We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price but certainly not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel
Ranked #148 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just arrived back from a week here – wend 6th Dec to 13th Dec 2012.
OK, the good bits. Food is OK and there was something I could eat every day. Salads were nice. They have an egg/omelette station every morning and something going on a lunch and dinner, whether it be fresh pasta or fresh pancakes.
The pool staff are lovely – Radi was star. The room staff are also lovely. As were the restaurant staff, they couldn’t do enough to help you out.
It is nice and close to Naama bay but just far enough way too.
OK, that’s where the good bits end.
We had a problem as they were working on the large pool so this wasn’t open and neither was the games room. So we only had 1 pool.
The reception staff were not very friendly although they did move us when we requested it.
The staff at the pool bar were really miserable, so thank goodness George came on duty half way through our holiday, he was lovely.
They have older rooms that are not very good. Really old dark furniture and the paintwork etc.. on the patio was just terrible. Air conditioning unit was noisy as was the fridge, both had to go off overnight or no way could we have slept.
We did get moved to a much better room by the pool the next day.
It’s local booze and it’s just awful. We learnt from a previous visit to Sharm and bought 2 litres of Smirnoff on the way out but you still have times where you drink their stuff! Yeuk!!
The beer seemed watered down and the mixers are horrible and flat and overly sweet. There is also no wine included in the AI package which was a nightmare for us as we love our wine no matter how naff it might be. The hotel should look at including this, even if only in the restaurant at meal times!
Entertainment!???? Oh deary deary me!!!! That’s all I have to say!
And usually an absolute must for me, iron and ironing board!!?? Nope!!! Can’t get them here! Make sure you take already ironed clothes with you and pack them well.
It was very quiet while we were there due to the ongoing renovations and it did ruin it for us.
Having stayed in other 4 star places in Sharm, this one just didn’t cut the mustard. Made the previous hotels look like complete luxury.
I wouldn’t recommend it until the works have been completed and when we spoke to someone about it they said Christmas time for finishing but I doubt that very much.
The sun shone and the company was great so it was still a good holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uxbridgeheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your positive feedback about the variety of food, pool and room staff, and location. The main pool was being worked on nearly all of December, but this should completed now. The quiet pool which is also a large pool, is and was open everyday for guests to use. We were completing necessary maintenance and making improvements on the main pool, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay.

It's good to hear your room was changed when you requested it, and I apologize that the reception staff did not seem as friendly as other staff in the hotel, the general manager has been informed of this, thank you. George is an asset to the hotel, and we appreciate his dedication to great customer service, thank you for noticing.

We will take your feedback about the old furniture into consideration, we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities, and upgrade things as often as we are able to.

If you think there are any problems with facilities in the room, like the fridge or aircon please let reception staff know as soon as possible, while you are there. We are happy to send someone to check there are no issues with the aircon etc, as they are not usually noisy. But please for future reference, let staff know as soon as you have a concern, as we cannot help you to make your stay more pleasant if you tell us after you have already left, sorry.

Thank you for your suggestion about adding wine to the all inclusive menu, we have been considering this, as we are aware some guests would appreciate it. But we do not want to increase any costs to guests, it is important to the hotel to keep prices low, and a large percentage of our guests do not drink alcohol, so we have to take all of these things into consideration.

We regularly review our entertainment and look at ways to improve and modify the program.

There are no irons in the rooms, but they will iron your clothes for you if you use the hotels dry cleaning service. It is very reasonably priced and fast, you may even be able to ask them to pay less just to iron something for you, you can contact the dry cleaning service about this.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sharm Holiday again on your next visit to Sharm, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 959 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Loved the situation of the Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms in good order .
Only real disappointment was the food.. Would have been much better if it had been served HOT and not lukewarm. Was put in the containers more than an hour before the dining room was opened both at lunchtime and at dinner time. Wouldnt like to be there at the height of the season though. Dining room couldn't cope i am sure. Deserts could be replenished a bit sooner as many a time nothing but empty plates. Some guests also took 10/12 oranges when they were in the dining room and also the same with bananas. Just greed so Hotel could tighten up on what is taken from dining room.
Not told you had to pay for the fresh orange jouice until you had started to drink it and then presented with a bill to sign. Was the cause of quite a few arguments while we were there.
Pool works were on going and will be for some time yet but other pool open and recently repainted so looked good.
Sort out the food temperature and this would be a very good holiday especially at this time of year when the temperature is just lovely.

Room Tip: rooms facing the smaller pool are not in direct sun so kept the room cool at all times. Much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on our friendly helpful staff, we are proud of their commitment to great service, they really do their best to go above and beyond what is required. Also thank you for letting us know about the temperature of the food, and the orange juice, the general manager has now been informed of this. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve our services and facilities, and we are constantly looking for ways to improve, and give our guests the best holiday possible. We hope that you will give our hotel a second try if you are ever in Sharm again, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday. Had a fantastic time, this is my third time but this hotel was the best. The staff very friendly and Helpful and in a great location. Clean and tidy and if not then feel welcome to complain as it will be sorted. Best atmosphere I could have expected.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank yellowsweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad to hear you had another great holiday here. Thank you for your positive feedback about our friendly helpful staff, location, tidyness, and atmosphere. We appreciate you staying three times and we hope that if you return to Sharm a fourth time you will stay here again. You are very welcome here, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Sharm Holiday Resort, I must admit that after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor we were not really looking forward to our holiday. But I am glad to say that our fears were groundless.
We had a wonderful time, the hotel was lovely, the food was really good and the staff were all so friendly and helpful, their basic wage is poor so they rely on tips to bring it up to an acceptable standard, this doesn't have to be a large amount because they are grateful for anything that they get.
There is a free mini bus that takes you to 2 of the local beaches, we found Hadaba beach to be the best. If you like snorkling it is fantastic (better than the snorkling boat trip that we went on). Even if you do not want to go snorkling you can just stand in the water and see the fish swimming around you as the water is so clear. You have to pay for you drinks and meals on the beach, there was not a great deal of choice of food but it was ok.
We found the food in the hotel to be of good quality and a variety of dishes were available at every meal. There is a separate fish restaurant at the hotel that you can go to, but you have to pay extra for this. We had a 5 course meal there with drinks and it cost us £28 for 2. Be careful about the price of things in the hotel as some prices are in Egyptian pounds, others are in US dollars and some are in Euros, it can get a bit confusing. As you go into breakfast there is a table with freshly squeezed orange juice on, you have to pay for this, it is not free.
There is a fridge in the rooms which is handy for keeping your bottled water in, it is cheaper to buy this from the local supermarket than in the hotel. There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the hotel rooms but breakfast starts at 7am and it is possible to get drinks throughout the day so not having a kettle in your room is no problem.
At the moment there is repair work going on at the bigger pool, we were told this should take a month to complete, as this is shut everyone has to use the other pool, but there are still plenty of sun beds available.
When we were there we had problems with biting insects, the hotel supplies a mosquito killer for the room which just plugs into the socket, but it is advisable to take some insect repellant with you.
If you do choose to go to this hotel we hope you have as good a time as we did.

Room Tip: Rooms in cluster 9 are quieter, but if you like a bit more going on ask for a room near the main poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieanna07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to hear you and your partner had a wonderful holiday here. Thank you for your compliments about our food, friendly helpful staff, mini bus service and Hadaba beach. You are more than welcome to stay here again if you return to Sharm in the future, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

2nd time to this hotel. Came last feb and it was very quiet and also not great weather. More than made up for it this time, was sunny and hot every day for 2 weeks. Hotel is fine, food good, drinks good and excellent location. Sunbeds a plenty. Were more Russians this time but no problem. Would come back to this hotel if we visit Sharm again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Micky-Ceesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

It's great to hear from a returning guest, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second holiday here. Thank you for your compliments on our food, drinks, location and sunbeds, and it's great the weather was good for you this time. We look forward to seeing you if you visit Sharm again, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed there in October 2012 the staff were very helpful and were always willing to go that extra mile. The hotel it self needs a little improvement but only in the rooms, but still good has two swimming pools lots of free sunbeds, both pools have bars. THE FOOD OVER ALL WAS SIMPLE BUT VERY NICE lots to eat and drink. Its close to the town, Overall YES we would go back again . Keith & Lily

Room Tip: if you dont like the room tell them and they will change it they are VERY helpful. If you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad you both had a wonderful stay here at Sharm Holiday. Thank you for your positive feedback about our helpful staff pools, food and location.

We hope to see you here again on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

returned to sharm holiday resort for 3rd time this year for a wk in november and s usual couldnt fault the place although some food needs to be put on for children there is always something to eat!
all staff are lovely and chat to you whether they management or cleaners!
dr hamdi in pharmacy is a lovely man who is a bonus to resort and george on bar...
see you all again soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Management at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

It was great having you here for a third time, that in itself is a big compliment to our hotel, thank you.

We appreciate all of your positive feedback about our lovely staff, and we will take your suggestions about the children's food into consideration, thanks.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#177 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#112 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#139 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#200 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#78 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Noria Resort
Noria Resort
#88 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#121 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#124 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $24 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Holiday Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm Holiday El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing