We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful , friendly Egyptian experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #46 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful , friendly Egyptian experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a great experience at Nubian island, the staff were so welcoming and friendly always offering a genuine smile and impeccable service. This was our first visit to sharm so we were slightly apprehensive that the hotel would be a generic concrete building with over manufactured surroundings, not so, it was charming and quaint, The walk down to the private beach and crystal clear waters through Palm trees, cactus, a stream, wooden bridges and little Nubian style bungalows was magical, especially at night. Being British we were in the minority amongst many Russian guests, we made many Russian friends and enjoyed our experience of a Russian Christmas eve on the 6th of January. A real chill out, good food and a wonderful meal at barracuda fish restaurant, many thanks to the staff and management for a memorable stay in sharm el sheikh, we would recommend this hotel looking for a quiet relaxing holiday with plenty of Egyptian hospitality, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Would like to thank you for your time to share your positive emotions about stay with us. Wonderful that you have enjoyed Christmas on 6th of January and got many friends from different countries (during your stay guests from Belarus, Ukraine, Russia had vacations as well). We are ready to provide plenty of Egyptian hospitality your next coming to us.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    388
    104
    42
    19
See reviews for
735
731
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent our New Year holidays in Nubian Village, nice place for that price, nice territory, cool animation team, warm swimming pool, clean rooms (we left 1-2$ tips and every day had different super cute figures from towels))).
Many families with children, very calm and comfortable place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katya_mya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Katya,
It was a pleasure for us to celebrate New Year together and hope it could be a nice tradition.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Take no note of any negative feedback you may read on here. This hotel and its staff are everything you need and more for fab holiday. Its clean, nice food to please everyone, a quiet pool and an active pool (heated and appreciated in Jan!) It was a perfect visit to egypt. This hotel is 5* quality our 16 month old loved it and slept extremley well. So did we.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TheClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Family Clements!
We are so glad that you and infant had a lovely stay with us. Hope to see you all again! Highly appreciate your excellent marks.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the nubian from the 15th to 29th November 2013. It was our first holiday to Egypt. The hotel was lovely although I'd say closer to a 4 star than a 5. The rooms and grounds were always clean.

The majority of the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you.

The main down side is the other guests. About 80% of the guests are from Russia and whilst I usually enjoy getting to know people from other countries, I didn't on this holiday. They were so rude, to other guests and the staff.

The entertainment wasn't the best, but the entertainment team were lovely and did try their best. I think the hotel should bring in some more outside acts, as the ones we saw weren't great.

A word of advise, take mosquito repellent. I got bitten over 50 times the first night, but learnt my lesson for the rest of the trip.

We had a great holiday and would probably return to this hotel if we visit Egypt again; I'll just make sure I have mosquito and Russian repellent :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley_L_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Many thanks for your review and comments concerning animation, mosquitoes and some guests. We would like to see you again with us and hope that you will enjoy some improvements.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our first experience of Egypt and we had a great time.
The staff were amazing and just wanted to make sure we had everything we needed to enable us to have a fab holiday. We were in room 467 the room was basic but very clean and Mohammed our cleaner was a perfectonist and created some wonderful animals out of towels and bankets.
Maged at the pool was always smiling and nothing was to much trouble. The entertainment team - Barbara, Zeno, Antonio, Kate to name just a few worked extremely hard and the shows they put on were brilliant. The navity play on christmas eve just reminded us what christmas should be about, then afterwards the banquet was amazing. Yes the sellers were a pain the first day but just get a Do not disturb sign from the pool guys and then they leave you alone. Some of the Russians got very drunk and sometimes were rather loud and rude.
The only problem we had was that the heated pool was not heated when we first arrived but once reported it was turned up and within a couple of days it was fine - in the meantime we used the Village's pool as that was like a bath. Food plenty of choice and constantly being changed something for everyone. We met some great people and hope to be back soon

Room Tip: We were in a hotel room which was large, very clean but basic - we only got changed and slept in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Fabulous that you have enjoyed your Christmas celebration with us and got positive experience as it was your first visit to Egypt. Hope to see you again and celebrate different occasions together.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Good:
+ Great territory with lots of green trees, flowers and even a mini-river
+ Good selection of food
+ Nice beach and amazing sea
+ Heated pool
+ Friendly staff (room cleaner #730 and Maged, the bartender)

Bad:
- !!! Beware. The spice shop in the hotel's shopping area sells counterfeit spices. We bought some green pepper and it was a fake. It was regular black pepper painted with green watercolor! The seller's name is Lorenzo, be careful! Hotel staff must stop such fraud.
- Very bad mattress smell or the wooden bed (room #730).
- Bungalow rooms are outdated and need renovation: the bathroom, tv, windows can be opened from the outside even if locked.
- The mini bar is empty by default -- doesn't make any sense.
- Endless salespeople offering you massage, shopping tours, diving, fourwheeling and whole bunch of other activities. Feels like you are at the Arabic market. Very disturbing and drives you crazy when you are trying to have a rest.
- Music a bit too loud at the heated pool area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank biozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guests!
Thank you for your time to write comments. Definitely your alert points are very important and will help us to control and change. Thanks again for staying with us.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Third time at Nubian Island, been to other hotels in Sharm we like this one better than any other. The food is excellent, enough choice to suit everyone if you can't find something to eat you really are a fussy eater. We found the hotel. Very clean, rooms are cleaned every day our housekeeper Mohammed Gamas was a real perfectionist taking a pride in his work. The staff are really friendly and efficient I just don't know how they remember you from holiday to holiday. The animation team are really good and are ready for a chat at anytime of the day (Kate Gabby and Zeno ) Natasha from guest relations was really nice and helpful. Thomson rep Vicky was lovely and more than helpful and always available. I'm not saying this hotel is perfect but it's many good points far out way any minor faults, I don't mind the odd shaky table or chair the people make this hotel special to us well done all

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruslana0212, Public Relations Manager at Nubian Island Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Michael,
We are so glad that you have found your hotel and feel yourself as at home. Repeated guests are a special asset for us as we observe that our job is not in vain, and sure we are ready to improve and provide you all the best.
Best Regards,
Ruslana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#11 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#44 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Property: Nubian Island Hotel
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing