We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,651)
Filter reviews
3,651 results
Traveler rating
2,575
668
235
115
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,575
668
235
115
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegyptian restaurantbeach barfishmain restaurantpool restaurantanimation teamsister hotelspecial thankspool staffat lunchtimeheated poolchoice of foodtiran islandpastabaronwaitersholiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,318 - 2,323 of 3,651 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is not a 5star I would rate it at it's best a 4star.
There are too many hidden payable extras and not enough choice when it comes to drinks.
You would normally get these choices on a proper 5star which we've had in previous hotels for less money.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday and peace and quiet then hotel is definately for you.
Room/bathroom are small but very clean. Clean towels every day. A big thankyou to mohammed.
Mini bar is extra and chargeable and no tea/coffee facilitys in the room.
Food was good you can always find something to eat. Sweets same every day.
There is a kiddies club but wouldn't recommend this hotel for children or teenagers it would be too boring.
Entertainment on terrace was duo with a singer. Piano bar not very good player. Amphia theatre rubbish. Now & Zen bar a joke as only 1 hour all inclusive but only open for 2 hours.
Bar and service slow except for Sammy a big thankyou to him as only one that seems to be working to get you served quickly otherwise a long wait.
Pool area is only one pool divided and a small one for chidren. No swim up bar and no waiter service round the pool. Very quiet no music even aqua arobics was done without music.
Lobby/reception area quaint clean and quiet.
Beach is accessable by walking through a promenade of shops, restaurants and bars.
There is also a bar on the beach you can use.
2 jetty's and aquarius diving centre. Great for snorkalling and diving.
Cairo trip by air. £179 with Thomsons.
4.30 pickup 50 minute flight.
Visit to mosque 1 hour then onto papyus factory 1 hour then onto the pyramids.
This was very busy and lots of hassle. Not as big as we imagined and spoilt by KFC etc down by the Spinx. Dissapointing but glad we've done it. 2 hous total.
Lunch on nile in boat restaurant. Not very good food cold not much choice.
Museum was very good but hot inside could have done with a full day to see everything. Worth a look in the mummy room 100 egyptian per/person. 2 hours total.
Back in hotel 10.20p.m.
Namma bay 15 minutes from hotel. Recommend Hard Rock Cafe for meal and drinks.
Overall love Egypt been 6 times not going back to this hotel as stayed in far better for less.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st0rmyweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annaho, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2009

As we are always trying to do our utmost for our guests’ satisfaction your feedback are helpful and appreciated.
I am waiting for you to answer my message and questions , for me to be able to compare to .
Tea & coffee facility will be included soon as we received all accessories.

Soft Animation is Baron Palms concept and most of our guest choose us for that reason as you mention .

kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed at Baron Palms from 10th to 24th October. When we arrived at 00.30 we were given a welcome drink, which was very welcome. We were given the wrong rooms to start with, as we booked and paid for a pool view. With no problem our rooms were changed for us, at 3.30 the bell captin had all our things moved for us, they even remembered our tooth brushes. When we got to the rooms they were perfect, just what we booked.
The bathroom had a sink, loo, and a shower, and was spotless. The bedroom had a double bed. The mattress was a bit hard so we ordered a topper for it. That arrived in 5 minutes. Plenty of wardrobe space with slippers and dressing gowns inside. no coffee or tea making facilities, but I believe this is being addressed. If you need a iron you just ask reception. The roms were cleaned every day with clean towels and sheets.
The main resturant had a big choice of food, we did not get any bad tummys at all. Water is supplied at breakfast you get as many bottles as you want to do you until the bars open. You dont take to many as the hot weather makes the water go warm, and you may as well get water that is cold when you need it.
The pool area was spotless, one pool is cold and the other is warm. You get cold flannels around lunch time and fruit kebabs around 3. I think this is a very special touch.
AT 4 you get afternoon Tea in the Terrace bar, sayed was the best.
Evening enterainment is not good. The hotel does having seating but not always where you need it. Out side the resturant there is plenty of space where chairs could be put.
We called the doctor from our room (which cost £1.per call) he was in our room with in minutes. My husband and I got chest infections from going to Cairo. If you are thinking of going to Cairo dont bother as it is a let down. You look at the pyramids and you can see KFC and Macdonads.
The pool bar lunch was very good and always cooked fresh. Wagdy was our waiter and he did more than his best to make us happy.
The hotel shop seems to have everything you need, and if they dont have it, they get it asap.
You also have the shops by the entertainment, a supper market, chemist, etc, but remember to stay this side of the blue line and then the shops dont pester you.
The beach is 3 minutes walk away. We didnt go but my parents went snorkling and see the best fish they have ever seen. Start off on the left jetty and the current will bring you over to the right jetty and you can just float.
If you feel you need to go out go into Namma Bay, there is a Hard Cafe and a TGI Fridays, also other bars.
This hotel is more for couples. Not families as there is little for children to do.
I will return to this hotel one day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank brentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your holiday at the Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Cordially, we would like to express our appreciation for your positive comments
The whole Baron Team is looking so much forward to welcome you back assuring you an unforgettable second stay at our resort.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Booked this holiday with Thomas Cook and were assured by the staff that this is a five star hotel and that our experience will be one of a lifetime. We asked for a sea or pool view room. On arrival we were given room overlooking the road and a buliding site. When complained about it we were told to try again tomorrow lunch time, which we did. The second room the folowing day it was smaller than the previous one, they were still preparing it but there was no room for an extra bed for our daughter, only one small bathroom, and on this holiday the extra bathroom is essential, but more of this later. So back again at the reception and this time we were given another room facing the pool, two bathrooms and enough room for two beds. By this time we wasted two hours moving our luggage back and forth. We were asked to pay extra for this room, but later we learned that the people that booked their holiday with other travel companies didn`t have to. Anyway lets talk about the hotel itself. In the brochure it is classified as a 5 star hotel. It is not! More of a 2 and a half to 3 stars.
1.The rooms, we had the chance to see three different rooms, in different floors. They are not of a 5 star standard, the furniture, the decor, the facilities, everything is screaming a 3 star B&B. There was a funny smell that kept coming and going for the whole duration. This smell was everywhere, in the room, outside rooms, in the corridors, in the balconies. The staff did their best to disguise it with air fresheners but it still lingered there.
On few mornings we`d wake up from a cigarete smoke , as if someone in our room or in the balcony was smoking. We discovered that the actual smoke was coming through the air conditioner vent. SCARY!
The bathrooms are very small, only a sink and a loo in one and a sink, a loo and a moldy shower in the other one.
Quite often there seemed to be a small pool of water in one of the bathrooms, between the sink and the loo and I blamed my daughter on few occasions, thinking that she splashed water outside the sink when she brushed her teeth or washed her face and hands. But on our last day, when the rest of the family were out swimming, and I was doing the packing the pool of water appeared again. I put down one of the towels to prevent any slipping accidents and mop the water and noticed that the water was in fact urine leaking from the toilet YUCK!!!
I guess this explain the upset tummy we had on and off for the two weeks we stayed there. We washed our hands all the time, used hand gel before eating.
We were not the only ones with funny tummy, there were people that spent the whole week in their rooms and went back home whiter than they were when they first arrived.
2.The pool which is divided in two sections, one warm and the other cold, is falling apart, grotty, scum all around the edges, think of a big bath that hasn`t been scrubbed in months, yuck! The plastic covers for holes where the filters are housed, are disintergrating and crumbling and my husband cut his toe walking on top of one of them. They are right by the side of the pool between the sun beds.
3.The restaurants, the poolside one called The Paradise, you need to book one day in advance for dinner, but there is no need for booking at lunchtime. Don`t bother, the choice is poor but the food itself is worst, think roadside cafe at its worst.
The Tiran Restaurant serves food buffet style. There is a salad section with a selection of egyptian and international starters. There are a few salad dressings but the olive oil is more like veg oil in colour, smell and flavour and it won`t recognise an olive if it met one. The hot food station, there you have a choice of two different soups, red meat, beef or lamb, chicken, fish, vegetables, pasta and rice. Sounds good, and to be honest it doesn`t look very bad. But once you start eating you wish you went for bread and butter instead. The red meat always was tough, impossible to chew, the sauce it was served with tasteless. The chicken was not tough but again tasteless. Whatever the colour of the sauce the meat, both red and white, was served, cooked with was bland and somehow you could taste the flour used to thicken it. The fish was always overcooked and usually coated in a pancakey stuf, horrible! I had a bad reaction to it on the first week with an allergic type reaction on my face that it only cleared towards the end of the second week. I don`t know what it was with the food, the herbs were there, the sauce was there, but the food still was bland. There were various themed nights, well... egyptian, seafood, mexican and chinese night, but be warned though, it`s their interpretation of these cuisines. It`s as if the chefs have never tasted what they`re supposed to be cooking and they`re doing so by looking at the pictures of a cook book. Therefore the food looks vaguely similar but it doesn`t taste what it should.
The bread section was good, lots of fresh bread at every meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
And there was the dessert and fruit section. I must admit it did look good and and you were tempted to try everyone of them. And then again, we did and we were not impressed with half of them.
The Egyptian Restaurant on Baron Boulevard, a real letdown. If you ask for a for salad be prepared to be presented with a bowl with a tomato, carrot, cucumbers and red cabbage, all unpealed and whole and you`d hope that they been washed. The main dishes nothing exciting, the desserts stale and horrible.
Before you say it, there is nothing wrong with our taste buds, we are not fussy eaters, we have travelled in poor and rich countries and have tried different cuisines in both expensive and cheap restaurants. I was coming to the conclusion that the egyptian food is bland in itself, but when we booked the Egyptian Night, you have to pay extra for this and it is not part of all inclusive, there were quite a few tasty dishes, starters, mains and lovely desserts. Why didn`t we get any of these in Tiran and Egyptian restaurants?
There is another snack bar on the beach, but avoid it at all cost. As mentioned by other reviewers the lack of hygene and the bland food was not enticing.
We did try the Indian Restaurant on the beach, you had to pay extra for it. The food was nice, the wine was dire. Didn`t bother with the italian restaurant. From what we already had at the Tiran, we could guess that it won`t be proper italian, pretend parmisan cheese etc...
4.The service in all the restaurants, bars was good, there were a few who were better than the others and one or two that were below the par. The staff at the reception, the pool and in general were polite. They did try their best but on the second week when it got busy everything started to suffer as a result. We never got our drinks, and we only ordered water with our meals, we got our glasses but the water never arrived, and when we went to get our dessert the waiter moved our daughter from our table to accomodate another group of people who had just arrived! And there were other free tables .... no appologies whatsoever. The last few nights of our stay, as the restaurant was getting busier the waiters seemed more harrased, rushing around,creating more confusion. Could not understand that, they only had to take drink orders and clear the tables, the food we got up and took it ourselves, being buffet style. And there were quite a few waiters, so why couldn`t they divide the jobs, half of them dealing with the drinks and the rest clearing the tables? That way they will not forget what they were doing and the atmosphere will be calmer.
5. The cleanliness, from the majority of the reviews on this website the cleanliness had the most of stars. Were we in a different hotel? Yes, there were people constantly keeping busy cleaning, the rooms and beds were done everyday, on a couple of occasions we had the reception calling and asking us to leave the room so it can be made up. This is not the problem, the problem is that is not cleaned properly, if you looked under the bed you could see that it hadn`t been hoovered, brushed, mopped in a while. Before you can start thinking that I go around and check under the beds and furniture, the reason I did so was because our daughter dropped one of her pencils and it rolled under the bed.
as we said earlier, we are not fussy eaters and have travelled exstensively and stayed in 5 star accomodation before.
We had a good time, we made the most of our holiday, we went to Luxor, Cairo, we hired a boat and went snorkeling around Tiran Island. And every trip was successful. We liked Sharm but our stay at Baron Palms was not what we expected. Other people who stayed at the same time as us were not happy either. The general feeling was ` this is not 5 star hotel, we can`t wait to go back home`.
This hotel was sold as a 5 star hotel and it really needs to be regraded again as a 3 star maximum. This is not the staff`s fault. I think Thomas Cook, Thomson and other travel agents should check their hotels regularly and get the grading correct. The Thomas Cook rep was useless and a BIG LIAR! In our first meeting when talking about the trips and excursions, he told us not bother checking the prices with other companies because they`re all the same. Well they are not, other people booked theirs with Thomson and they paid less. Also when we needed his advise to book a trip to Cairo, there were three different ones and they were not very clear in the brochure, Andy, that was his name didn`t seem to be of any help. Also when we tried to book one of our trips with Thomson rep at our hotel she wouldn`t do so, for health and safety reasons?!
I hope this review will give you a better idea of what to expect from your holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JustbackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2009

I would like to state, that I feel sorry for not being able to meet your expectation.

Happiness is something you decide on ahead of time.
Whether you like your room or not doesn't depend on how the furniture is arranged..... it's how you arrange your mind !

With my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

It was one of the best holidays we have ever had. All the staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful, nothing is to much trouble for them and went out of their way to ensure the holiday was relaxing as possible.



Rooms - very comfortable spotlessly clean very comfortable and has every amenity you could wish for, bathroom lovely.

The bar staff on the beach worked hard always smiling. The Tiran restaurant had a great variety of food very varied and very tasty for everyone and again the staff worked incredibly hard.



The pool was lovely. They come round and clean your sun glasses and spray your face with a lovely refreshing cool mist , later they come round with scented ice cold flannels , at 3.30 they come round with fruit kebabs and all the time you can get drinks form the pool bar and ice creams.

We often went for walks down the jetty to see so beautiful tropical fish .



A big thank you to Mr. JP.Hoffer the General Manager the Star + of that Hotel He could be seen every day always around looking after his guests not seen in many Hotels , really a boutique Hotel feeling ! he should be really proud of his fantastic hotel and staff.

We have nothing negative to say about anything and those who complain must make it a point to go on holiday and complain .

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank ViajeraSudAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thank you for this very kind review and for choosing the Baron Palms Resort for your recent holiday.

As we are always trying to do our utmost for our guests’ satisfaction and to keep up our service standards your very positive feedback, especially referring food ; cleanliness and friendly staff , is highly appreciated.

Your reviuw is really a reward for All of us and we hope sincerely that you will visit us again.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I booked the Baron Palms resort after recomendation from a local travel agent. I had read the reviews here and had some concerns but all in all this was a great holiday and very relaxing.

First, cleanliness, and this has to be one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at on holiday, the room was spotless and cleaned every day. We had no 'Delhi belly' and I think this was from following common sense personal hygiene rules i.e wash your hands before eating, dont touch money then food etc..(see further tips on tripadvisor).

Food is excellent, you can choose from the buffet, Egyptian or pool side (paradise restaurant) for evening meals on the all inclusive rate. During the day we mainly used the beach bar where sandwiches, salads and fries are served.

Drinks are included, but some are chargeable and their is confusion about what is or isn't included, beer, red and white wine, soft drinks, selected cocktails and tea and coffee are inclusive. We had no problem with water bottles, 2 were left every day in the room and you could get bottled water for the beach at breakfast.

I have to agree with other reports regarding the pool sunbeds, most were taken/reserved by 8.30 AM. Some of this is down to selfish people reserving beds and not using them or reserving beds at the beach AND the pool, but mainly there are not enough if everyone wants one. However, the beach is a different story, plenty of beds and fantastic sea life from the jetty if you can snorkel its highly recomended. I have not seen anything like the sealife around these reefs. We spent the holiday on the beach.

There are minor niggles with the hotel including the lack of tea& coffee facilities in the room (it looks like Mr Hoffer has listened to this criticism), also it would be good if the Baron resort beach bar was included in the all inclusive rate as it is open later than the palms beach bar and is much bigger with a nice atmosphere.

The bus into Nama bay needs to be booked, it leaves at 8.00 and comes back at 11.30. A trip into Nama bay is highly recomended, not with small children as it is very lively and cosmopolitan. It is great fun haggling with the traders keep it light hearted though. We don't smoke but enjoyed the atmosphere in the Shisha cafes, sitting on the floor outdoors with our drinks watching the world go by.

We loved Egypt and will return, the Barons Palm is recomended for couples (40-50's) but dont go during school holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments regarding your recent stay at our Baron Palms Resort Hotel.

As we are always trying to do our utmost for our guests’ satisfaction and to keep up our service standards your feed back will be taken in to consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back assuring you another unforgettable stay at our Resort. Until then, kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews