We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor 4 bar staff fantastic”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #55 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed March 3, 2014

travelled 23rd feb - 2nd march

ok first of all i am going to start my review with saying i was very close to cancelling this holiday after all the warnings but i am so glad i didnt the only thing you have to be wary about in sharm are the aragant rude russians i felt very safe and the egyptian people cant do enough for you..

ok the rooms are defiantly in need of upgrading for example damaged tiles,stained bath,ripped settee i will add that we were in the cheapest option but as it is classed as a 5 star we expected better

breakfasts was fantastic fresh omellets,fruit,cereals,croissants, yoguarts, pancakes
dinner.. we ate mainly at beach snack bar which was chips burgers hot dogs pizza kebabs in main restrant it was mainly things like meat in sauces rice salads chips

we ate at the latin resturant u were only aloud 1 visit per stay but there were 2 other restrants called fatimas and barracuda which u can use once but as we dont like oriental or fish we could use the latin 3 times instead and the food was absolutly fantastic and we even went for a forth time for just £5 each would definayly recommend eating there.

pools were spotless as were public toilets everywhere was very clean

we spent most our time at pool 4 with ahmed and the 2 other bar lads they really made our holiday they couldnt do enough for us always smiling and work so hard all day and night to make sure we had a great time

the animation team were all for the russians,

we were right next to soho square which i think was over rated,20 mins and u have seen it all

if i go back to egypt i think i will go to nabq bay as it had more to do

overall.... great bar staff (pool 4} clean comuneral areas, rooms definatly need upgrading,good choice of food,quiet location in my opinion would suit older couples,nice beach but small,

thankyou ahmed and the 2 other bar stall pool 4......we love you donna and mark xxx

Room Tip: cheapest rooms are more 2-3 star not 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Island View Resort!

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are very happy that you felt yourselves relaxed and safe here. Our staff work hard at ensuring your stay is a most peaceful and relaxing one.

I will certainly pass on your appreciation to all those employees have mentioned in order to keep up the good work for the future.

We are sad to learn that you found the entertainment for Russians only, however all announcements are made in English first both at the pool and during the evening shows. I will mention your concerns to our Chief of Animation so that he can make improvements where neccessary.

We would love to welcome you back once again to see any changes we have made and if you do decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me on shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Checked into the Island view hotel on the 12th Feb believing we had booked a 5 star resort, this hotel is over rated I would give it a max of 2 stars which is being generous. I would appreciate an explanation from the hotel management as to how they can be in the same catergory as the 5* Four Seasons hotel.
Having booked in we were shown to our room, I couldn't believe how shabby, tired and dirty the fixture and fittings were,, the bathrooms were also of a very poor standard of cleanliness, cracked hand basin, telephone hanging of wall, mould growing on the shower screen , black damp spots on ceiling, mouldy and missing mastic, stained brown grouting, Aircon grills filthy which is probably a health hazard.. we complained to the management about the cleanliness of the room who agreed to show us another room, this was of the same filthy standard as the previous, after looking a further 2 rooms we decided to pick the best room out of the 4 for the night, The hotel manager agreed the cleanliness wasn't satisfactory and dispatched a team of cleaners . while we waited for the room to be cleaned we decided to eat at the late night buffet , this turned out to be another bad experience, dirty plates, stained cutlery, empty chafing dishes, sat there for 30 mins didn't see a member of staff, couldn't even get a drink, definitely not 5* service. The following morning we went for the buffet breakfast , although the breakfast was ok, it was again noticed how dirty the surrounding areas are. At this point we decided to vacate the island view hotel and transfer to the 5* Novotel Palm at Namma bay.
According to the hotel rating guide a 5 Star hotel should be of the following, luxury, superlative service, highest comfort standards, flawless guest services, well equipped with state of the art facilities, in my view the Island View Hotel couldn't provide any of the above, even the wifi had to be paid for......Any body expecting a 5* Resort do not book the Island Veiw Hotel as you will be hugely disappointed, I am also surprised that Easy Jet put there name to this hotel.....
1st time reviewer, felt I needed to let you know......

Room Tip: try and find a clean one.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honest t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from sunny Sharm El Sheikh!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and we are sad to learn that some experiences marred your stay.

However, most of the issues mentioned could have been rectified in resort. With reference to the standard of cleaning, this was rectified during your stay once you it was bought to our attention that you were not happy with the cleaning standards. Again, any issues regarding the buffet, food or drink can also be resolved on the spot as we have staff available 24 hours.

As you can see from the many reviews below we pride ourselves on a service second to none so we are sad that you feel you did not receive this and will obviously pass on your concerns to our heads of department to make improvements where neccessary.

Although Island View Resort and The Four Season's Hotel are both 5 star hotels they cannot be classed as the same category for many reasons such as packages & facilities offered, cost of stay etc.

We do state that our Wifi is a chargeable item, however this is not classed as a neccessity in a 5 star hotel.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sharm El Sheikh and would like to welcome you back at anytime to give us the chance of assuring you a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here on 30th January this year for one week. Weather was fantastic for January.30 or 31 degrees everyday, blue skies all week, sea was warm enough to swim and snorkel in safely too. The hotel itself was a great set up with 4 pools to choose from even had one with a swim up bar. All dining areas were spotless and always had something for everyone. There is also an a la carte Italian restaurant that each guest is entitled to one free visit to. They really go out of their way to impress and do a great job of it, my partner and myself not being lovers of Italian food gave it a try only because the other British guests said we would be mad to miss it. So glad we did because the food and service was outstanding. The entertainment is geared up mainly toward the Russians like most hotels in the resort now but don't let that put you off because the staff go out of their way for you, from the restaurant and bar staff, the pool boys, Shelley from management always who always has the time for you and Vicky from animation who always had a smile on her no matter what time of day, she was a little diamond. (and just for you Vic we meant to give you a mention soon as we got back but been busy moving sooner than we expected, so sorry hon.) But really, like the other reviews say, the staff do make this holiday so cheers guys, you were great, all of you. Thanks for a great stay, Steve and Christine, Cardiff x

Room Tip: we were in the middle of the complex which we thought was great as was central for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from sunny Sharm El Sheikh.

Our whole team would like to thank you for sharing you comments about your stay with us. Its extremely important for us to know how well we re performing in order to keep our facilities and service of a high standard.

Im glad you mentioned our Ala Carte restaurants and that you found the service and cuisine there up to your expectations. I will of course pass this on to our Executive Chef and our Food & Beverage Manager.

Its great to hear that our staff worked hard to make your stay a memorable one. They do have long training with our Learning & Development Department so we are happy it is showing in their work.

I will pass on your appreciation to all those members of staff you have mentioned and if you decide to return please contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com with any requests we may be able to help you with.

With best regards,
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Island View Resort & was definitely my worst & the last! The food & the service were terrible-in fact there were a number of occasions when we ate in the main buffet restaurant & the restaurant near the beach when were unable to eat anything! Great if you need to loose weight! Things did improve slightly when we spoke to Customer Services, but then we were subjected to patronizing behaviour from many of the staff.

Our room had a great view of the sea, but the bathroom was very dated and not very clean. On the day we arrived the shower was not working and the following day the toilet would not flush.

On the last day of our holiday, whilst packing and preparing to leave the resort, I mistakenly left my necklace, rings & earnings I had taken off the night before, on the dressing table while we went for breakfast. We shortly returned to our room to finish getting ready to leave, then I discovered that my wedding ring, engagement ring & two silver rings were missing. There were no signs of a forced entry into the room & nothing else in the room was disturbed so clearly who ever had taken the rings had a key to my room.

I reported the theft straight away and a Customer Services representative together with approximately 5 other hotel staff came to my room. However rather than try and investigate what had happen in relation to the theft of my rings, they seemed more concerned with searching my personal belongings.

When the hotel staff all finally left my room I was given no explanation about what was going to happen or what I was supposed to do. As we were very restricted by time as we had to leave for the airport , other than get the email address of the tourism representative there was very little else I could do. I was given no further information, advice or support from the hotel & have since had no response from the tourism representative or the hotel regarding the theft of my rings.

STAR RATING FOR ISLAND VIEW 0

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Island View Resort.

First of all thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us and we are sad to learn that you had an experience which marred your stay. Let me take this opportunity to explain a few points in more detail which may help the situation become clearer.

With reference to the loss of your rings, the hotel takes this kind of incident extremely seriously and there are strict procedures followed in case of any report of this kind. On the day of check out the House Keeper is not entering the room until the guest is leaving in order to prepare for the next arrival; we also have, as you mentioned, a digital safe in each room for your valuables which has a PIN entered by yourself only; if an alleged theft is reported it is hotel policy for us to send Guest Relations, Security, Executive HK Manager and the HK Supervisor to the room in order to help double check that the items have not been overlooked. As you mentioned your case was packed before you noticed the missing items it was suggested that you open your case to check pockets of trousers/jackets etc to ensure they had not been packed by mistake. All these efforts are a way of us trying to help you find what is missing and we apologise if there was a misunderstanding as to why we requested you to open your luggage.

I personally gave you the procedures you should follow after the investigation but if you are still unclear on what to do please do not hestiate to contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com.

It's great that you raised your concerns regarding the food not being to your taste. As we cater for a variety of different nationalities there may be instances where your personal taste is not recognised. We can do things to adapt the menu which, as you your mentioned in your review, can help to improve your dining experience and we are glad that you noticed our efforts.

I hope the above explanation has made things a little clearer for you and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further advice.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I am a returning customer and as usual nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and Management. Food good, Akmed our waiter plus all of the dining staff were brilliant. Vicky and the animation team always polite and came to talk to you checking we were all ok and didnt have any problems. Entertainment could be improved upon but with so many Russians very difficult to please every one.
Although some of the rooms could be updated they were kept spotleslly clean especially by Waleed who designed some beautiful sculptures from the towels for me.
A special thank you goes to Hotel Manager Mr Galip Mahazim & Mr Mahmould Selmy You were brilliant. Thank you and see you again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sunny greetings from Sharm El Sheikh!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us once again. As a returning guest your views are especially valuable to us

It appears that we met your expectations once again and that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. I will of course pass on your appreciation to those that you mentioned in person in order to acknowledge them for their hard work in making sure your stay was memorable.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and regarding the comment about animation please rest assured I will pass this on to our Chief Animator in order for him to make improvements where neccessary.

We would love to see you again so if you decide to return please do contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com with any requests we can try to help you with.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Second visit to this hotel not disappointed .the main reason is location right on the beach with one of the best reefs strait of the beach and next door to soho square.stayed in room 250 with nice balcony and views of sea and Tirana Island. Enjoyed daily aqua robics with VIcky who also asked daily if all ok. The staff at the hotel go out of there way to be helpful and a smile and the odd dollar go a very long way. The rooms are a bit tired but the price you pay reflects this and our only gripe was some of the food in the main buffet was not always very hot.will be going back though hopefully.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 1Pauline27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sunny greetings from Sharm El Sheikh.

We would like to firsty thank you for taking time out to write and share your comments & views of your stay with us. They are very important in helping us to maintain and improve our standards to give the level of service our guests would expect from our 5 stars resort.

Its great to hear that you were happy with your room location and enjoyed the stunning views across to Tiran Island.

Our staff do work hard and partake in a lot of customer service training with our Learning & Development Department to be able to deliver the standards we want our guests to receive so I will ensure that your appreciation is passed on to each and everyone.

We would love you to visit us again in the future so if you decide to return please contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com with any requests we can try to help with.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Returned on Sun 16th after 10 days in glorious sunshine. We found the hotel lived up to the advertised information. The room was comfortable and kept very clean, lovely hot showers, clean towels and bed linen, all you could want, we spent very little time in the room anyway just sleeping, showering and changing clothes. The staff at the hotel were without exception extremely friendly and efficient, cannot praise Ahmed the waiter highly enough, nothing was too much trouble for him. The two lifeguards Mohammed with his sunny nature on the beach and Ali at the pool were always very helpful to us and of course, the lovely Vicky who came round to chat to the English guests every day and we were only a few as the hotel is popular with Russians and Egyptians, but then meeting different nationalities is what travelling abroad is all about!
All in all we had nothing to complain about, the food was plentiful and varied, there was always some sort of entertainment in the evenings and being right on Soho Square we always had that option. We would definitely go again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PATRICIA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm & Sunny greetings from Sharm El Sheikh!

We would like firstly to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your comments are not only helpful for potential travellers but also a valuable tool for us to measure our facilities and services that we offer for our guests.

It seems that we met your expectations and I am especially happy to hear that our staff helped to make your stay so special. I will of course pass on your appreciation to those you have mentioned personally to use as role models for our other employees. We do run a comprehensive customer service training program through our Learning & Development Department. so its great to see the results.

We would love to welcome you back again in the near future so please do not hesitate to contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com once you have made a reservation so we can help with any requests you might have.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#53 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,706 reviews
8.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#45 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#67 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $62 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing