly bottled water so we could put some in the fridge ready for the next day, i would be carefull if using the safe as some people mentioned that the cleaners all know how to get into the safe via a p/w they keep for emergencies, so if i were you i would lock your valuables in your suitcase and paddlock it.

The food was ok, there seemed to be a lot of choice i'm a fussy person so i always stuck to more aless the same thiing everyday which was pasta, so if you love italian food you will enjoy it. The alcohol choices were not that great, they didnt give you the real spirits we are used to, it was all their local stuff although they were generious when pouring drinks.

The swimming Pool's they have are great they had about 5 different pools all were clean and some were shallow enough for children to play in.

I wasnt too impressed with the Receptionist they didnt seem to want to help you with anything, we booked to have some photo's done via a photographer who visits the hotel he booked a time and date with him and he didnt turn up, so we asked the reception to call him and see where he was, but they wanted to charge us even though it was a service they provide, and then we found out our airline went bust on the day of leaving and they were unhelpful then too,

Apart from that i thought the hotel was really pretty, they have there own coral beach which is amazing to see so make sure you take an underwater camera the fish are beautiful.

oh and if you are coming from the Airport by Taxi pay no more than £150 egyptian pound, if they say its more refuse to pay it, we got scammed on that on the way out then realised after it wasnt anywhere near that much. They do tend to hassle you in Naama bay but nothing like i expected i had fun haggling them and i never once felt intimidated by them.

Things to do - Quad Biking we paid about £120 egyptician pounds and it was a really good experience so worth doing if you get the chance.

lastly Dont DRINK their water, my boyfriend got ill he was using the water to brush his teeth and having ice cubes, if i were you i'd get bottled water all the time and stick to that dont even touch the fruit as they wash it in their water.

All in all i had a great experience at Sharm el Sheikh, i would recommend this hotel, as i think its great value for money, and they have entertainment on every day and night, anything from salsa classes on the beach during the day, and in the night they had belly dancers it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3mma0ldfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you!!
Your review is much appreciated and we take notice of the Reception staff ,your comment give us the opportunity to look into this department and train our staff...Thank you.

In reference to the safe key, I assure you that only the Chief Engineer and the designated duty engineering staff that is responsible for the keys, can open any safe box, the designated person every time he needs the key which is in a safe signs for the key the pick up and return date and time with 2 witnesses, we do take very seriously all Guest safety matter.

Once again thank you for all your comments.

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

the hotel was lovly and the grounds !!! while we were there the lights went twice the food was very repertative chicken,rice or pasta for lunch and tea the all inclusive was a joke only on till 11oclk shows started at 10 and lasted an hour the staff worked hard on them and they were always very pleasant aswas all the hotel staff !!!! the air con was great considering the heat !!!!! we took taxis into naama bay quite cheap had fun !!! we all so visited the old market which was an eye opener all in all we had a good holiday but feel we could not go back to this hotel !!!! ps we had to order room service some night or phone for takeways because they dont realy cater for children that much !!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhead04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you for your valuables comments we really learn a lots from all reviews , and yours specially about the Kids food comment, helps us to become better and to do the necessary changes in our operation.

Thank you and perhaps you change your mind and try us again.

Thank you!!!

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I have just returned from Shores Amphoras, We went all inclusive on a 10 day holiday. The hotel was very clean and tidy and is a really big complex so lots to explore. The food was very good and varied on a daily bases with some theme nights. We took our baby son (18months) with us and the staff where very helpful with everything we needed, while it was hot the room/appartment had very good air con and some nice pools to cool off in.

I would defanitly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for helping us to have a very enjoyable holiday.

Daniel Brindle and family

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel1978brindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you for the review and we are very happy that your vacation was enjoyable, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome back at the " Best Keep Secret in Sharm"
Thank you

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We booked for 2 weeks in August as our main family holiday and on arrival were impressed with the attention to detail of our requirements for a ground floor room as one of our party was in a wheelchair, we had a meal waiting in our rooms as we had missed dinner on the first night which was a nice touch.
We never had to put our towels out around the pool as at previous resorts for a sunbed and I saw the beach pool cleaned most mornings by the hotel staff both in the water and surrounding areas. The beach area was good for swimming and snorkelling off the jetty although some Italians were breaking off the coral when the attendant went for his dinner break!
Most of the activities are in Italian but you can join in if you wish to. We found there was enough food and drink on offer throughout the day that we only had to purchase water for the nights, which we have had to do at most hotels we have previously been to. The diving offered from "GrandBlu" was of a good standard and on the boats you were split into different abilities so all could enjoy their dives.
The staff were curteous and polite to us at all times and my sink was mended in the room within 2 hours of reporting it broken. The food was of a good standard for a hotel that caters for 1000 guests, and there was enough variety on offer for each meal, at least it wasn't England abroad!! I would go back again as I know speaking to some of the staff that the blocks are all being upgraded slowly to bring them back to life as some are tired inside. There needs to be some upgrading to the air conditioning in the restaurant as this was poor, but it was 30+ at nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrojas, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
Thank you very much for your review, we really are worried about your comments of the corals because this is very important for us, I will speak ton the Recreation and Security department to help in this matter, we do take very seriously the environment facts.

I confirm that all units are been renovated inside and painted in the outside of all building including the terraces.

We wish to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Shores Amphoras and once again thank you for your help!!!!!

The Team
Shores Amphoras Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#93 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#23 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#36 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#133 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Sharm Resort & SPA
Monte Carlo Sharm Resort & SPA
#61 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Amphoras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Amphoras

Property: Otium Hotel Amphoras
Address: Salah Taher St. | Omn El Seid Cliff - POBox 110, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Amphoras Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Otium Hotel Amphoras 5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located up on Um El Seid Cliff overlooking the Red Sea, Shores Amphoras is ideally located in one of Sharm El Sheikh’s most beautiful areas. Situated near one of the top diving spots it is a haven for divers and snorkelers. The hotel allows you direct access to many underwater and marine wonders, the highlight being an exciting ship wreck diving site called Amphoras (from where the hotel has proudly derived its name).Shores Amphoras is 18 km away (25 minute drive) from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport, and 11 km (15 minute drive) from Neama Bay (Centre). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Otium Hotel Amphoras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Amphoras Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Shores Amphoras
Amphoras Holiday Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing