We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,658)
Filter reviews
3,658 results
Traveler rating
2,582
668
235
115
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,582
668
235
115
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegyptian restaurantbeach barfishmain restaurantpool restaurantanimation teamsister hotelspecial thankspool staffat lunchtimeheated poolchoice of foodtiran islandpastabaronwaitersholiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,326 - 2,331 of 3,658 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I booked the Baron Palms resort after recomendation from a local travel agent. I had read the reviews here and had some concerns but all in all this was a great holiday and very relaxing.

First, cleanliness, and this has to be one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at on holiday, the room was spotless and cleaned every day. We had no 'Delhi belly' and I think this was from following common sense personal hygiene rules i.e wash your hands before eating, dont touch money then food etc..(see further tips on tripadvisor).

Food is excellent, you can choose from the buffet, Egyptian or pool side (paradise restaurant) for evening meals on the all inclusive rate. During the day we mainly used the beach bar where sandwiches, salads and fries are served.

Drinks are included, but some are chargeable and their is confusion about what is or isn't included, beer, red and white wine, soft drinks, selected cocktails and tea and coffee are inclusive. We had no problem with water bottles, 2 were left every day in the room and you could get bottled water for the beach at breakfast.

I have to agree with other reports regarding the pool sunbeds, most were taken/reserved by 8.30 AM. Some of this is down to selfish people reserving beds and not using them or reserving beds at the beach AND the pool, but mainly there are not enough if everyone wants one. However, the beach is a different story, plenty of beds and fantastic sea life from the jetty if you can snorkel its highly recomended. I have not seen anything like the sealife around these reefs. We spent the holiday on the beach.

There are minor niggles with the hotel including the lack of tea& coffee facilities in the room (it looks like Mr Hoffer has listened to this criticism), also it would be good if the Baron resort beach bar was included in the all inclusive rate as it is open later than the palms beach bar and is much bigger with a nice atmosphere.

The bus into Nama bay needs to be booked, it leaves at 8.00 and comes back at 11.30. A trip into Nama bay is highly recomended, not with small children as it is very lively and cosmopolitan. It is great fun haggling with the traders keep it light hearted though. We don't smoke but enjoyed the atmosphere in the Shisha cafes, sitting on the floor outdoors with our drinks watching the world go by.

We loved Egypt and will return, the Barons Palm is recomended for couples (40-50's) but dont go during school holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments regarding your recent stay at our Baron Palms Resort Hotel.

As we are always trying to do our utmost for our guests’ satisfaction and to keep up our service standards your feed back will be taken in to consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back assuring you another unforgettable stay at our Resort. Until then, kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Just arrived home after spending 2 great weeks at the Baron Palms 11th Oct - 25th Oct. to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.
We were greeted with friendly reception staff and shown to our rooms where a basket of fruit awaited us. We did not get a pool view as none were available; our room overlooked the road but we did not find this a problem as the road was not very busy and we only used the room for sleeping showering etc.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food in all restaurants was superb with a wide choice. The waiters and staff were the friendliest and most helpfull we have ever met anywhere.
Cant understand the reviews about shortage of sunbeds and not able to get water at breakfast. We managed to get sunbeds most times of day around pool or on beach and as for water at breakfast there was a dispenser with ice cold water in the dining room and if you wanted bottled water you just had to ask the waiter and you were gladly given a bottle each. All in all we found this a great hotel with manager J.P. Hoffer always around chatting to guests. The only negative part was late shower facilities if you have a late flight. This was a very dark shower cubicle in the spa with nowhere to put your clothes and you had to get dressed in the cubicle as it was situated in the spa corrider with people walking by. Not good enough for any hotel let alone a 5*. The only alternative was paying 50 euros to keep our room until 6pm.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeejayLangleyMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have succeeded to make your holiday a memorable one.

Your very positive feedback, especially referring to food ; cleanliness , friendliness and helpful staff, is highly appreciated.

We do hope that you will be back soon so that we may spoil you a bit more assuring you an unforgettable second stay at our resort !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We’ve just arrived back last Thursday after spending a week at the Baron Palms (15/10 to 22/10) and have to say the hotel was excellent. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor however our own personal experience at the hotel was very enjoyable.

On arriving at the hotel our bags were taken by the concierge team, and we were directed to reception. Whilst filling in the arrival forms, we were given an ice cold flannel which was well received, and a welcome drink.

We had paid the optional price through the travel agency for a three bedded room with a cot which was pool view facing so when we arrived at the room we were not disappointed. The room overlooked the pool directly in front of the fabulous waterfall in the main swimming pool (room 309)!

The staff were great and having two young children they were all over them, and every where we went in the hotel staff stopped in their steps and took time to play with the kids, which always helps! Rita in the animation team went out of her way and on one occasion whilst we were relaxing at the pool and our son (22 months) could get settled she walked around with him on her shoulder and before we knew it he was asleep…..Thanks Rita!

We had no tummy upsets whilst on holiday at the Baron Palms and the Teran restaurant had a good choice of food on the all inclusive option, for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. The resort is shared with the Baron Resort hotel and there is the option of eating at the Taj Mahal Indian restaurant or the Italian. We tried the Indian and were not disappointed. Please note that these are not part of the all inclusive option, but we already knew this and did not have a problem with paying for it and having it charged back to the room.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and on the departure day we filled in the feedback form and was most impressed when the General Manager (Mr Hoffer) came to see us to touch base on some of the improvements we had suggested on the form. He sat with us and went through some of the points we had raised and they are as follows:

Tea/Coffee making facilities in the rooms – we had to pay $20 for this service however Mr Hoffer has confirmed that the Hotel board of directors have now signed off for this to be part of the All Inclusive package at the hotel.

Lack of Ramps or Lifts in the hotel – Mr Hoffer confirmed that this was an initial design flaw however if you are travelling with infants be prepared to carry the pushchair to the 3rd floor where we were. There are some ramps however not where you would expect them to be, which caused us some inconvenience but we made the most of our holiday. There are no lifts in the hotel and if you are on the top floor please tip the bell boy for bringing your suitcases up to the room!

Paradise Poolside Bar – The staff behind the counter tended to forget who came to the bar first, and on one occasion I was standing at the bar for ten minutes to be served. Mr Hoffer picked up on this fact and whilst discussing the feedback form he immediately called the bar manager and made me explain the problem this has now been picked up and hopefully should already be in the process of being rectified so that the bar staff are more vigilant in serving customers on a first come first serve basis!

And that’s It! As you can see these are a few minor points but if you should you experience any issues please ask to speak to the general manager…… Mr Hoffer is most accommodating and will sort things out.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MistryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review.
We are delighted that you had enjoyed your holiday at the Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh.
The all Team work very hard to achieve their target of 100% guest satisfaction and any feedback are not only essential but also a helpful tool for us to be able to improve ourself.
Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Read Sea shores, and hopefully we have the pleasure to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My husband, our 10 year old daughter and I stayed at Baron Palms from 15th - 22nd Oct and we had a lovely time. This was my first experience of Egypt and I wasn't sure what to expect, I suppose I was expecting the worst but I was pleasantly surprised. The reception area is lovely and check in was smooth. Our room was fine although the single bed for my daughter did make it a bit of squeeze.
Food - we ate mostly in the Tiran buffet restaurant and found the food to be great. There was always plenty of choice and it was always hot, the desserts were fab. We did have
lunch at the pool side restaurant and the beach bar and these were both fine. We did dine at the egyptian restaurant on the boulevard and the food was lovely there too.
Staff - the staff were always pleasant and curteous. Most couldn't do enough for you.
They always had a word or a hi-5 for the kids. They also never seemed to stop cleaning or tidying up and some seemed to work very long days.
Beach - was nice and seemed to have plenty of sunbeds. My husband & daughter went snorkelling and were always taken aback at the variety of fish they had seen. Even if you stand and look over the edge of the pontoon you will see lots of fish in all shapes and colours.
Trips - we only did one which was the jeep adventure into the desert. We really enjoyed that although it is not for those with a weak stomach. The drivers are fantastic and really make the day for you. Once in the desert they take you to meet some bedouin who take you for a camel ride for about 30 mins then we had lunch. After that you are taken away up the motorway to Dahab to do some snorkelling. Maybe it was just me but I didn't think that was anything to write home about and I felt it would have been better for the trip to have ended after lunch.
Rep - Andy the Thomas Cook rep was very helpful and answered any questions thrown at him.
Egyptian tummy - it happened to us but right at the end of the holiday. I can't say it was down to any one thing that I ate. I think, rightly or wrongly, you have to accept that it will happen. Get to local pharmacy and they will give you something which will work within 24 hours. Apparently all those things we bring from home won't have any effect.
Weather - it was just right for me. I don't think I would survive too long in the summer sun but October was great.

All in all we had a great holiday at a lovely hotel ad we would definetly return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CXT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

Cordially, we would like to express our appreciation for your positive comments
The whole Baron Team is looking so much forward to welcome you back assuring you an unforgettable second stay at our resort.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I just returned from the Baron Palms and agree whole heartily that the hotel is lovely and clean and the staff very friendly. The snorkelling is some of the best in the world.

We did purchase the special meal at the Paradise restaurant and found the lamb chops to be over cooked and not value for money. It was not made clear to us that we could eat there without paying extra, until other quest explained it us. The Thomson rep gave us no information about the hotel only about trips they sold. Some people took the Cairo trip and came back with serious chest infections, so be careful what you book.

What we did find confusing was the rules, Ice Cream from the pool bar between 12 and 5 pm only, tea and cakes from 4 to 6 pm, the waiters would deliver you drinks from the bar but not the tea or coffee, but if you want a tea or coffee after 6pm then they will deliver it.
You can't take you drinks away from the bar to sit by the pool or watch the show in the evening, this was a pain as there are only 12 bar stools out side. With such lovely weather we Brits do like to sit outside in the evening with a drink, there was a lovely big open space with no tables or chairs out, which was a shame. Drinks in the Zen bar from 22:00 to 23:00 only. Fruit drinks on the beach had an extra charge. Be careful of the wine list it is incredibly expensive, we went to the Egyptian evening and we had to be very insistent with the waiter that we only wanted the all inclusive wine.

The sun beds are taken up quickly both by the pool and on the beach, 2 beds beside us had towels on them all day but no showed up to use and the pool attendants didn't take the towels away. Finding a seat at the bar, by the pool or on the veranda was difficult. More seating is needed when the hotel is full.

Then there was the water, every morning you had to ask for 2 bottles of water at breakfast, if you ate lunch by the pool or the beach, you could only get water by the glass , so it was difficult to have water in your room for the night, unless you purchased it from the mini bar. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel it seemed a bit much to ration the water.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RetiredRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annahoa, General Manager. JP.Hoffer at Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2009

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review.

I will try to explain or give you the logic of your comments from our side !

Concerning Ice Cream , we added also 2 times weekly Ice Cream on the Diner Buffet . ( some 5 stars Hotels serve Ice Cream for Children only )

Will give you a full Explanation of our Meal concept so you can see that you have the possibility to Eat during the whole day but not every where at the same time !

6.30 to 10.30 Buffet Breakfast “ Tiran “ Restaurant

10.30 to 12.00 Late Breakfast ‘ Paradise “ Pool bar

Lunch: Complete international Buffet “ Tiran Restaurant 12.30 to 16.00

Light Meals & Snacks “ Paradise “ Pool Restaurant 12.00 to 18.00

Variety of Sandwiches “ Siesta “ Beach Bar 12.00 to 17.00

Afternoon Tea & Coffee with cakes and cookies. “ La Veranda “ Lobby Terrace Bar. Served on a buffet Style ( self service ) but the refrigerated Drink come from the service bar that way served on the table and again after 18.00 Hot Drink are served from the Service Bar so served on the table.

Diner : Complete Buffet with a daily changing themes “ Tiran “ Restaurant 18.30 to 22.30

Diner : Egyptian Restaurant ( reservation required ) 19.00 to 23.00

Diner : Candle Light ( reservation required ) “ Paradise ) Restaurant 19.00 to 24.00

You also have a Credit of 7 $ on Food only in the Indian Restaurant ( Baron Resort )

Opposite the Now & Zen Dance Bar you can enjoy Khan El Khalili Café Oriental area about 150 seats also part of All inclusive concept from 19.00 to 24.00.

The Wine or Imported Alcohol are taxed 200 % witch explain the price.

There is no ratio concerning the water : Breakfast – Lunch or Diner from the Restaurant bottles of water on request ; but Pool Bar or Beach Bar we have Dispenser ; 1 st . the capacity of the fridge’s and the space is to small to stock so many water and in the other Hand people take bottle of water , after ½ hour the water is hot and we find lots of bottles all over ¾ full and left ; became to hot to drink !

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews