We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #57 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed May 18, 2007

My Boyfriend and i, have just returned from this hotel on 17th May.2007. The hotel surroundings is beautiful. The hotel itself consists of more than 900 rooms. The only fault that i thought spoiled the hotel room was the BATH / SHOWER I think TATTY is the word i'm looking for, it's a shame because the rest of the room is perfect.. Even though the cleaners did a great tidying up job, i dont think they ever cleaned out the bath, so it's worth taking some bath cleaner with you. We did suffer from not having hot showers for 2 days but once we complained about, it was repaired right away Even though it says the room has a hairdryer, dont be like me and not take one, It would have taken me 3 hours to dry my hair using their one and most of the time there i just left my hair wet because of this. The Beach area was great and the my boyfriend loved the snorkling. I noticed there was kids also snorkling. There was fun at the beach like belly dancing lessons for all men and women and a couple of games in the afternoon. (By the way anyone who has been or going, can you find out the song they were playing for the belly dancing, it sounds like SHAGGY sang it and it has "SEXY SEXY" through the lyrics. I would love to know) There was really comfy area also out side the hotel where you can have a shot of the fruit pipes.The entertainment at nights in hotel was the same singers, singing the same song night after night. We were advised to do shopping late at night in the town areas as through the day there werent much tourists shopping and you would just get pestered to buy from the locals. We went to OLD SHARM which i thought was nice at night time. They had BELLY DANCERS and dancing shows on while you shopped. I Think this hotel was ONE of the best hotels in Sharm El Sheikh, Going by what we heard from others about their hotels they were staying at.
Lastly, We had to check out the hotel room by 12.00 noon even though our coach wasn't arriving til 3pm to take us to the aiport,
Remember to personally hand in Towel cards to the reception when leaving as we left ours in Hotel room and was charged £7.50 each just before going on to the coach, they said the cards were not in the hotel room and we wouldnt be able to go on the coach without paying for them, even though we knew we had left them there.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank lynnie-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
There are newer reviews for Island View Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2007

Hi all just returned from sharm yesterday and can i say what a hot week mostly 32 34 but one day 38,not bad for this time of year,anyway back to the hotel we booked on the internet from travelrepublic.co.uk nice and cheap £650 for 2 people flights and accomadation,The hotel is about 8 mins away from the airport so if you are thinking to sort out transferrs dont bother most companys will charge you around £60 to £90 up to 3 people,its so easy to arrive and sort it from the airport,most hotel reps are there and if you find the one thats at your hotel(easy as they are all standing with clip boards)just ask them and you can travel on there bus for about £3 each but saying that taxis are cheap and there is loads of them,but if you have the time Email the hotel you are staying at as nearly all have hotel taxis on site and they are new cars with aircon,cost only a few quid and safe all you do is give them flight details and they will send a car.
If you are brave to travel in the blue and white hand painted taxis dont pay any more than 130 LE to sharks bay,ask for a price first if you dont like it go on to the next one and so on,belive me you will get one for next to nothing,also just remember that everyone outside your hotel is after your money they will be nice and friendly but its only the cash they want.
The hotel its self looks fab when you turn up at night with all the lights and large glass windows and the lobby is air conditioned with marble floors and some reprodution furniture that makes the traveling worth while.
Once you have checked in someone will take your bags and show you to your room,i am afraid from this point on its going to cost you money,it dosent matter what they do for you they want tipping and will hang around till you pay up,because the wages are so bad they rely on tips (and as i will tell you later some make more money than we do)once your in the room its nicely furnished with aircon and a well aquiped bathroom and clean.
Morning breakfast WOW there is so much choise you can spend a lot of time just looking(dont expect egg and bacon they dont do it)there is a fruit station where you can have melon/grapefruit/orange with a freindly chap that will cut it up for you and have some conversation in broken english,they love english people because we are polite and we made many freinds with the staff but remember if you are rude to them the rest of your holiday will be crap as they all stick together because they live like brothers and will do anything for each over.
There is also a place where you can have eggs cooked be it scrambled,fried or an omlete.
Lunch and dinner are much the same as breakfast but with some small differences like meat in gravey etc,you will find that the people cooking and serving you in the resturants will be so freindly and this is honest stuff because they dont expect tips and rarely get them,remember this.
Outside there is 4 pools to choose from the main pool with a swim up bar(cool for hot days)another pool for kids with a slide and entertainment for kids and adults(very loud)a quite pool and of course the beach side pool with a resturant and bar,all are very clean and you will be very well looked after if you tip if you dont then dont expect them to even say hi let alone serve you drinks so my advise to you is change up some of your cash into small notes before you go ie 10 LE is just a pound in english have some of these to hand and you will be treated like a king you dont have to tip every time but every other is ok.
You wont find any 10 LE notes there so get some before you go otherwise you will find that you are having to give out 50 LE(the most common note there) which is £5 and can be very expensive.
Also if you are one of these blokes that go out get pissed and abuse you girlfriend or wife LOOK OUT these men love women and you will suffer while we were there a very large scots man was pulling his wife by the arm swearing at her and slapped her,i bet he wished he didnt because the next day we saw him he had a black eye swollen lips and was a very quite man we later found out that a few of the staff roughed him up and told him to respect his wife,you have been warned as i said they all stick together most of them are brothers cousins or related in one way or another.
In all the hotel was cool we had a great time there and would go back and probably will,if you a person that finds fault in everything this is not the hotel for you,i had met couples with kids and many coulpes without and all said what a great time we had.
In a nut shell for the money its a great place if you expect a 5 STAR hotel dont bother going because its not 5 star by english terms more of a 2+ 3 but much better than most 3+star hotels in the med.
I like to say a big hello to HANY/OSAMA/RABIE/AND MAHAMOOD ALL 4 OF THEM
If you say hi to them for me they will probably look after you anyway
Enjoy your trip and i hope i have described it as it is.
JASON and HAYLEY

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank wine4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonMeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kolenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank nefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank camille23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Stayed: February 2007
31  Thank paullrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#95 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#102 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#69 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $82 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing