We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel
Ranked #146 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a very enjoyable trip to Sharm. It was our first time in Egypt and was a very good experience. The hotel was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We did do the tipping at the start thing but also found that people were generally nice and helpful anyway. There was genuine variety in the food and we didn't get bored with the choices over the week. The rooms were clean and to a good standard. I did think that maybe they add an extra star to their hotels too freely, but we still thought that it was a good place to stay. Location was perfect and you could get downtown in five minutes. Do buy your water and sun lotion downtown as they are a lot cheaper. Carrefore is a good place to shop for most anything. The Blue Fountain is also a good place for a meal or a drink. The owner is English but the food is local delicassy. Buy a mask and snorkel and stick your head under the water. Even at 4 feet it is amazing. I've never seen the colours of fish outside of an aquariam. And if you are adventurous, scuba diving is cheap. A trip into the desert to ride camels and visit the Bedouins is also a cool cultural outing. If we were the sort of people who went to the same place twice, we would definately go back and stay at this same hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed just off of the smaller pool and found it quiet enough but there are probably quieter plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William-BillCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your first time in Egypt and your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your compliments on our friendly helpful staff, variety of food, clean rooms, location and beaches.

The star ratings may be different in other countries, i'm not sure of this. But we did a lot to earn our 4 stars, and maintain that rating. Hotels are a bit different in any country, and you will find that in Egypt, Sharm Holiday has very high standards compared even to other 4 star hotels, and is very different and nicer than a 3 star hotel here.

As you said it is a nice hotel, and people will see from reviews, including yours, that guests enjoy their time here, thanks.

It's great to hear that you would stay here if you came back to Sharm, we would look forward to seeing you again, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 959 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am currently staying at the Sharm Holiday resort in room 308 overall the hotel is ok food good rooms cleaned regulary Resaurant staff excellent but then we come to the bar. I am not picky about local alcohol brands but the one thing I do want is cold drinks. There seems to be complete lack of ice in this hotel I hate warm drinks get a grip guys and sort it out!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardiffchris666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We appreciate your positive feedback about our food, good clean rooms, and excellent staff.

However, I do not think it is fair to rate us lowly simply for not putting ice in the alcohol. And you have not even completed your stay yet.

The alcohol is part of all inclusive, which is a very reasonable price, and you are not limited to how many cups you can drink either. It's a very good deal. Yes we do use mostly local brands, in order to provide more to you, as we would have to ship over more at a high cost otherwise, and wouldn't be able to provide you with as much quantity or variety.

You even said, local brands are fine, so the only one small thing that let your stay down was the lack of ice in your alcohol. That is not a fair or professional reason to post a bad review.

I have passed on your comments about ice to the General Manager, we are open to suggestions, and are always looking for ways to improve our services.

In all honestly, the bar staff as you said, are actually really excellent, they will take special requests, mix thigns for you. But they are Egyptian, and the majority of Egyptians do not drink alcohol at all, for religious reasons, so are not experienced much in that area. But they learn, and are happy to take suggestions or requests for new kinds of cocktails, ice etc. If you had simply asked after the first time, i'm pretty sure they would have put ice in your drink from then on without any trouble.

Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on this hotel, this review is not a fair representation of us, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

the food was horrible never anything normal to eat only fish and egyption food also never chip sometimes not even bread i liked, and the pool was shocking and really cold you could never go in them there was only to and they were terrible the only things i liked were the free wifi and the amazing beach with the fish ! if i was you i wouldn't go there at all !the beds were uncomfy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
Thank poppy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are disappointed to hear you didn't like the food, but would like to clarify some points to future guests.

We always have at least 3 meats and one vegetarian option at dinner, and two or more at lunch, and the menu is buffet style with many many options to choose from, to suit a variety of tastes.

We do in fact serve hot chips, hot dogs and burgers usually at least once a week, and chips often more than that. And the room service menu is specifically designed for english tastes, its fresh, high quality and cheaper than eating out in town, if you want a change of menu style.

There's an entire table of different types of bread, generally 6 kinds or more. If there isn't a type that you will eat, that's really uncommon, and other guests do not have that issue. The bread is freshly baked daily in our own bakery at the hotel, as are the desserts.

There is one cold pool and one warm pool (this is due to the very high heat in sharm year round). The only reason you would think the pools were cold is this, either you didn't try both pools, or you were there in the week or so in December where the main pool was being upgraded. This is now finished and the warmer pool is ready to be used all day anyday.

Thank you for your compliments on Hadaba beach, it is only a short (free) shuttle bus ride from the hotel, and as many people say, has a beautiful reef for snorkeling. Also we are one of the few hotels that has free wifi available, some places charge alot to get it, but we understand the need for wifi while on holdiay overseas and provide that free of charge to our guests.

All of the beds are slightly harder in Egypt than in some other countries, you will find that even in a 5 star hotel, makes no difference, it is simply the way they make them in Egypt. But in saying that, never, in over 500 reviews, has anyone said they didn't sleep well due to the bed. The beds are slightly different, but they are very comfortable, and people sleep well on them.

Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on this hotel, this review does not fairly reflect how things really are at the hotel, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

So it was my third visit to Egypt and to this hotel. Really good each time. The main pool was closed for refurbishment, I left yesterday and was meant to open today, was such a shame, but it looked amazing before I left, cant wait to see it when I return in two months.

On arrival we were greeted by reception who were polite and helpful as they always are. Given a welcome drink and were taken to our room, which was 505, nice and quiet, close to reception and close to the incline which takes you down to Naama Bay aswell as very near the 'quiet' pool. Perfect position if you ask me, only downside was that my room didnt get the sun on the balcony, but this wasnt that important as we were sat by the pool by 9am each morning.

After unpacking we decided to go down to dinner. It was my mums first time to Egypt and after reading recent reviews of the food being terrible she was really worried about going. When looking at the many choices she was really pleased as was I. I am a very fussy eater and so food is always an issue for me. My last visit to the hotel was in March for 16 days and the food has definitely got more choice now and improved dramatically. I could always find something to eat and although some meals I just had chicken and vegetables. I was happy with this. During our stay there were different themed nights such as Chinese, Italian and Egyptian however there was always alternatives such as pasta or chips if they werent your thing.

Housekeeping came everyday and did a good job, he seemed to come later at around 10 or 11 this time which suited us as when I came in March, it was often 7am or before I was woken up for the cleaning. All staff are constantly pleasant and chatty to you, Yasser who works at the pool bar and in the dining area is a credit to the hotel!

I saw the quiet pool cleaned 4 times in our weeks stay which I thought was great - heated this time aswell which was a bonus! The drain covers break sometimes as expected when people decide to walk all over them, within 5 minutes of somebody stepping and cracking one, the maintenance man was over replacing it which I thought was very impressive.

The massage team do a great job! My mum has an injury to her foot and after months of seeing doctors and them unsure of whats wrong, the Egyptian girl May noticed immediately she had an injury and advised my mum to go for physiotherapy and it would heal itself - she was very impressed!

Am returning in 2 months and have booked for June and October and will be booking for 2014 when flights are released. Cant wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuciaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and the photos you shared.

It's great to hear from a regular guest, we really appreciate that this was your third visit, and we are very pleased that you had another excellent holiday here.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the main pool being upgraded during your stay. Thank you for your compliment, it is definitely improved, and should now be open again.

Thank you for your compliments about our polite helpful staff, room, food, housekeeping, quiet pool and massages.

We do like to give our returning guests a bit of special treatment, and we are always happy to see a familiar face here. We appreciate you coming back a third time, and we look forward to seeing you again in June, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just arrived back from a week here – wend 6th Dec to 13th Dec 2012.
OK, the good bits. Food is OK and there was something I could eat every day. Salads were nice. They have an egg/omelette station every morning and something going on a lunch and dinner, whether it be fresh pasta or fresh pancakes.
The pool staff are lovely – Radi was star. The room staff are also lovely. As were the restaurant staff, they couldn’t do enough to help you out.
It is nice and close to Naama bay but just far enough way too.
OK, that’s where the good bits end.
We had a problem as they were working on the large pool so this wasn’t open and neither was the games room. So we only had 1 pool.
The reception staff were not very friendly although they did move us when we requested it.
The staff at the pool bar were really miserable, so thank goodness George came on duty half way through our holiday, he was lovely.
They have older rooms that are not very good. Really old dark furniture and the paintwork etc.. on the patio was just terrible. Air conditioning unit was noisy as was the fridge, both had to go off overnight or no way could we have slept.
We did get moved to a much better room by the pool the next day.
It’s local booze and it’s just awful. We learnt from a previous visit to Sharm and bought 2 litres of Smirnoff on the way out but you still have times where you drink their stuff! Yeuk!!
The beer seemed watered down and the mixers are horrible and flat and overly sweet. There is also no wine included in the AI package which was a nightmare for us as we love our wine no matter how naff it might be. The hotel should look at including this, even if only in the restaurant at meal times!
Entertainment!???? Oh deary deary me!!!! That’s all I have to say!
And usually an absolute must for me, iron and ironing board!!?? Nope!!! Can’t get them here! Make sure you take already ironed clothes with you and pack them well.
It was very quiet while we were there due to the ongoing renovations and it did ruin it for us.
Having stayed in other 4 star places in Sharm, this one just didn’t cut the mustard. Made the previous hotels look like complete luxury.
I wouldn’t recommend it until the works have been completed and when we spoke to someone about it they said Christmas time for finishing but I doubt that very much.
The sun shone and the company was great so it was still a good holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uxbridgeheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your positive feedback about the variety of food, pool and room staff, and location. The main pool was being worked on nearly all of December, but this should completed now. The quiet pool which is also a large pool, is and was open everyday for guests to use. We were completing necessary maintenance and making improvements on the main pool, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay.

It's good to hear your room was changed when you requested it, and I apologize that the reception staff did not seem as friendly as other staff in the hotel, the general manager has been informed of this, thank you. George is an asset to the hotel, and we appreciate his dedication to great customer service, thank you for noticing.

We will take your feedback about the old furniture into consideration, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities, and upgrade things as often as we are able to.

If you think there are any problems with facilities in the room, like the fridge or aircon please let reception staff know as soon as possible, while you are there. We are happy to send someone to check there are no issues with the aircon etc, as they are not usually noisy. But please for future reference, let staff know as soon as you have a concern, as we cannot help you to make your stay more pleasant if you tell us after you have already left, sorry.

Thank you for your suggestion about adding wine to the all inclusive menu, we have been considering this, as we are aware some guests would appreciate it. But we do not want to increase any costs to guests, it is important to the hotel to keep prices low, and a large percentage of our guests do not drink alcohol, so we have to take all of these things into consideration.

We regularly review our entertainment and look at ways to improve and modify the program.

There are no irons in the rooms, but they will iron your clothes for you if you use the hotels dry cleaning service. It is very reasonably priced and fast, you may even be able to ask them to pay less just to iron something for you, you can contact the dry cleaning service about this.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sharm Holiday again on your next visit to Sharm, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Loved the situation of the Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms in good order .
Only real disappointment was the food.. Would have been much better if it had been served HOT and not lukewarm. Was put in the containers more than an hour before the dining room was opened both at lunchtime and at dinner time. Wouldnt like to be there at the height of the season though. Dining room couldn't cope i am sure. Deserts could be replenished a bit sooner as many a time nothing but empty plates. Some guests also took 10/12 oranges when they were in the dining room and also the same with bananas. Just greed so Hotel could tighten up on what is taken from dining room.
Not told you had to pay for the fresh orange jouice until you had started to drink it and then presented with a bill to sign. Was the cause of quite a few arguments while we were there.
Pool works were on going and will be for some time yet but other pool open and recently repainted so looked good.
Sort out the food temperature and this would be a very good holiday especially at this time of year when the temperature is just lovely.

Room Tip: rooms facing the smaller pool are not in direct sun so kept the room cool at all times. Much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on our friendly helpful staff, we are proud of their commitment to great service, they really do their best to go above and beyond what is required. Also thank you for letting us know about the temperature of the food, and the orange juice, the general manager has now been informed of this. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve our services and facilities, and we are constantly looking for ways to improve, and give our guests the best holiday possible. We hope that you will give our hotel a second try if you are ever in Sharm again, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday. Had a fantastic time, this is my third time but this hotel was the best. The staff very friendly and Helpful and in a great location. Clean and tidy and if not then feel welcome to complain as it will be sorted. Best atmosphere I could have expected.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank yellowsweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad to hear you had another great holiday here. Thank you for your positive feedback about our friendly helpful staff, location, tidyness, and atmosphere. We appreciate you staying three times and we hope that if you return to Sharm a fourth time you will stay here again. You are very welcome here, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#177 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#110 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#103 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#97 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#64 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#200 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#121 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#123 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $27 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Holiday Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm Holiday El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing