We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but definitely a two star...”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #191 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed June 29, 2008

My fiancee and I booked through lastminute.com and we paid £250 which included flights with Easy Jet.

The hotel is pretty basic. If you see it rated as a three star, do not be fooled - this is very definitely two star by European standards. The staff were friendly, and the cleaner had an endearing habit of creating elaborate origami presentations on our beds using towels. It would have been nice if he had devoted a bit more time to actually cleaning, though. We arrived to find hair from the previous guest all over the bathroom and after I complained at reception nothing happened so I gave up and wiped it off myself. Nasty!

Also, if you're a couple you should bear in mind that you'll a get a twin... not exactly an invitation to romance.

Sharmh-el-Sheikh is an odd place... it's kind of how I imagine the Costa del Sol must have been just as it was getting towards the nasty over-developed phase. The "Old Market" in Sharmh is not old at all - it's completely manufactured and not very pleasant. You should expect to get a lot of hassle from shop keepers and taxi drivers. I hadn't experienced anything that bad since South America.

I definitely wouldn't go back, and I wouldn't recommend it for a relaxing break unless either (i) you're a diver, in which case it's fine, or (ii) you're happy to stay on the complex the whole time and eat very average food.

Alcohol is very expensive, as well. A bottle of Heineken was about £3GBP.

If you've booked to go, it's worth noting that I got a much better rate changing money at the hotel rather than at a beaureau de change in the UK (200EGP to 1GBP versus 175EGP to 1GBP)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 360 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2008

Went here for a week break with my 14 year old son. We got a great price off the web at £199 pw B&B by booking about 2 weeks before we departed.

At that price I expected little and some of the reviews looked a little dodgy, however, everything was fine.

The room was basic but acceptable. I don't know what some people expect when they go to such destinations, stay in Europe if you want European standards. It was reasonably clean (but with a 14 year old boy that was not an issue !), and had air conditioning. The room was serviced daily and they made an effort each day to layout your towels in various arrangements like origami. I found the staff ok, a bit miserable at the bar but if they were they did'nt get a tip, simple as that.

Has 2 pools which were fine - 2 bars which were fine and a restuarant that we did not eat in other than breakfast as we preferred to eat out. You can catch the hotel bus to the town for a couple of pounds.

If you don't like haggling you won't like Sharm so be warned, but they are easy enough to fend off. Watch out for being invited into some of the samller shops to sign visitors books, apparently some lock you in until you buy something, but we never had this problem.

The only down side was that the hotel is a taxi ride from any beach. Go-karting across the road was good as were the snorkeling and quad bike trips.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roymark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WilboWaagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gg2922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank djjojojuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wonderful888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#153 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
450 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#169 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
#145 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,563 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#106 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,421 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aurora Cyrene Resort
Aurora Cyrene Resort
#92 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: Maglis El Madina Street | Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh PO 312, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#138 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Hotel offers an exceptionally good value accommodation in a relaxed & cozy atmosphere and is ideal for single travelers, couples & families due to its friendly staff & quality of service. Thanks to all of our guests who have contributed to its popularity by returning year after year.This courtyard style hotel consists of 80 comfortable air conditioned guest rooms, some of which are adjoining, and provides a high standard of accommodation. Each room has its own private bathroom & shower, mini-bar, safe box and satellite TV. Relax around the 2 large swimming pools (one of which is heated) and sundecks during your day, and catch up on the day’s activities with friends around the social pool bar or head up to the Phoenix rooftop bar in the evening and enjoy a drink under the stars, or watch your favorite sport in the air-conditioned indoor area of the bar. The hotel features four outlets cleverly created to accommodate your every need, Phoenix roof top bar offering A La Carte menu and beverages during evening time, Pool Bar offering snacks and beverages during day time, Mongolian BBQ with its unique dining experience and the Reef Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Hotel also has on site a mini SPA and a dive centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ocean Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing