We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shores Amphora”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Ranked #80 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shores Amphora”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Shores Amphora. We have been to the Red Sea four times and love the weather, the coral reefs, the people...
We exchanged our RCI weeks and were really pleased with our choice. Check=in was quick and friendly-bags ferried to our room within minutes. We had a one bedroom with small kitchen and two balconies to choose from - if one balcony was too warm, the other was shaded so we never felt uncomfortable. We didn't even need air-con, as the room was always comfortable, even when it was 35C. We had meals at the Mermaid - very good food and excellent service-my husband arranged a birthday cake on my birthday which was fabulous! And of course a birthday chorus from the staff. Meals at the Bella Italian restaurant were also very good. We used room service quite a lot which was quick and very good value-lots of leftovers for next day's breakfasAs once keen divers, but not so adventurous now, we thought the 'house reef' absolutely fabulous-we didn't feel the need to dive as the reef supplied us with wonderful marine life right before our eyes. The only (small) downside was that when the wind blew, the visibility was reduced, but it was still fantastic.
Our cleaning team was great - in fact all the staff were simply great - always smiling and helpful and probably what made our trip so comfortable.Any small defect regarding kettle malfunction or light bulbs missing was swiftly dealt with. I must mention the pools - we were just a few steps away from one of the main ones-huge, clean and warm. There was quite a choice pool-wise-the lagoon type theme stretched from the reception right down to the beach, so always somewhere to take a dip. Also, our evening salad came mostly from the hotel veg garden-so fresh!
If I were to add a negative, the evening entertainment was, at times, loud and a little annoying, but, hey, thats what earplugs are for!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you!!!!! for your extensive review which I am sure it will be of good help to all our future Shores Amphoras Resort Guest........ also it is of much motivation to the Team. :)

Thank you for your comments about the food we too appreciated all all other favorable comments.

In regard to the maintenance schedule ,the points you mention will be discussed with The Hotel Engineer so we can correct.... Thank You!!!!

We hope to have the pleasure to host you back in our Resort and we all wish you a good day.

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    664
    283
    118
    86
See reviews for
674
635
111
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

well just got back from 3 weeks at this hotel this has been one of the best holidays i have had when we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and arranged for us and our bags to be took straight to our rooms as we were tired from flight the room was a lovely surprise with a view looking over the sea and we had a lovely basket of fruit and fridge full of pop for the kids me and the kids loved the breakfast especially the omelette man as we called him as he makes the best omelettes going with a lovely smile the choice of breakfast was great as the kids had a try of everything and fell in love with the pomegranate fruit and yoghurts as for the lunch which was the best meal of the day for me so much to choose from and i could never tear away the kids from the pudding section as there cakes are to die for the strawberries in egypt are so sweet the kids loved them we spent most of our 3 weeks by the heated pool which the kids loved they were always bugging the poor barman but he never minded always had a smile even when getting a bit wet from them and as for the pool attendants they were always fooling round with the kids and the animation team were great especially francais who always interacted with the kids even took my 2 year old alexis to play darts with the other kids and would often get in the pool and play with them giving me time to sun bathe lol plus kept the wife quiet by chatting to her dont miss the bella vista restaurant as this place really treats u like royalty i would just like to thank all the staff from our room cleaner to the manager tony for making this holiday one of our best

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for your honest review, we all appreciate and will give all of us a "motivation push" as is nice to read such a review!!!!

And I this the opportunity to congratulate all my team for a work well done!!!!!!

All the staff joins me and celebrates that we made your holidays a memorable one...... and we wish to welcome you and your lovely family to " Your Home away from Home".

All the best and have all a lovely week!!!!

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hi we are a family of 6 .what can I say we thought the staff where really great and on the whole friendly ,the best best best man in the place is ahmed ataw the best life guard in the whole world!! We are an English family and the hotel is mainly itailain and Russian and Ahmed looked after us like kings ,in his own lunch time he went in the sea with us and looked after the children while we went in for lunch ,he also told us all about the fish and sea wild life ,what more can I say about him except he his now a life long friend!!! The anamation team tried there best even tho it there was some other moany guests Francis was great full marks to her ,we did have a problem in the room ,the hair dryer caught fire and it did take 2days of going to reception to sort it out but they did it after the food diriector sorted it out ,he was a nice man,loads of food but the choice was a little boring after a week same ,but all presented lovely,the new year eve meal was brilliant and the show from the English team was great .the holiday was great and the hotel was great I would come here again any time ,well done ,the hotel is rated 5 star but the rooms need a little up dating so I would rate the room 3star but the hotel main areas 4 star .I have tried to be honest with my review ,but remember you are in egpyt not London .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your lovely comments.

We are glad that you had a good holidays, and in reference to the comment "little up dating rooms"; We are glad to inform you that we are renovating all standards rooms and should be finish by May this year.

Your comments about repetitiveness of food is taking into consideration to discuss with our Kitchen Director and your mention about the Gala Dinner also...Thank you. Also the animation Show and music for the party.

You are absolutely right and very honest to say that Egypt is so difference to other countries, this is the beauty of the world we are we living, the difference in culture, manners, food, history, weather, arts etc, and we are very proud to serve and help so many different s nationalities..... :)

Once again thank you and have a nice week....

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great if your Italian, if you do not speak the lingo don't go. Swimming pools, only 1 the rest just for paddling.Grounds well kept and public areas clean and tidy, the rooms however are 1* one star only, if your timeshare its disgraceful. As for the food it was uneatable raw chicken or burnt 'steak'. Staff where all smiles but getting any thing done...well. Rooms need upgrading urgently, get a grip on the food on evening service, this could be a great resort with better management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pred749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your review which is very important to us.... we are sorry that we did disappointed you, and I will investigate your review...... we do pay a lots of attention to all reviews in TripAdvisor and we notice that the last 20 reviews have not been that bad in fact some compliment us in the mixed nationalities and they praised very high our food standards.

Your comments about "avoid if you are English", surprise us because all late reviews are been send by British customers, of course you know as well as we know that our gastronomy is different to English cuisine but guest seems to enjoy in here, also the weather is much different with few degrees difference :)

Perhaps for your next vacation you should seriously think about spend your holidays in a place were will suit you the best!! but if you change your mind you are most welcome in Shores Amphoras Resort and you can stay in one of our new renovated room, we are going thought a total rooms renovations which should be finish soon.

Once again thank you and have a good day!!!

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Memorable place. Unforgettable moments by the beach...
Very cooperative crew, and friendly too.
Perfect place to cram yourself full with delicacies... state of the art restaurant.
Clean and breezy rooms.
Superb services...
Really had fun and hope to go back there soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mothertoleila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!!!!!! we are proud you had a good vacation and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Shores Amphoras.

Thank you!!

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been going there every year. Love the animation team, they're very friendly, very enthusiastic, & very welcoming. The atmosphere is beyond heavenly.. The pool is really clean, rooms are clean and the sea is amazing. The food is delicious. I love the simplicity and elegance of the hotel. I'm glad I spend time there.. I will go this summer vacation.. Lovely hotel <3

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank ypu for your kind comments about our property!!!!!

I am sure that the staff will be most happy when the read your review.

Thank you and have a nice evening....

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had good vacation. So pretty animation team (Nastia, Alla, Ira, Masha from Russia, Fransis). All meal was tasty. Good music on the beach. Less Russian more Italian. Local spirit are weak and not tasty. Disco-trip is safe but shoud be some stop for having meal after party.

Room Tip: Good rooms near swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aralvarez, General Manager at Otium Hotel Amphoras, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Good evening and thank you for your review, we are happy that you had a good holiday at Shores Amphoras Resort and we will be honor to have you back.

Your comment about the dinner after the disco night will be studied, thank you for telling us!!

Have a nice weekend!!

Tony R. Alvarez
GM
Shores Amphoras Resort
Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#94 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#133 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#39 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#56 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#31 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Sharm Resort & SPA
Monte Carlo Sharm Resort & SPA
#52 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Amphoras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Amphoras

Property: Otium Hotel Amphoras
Address: Salah Taher St. | Omn El Seid Cliff - POBox 110, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Amphoras Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Otium Hotel Amphoras 5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located up on Um El Seid Cliff overlooking the Red Sea, Shores Amphoras is ideally located in one of Sharm El Sheikh’s most beautiful areas. Situated near one of the top diving spots it is a haven for divers and snorkelers. The hotel allows you direct access to many underwater and marine wonders, the highlight being an exciting ship wreck diving site called Amphoras (from where the hotel has proudly derived its name).Shores Amphoras is 18 km away (25 minute drive) from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport, and 11 km (15 minute drive) from Neama Bay (Centre). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Otium Hotel Amphoras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Amphoras Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Shores Amphoras
Amphoras Holiday Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing