We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous friendly staff, very clean, very few British guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #46 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous friendly staff, very clean, very few British guests!”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I echo everything said in the previous review so just need to add a few extra comments. The fact that 85% of the guests are Italian means that there are very few people to have a chat with at dinner or by the pool, they are not the happiest people that we have met and made NO effort to acknowledge our family which wasnt a problem as there were 6 of us but it may have been if we were just there as a couple. The Brits tend to stick together, safety in numbers!!! There are a few Russian guests that tend to be very rude and were very violent when playing a friendly game of water polo!! You can visit the hotel next door ( Nubian village) where there are water slides and more British guests if you fancy a change of scenery but you cant eat here.
The hotel is spotless and the management run the whole operation very smoothly, the staff are so friendly and within a short space of time they had arranged for our 3 grown up sons to play football against them after work!! The staff loved the fact that we were English and went out of their way to make our holiday happy. Omar in the restaurant and Sam at the pool bar were wonderful when we all had upset stomachs by recommending what to eat and drink ( be prepared for this by getting tablets from the rep as the sooner you take them the less painful the stomach cramps are), when we couldnt get hold of the rep Omar went to the pharmacy and got the tablets for us, bless him! Mohammed in the upstairs bar is so friendly and a real charmer!! We had a fantastic location for our 3 rooms, right next to the pool ( Mohammed who keeps the pool running smoothly is so lovely) and the restaurant/reception so we didnt venture to the other pool or the beach very much ( snorkelling off the jetty is great when the red flag isn't flying but make sure that you never walk on the coral as we got told off!!)but the option is there if you fancy a change of scenery!
Bob and Julia from the animation team do their very best to keep everyone entertained with darts and water polo but they have very few options open to them, the hotel should provide the animation team with better tools to do their job properly.
The evening entertainement is organised by the Italian reps who make NO effort to acknowledge the British. The night club is dominated by them and when our son and daughter asked for some English music to be played the dance floor cleared in a few minutes!!!!
When Alex offered to organise our trips for us we were cautious because the Thomson rep had warned us off anyone but Thomson. I'm so pleased that we didnt listen to him as we had an amazing speedboat trip to Tiran Island and snorkelling on a wreck and a quad bike trip that was really great fun, and we saved a fair amount of money too!
We were told on the way from the airport by the rep that 98% of Egyptians dont drink alcohol so when they make it they dont taste it and you can tell this because it tastes terrible, he wasnt wrong!! This obvioulsy is dependant on personal taste but the only thing we liked was the dark rum and the beer. If you fancy an imported drink you certainly pay for it, a gin and tonic was £8.00! In week 2 we went on the courtesy bus to Namah bay and brought duty free gin and bacardi which was really cheap and treated ourselves to a decent drink!!
There are a few shops near the hotel, within walking distance, and a great English pub about 20 minutes walk away called the three crowns if you fancy a decent steak!( turn right and keep walking then cross over the road!) It's worth a trip to soho square which has up market shops and a lovely fountain display. We loved the fact that we were away fromthe busy life in Namah bay because we wanted a bit of peace and quiet but if you want lots of night life and action it would be best to stay nearer Namah.
Hope this helps!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelarower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

After a 10 minute transfer from the airport, first impressions of the hotel were great; a big impressive entrance which leads into a large and spacious lobby and reception area.
The staff are really helpful and nothing is a problem. We had an issue with the air conditioning on the first night which couldn't be fixed but we were moved straight away with no issues.
We had a bungalow room which was big and really clean. Only down side to the room is the mattress is REALLY hard. We spoke to other people and it seems this is the norm for the beds.
The animation team are really friendly and not pushy (Bob is excellent and loves water polo!).
You will also meet Alex who works for Safari trips (If I remember correctly) and he is brilliant as well. We travelled with First choice and the prices of the trips are almost double what Alex offered. We were dubious about booking outside of First Choice, however a helpful couple who were at the hotel for the FIFTH time couldn't recommend Alex enough - and true to form, he didn't disappoint!
The only consistent down side to the holiday was the surface of the Island pool. It seems to have broken up and consequently is really rough on your feet. Not so bad with dry feet, but after 10 or so minutes in the water, when your skin becomes soft, it just shreds them - especially if playing an energetic game of water polo!
There is a second pool nearer the beach which has a kind of foam surface, so maybe this is planned for the Island pool as well.....
I guess because of the close proximity to the airport, you will also get planes going over head, fairly low about every half hour during the day - not a huge issue, but not a tranquil getaway by any means!
The main restaurant near reception is good, with a wide range of food on offer. Waiting staff are very helpful (Omar in particular) and most nights have a different theme.
The hotel is about 20 minutes from the old town which is well worth a trip. ONLY GET THE BLUE AND WHITE TAXI's!!! We almost got a dodgy taxi and when we realised, nearly started a fight between the drivers!! They drive like maniacs - speeding, no lights and on the phone! Apparently it is Allah's will they believe in, so wear a seat belt to gently assist with Allah keeping you safe!! The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus, but last one leaves at 17:00 returning at 20:00.
The diving is excellent and is best in Na'ma bay which is about 15 minutes away.
All in all, this hotel is a great base. You don't need to leave the confines of the resort, but there is so much more to see a short distance away than just the pool bar (even if Sam is a great guy)!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ickey877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Dont think iv ever seen such a beautiful and well kept hotel, such a gorgeous environment. The staff were lovely, very friendly and spoke brilliant english. Food was great, lots of choice especially with the meat and fresh fruits. The pool and beach areas were lovely, plenty of space and sunbeds, also very clean. Entertainment staff were great, very welcoming and friendly, great sense of humour but not over the top. Absolutely must go snorkelling in shark bay, the most beautiful coral and fish, such a wonderful experience. I loved everything about this holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

we have been to this hotel numerous times before and i have to say it gets better everytime we go. the entertainment is getting better,as is the pool activities.
maybe its because more british people are going to the hotel now.
the rooms are kept clean every day,and the staff all look after you.
any problems and they are sorted out very quickly.
this was our 9th visit to the nubian,and we will definatly be back

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmima63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Nubian Island Hotel is very clean and the rooms very spacious. Hotel staff are very friendly and courteous. Good choice of food in the the buffet restaurant but the chef's are not good at cooking meat, the chicken was always good. Italian restaurant forms part of All Inclusive however advertises a 3 course, set meal every night, to include pizza, pasta and another, usually meat dish. This isn't correct as the only choice of main dish is pizza. Nice to be waited on however. This also doubles as the beach bar which is a great pity. The beach lets this hotel down as it is very small and shelves. The sunbeds are on top of each other so not very relaxing and you always get shade from other peoples areas. There is no beach bar so for drinks a short walk to the Italian restaurant is required up some stone steps. Both pools are very nice but noisy. Entertainment staff are all italian and don't want to know you unless you are italian. 98% Italian guests, 1.5% German, Russian or Polish & 0.5% English.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrannan0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walse
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

i think nubian island is a great place for children and adutls. the staff are always on hand if you need them. they are very polite and patient. the level of hygine is brilliant the cleaner's come everyday to do your room and the hotel its self is very clean.the food is very nice they have many selction for you to choose form. entertainment is fantastic. they also do good mini disco for children. i highly recommend nubian as it is a fantastic place to come relax and enjoy with family and friends. x

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Changed hotel to stay here, and so glad we did.
Great hotel, with friendly helpful staff ( George ) pool bar fantastic.
Food was what we expected, with a good choice, but eat early if possible as the food is at it's hottest. . Ideal for adults as most guests with children stay next door at Nubian village resort ( Don't confuse hotels ). Would reccomend this hotel to both friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,254 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#40 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing