We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Cleaner Awesome, Food Truly Terrible”
Review of Viva Sharm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Sharm Hotel
Ranked #215 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well Let me begin by letting you know that we are no strangers to Sharm El Sheik, having stayed in many places over the years and not paying the earth for the holiday sort of expected a bit of a dump. And that's exactly what we got...
However room ok, for a 2/3 star, cleaner Ali the best ever in Egypt, the staff an asset to the place but the food was bloody terrible. We stayed for three weeks so we expected to see some change even repetition in the menu but not the same menu for three weeks. Not only that the quality of the food was dire so much so that we ate out most of the time in the last week. Cold food was the final straw, oh not to mention the raw liver... Overall if you want a place to use as a bed and breakfast whilst diving and you plan to eat out a lot then you wont be disappointed. Oh I was in the forces for many years and the spirits are like paint stripper FACT. Just give it a miss and save yourself dysentery.

Room Tip: Room 323 ours, not the best but a good size. However Ali the cleaner simply the Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest of Viva Sharm Hotel,
Thanks so much for your review and i would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sharm ,,, i would like to assure that all your comments specially the negative one will assist us to improve our services in the future and we will be happy to see you again here in Viva Sharm Hotel ,,, thank you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 788 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

were do i start after arriving late at night our room was were this hotel nightmare statred.
our air con in the room was broke which in the hot weather was not good well waiting for this to be fixed we went out to our balcony to find that our patio doors were broke so after a long flight late at night we had to then wait for over 2 hours for these problems to be fixed. then there was the problem with the all inclusive the food was awfull and not a selection atall and after being told all inclusive was 10am till 10pm this was not true 5pm till 6pm the all inclusive was not open. the staff at ths hotel were very unsettleing on our firdt night the person who cleaned our room turned up outsid the hotel in a car with 3 other men and sent other members off staff in to try and make us leave with them. then there is the shuttle bus driver to when in the bus alone would kiss and stoke my arms and stroke my legs. i would never advise anyone to use the taxis outside if they are older men as they are the worse as on oone account we had to run out of the taxi and run to the beach after being harrsed and very scared. we had complained to the manger about this situation with the hotel staff and pushed how uncomftable we felt and after this our room was cleaned terribly and staff we very rude and abruct to us. i would not advise anyone to go to this hotel as a family or as a girls holiday it was the worst holiday of my life.

Room Tip: never go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

dont know where to start really.this was my third visit to viva sharm and it was the most enjoyable one .the hotel has come on leaps and bounds.lots of improvements and many more underway .all things take time and money.the staff from top to bottom are amazing ,nothing is too much trouble.my quiet chill out break came to an abrupt end five minutes after arrival when i bumped into some ladies from last year were checking in ,they were amazing company and made my holiday.viva sharm is propably one of the most welcoming hotels i have stayed in in sharm and this down to the way it is run.this is my second home and second family.one thing that does niggle me about some of the reviews is the comment about lack of cups. well if people did not take them to the rooms and leave them there the problem would be solved .i saw one couple bring back five cups one morning!!! at least they brought them back!.i could go on and on but the bottom line is that this hotel is value for money in every sense.i am going back over the christmas period and so looking forward to it.thank you viva sharm see you soon regards to you all.margaret

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margarethouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest of Viva Sharm Hotel,
Thanks so much for your review and i would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sharm ,,, i would like to assure that all your comments specially the negative one will assist us to improve our services in the future and we will be happy to see you again here in Viva Sharm Hotel ,,, thank you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

mid october 1 week, two adult one 10 year old, euro 240 all in hotel only.
occupancy of hotel maybe 50 %
we were the only dutch around, few, if any ,belgians, germans, russians.
mostly brits without and egyptian with children.
waiters seemed pleasantly surprised to get tipped

plus: pool area, deep pool 230cm, clean pools, food well done, no flies in restaurant, dishes well covered with foil, friendly staff, spacious rooms with very big beds and terrace, adequate, though noisy, aircon, prices outside all-in concept very affordable ( can of coca cola 3 egyptian pound ) no hassle around the pools of sales reps wanting to sell tours etc.
minus: mere superficial cleaning of rooms, especially bathroom, has taken its toll, could do with a thorough cleaning every once in a while, mattrass worn, entertainment amateuristic, no real coffee only nescafe, quit decent cup of tea though, childrens pool to deep in the middle, no childrens playground, price of wifi is ludicrous


overall :
dont expect culinary surprises but you wont go hungry, food is bland in general.
i saw nobody with food related bowl problems, even i myself have had no problems, and thats a first timer!

cleanliness of the general area in the hotel is adequate, daily fumigation of grounds, deet does actually keep the local evening mosquitos away,

beach Farsia through 5 min.shuttle service gets my recommendation, nice sandy beach, nice first time snorkling on child safe bech side of reef, affordable ( can of coca cola 11 egyptian pounds, can of lager 16) really friendly ( not just friendly in order to get to your wallett, but genuine friendlyness, a commodity rare in tourist business) owner/manager, or rather HOST called Mehmed, speaks excellent english and renders GREAT service.

location not really within walking distance of beaches, Il Merkato ( kfc,mac,starbucks) 15 min. stroll by paved side of street.

on average we got what we payed for

Room Tip: quiet pool=quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janvanruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest of Viva Sharm Hotel,
Thanks so much for your review and i would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sharm ,,, i would like to assure that all your comments specially the negative one will assist us to improve our services in the future and we will be happy to see you again here in Viva Sharm Hotel ,,, thank you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the Viva between 2nd and 10th October,all in all we had a fabulous holiday that didnt start well as we were given a different room to one i had e-mailed and requested when i booked back in May(i requested the quiet pool area but was given a room at the busy side)This room was in need of refurb with broken tiles,ripped net curtains and stained walls,carpets...and the door knob fell off in my hand...lol).Although we had to wait the night to change,the staff were polite and curteous and helped in any way they could.
The room we got was room 328 and it was large and very comfy with the only prob being the bathroom basin taps which were not bolted to the basin so moved around but they werent an issue.
The cleaner Ali,is fantastic and for such a small guy,he gets through some work and always has a smile on his face,and his towel art is brilliant.
The food at the hotel is repetitive as written by others(see review by Cliff J) on here, but its edible,but be prepared to love chicken,beef and pasta and of course,chips!!
The staff without question make this hotel what it is,our towel guy,BoB,was so friendly and again could not do enough for you,and the waiters especially Ahmed are efficient,friendly and helpfull.
Downsides are that the all inclusive is not all inclusive..you have to pay for bottled water and certain cocktails and the biggest downside is that the all inclusive finishes at 10pm,just as most peoples nights are starting and we found that once it had finished the bar area emptied so the hotel was quiet from about 10.15 onwards.
We found a lovely bar just up the road from the hotel(cant recall the name but it is next to the Bassem market to the left of the hotel as you walk out).good food and cheap drink with lovely staff.
All in All,the staff and people we made friends with(steve,tracey,Skye,,murdo,carol)made this holiday for us.
We have booked to return to Sharm el Sheikh in Feb2014 but not to the Viva Sharm although i will visit the hotel to say hi to the staff we got to know(see you in Feb, Ahmed :)

Room Tip: If you want the modern rooms with a quieter location then ask for the rooms in the 300 range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanyo1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest of Viva Sharm Hotel,
Thanks so much for your review and i would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Sharm ,,, i would like to assure that all your comments specially the negative one will assist us to improve our services in the future and we will be happy to see you again here in Viva Sharm Hotel ,,, thank you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Arrived at hotel at night looked nice staff were very friendly and helpful after checking in went to rooms which were large and very basic and clean but the bathroom had a very bad smell when flushing the toilet smelt like a sewer,,the food area was clean but food was awful not much to choose from and the same throughout each day no variety so eggs and toast for breakfast pizza burgers chips lunch dinner well I won't go there tea coffee at breakfast was cold and the cups ran out after half hour with no replacements cups and plates were chipped all the food was cold as no hot plates to keep it hot worst I've ever seen in my travel experience so would I go back noooo!!!!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a very relaxing stay in August, reason for late review when I returned home Mum was very ill.Hotel we'll laid out , staff so helpful and pleasant and food good.Something tasty for everyone.I had one little problem upon check-in please let the management know soonest and all will be sorted to the best they can.My thanks to Walid in the restaurant and Hassan in the bars.
A very relaxing, pleasant and enjoyable stay.Hope to return soon.
Jim Rundell 14-21 August 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva_Sharm_12, Director of Sales at Viva Sharm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Lovely Guest,

Really i don't know or the way to thank you so much for your review ,,, it's really so nice to feel that you saw closely how we improving day after day to let our guests more and more satisfy ,, i appreciate each word you mentioned and hopping that you will keep your promise to be with us again when you will decide to visit Sharm again, on behalf of Viva Sharm Management and staff i would like to thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,583 reviews
2.6 mi away
Naama Inn
Naama Inn
#200 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#133 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#154 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#176 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#110 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Sharm Hotel

Address: Motels St. | 500 Meter from El Mercato Street, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Sharm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viva Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Viva Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Falcon Hotel Viva Sharm
Falcon Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Falcon Inn Viva Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing