We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday just a few let downs, would reccomend this hotel”
Review of Sonesta Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonesta Club
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday just a few let downs, would reccomend this hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Room -This was me and my boyfriends first time in Egypt and i have to say we would return again!, when we first arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful and the hotel looked amazing, alot bigger then we expected, everyhting was perfect! The staff took our luggage right to the door, at first we struggled to open the door we found the lock abit strange, but they shown us and everything was great good size room and bath room, balcony and roof terrace, great storage and very clean. The only issue we had was our bed which was two single beds pushed together when we wanted a double bit arkward as we kept falling down the gap in the middle. It wasnt too much of an issue to complain and they would have moved us with no problem.
Food - There was plenty of food at the hotel to chose from, but we found it quite repetitive, would usually be the same at lunch aswel as dinner The food in the nubian restaurant really was the major let down for this hotel. The dolphin bar had great food on at certains times in the day such as pizza burgers and hot dogs which my boyfriend loved and sometimes we found was nicer then the main restaurant/buffet. They had lovely Bbqs on certain days which were really nice great choices.
Drinks- Thier brands of spirits and beers. Great brands of soft drinks such as fanta coke sprite... juices such as orange juice pinapple. All their ice is made from filtered water and IS SAFE to drink.
Staff - Bar staff are great love banter have a laugh and a joke, loved my boyfriend always laughing and joking doing hand shakes. Cleaners were lovely made me little hearts and flowers out of my beach towels and dresses when they cleaned my room, very friendly and polite.shop owners were soo nice and not just to get you to buy things generally invited us back for tea, coke, magic tricks, banter and chit chat. Give them the time of day and you not only make good friends but learn alot too and no matter what people say no staff wait around for a tip!! all they ask for is to be shown respect manners and a good old chat! All teh staff work long hours 12 hour shifts and still manage to keep a smile on thier faces and have a joke to share. we often sat on our balcony at 4 in the morning and the gardeners were still doing the gardening or cleaning something. The tatoo/henna guy from alex salon was really quite annoying tho.
Entertainent - mainly for children, they have games and things in the day such as football matches volleyball ect... daily activities such as aerobics table tennis, water polo. all free! quite cheesy entertainment at night , singing dancing fire show. They sel shishas at the dolphin bar ar night which were 20 egyptian ponds which is about £4. water sports at the beach.
Local area/naama bay - great shops locally have everything u need, and dont hassle you or persuade you to buy things. Naama bay is very busy we found it quite easy just simply say no thanks.
Great holiday might be back next year but we do like to try new things. Loved every minute of it was sad to go! met some great people!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaaybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    508
    194
    93
    52
See reviews for
366
561
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I got back from the Sonesta Club yesterday and I was so glad I was home! I travelled with my partner - we are both 21 and stayed for 2 weeks in the resort.
Upon arrival (after a 12 hour trip) first impressions of the hotel were good. We had a concierge take the baggage up to the room but straight away hung around for a tip. We went down to the main restaurant for tea, and were very disappointed with the food there was to offer, if you like pizza, rice, pasta and chips you'll be fine- but after a few days this became boring! We needed to make sure that one of us sat at the table otherwise the waiters would clear it and we would be left with no where to sit. Both of us suffered from stomach problems which may have come from the hotel. Make sure you stand your ground in the "restaurant" as people push in front of you as though you don't exist. One of the managers even threw down a broken bowl and spoon and stormed out of the room! So called good customer service!
That night we decided to get the bus into Naama Bay and booked through the hotel- at a price of 2 euros per person we found it much cheaper to flag down a taxi as we could get to the center for 10 egyption pounds. The town itself is very busy with men trying to drag you into the bars all the time. If you are a young girl be careful of men trying to take pictures of you in the street- as this happened to me a few times and we quickly walked off. We were told on several ocasions that they didn't like the English and would shout abuse in the street.
We visited the BBQ on the second day to find a selection of 2 pieces of meat, rice and potatoes with salad- okay but not for everyday.
On the whole- we ate out every night as the food was so repetative. What we had for lunch was served for dinner.
The housekeeping were often reliable until they helped themeselves to some change of the side and made a nice pattern with our towels. We had to ask for towels on occassions as they took the old ones but did not replace them. We had juice in our fridge dated back to August 2009- although we asked for fresh juice- nothing happened. We also had faulty electricity- and had to ring down to reception to get it fixed!
Although we got told that we could use the facilities of the Sonesta Beach- the stff looked down their noses at us- and we were singled out by having to walked to the far corner of the beach to get a drink.
On the whole- we wouldn't go back as its a 15 minute walk through another hotel to a beach and 30 minute walk to the town center. As it was world cup time we had to pay 25 egyption pounds if we wanted to watch the matches in the hotel so we decided to go into La Vita in Naama Bay!!
I would not go to Sonesta Club again and has given us a very bad impression of Egypt. I doubt we would ever go again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchester55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

this hotel is fantastic will definetly be going back why well where do we start.
the hotel is spotless the grounds are impecable the pools are plentyfull and nice our favourite pool was the paradise pool & bar.
there are 2 bars the dolphin bar and the paradise bar both did food during the day, pizzas & ham cheese rools at the paradise bar and hot dogs & burgers at the dolphin bar. the main restaurant had plenty to choose from we didnt go hungry at all we favored the egyptian food. there is also bbq's mainly at the paradise bar except tuesdays and fridays but then it was outside the main restaurant.
the drinks arnt warm yes they do serve in small beakers but who'd want a warm beer, the ice is made of purified water you can tell this as they have a dint in the cube full cubes are made of their water. the water is free you get it from the main restaurant you get 2litres per person a day there is also water dispensers around the bars.
cant really comment on the entertainment as we rarely went up to the dolphin bar we stayed around the paradise bar as we'd made friends with the staff Tarek, Islam, Mohamed, Moaaz and Emad such a laugh and we hardly had to get off our chairs to get drinks, even when we was on our sunbeds. all in all the Sonesta Club is a fantastic choice and would definelty be going back hopefully in october. Thank You to all especially the paradise staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davendawnNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We have just got back from a week at the Sonesta club.I have read that the water was,nt free however we went all inclusive and was given 3 1.5lt bottles of FREE water a day.You need to ask for this and your name will be crossed off a list they have at the drink counter.There was always a large selection of food to choose from and the restaurant was very clean.Waiting staff incredibly friendly and could,nt do enough for us.
My daughter had a birthday while she was there and while we was on a trip they sent a letter and birthday cake to our room.Would recommend the hotel taxi's as they are very reasonable,and could'nt believe when we could'nt get him and got into another cab this random taxi driver reversed up the dual carriageway! Close to local shop's and about a 15 min walk from Namma bay.Across the road is Sonesta beach resort which you can also use,this has a private beach and a all inclusive bar for the Sonesta club residents.We had a fantasic holiday and was made very welcome by the staff,great resort a reflection of the staff they have working there x

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r1tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel is lovely but doesn't understand what all inclusive means. You have to pay for your water, only drinks on offer are warm limited wine and beer. The location is great 15minute walk from naama bay. The hotel is also full of Russians who are rude and ignorant!
Don't have the ice as it's tap water so you get the egypt stomach bug!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemgemz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Hi everyone i would like to give you a little insite to my holiday in nama bay, lovely place the hotel in which i stayed with my mum was not the most modern but comfortable and clean, the food was nice, and the staff can not do enough for you, they get paid very little money and work very long hrs but always a smile on their faces, they made us feel very welcome, but i must add to that the entertaiment was awfull as in nothing really and that ended at 10.30 at the latest, there is a disco on site but you have to pay for any drinks you have in there.This hotel is suitable for familys with children and maybe couples but girls if you are looking for a girlie holiday i dont think that this is the place for you only because of the entertaiment, but having said that you could always go into nam a bay where there are plenty of bars etc, just watch those lads though girls lol

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothappy055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The hotel is lovely, very clean all staff so friendly. We had a problem with our room which was changed immediatly for us, the pools and grounds are so well kept. The buffet restaurant caters for all we never went hungry and never had any stomach upsets, my 2 kids ages 6 and 3 also ate very well. The pizzas at the poolside bar are also very tasty, you get a bottle of water per adult twice a day as well. We thought this hotel was great rooms made up everyday and we had no issues with anything, the evening entertainment is a little lacking but hey ho thats not what we went on holiday for. A great time by all was had in my party and we would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definately go back!!!!

My only downside to this holiday was nothing to do with the hotel but the tour operator we went through, Thomas cook. I will not use them again massive delays with no information relayed no apologies the way we were treat was diabolical!! lost almost 3 days of our holiday.

On a lighter note Egypt and the sonnesta was FAB

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisab63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#91 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#58 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#98 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#20 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,786 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Club

Property: Sonesta Club
Address: Naama Bay | 2 Sonesta Club Drive, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#105 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Club 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fashionable Naama Bay, the Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh overlooks the Red Sea and the South Sinai peninsula's desert and mountains. A traditional Nubian-style resort, the property is surrounded by landscaped gardens and dramatic pool areas. Known as one of the best Red Sea Resorts, Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh with 409 unique guest rooms, the hotel is located in Naama Bay and shares its beach with Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino. Sonesta Club has one of the largest aqua parks in Sharm El Sheikh; in addition, it has two great main pools divided into seven pools and a Diving Center. The hotel also offers an open air jacuzzi for the relaxation of its guests. There is also a children's program for the younger guests. Guests can pamper themselves with a sauna, steam bath or Jacuzzi, work out in the Club's fitness center or relax with massage treatments in the health spa. The Club offers several fine dining options! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh - Naama Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing