We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS cheap getaway”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #192 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“FABULOUS cheap getaway”
Reviewed December 7, 2008

me and a friend wanted a getaway to egypt in July and booked via teletext holidays and for £551 got a two week break B+B at Ocean Club. Flight was fantastic...and when go to egypt was soooo excited but dubious as our first time abroad alone...and were dubious about what the hotel was like for such a cheap price...got there and were suprised at how good it was for the money...very simple but really was all we needed....room was cleaned every single day and if we needed anything with the room seeing to then it was done...we didn't like the shower much but this was only because we were both used to rather powerful showers and it was rather basic...but all you need really...

breakfast was good...again pretty simple but we enjoyed eggs and toast...ate there everyday and had no problems...fruit and many other breakfast things available...reasonable overall....however we did tend to nip to the shop across the road for water and other bits of food..you weren't really allowed but it was a plus really...on a night several times we ate at the rooftop bar which was fabulous...the food up there was really good...and all english food..never had any problems with it...other times we went into sharm..again good...and the hotel had a good shuttle service going in even on a night time..very very helpful...

most days were spent relaxing by the pool..which 99% of the time was very very clean...we only experienced a little problem as we were there with a huge group of school kids on a trip and they managed to dirty the pool somewhat in our second week...

the range of trips available was very good and the office for excursions in the hotel was very useful...we went quad biking which was rather good..worth the views we got from the mountins down onto the bay..and we also went on a snorkelling trip which was well worth it...really really good...everything that is apart from the on-board meal...that did manage to make my tummy a bit dodgy the next day..but that was the only time on the whole trip...

the transfers to and from the hotel were great..all well organised...and very helpful rep....

hotel staff we were a bit weary of at first..but this is something you have to get past in egypt..if you make no effort with them they will make very little effort with you...manners get you a long way ...once you are polite and make some small talk they will be willing to help you with anything...you find this is a general guidleine when visiting egypt....

overall..a great 2 weeks....great price..my only regret was not actually taking the trip to the pyramids....great price for simple clean accomodation..all you need for 2 weeks in the sun when you are barely spending any time in the room..i would recommend to anyone on a budget that wants to visit egypt...GREAT HOLIDAY....

  • Liked — The fact that it was very clean
  • Disliked — The lack of variation at breakfast from day to day
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meeks2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    52
    37
    54
See reviews for
54
121
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Returned to Ocean CLub this November for my 10th time (4th for my friend) We were last here in March 2008 with two other friends and counldn't wait to get back..

Booked direct with Explorers and flew from Bristol

We had a great holiday, with great weather, good swimming and sunbathing and superb snorkelling

OCEAN CLUB WAS REALLY SPECIAL - AS USUAL

Being non-divers the pools are usually deserted during the day so no problems with swimming and sunbeds etc.

The rooms and service were as good as ever. We stayed for 2 weeks and the standards were good for the whole period. GREAT art work with the towel oregami!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FOOD GREAT - AS EVER

ENTERTAINMENT GOOD in and out of the Hotel and,as usual, we didn't get to do all we wanted in our 14 day holiday

SPECIAL THANKS TO:

AKMED - Reception
EBRAHIM (EBS) - Bars & Restaurant
MOHAMMED + MOHAMMED - Bars
MOHAMMED, MAMUAD, EBRAHIM, MAMHED + HAMAUD - Housekeeping

VERY SPECIAL THANKS TO OMAR - The EXCEPTIONAL Taxi Driver (See Akmed, Reception, for contact details) - Cheaper, more personal and better than many of the 'Organised' tours

We had a great time, we went to: EL FANAR (my favourite beach, with exceptional snorkelling), SHARKS BAY, DAHAB, RAS MOHAMMED AND AQUA PARK - all with OMAR!

TRY: Dolphinarai (first time for me + Excellent), The New Church and new Mosque (near Delta Sharm), Old Sharm (GREAT) and The beach at Sharm el Maya

At El Fanar (Fanar Beach, not Ras Um Sid Beach - didn't try that, but usually very crowded!!!!!!!!!) the snorkelling is GREAT! & the facilitites, towels drinks etc. arte ALL very good. Be sure to visit the beautiful monument to the Air Crash Victims near El Fanar.

DON'T MISS: The Camel Bar, Monty's Bar, OONA'S Dive Bar, The Havana & Pirates Bars at The Hilton. The Pagoda (Sunset) Bar at Sofitel it is SUPERB for watching the sunset over Naama Bay, Sharm el Sheikh and the Sinai Mountains

Give the beach near Amphorus a miss (straight down the road opposite Ocean Club - Advertised at Reception), IT'S ALWAYS VERY PACKED AND IT IS OFTEN DIFFICULT TO GET A SUNBED AND/OR MATRESS

Be sure to visit T2 (at The Rock) & join in the weekly Music Quiz. BE SURE TO SWAT UP ON YOUR R. DEAN TAYLOR (GOTTA SEE JANE) to TRASH THE RESIDENT QUIZ WINNERS (I think thet're called BRIAN'S BABES)!!!!!!!!!

El Marcato is good for an evening walk as is Alf Wella La Wella and don't miss evnings and long nights at Naama Bay!!!!!!!!!

Still swimming in the Pool at 14:45, Taxi Transfer to the Airport picked us up at15:30 - COULDN'T BE BETTER!!!!

A GREAT HOLIDAY EXPERIENCE

BEST WISHES
PETE + CLIVE (NOV '08)
PETE, CLIVE, SHARON + MIKE (MAR '08)

  • Liked — reliability
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank billBristolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Great place to stay if you like diving and snorkeling.
Cheap and basic hotel which excels in a uniquely friendly atmosphere.
Rooms large but furnished sparsley, spotlessly cleaned daily by very obliging and keen to please staff.
Loved the food at the Ocean club, many typical egyptian dishes served. Some of the evening entertainment was of a high standard too.. in particular the egyptian night with musicians and dancers.
A little isolated in so much as it is situated by a main road, taxi needed to get to either naama bay or one of the many beaches. Taxis however are ridiculously cheap and an experience in themselves!
Loved our week here and hope we can return in 2009!

  • Liked — small basic hotel, friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank papsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

I stayed with a mate at the Ocean Club with the main focus on us both passing the PADI open water diver course. (We did!!)

The hotel is basic but it is all we needed, the shower in our room tended to be hot/cold/hot/super hot/cold/hot!! but I showered in one by reception and that one seemed to work ok, so other rooms might be ok, Air con is on or off, TV worked ok but only 1 chanel unless you like egyptian business news, the room cleaner did some spectacular towel arrangements, not sure if that was the only thing he did!!
The bad thing was the mozzies, by day three we were both needing blood transfusions, night time routine included killing them all before we went to bed, we bought RAID but they laughed at that, next time we will take Agent Orange or some equivialent from B&Q!

Bar food was ok, I recomend the Fried Chicken Sandwich and Pizzas!! but the local beer left us both on the toilet all day long, it was ok when we switched to Heineken, Water is cheaper in the shop next door 30p there £1 in the bar.
There is a great bar attached to the Rock hotel next door called T2 they do food and had entertainment on a couple of nights
We didn't try food in the hotel so can't comment, we were going to try the Mongolian BBQ but it was cancelled but only found out when we asked after waiting for over an hour!

Naama bay is ok, £2 (20 Egyptian) for a taxi and quite busy at night and very westernised with all the restaurants you would see at home, (not really any egyptian ones) but like the last bloke said the Egyptians won't leave you alone and all they sold in my eyes was 'TAT', there were quite a lot of Russians there as well. Be carefull when they invite you in to some bars, prices on the menu don't include service charge and you end up paying over the odds for beers.
Also stay away from buying cigarettes they look the same but they certainly are not real!, Ive got 200 rubbish tasting Regal if anyone wants them!

Ocean College dive center, is based at the ocean club and was great, we had a great course and a good instructor (Janna) the pool was good for training even if it was looking a little tired, and the open water dives from the boat were great. £50 egyptian, a day paid for all the water/drinks and lunch on the boat. Hire equipment was good, not too shabby but not fantastic.

Overall we had a great time and I am looking forward to returning to do our advanced and hopefully dive the Thistlegorm!!!

  • Liked — It was right next to the bar! and free WiFi access.
  • Disliked — Mozzies
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My boyf and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the ocean club and had a fantastic time. We had to compromise on the holiday as I like to chill by pool and he likes to get out and do stuff!

We wanted a late, cheap getaway and the ocean club was exactly that. Given that we paid about 30quid per room per night we got what we paid for and who sits in their hotel room anyway.

We booked initially via lastminutute.com who referred us to explorers (diving specialists) my boyf spent 3 days doing his PADI and i was able to tag along at the beach and on a boat to sunbathe. The Ocean College dive centre is excellent and would defininitely recommend them. The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel was clean, theres plenty of shade by the pool and as most people staying here are out diving most days theres very few guests around during the day. the food was fine and reasonably priced too. We did the overnight hike up mount sinai (hard work!) and the quad biking which was fab, even just to get out into the desert..went with KTM quad biking who seemed the only group to use helmets and do a safety briefing!

there were event nights at the hotel, ie mongolian bbq (food great), mexican night, belly dancers etc but i got the feeling most guests venture into naama bay so not may guests attend.

cannot grumble about this hotel, ive been to sharm before and stayed at a hilton - had great time at both, it all depends what you want out of the holiday and your expectations.

  • Liked — made most of what they have to offer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2008

This was my first time at the Ocean Club, but not my first time to Egypt or Sharm. I have stayed at some of the 4 & 5 star hotels and dived from liveaboards extensively around the Red Sea so hopefully I can make a fair comparison with the Ocean club. My overall impression is of a budget hotel in a budget location and for the money I could have booked a much better hotel with a seafront location in Sharm (check out the deals on Sky TV !!). I didn't use the diving facilities so can't comment on that aspect.

The good: clean rooms, friendly staff, chillout bar.

The bad: breakfast is poor in quality and choice of food, one morning the coffee was very weak. Evening meals are similarly limited in choice and mainly consists of BBQ's and salad. Air-con in rooms is either on or off no temperature control, so either too cold or too hot and having to get up during the night to switch t on or off . There is not enough shade available around the pool area. There is no view and traffic noise from the nearby road can be heard. Local alternative eating places are sparse, a trip into Naama bay is required. Bar prices can be extortionate, £4 for a single shot of spirits !! Stick to the beer. Avoid salads, ice, cleaning teeth in tap water or swallowing any tap water if you want to avoid stomach upsets, both myself and my girlfriend caught a stomach bug after one day ! The music in the Pheonix bar is on a continuous loop of about 7 songs 3 of which are 50 cent and the 'sound system' appears to consists of a single speaker of radio quality, the bar staff appear to enjoy it though! A bottle of water will cost £1 at reception, the shop next door sells bottles for 30p, why ??

After visiting this part of Egypt for a number of years now and with cheap flights flying to Sharm, the inevitable has finally happened, the Costa del Sol brigade is on the move, it's not just the Brits, Sharm has always attracted Russians and Italians, but the place is now overrun there is no 'charm' left, the nightclubs and shopping (there aren't any bargains left) are taking over, the Egyptian sellers are becoming more aggressive and Westernisation is changing the attitude of the workers. The Egyptians have for a long time been a friendly, welcoming people and this has been reciprocated, but there is a new breed with western greed and attitude (probably not helped by the introduction of the likes of 50 cent), I hope the friendly attitude lasts a little bit longer.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

UK
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Have been the Ocean Club for a few holidays and never once been disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank huffnpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#160 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#81 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.6 mi away
New La Perla Hotel
New La Perla Hotel
#186 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#185 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#110 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#134 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: Maglis El Madina Street | Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh PO 312, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#135 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Hotel offers an exceptionally good value accommodation in a relaxed & cozy atmosphere and is ideal for single travelers, couples & families due to its friendly staff & quality of service. Thanks to all of our guests who have contributed to its popularity by returning year after year.This courtyard style hotel consists of 80 comfortable air conditioned guest rooms, some of which are adjoining, and provides a high standard of accommodation. Each room has its own private bathroom & shower, mini-bar, safe box and satellite TV. Relax around the 2 large swimming pools (one of which is heated) and sundecks during your day, and catch up on the day’s activities with friends around the social pool bar or head up to the Phoenix rooftop bar in the evening and enjoy a drink under the stars, or watch your favorite sport in the air-conditioned indoor area of the bar. The hotel features four outlets cleverly created to accommodate your every need, Phoenix roof top bar offering A La Carte menu and beverages during evening time, Pool Bar offering snacks and beverages during day time, Mongolian BBQ with its unique dining experience and the Reef Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Hotel also has on site a mini SPA and a dive centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ocean Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing