We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nubian Island Hotel - Fantastic staff and Animation Team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nubian Island Hotel
Ranked #52 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in Nubian Island Hotel Jul-Aug 13. The Sole and Luna Animation Team made the holiday especially Sereena, Kristy, Peopo and Moutez, who made us feel really special. The towel man and pool bar guys were fantastic, couldn't do enough to help. the whole hotel was great and would strongly recommend. All had stomach upsets but didn't make us ill and it was the heat definitely not the food!

Room Tip: Apartments near the Lagoon pool were nice, nothing is really to far from the restaurants or pools.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,994)
There are newer reviews for Nubian Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,994 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

After having such a bad experience last year, we were, needless to say, a little apprehensive. We were welcomed at the hotel by extremely friendly staff and lovely cocktail. We were escorted to our Bungalow and our holiday began. Everything was so clean - everywhere. I still cannot believe how green the grass was considering the heat. The gardeners were out every evening, when it cooled down a bit, and took care of the lovely gardens.
The bar staff greeted us with smiles and continued to do so throughout the whole two week stay. The hotel staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough for you and the special British menu's were a welcome break from the norm. There was such a selction of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Italian onsite was amazing, and if you can actually eat five courses, you will certainly enjoy this experience.
The housekeeping was impecable and our room was spotless every day with clean towels and decorations on no less than 3 occaisions. Our first housekeeper was even kind enough to leave extra water for us so that our fridge was stocked all the time.
A special mention to George at the pool bar who was very friendly and dedicated to keeping everyone happy with drinks, snacks and ice-cream.
The animation team were excellent. Bilel, Michael, Sphie, Kristi and Shereen were the ones we spoke to most of the time and they spent alot of time with us in the evening while waiting for show time. Just amazing - thank you.
There was lots to do and different activities every day and night. The beach party is good ona thursday aswell as Kareoke on a Monday, although it was very much a competition between the Brits and Russians... :)
The Old Market was a short taxi ride away, Soho Square also only a short taxi ride away. Ask the animation team or staff how much you should pay though as you should only pay about £60-70 Egyptian (£6-7 English) The hard Rock Cafe was a big hit in the second week and everyone is very friendly. I wouldn't recommend the KFC though - not good...! :(
If you go to Sharm for the snorkelling, you will not be disappointed. We had a private beach with a jetty and beyond this was a shear drop of coral reef - OMG Awesome. we also went out on a speed boat and this was amazing. We stopped at three snorkelling sights but on our way to the third sight, we had wild dolphins who decided to join us. This for me, was just totally awesome and I am definately going back. Well done to everyone at the Nubian Island, you are amazing..... :) :) :)
Lisa, Karl and Kieran

Room Tip: Chooses a pool side view room, bungalow or treat yourself and upgrade to a 2 room bungalow for famil...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaMaria1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at Nubian Island with my Girlfriend and another couple. We arrived late at night on the 24th of july and were greeted by very welcoming reception staff who had refreshing glasses of fruit juice waiting for us on arrival and a member of staff also carried each of our four cases to our rooms.

The rooms are clean and very spacious. A big mention to the cleaning staff who had our room spotless each day and were very friendly to us each day. They displayed some very nice towel art in our room on 3 or 4 occasions. The air con in our room was fantastic and made for a welcome relief when the sun reached its hottest temperature during the day.

We chose to stay around the quiet pool for our two week stay. It was very relaxing and Waheed the pool attendant was very friendly and helpful each morning and always greeted us with a happy smile when we came down from our room. He is very enthusiastic about his job. Also a special mention to the pool bar man George who works tirelessly each day in the hot weather to ensure you have enough drinks and ice cream to keep you happy. He is such a nice man and also very good at his job. The pool was great to escape from the heat which was in the late 40s for most of our stay.

The hotel has 3 different restaurants which serve different types of food. Our favourite was the italian down by the beach. Mohammed the head waiter is such a friendly man and cant do enough for you, always checking to see if you need anything and if your food is alright. Also the amount of food you get in the italian is amazing and the food is really nice. The main restaurant is good and very clean although some of the food we weren't too fond of but there is something for everyone. The food got a bit repetitive over the two weeks so we decided to eat out a good few nights of our stay. We dined at the Hard Rock Cafe in Nabq on 3 different occasions and we loved it. Its not too expensive either and the staff and great at making you feel at home. We also dined at the Zen Chinese restaurant in Soho square twice and the food was amazing. I really recommend a visit there.

When travelling by taxi do not get ripped off, agree a price with the driver before you set off. A taxi from Nubian to the Hard Rock should cost no more than £10 Egyptian (£1 sterling) and do not let the taxi men tell you any different. If they say a bigger price just walk away and say you will get another taxi and more than likely they will take your fare. A taxi to and from Soho square should cost £60eygptian (£6) and the taxi man will agree a time to collect you and will not take money for payment until you are returned to your hotel.

When out shopping i would advise that you never pay full price for ANYTHING. Always haggle them down to a price you think is fair. Walk away if you think they are too expensive, no doubt they will call u back begging you to buy.

One of the highlights of our holiday was the animation team. We got very friendly with Michael who is one of the nicest lads you can meet and is a great laugh as well. He really looks after you during your stay. Billy is also a gentleman and makes you feel very welcome in the hotel.

Overall it is a really pleasant hotel to stay in and the staff do work very hard to make the stay enjoyable.

Negative points - the hotel doctor is a complete rip off, I cut my thumb open with a bread knife and he tried to charge me €115 just to clean and dress the wound with a plaster. So i would advise you take out the excess cover in your insurance.

After only 3 days there each one of us had suffered from diarrhoea and vomiting, this seems to be quite common in Egypt amongst guests from Ireland and Britain.

Do not drink the tap water, do not even brush your teeth with it. Use bottled water thats free from the hotel.

The wifi is crap when using it in your room. You get a better signal using it in the lobby or by the pool.

Outside the resort there is rubbish everywhere. They really do not look after their country at all. There is plastic bottles everywhere and they just seem to dump rubble everywhere even at the side of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corrigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went to the Nubian Island Hotel for the first two weeks of the summer holidays. The hotel is excellent, made so, by the staff who work. there. We cannot praise the people who work at the hotel highly enough. Everyone from the people at the reception desk to the man who gives out the towels was kind, friendly and helpful. The animation team were all enthusiastic and as chirpy at 11 at night as they were at 9 the following morning. The pools and beach were lovely and the food was good. The only thing we would change would be the food served at the poolside bars, a little more variety and more snacks would be good.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In-between the main hotel and the quiet pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplepea_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here from mid July to end July for 2 weeks. The Hotel is superb, clean and attended by excellent staff throughout. From the Bar Staff to the cleaners everyone is so courteous and friendly. The cleaner was in particular very good, making lovely towel animals for the children.

The best part of the holiday was the Animation Team. We cannot speak highly enough of their professionalism, dedication to their job and overall attitude. We have experienced other Animation Teams in 5 star hotels in Tenerife and Majorca but this Team was without comparison. Billy, Kristi, Micheal, Romeo, Mizo, Sam, Beso, and the others were all excellent and deserve huge praise. From first thing in the morning to last thing at night they were superb, never without a smile and always friendly. We know some guests found them a bit loud but for us and many others they were excellent.

The Animation shows were superb. Billy choreographed the routines to perfection, the staff practiced in their down time and even made the sets themselves.

Read a lot of reviews before we went about rude Russians, we found them nowhere near as bad as described - if anything the real problem was the stereotypical English guests who just spent the whole day at the pool bar. The Russians can be a bit rude to the hotel staff but if you engage with them they are fine - be careful when you play them at water polo though as they are very competitive!

The area itself is across the road from some shops - barter for everything, even in the supermarkets and airport. In Egypt all prices are negotiable. One word of warning, both my wife and daughter had stomach upsets while there although that may have been down to too much sun and too much Gin!

Only bad point was the main Restaurant which had a School Canteen feel about it - although if you can get a seat outside its fine. Food was fine, with the exception of the Italian which was superb, if a little repetitive. Mohammed in the Italian Restaurant was without question one of the nicest people we met in Egypt, as was Mohammed in the Barracuda. As we're Amer and Sam by the pool.

Overall superb Animation Team, good hotel with friendly staff and would return here if only for the Animation Team! Thank you to all at Nubian Island for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: Go for a room between the Reception and Beach if you can get one.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhil754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having not been on holiday for two years, The Nubian Island Hotel was a welcome break. I did not realize, however, that this hotel would give me one of the best holidays of my life.

The animation team were brilliant. Billy, Micheal and Sophie etc, were amazing. I would like to mention Kristi in particular as she was very friendly and a brilliant member of the animation team.

The private beach was beautiful and provide excellent snorkeling and swimming for children and adults with some lovely fish to see.

You do get hassled a bit by the pool, with people trying to sell you things buts not bad and would not ruin someones holiday.

Thank you Nubian Island.

Room Tip: Bungalows, are very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCnMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just back from our last family holiday.
The Nubian Island is a nicely laid out resort with its own stretch of beach and a jetty.You can also use the sister hotels slides which the kids liked.The food in the main restaurant is reasonable but the Italian and Seafood restaurants had lovely food.It was great having the ultra all inclusive for unlimited free visits to all restaurants and some massages.
The staff overall were very friendly ,particularly Mohammed in the Italian restaurant who gave excellent service and seemed to be a really nice guy.They were all great with our 6 year old daughter.
The only minor complaints were quite a lot of rude Russians and a lot of confusion over your entitlements with ULTRA ALL INCLUSIVE .The staff need far greater training with this as it is a bit of a pain trying to book things when the staff never seem to know what you can have.
Overall it is a very nice resort and the staff in the main are one of the best assets it has.
We had a lovely holiday there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank easytiger1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
350.0 mi away
Nubian Village Hotel
Nubian Village Hotel
#15 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,714 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#17 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,801 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,446 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#14 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 41231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $103 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing